Hi BlesswwBB,

sorry to hear about your AF, maybe u can take a good rest before starting the IVF again... I tell myself that I will exhaust all 3 subsidied given by the govt before I call it quits and look for other alternatives....
So just hold on ok...

Hi Ladymiz ,

Good luck to you... Btw, to get MC for IVF patient is very very very easy.. just go any GP and says that u are IVF patience and just have ET but feeling bloated and tired.. they will not give u any medicine.. they will just ask you to rest at home.. Normal GP - MC for 1-3days.. if u goes woman clinic 3-14days :p

Hi BlesswwBB

So sorry to hear about your negative test. Pl be brave and continue trying. Don't give up hope yet.

wy

Hi Baby

Not sure when you will read this msg. I am planning to do the same as you ie not tell my colleagues, not even my boss that i am undergoing IVF. I am still thinking of how I can explain my 2 weeks MC. My fertility doc refused to give to me but my gynea says no prob, and ask me how many days I want! haha!

Any advice?
wy

Hi Develyn, thats good to hear
I only get 1 wk mc this time...was hoping to extend it to as much as possible. will try that.

Hi Ladymiz,

I took alots of MC.. like 2weeks by seeing 2GP and 1 gynae.. all of them hear that i do IVF , like i very kelian to go thru the stages and i should be very exhausted by the jabs..they will say that we very strong to go thru it.. all says no need medication.. just rest at home.. lolz.. haha.. then i remember when i M/C that time, they still have records of my past , they will give me MCs again even i say i have headache.. coming to think of it .. really make me laugh..

Hi boon boon, i m not under any treatment by Dr Ronald chieng. I juz happen to see him in person when he is giving talk on IVF. I think he does accu too. For myself i m c-ing Dr zou for tcm and accu b4 i embark on ivf in may 09.

Develyn. he is a very pleasant dr but did not have any consultation with him b4 as i m under Dr Loh too. For those under SGH there are a few nice doc its more to indivdual preference i think.

Hi Nicole ,

I goes to Safra Tampines for swim and there is a gym club there .. called energyone.. So, i can do both at the same time.. :D

Hi LYn ,

Hmm.. i just dunno if i should switch as the problem is i feel that Dr Loh is really busy lately.. i think due to the subsidise , most of the govt. gynae is busy bah..

Hi Develyn,

You are right. I think after the subsidise, KK, NUH, SGH, at least the number of patient increased 20% to 30%.

At first I also thought to go private but again I think maybe I will out of job one day so it is better to save more money now.

Hi Koko,

How is Dr Roland? Besides, can you share more about their waiting time and services standard?
Thks

Hi Nicole ,

Yes, if u are going there before IVF , i suggest you take monthly with energyone (SGD74.90).. then u can also go to the swimming pool FOC.. u can also go sauna with me.. heez.. and of cos gym.. SAFRA members can go to simming pool for free..

Hi Develyn,

I heard not only male can't go sauna, lady too..but not sure whether is true or not.

Do you know any good stuff to boost hb sperm quality :>

Hvn't been in here for quite a while. Anyways, hubby went to see Dr Tan (TCM Clementi) again just now. He hasn't been there for a while liao. Dr Tan said his pulse is weak and that condition seems to be worse than before
Dr Tan asked my hubby to hv another sperm test, but he mentioned don't go Raffles cos there not accurate! Hmmmm!!!

If I want to do it at KKH, how do I go about doing it yah? Cos my hubby's last test was done last year in Apr08 I think. It's been more than a year liao although Dr Sadhana didn't deem it important for him to have a retest. Do I call KK IVF Ctre directly for this??

Hi Sierra,

I thought Dr Tan will ask you to go Care at paragon to do the test? If care then very simple just call and make an appt. The cost is 64.20 for simple test.

Hi Boon Boon.
Hope we're talking abt the same Dr Tan. Heehee ... the TCM doctore from Clementi rite? I dind't know he has connections with CARE at Paragon. I've not heard of CARE also. If so, don't mind asking my hubby to go there just to get the test done.

Or should I do it with KKH, since i'll be startg my ivf in May09 there?

Boon,
We are comfortable with Dr Roland, we went to him becos one of our friends recommended him, but they didn't have to do ivf in the end. I think the most popular RE should be Dr Yu in SGH? But our interaction with them is not much once we start IVF as the nurses will be the ones coaching our injections

Since the govt subsidy started, there are a lot of patients and I do find the nurses a bit more stretch. But they are still friendly and answer my questions.

I have not been to kkh so i cannot compare. But if you want more personlized services, then private is still the way to go.

Koko - U gt mail .... by the way how old are u? If u dun mind sharing.....

Ladies - how many of u start injecting lucrin on d2 or day 21 of your cycle? Which is better???

Hi Boon Boon ,

I am surprise.. I read from web that Sauna helps to detox the body as well as keeping womb warm during the process.. i did mentioned to Dr Loh and he says that it is ok.. I am starting IVF only in April.. only when i started IVF stage 1 then i am not suppose to go for sauna.. Ermm.. maybe have to research abit about that..

Hi Sierra ,

Will PM you soon.. ermm but i seldom on MSN.. sms faster.. heez.. or email me .. or even on this forum.. but i can show u my face on webcam.. haha

Boon Boon,
Just spoke to my hubby again. He ah .. never tell me whole story one. Yes, seems like Dr Tan has given him a letter to go to CARE Paragon for the sperm test. Is there normally a long Q there?

Hv asked hubby to make aptmt soonest possible. He's just so darn lazy abt these things. *sigh...* BTW, normally for sperm test, nurse would ask the guy to have last ejaculation abt 4 days before the test. If longer than 4 days.. say 7-9 days still can or not ya?

Hi Sierra,

Yes, Dr Tan can refer you to CARE for the sperm analysis. And CARE uses the strict Krueger criteria. so even a small defect for a sperm, they will classified as poor sperm. Therefore, alot pple may not pass the test.

Strict is better .. at least u have an idea how much percentage of good grades sperm your hb has..and only good grade ones will fertilise the egg..Some pple tot the results of their hb sperm test from normal lab shows ok..but tried so long will waste more time..so if your hb has poor results, he can get treatment soon..

Sunflower,
Ok, will make sure he's within the 3-5days range when he goes for the test.

Hmm ... if different clinics use different criteria, then how can we be sure which is the most accurate? Already at Raffles, he did the test twice last year, results weren't that fantastic. With the stricter criteria at CARE Paragon, might come out even worse

Sierra,

ya, thats the problem.. you cant really be sure which clinic has the most accurate results. you probably can try on 2 clinics having Krueger criteria to compare if both results are consistent. i've searched online, most of the websites recommend Krueger as its more reccomended.

Sunflower,
Not gonna do any further treatment lah. At Raffles, the Urologist said my hubby has varicocele, but hubby refused to go for the day Op. So turned to Dr Tan (TCM). Given Chinese medicine by him, did a few acupunctures also. Just that hubby wasn't regular in seeing Dr Tan.

We provided his 2x sperm test results when we consulted Dr Sadhana for ivf. She said my hubby's sperm count (8mill) is not too bad. But not sure now condition of sperm how lah. Maybe good for him to quickly go for the test, and then provide the results again to Dr Sadhana so she can assess?

BTW, will our ivf treatment differ according to our hubby's sperm quality? As in .. will they do ICSI for ALL eggs if quality really bad? Cos I heard at KKH, ICSI done depending on no. of eggs retrieved or sumthing like that.

Hi develyn, I guess dr chieng will be as busy as Dr loh coz of the govt grant. I was with a gynae in gleneagle for my 2x iui and hope to be with him for ivf too but private charges for ivf after medisave is really high abt 8-10k. Me and hubby think that we shld go govt to enjoy the 3k govt grant coz we r not able to foreseen the future expenses we required.

Hi sierra79. dont be too stressed up by the quality of hubby sperm. I was told by gynae men sperm is greatly affected by stress therefore if that month he has more stress at work then will not be accurate leh. Furthermore ivf they choose the best of the best to fertilize ur eggs. Therefore its best for ur hubby to relax, cut down on smoking and drinking(if he does) and contiune TCM if possible.
Sierra, i m Lady28, finally can chat with u here.

k0k0 & other ladies
If you are keen to see how a blastocyst look like, PM me or give me your email address. I will send mine to you!

Nicole
I kinda agree, there is nothing much we could do after the transfer... so, i try to resume normal activity but refrain from strenuous exercise, squatting, things that strain the abdominal.

Helen
Is it true that shoulder massage is not suitable! Oops, i just went for facial today. can't take it liao and it included shoulder massage leh... hope everything is fine!

develyn
I have 9 eggs. As we opted for ICSI, only 6 eggs were suitable for injection. Of these 6, 5 got fertlisied... On ET that day, i asked the embryologist how were the other 3 embryos and they said they were growing though not at blastocyst stage yet. But I guess they shd hv all died by now. My embryos grade ranges from 1 to 1-2

My goodness... the thread is moving faster then MRT hehe...

Bee, How you feeling now? Any updates for us?
you should reach your d12 this week rite?

Lyn, When I was seeing my TMC last week, there is this very cheerful and bubbily little baby boy running all over. The TMC told me that the couple was like us... go thru TMC then went to IVF, when she conceived, she continued the TMC until she deliver so now the baby very strong and cheerful
He also mentioned that they tried many years and the chance of having a baby is almost impossible but see.. they got a baby boy
This is really encouraging and with this intro I am not giving up even knowing my chances are like 5-10%. There is still hope...

Develyn,

Ladies can go sauna but not good for guys cause guys suppose to keep their testerone cool so they can produce good sperms. Most sperms die from heat.. which means sauna and hot springs are bad for men
Hope this helps...

Lyn/Lady28
Welcome! U finally manage to get in! *grin*

My hubby doesn't smoke nor drink. Yes, must make sure hubby is stress free. I think he lacks sleep, no matter how long he sleeps, he's always tired. Sigh ... maybe it's his 12hr shift taking its toll. I don't know how to make him less stressed oso. We go for getaways whenever we can. Maybe when I'm back shall ask him to go out with me. Go for walks in the parks or East Coast. Fresh air, and feel relaxed. Hee ... ...
Hopefully during fertilisation, will be able to get the best sperm out of him

hi i m new here..oso engaged in ivf...currently still on daily gonad f inj.. started to take brazil nuts , folic acid and royal jelly daily. does they reali help? pls advise

humbug
You are more anxious than me :D Only at D9 after ET.. i plan to do my own test on 26 Feb, actual preg test is 28 Feb. will update you gals!

hi Ladymiz,

which doc are u with. when will ur results be? do u need to ovulate with artificial FET? Me doing FET in March, worried tat i don ovulate, then wasted the cycle.

Sierra
No worries, the embryologist will pick the best sperms for fertilisation. If your hubby sperm M no. is very low, they may suggest ICSI to increase chances of fertilisation (at additional cost). My hubby M no. was ZERO just before we started IVF. Surprisingly, the embryologist could still pick up 5 good ones for fertilisation.

Hi Sierra,

Hmm, there is no "standard" in this field of medicine regarding which cases should have the ICSI procedure and which should not. Some clinics use it only for severe male factor infertility, and some use it on every case.

1. All couples with severe male factor infertility that do not want donor sperm insemination.

2. All couples having IVF who have had a previous cycle with no fertilization - or a low rate of fertilization (low percentage of mature eggs that are normally fertilized).

3. All couples having IVF who have a very low yield of eggs at the egg retrieval - for example 5-6 (or less) eggs. In this scenario, ICSI is being used to try to get a higher percentage of eggs fertilized than with conventional insemination of the eggs (just mixing eggs and sperm together).

ICSI will usually result in approximately 70-85% fertilization of eggs injected with viable sperm. Success rate for fertilization is higher.

hi tnt
welcome to the thread! you are already at stage 2. from the gals here, brazil nuts n ENSURE milk are good. Folic acid is a must. but never heard of royal jelly leh. you should also be taking egg whites at this stage. btw, which ivf ctr are u with?

Hi tnt and bee,

i heard of royal jelly..alot benefits, good for skin, and also help to promote fertility as well. good for both woman and man sperm. Typically a health product.. my sil actually conceived after 2 cycles of royal jelly..but my TCM ask me not to mix with chinese herbs..so i stop..

tnt, maybe you should check with your gynae if its ok to mix with gonadotropin.

Hi Bee,
Thanks for that reassurance
I'll try to be +ve abt that. Now trying to fuss over hubby (from afar hehe) to make sure this remaining 2mths before we start ivf, he'll hv lots of rest, eat healthily and keep fit.

Sunflower,
If I could have my way, I'd definitely opt for ALL ICSI. Hehe ... but i don't think i can do that? Maybe will sit down with my gynae once again and go through with her our options on this.

Sierra
Some exercise will certainly help
. my hubby started to jog once a week on weekend, weekdays is impossible for him. but, better than nothing lor. Yes, stay +ve, the embryologist will advise you accordingly if ICSI, AH and D5 transfer is suitable at each stage.