Rosypink,
Hugz...hugz...
i'm having quite the same situation as u too. This time round only hv 8 eggs retrieve. Although, only 1 eggs fertilise at 4 cell on day 3 still very worried. Just pray for miracle.
Don't give up ya...take care

Hi baby,

I think you respond well to the medication. How old are you? Do you have any blood test done prior to IVF?

Hi BlesswBB,

Don't worry and be relax. Wishing you the best. Jia Yu!

Hi Boon Boon,

I am 27. I did my blood test before IVF and everything seems ok. The doc told me normally pp will have size 14mm during the 1st scan but mine was 18mm so have to proceed with er. I was v upset thot can extend so can grow more eggs..Well not sure whether shd be happy or not to proceed with er..and i am also worried abt the quality since it grow rather fast.

Hi Bluegal ,

At least you can conceive naturally.. just go to Dr Zou to tio body.. it should be ok the next round.. Dr Zou dun accup on ears..

Hi Babydreamzy ,

You should be very happy to get the size to 18mm.. i am 25 when i do ivf last year end..
I have 200IU jab of puregon but not reacting that good.. i only have 8 eggs which reached 14mm.. important thing is how many eggs are healthy and not so much on the amount of eggs..
stay positive okie :D

Hi baby,

I have the same opinion as Develyn. it is good to have good quality compare with quatity. All the best for you!

By the way, can you remember your FSH or E2 level when you did your blood test?

Hi Babydreamzy

could you be experiencing 'overstimulation'? In the meantime, perhaps you shld drink more liquids. The nurses advised me to drink upto 2L of liquids per day to prevent follicles overstimulation, during and prior to IVF. I think it is best to check with the Dr.

Try not to worry too much. Cheers, wy

Hi babydreamzy,
I was given 400IU of puregon for 7days. Like u my follicles grow very fast. At least 5 around 18mm. Not to worry too much. Maybe u still young so medicine acts very fast. Always remember to relax at this stage. When u relax more follicles with catch up at the right size. The quality is more important then quantity. Like Bee, she has most of it fertilise at good grades. So don worry too much. Take care and all the best to you.

Hi Develyn and Boon Boon,
Well you are right, i think the most important thing is to have healthy eggs. Quality is more important than quantity..i agree with that. It is just that i feel worried..cos really want to have more eggs so higher chance of fertilisation.

Boon Boon,
I did not ask the nurse for my FSH or E2 level as she just told me that "everything is ok". Hence, i decided not to keep track of it.

Hi Koo,
I dun think i am experiencing overstimulation as i currently have abt 14 eggs...where abt 6-7 eggs are of size 18mm. I thot overstimulation is when you have more than 20 eggs right? There is also a possibility where a follicle can be empty right?

babydreamzy,
Oops, haven answer your qn. I was on 9days cos Dr Loh wans to have more eggs at the right size. During ER, my largest follicles was 21mm.

Hi babydreamzy

Sorry, you are right. Ovarian overstimulation is many eggs being produced. BlesswBB's explanation sounds logical.

So not to worry too much.

Hi BlessBB,

Thanks for sharing. Wow, follicles can grow up till 21mm..i didnt know that ...hehe..Anyway, all the best to you too!
Hope all of us will be to accomplish our dreams to have babies!

humbug
heehee... this thread is moving too fast, i cant resist not to log on, dun want to miss anything la! i am going back to work next week, boss kan cheong already! no worries, i will take it easy..
what? they inject oil!!! no wonder so painful and bloated.

BlesswBB
i tried calling the centre this morning, but line was busy. i will try again later.
the injection was at the tummy. actually, the nurse asked if i want to take blood sample (i think ER that day). i told her i scared of the big needle and if there is a choice, i would rather not. to my surprise, she said no necessary. so thus far, i only had one blood sample taken that is before the commencement of IVF! hmmm.... you had many blood samples taken?

Hi babydreamzy,
hee, i hv 12 follicles but only 9 eggs. as my hubby sperm morphology drop from 2 to 0 before we start IVF, we hv no choice but to opt for ICSI to increase the chances of fertilisation. For ICSI, the eggs must be of certain size. when we were told only 6 eggs were matured enough for ICSI, i was also a little upset! Luckily 5 fertilised. Two blastocyst (Day 5) were transfered last Sat, dunno how they are growing now. hope they are doing well.
So, dun worry of the too few follicles. Dr/embryologist will advise you accordingly to increase your chance of pregnancy at each stage!

babydreamzy
btw, if u hv > 20 follicles, it is likely that Dr will not do the transfer immediately, fearing of OHSS and u will hv to wait 2 months for FET... so there are pros and cons la..

Hi Bee,

Wow..ur eggs must be of good quality thats y 5 fertilised and two blastocysts. Thats good news! Higher chance of pregnancy..Yeah i was terribly upset when i heard the news from the dr. I thot can extend but have to directly proceed with er cos of my follicle size.

Yeah you are right..if too many follicles worry abt ohss..if less follicles..worry abt fertilisation rate. Haiz. Ohh..we must see how many matured..hmmm...in IVF a lot of waiting games..v stressful..hehe

BlesswBB
Just spoken to the nurse... she said no more jabs required for me. she also said there will only be two pregnyl jabs for the entire IVF. Otherwise, the HCG will get too high and will affect the preg test result. I am not required to take blood sample to check the HCG level as she said she has given me sufficient medicine. these are what i take everyday :
1 duphaston - morning and night
2 Progynova - morning and night
1 Cardiprin - either after lunch or dinner
1 folic acid - morning
Crinone - to be inserted/injected abt 30mins-1hr before sleep
3 to 4 egg whites - for at least another week after ET.

You are with TFC as well right?

babydreamzy
my embryos were between grade 1 to grade 1-2. i was expecting ET to be D3 after ER... but due to hard egg shells, embryologist advised that we opt for AH (assisted hatching) and wait till D5 for transfer.. she said higher chance! To us, higher chance matters most... ya, the wait was terrible and somewhat stressful... when is ur ET? hope u hv many fertilised and good gade embryos!

Hi Bee,

Wow...grade 1-2 is considered v good already..good for you! I will b doing my er this coming Friday and the nurse mentioned that if needed, may have to come back on Sunday to do et. I do hope to have good quality embryos..
U r in ur 2ww now right? All the best..BFP..BFP!!

can i join?

I've made my first appointment with Dr Loh.. so i guessed i should be in stage 0..would need more help from you gers soon..

i've been ttc for 2 yrs.. charting and testing opk. My FSH hormones is quite high..8.8..after 9mths of tcm, managed to reduce abit to 7.91..still very high..9mths of tcm is enough, so intend to go for ivf..

Hi Sunflower ,

Welcome to the thread !

There are alots of gals here who have started and will be starting... We can all cycles together.. which mean to go thru the cycle of IVF.. Btw, how old are u and what you have done so far ?

You can post any doubts here as most of us share experience , happiness , fustration & knowledge during the pregy journey :D

hi develyn,

thanks for the welcome!

i've only been to tcm for 9mths..i have no faith in iui becos my hb has poor sperm count..so i would like to try ivf..i'm 28.. how bout you?

i understand most of you have been to Dr Zou. Do you gals combine tcm treatment and ivf together in the same cycle ? or most of you actually would like to tiao your body in preparing for ivf?

Hi Sunflower ,

I am 26 this year.. Done 1 time of IVF but miscarriage at 6wks.. Gtg for 2nd shot this coming March/April... Hmm , i also no faith with IUI..etc .. only try clomid for 2 cycles than jump to IVF liao.. Haha..

Yes, most gals went to Dr Zou to tio body.. me too :D ... Hmm i am tio-ing before my next IVF cycle... also trying and hoping it is good... U may try too.

Oh yes, i forgot to mention i tried clomid too...for 2 cycles, unsuccessful ..
how long have you been with Dr Zou?

Hi, any ladies here experience high FSH reading after taking TCM med?

I suspected its TCM that may my level high coz in 2007 only 5.2

bee,
I hv only 1 blood test on HCG during the 2ww. It was taken on the 8day after ET. I'm with KKH.
Wow...u still under other medication huh....for me no medication other than pregnyl. My last jab was on Mon. Like u i will be going back to work this Friday. BFP for both of us...jia you!!

sunflower and the new ladies - welcum to the thread ...

Develyn - great tt u enjoy the book... N for the rest if u want a copy than u cld email me...

Bliss - the book reali cum in handy...

SGH called me to inform that my appt has been pushed to 5 mar as my doc would be on leave on 26 feb...what is another additional week of waiting rite???

BlesswBB
Oh, you are with KK, that explains the difference! Ya, all those medication are to support, enhance pregnancy. Yes, BFP for both of us!

wah!!! bee I thought after the transfer of the fertilised egg into your body you have to lie flat to let it latch to the side of the womb.. you must be really strong to be able to go back to work so fast? You doc allows? That's a lot of medication to eat after the ET hheeh... let us know once you see the baby in your scan when it come hehe
We all praying for you

Sunflower
Welcome to the thread!
hmm... usually gynae will recommend IUI if the problem is poor sperm count. They will recommend IVF if the woman also has problems such as blocked tube, endometriosis etc.. IVF procedure is longer and there are more injections... of course cost is higher, double of IUI. any advice from ur gynae?

Hi Lyn,
Hmm guess I am unable to answer your question lei, why not you ask your gynae? But I am sure if your FSH level is not suitable for IVF, your gynae will not go ahead with it. But if i remember correctly my gynae was telling me the FSH value should be greater than LH value before ovulation..for me, my LH value is higher thus ovulation kit doesn't work on me cos no matter i test at which stage of the cycle, i'll get a positive.

humbug
Ya, my doc allows me to go back to work. dun have to lie flat all the time. In fact, it is good to walk a little. The donts as advised by my centre are :
- No sex
- Do not stand or sit in a position too long, must walk a bit to promote circulation but not too long. Brisk walking is fine
- No raw Food, Minimise oily and spicy foods as it may casue an upset stomach
- No strenuous exercise
- No soaking in bath tub
- No squatting, carrying heavy weights, anything tt stresses the abdominal muscle

I myself also cannot lie still on bed or sit still for too long. Work can keep my mind occupied and time will pass faster.. will certainly take care and NOT ALLOW anyone to make me stress!

Hi bee,

i've switch my gynae to Dr Loh even before she advise my next step.. i was hoping to do IVF straight away without IUI. I believe I also have problems with ovulating..my FSH is high, clomid doesnt work on me.. My opk doesnt get +ve, usually the test line is always lighter than control line..so i belif i have problems.

by the way, hope you get BFP soon!

Hi zaza,

what book you referring to?

Hi baby09,

I felt bloated after 2day injection (this is my 2nd jab nia)......
Btw on and off I have very very light spotting, strange leh, I can feel some cramps in the afternoon. AF suppose to report 1 of mar leh hmmm, maybe it is just spotting, you got this prob?

Wow this thread is moving super fast!

Twinstars, I felt very bloated during my 1st 3 days of injection. But the bloatness slowly disappear. Not sure if it is because I took develyn's advice and drink warm water everyday now
Now feeling much better, just like normal days. Today is already my 6 day of injection.

I don't have any spotting. Only have quite heavy clear discharge on 1st 2 days of injection. Now back to normal. I don't have any cramp feeling too. The injection will prevent your AF from reporting.

You try to drink more warm water everyday and see if bloatness & cramp have reduced and disappear.
Regarding the spotting, if you still have spotting for the next few days, you may wanna call the nurse and check if it is normal, so that you don't need to worry so much on this.

How's your injection so far?
Let's jia you together!!!!!

rosypink, please don't give up hope.
You will definitely be blessed with a healthy baby soon.

I remember the counsellor told me we must stay positive. She told me that survey have shown that those who keep a positive minds have higher success rate. So no matter what news we receive or situation we experience, please keep a positive mind. When there is hope, there is miracle!

I hope we can all succeed and promote to become a mother soon

Hey sunflower - the book is tittled - The infertility survival guide - the book help us in coping with IVF ....
strengthening the bonds btw couples in coping with the demand wiv infertility - the book is recommended by bliss .... and also mention by develyn

Hi Lyn,

i found some information, may be useful..

As women age, it becomes more difficult for the ovaries to ovulate as the supply of eggs gets reduced and so the level of FSH rises (in order to work harder) over time. Practitioners of TCM (traditional Chinese medicine) claim to have had some success in truly lowering FSH levels (with a resulting increase in fertility) and some studies indicate there may be some merit to these therapies.

some studies have indicated that TCM can lower FSH and improve fertility. It is important to note that TCM is not an overnight solution. TCM takes time and patience in order to be effective. Different TCM practitioners – even those within the same discipline – often have different viewpoints about the details of a TCM diagnosis and treatment plan. The key is to find a practitioner – ideally one who specializes in infertility – who can work with you. Receiving Acupuncture. Weekly treatments are recommended to enhance a variety of aspects of fertility. Acupuncture, along with other techniques such as acupressure and massage, can also serve to increase blood flow to the ovaries and uterus. Reduced blood flow to the reproductive organs is thought to be a key reason why fertility declines as we age.

Including herbal therapies either as a preparation for or instead of Assisted Reproductive Technologies (ART). Although some practitioners sell prepared formulas that are generic preparations to improve fertility, a better approach is to get a customized prescription from a licensed herbalist.

hi baby09,

Ya today I have heavy clear discharge with very very little spotting. Normally I will drink warm water in office, but at home I drink room temp water. Hope the cramp will disappear soon.

1st day jab done at 7am, the feeling was a bit lousy. today's jab, b4 injecting I feel like vomitting, after injection cont to sleep. Hubby said 2mr jab at 5am cos like that I can have more time to rest b4 starting work.

So for ur 4th to 6th jabs its like everything is like normal lah?

Twinstars, yup, so far, these few days are back to normal for me. Don't have the terrible bloated feeling anymore.

Waking up early in the morning to inject is really tiring but time flies very fast one..
Endure and soon we will be going into stage 2

Hi sunflower thksn for the info. I juz cant understand y in 1.5 years gap fsh can raise from 5.2 to 9.5, is stress during that period of blood test taking affects the reading?
If i m not wrong u r 28, 2 years younger then me did gynae say its not so good for ppl of our age to have this level of fsh. For me my gynae say below 10 is acceptable for him but TCM say its already on the high side and say she can predict the dr to use higher dose of inj during ivf.

sunflower, as u mentioned above u said ur ovulation kit did not turn positive but did u also do the temp chart? Can i know the brand of kit u using?

I m trying naturally this few mths b4 ivf would like to know which brand of ovulation kit is more reliable. I find the clearblue digital one too ex

Wy
Ya, nurse told me to brew some ginger tea (old one) to reduce the bloatedness during stage 2, GonalF injection but got to stop after ET. For me, the boatedness is the worst during 2ww... dunno how to reduce leh...

Hi Rosypink

Sorry to hear about your unsuccessful attempt. Pl continue to try but perhaps you should consider doing TCM to re-build your body, post -ivf and prepare for the next cycle. Many of us here have combined TCM, massage, accup with ivf, but probably not at the same time.

Be brave, and your turn will come.

WY