hi BlesswBB,
did you ask the grade of your embryo? Good grades might still stick, as they say, it just takes one to stick. Good luck *hugs*

develyn, sorry did not read your question to me,
from what i read, there is no suppressing of hormones during antagonist cycle, basically start puregon after AF, for 10 to 11 days, trigger and do er then et. that is why it is such a short cycle. Cause there is no suppression of FSH hormones. But the cost will be similar as people that do antagonist cycles normally respond poorly too stimulation before. So like me, I would need a very high dose of puregon for the 10 to 11 days... 300iu/400iu i think.

develyn,

Pls don't *smack* yourself la.......believe you are stronger & tougher after went through so many ups and downs

hi nancy and sierra

yup, was advised by gynae to freeze sperm becos he is concerned about possibility of declining count....

does poor sperm count necessary mean poor quality too?

BlesswBB,
Any reason why the remaining 7 did not make it? Sigh ... this is also my exact worry. Take out many eggs also don't mean all will make it for ET and eventually for BFP. So makes you wonder, for those who goes through normal conception, damn heng and lucky. Just need one egg & one sperm to make magic naturally. Not like all of us. *sigh...*

Nevertheless, do stay positive. My colleague also only had one egg that survived for ET. Doc didnt have high hopes. But the one egg stuck and resulted in BFP. So you never know!

Tigi,
Not necessarily. Quality would look at overall condition of the sperm lah, i think. Including motility and morphology. Some guys have normal motility and morphology, only count is low. So I guess it depends.

Ladies: The last time my hubby took sperm test was in Aug 2008. Is it necessary for him to go through the sperm test again? I requested Dr Sadhana to look through all our medical reports, she didn't flag out that my hubby needs to go for another sperm test.

Hi Sierra,

If your hb's sperm test is done within a year, and during this period there is no major illness the sperm report is still accepted. Like mine, hb did it in Oct 2007 and KK doc say still aceptable. As for your blood test result, you need to make a personal trip to KKIVF and ask for a copy at the counter and the nurse will print it for you f.o.c.

develyn & breezy

thanks for your advise and the luck... ya, i needed the luck as there are not many follicles. btw, we were told that my hubby will go stay in the operating room with Dr for the entire ER procedure... is it the same at KKIVF as well? oh, i hope he doesnt freak out after seeing the blood...

okok, will ask Dr for the MC from ER onwards...

Hi Chris,
Thanks for the info on the validity of the sperm test
Oh, so I just need to go straight to KK IVF centre and request for a copy of my blood test result and they'll give a copy to me FOC ya? Will do that then.

Thanks again!

Bee
My jab is at 10pm. Maybe can see u tonight. Oh ur ER is at 9am? Mine at 10am !! We may be resting at the same time. Hee.....

I try not to think too much. 24 follicles may be good but most are small less than 10mm. u dun worry to much too as quantity doesnt mean quality. Dr zou said one patient only had 2 eggs, 2 fertilised and pregnant. Let's jia you together.

Breezy
Oh, thanks for telling me abt the ginger, red dates and logan. I will buy some tomorrow so after ER can boil.

Develyn
So many things to worry and not in our control. I will try not to think too much. Thanks.

Dear ladies who has done ER
Is it ER painful? A lot of blood ? Hm.....how many days do i need to rest ? Can i go out and get food? We did not tell anyone abt this IVF and my hubby may be going away next week. Thanks

Dear Nancy

You will be sedated during ER. It happens so fast, the next moment when you're awake, it's already over, and you dun even know eggs already retrieved. Dun worry ya.

Sierra,
Doc cant explain the reason. Cant only blame it on the stress i have during the jabs. Sighz...
I do hope this only 1 will stick to me. Thanks!

Nancy,
ER is a simple procedure. It only takes abt 10-20min to have it done. No pain just feeling bloated after the procedure. The process is a day surgery. They will only provide u some drinks and rest for 3 hrs and home u go. Have a complete rest and u may still feel drowsy. Don worry and good luck.

BlesswBB,
Pray for you that your one egg will be your lucky break
Hope it'll grow into a baby for you. Think positive! Think positive!

Breezy,
Thanks! Need the hugz...
Can only pray hard for a miracle. Went to Kuangyin temple to pray after the transfer hoping my prayers will touch Kuangyin niang niang.

Hey ladies,
I was hvg a conversation with my colleague who was previously in the HR depmt of my company. We have a company appointed doctor which is Raffles. So was asking her if MC from KKH will be valid. But she told me that all these while company policy is such that MC for pregnancy reasons (much less for ivf) is not recognised! I was so shocked! Got such a thing one meh? So wondering now whether the 2wks MC that we'll be given by KKH after ER (or is it after ET) will be valid for me.

For those ladies with KKH, could you let me know what is written on the MC? Did they like state "IVF" anywhere there??

Haiyah ... !

BlesswBB
Stay positive. I am also going to the temple tomorrow. Will pray for u as well. Jia You !!!

Libby
Thanks. Feel more assured now.

BlesswBB,

My friend have similiar situation like you. She hit the jackpot and will be delivered her baby boy soon. Right now pls have good rest and eat well. Stay strong

Bee,
it will be good if can start resting from ER, cos some get cramps.
i had bad cramps for 2 days after ER. only felt better on the morning of ET. (i retrieved 16 eggs, used 3 and froze 3)
my HL started from ER and was extended till BT.
in KKH, while we r in ER, hubby will be producing his precious so not in the same room. ivf nurse will tell him to come back at a specific time to pick u up. u will not be allowed to go off by urself due to cramps & maybe giddiness.
dat day after ER, i scared a few docs going out for lunch cos was bending in pain & can't walk properly.

BlesswBB,
hugz... may this one stick with you & meet u in 9.5 mths time

Chris,
better to rest from ER onwards, esp after ET. so dat the li'l embies have the most of chances to implant & grow. also to avoid exertion of the body.

Sierra,
KKH dun call u when test results are ok. they will only tell u when something is wrong or when they need further tests. yes, u can always request a copy of the results for ur own keeping.
u will be given HL, not MC. shld be able to recognise. so far, my office accept all the kkh MC and HL. no ivf stated. jus state u r not fit for work from xx date till xx date.

Jas,
u can ask, should not be a problem.

bee,

Your hubby is allow to stay in the operating room during ER & ET. Just check with my husband, he said he did not see any blood during ER & ET leh. So....don't scare your hubby la...

Juju78,
Sorry ... stupid question ... but what is HL? Will need to find out if my company can accept this HL (cos oredi official MC for pregnancy reasons supposedly they don't accept). WTH.

sierra,
HL = hospitalisation leave.
not stupid la

try asking HR again. the rules might have changed. all along i worked for companies with appointed clinics, but none reject my other clinic MCs before

Hi sierra,
your hubby can continue with Dr Tan and not forgetting he is the male fertility expert, that's why i also insist that hubby go to him. My company is strict about medical claim so ivf is not allowed as on the invoice, it states the detail. As for mc and HL from kk, no problem to take. Would your company call up kk to check the mc even if not stated the reason? My company will call up to check with clinic, dentist or hospital if the reason stated is not clear.

Hi blesswBB,
stay positive. Hope you have BFP at the end of this. Do use less pc during this 2WW and rest well.

Hi blesswBB and Nancy,

All the best, stay positive and visualise that the embies are sticking on and growing healthily in your womb. We will all Jia You for both of you.
2138737.gif

Thanks! Very encouraging being here. Will pray hard for this one to stick. Thanks!

Lina,
Have been sleeping alot since the transfer. Feeling very goggy for sleeping too much hehehe...rather keep awake watching tv and chat with u ladies

libby - how was the trial transfer with Dr Loh? Hope it went well... Did he say when can start??

blesswbb - all the best for you and your little one... Lots of sticky dust on you...

Hi Mel

My trial transfer is tom, if all goes well, will be starting in march when my period start. Dr Loh already indicates 400IU of puregon for me, due to my high FSH
At first he wanted to start off with 500IU, but i told him previously i experienced OHSS, so he reduced to 400IU for me.

Lina,
i thot ivf & maternity chk ups cannot claim? dat's in the policies of all my ex-companies & current one. they jus dun hv a problem wif the MC and HLs issued. so only cannot claim lor.

Thanks for the advice and encouragement! Let's all jia you together!

Blesswbb & Nancy
Just a tip, i was told to bring 2 bottles of temple oil to "tian you" at "guangyin miao" and said "tian ding fa cai". Go to one that can allow you to drop a few drops of oil in the "you deng" and leave the entire bottles there. I went to the hindu temple beside "si ma lu" (apparently, they have guanyin too) and balestier.

Nancy

Oh, you are after me! My ER is 9.30am, and I have to arrive at 9am tmr for the preparation.... so, we will be both goggy together, maybe even be resting in the same room. good luck, good luck!

I will ask Dr Cheng for the HL or MC and decide if i really need it later...

blesswbaby- thanks for the contact no. and enjoy urself while 2WW

For ladies gg thru ER - have plenty of rest and gd luck for ET ...

sierra - we ar in the same boat.... have not start IVF but already ask so many qns to prepare ourselves for it ... I'm starting wiv accu n TCM and taking folic acid .. will also ask my doc bout multi-vitamins when i c her this 26 feb ...

zaza,
Same here. Me also starting with Acu & TCM. hv been taking folic acid since Day 1 of trying a baby 2.5yrs ago
Past 1.5yrs hv tried to be more active, so I go gym 3x/wk just to get the hear pumping a lil'. When are you starting your ivf again? Me still some time to go ... May09.

Lina,
Yeps Dr Tan is supposedly the expert in male fertility so hubby'll stick with him since he's also more comfortable with Dr Tan. I don't mind also lah. As long as we both go. It's just that we're not going as regularly as I'd have liked us to. Hubby darn slack. If I don't push him, he'll act blur and won't make TCM aptmt. For me, can't help it cos based oseas.. so whenever I'm back, will go for TCM aptmt lah.

Develyn!
I PM you yesterday. Did you receive my msg?

Hi Juju,
oh all companies cannot claim for maternity, i thought only my company strict about this.

Hi Sierra,
perhaps when you are back, can ask Dr Zou if you can increase treatment to 3 times a week to cover the time that you are away. And you can get more herbs from her to bring overseas, at least drinking the medication is also of some help.

Hi Lina,
Hey my company also no "maternity benefits". Cannot claim at all. Although 2 of my friends (in difft companies) are able to. ONe is in the shipping indty, she claims back every single cent for her pregnancy and check-ups! Another friend company offers flat $4000 as maternity benefits so can claim anything related to prenancy from there. So good rite ...

Ya, I hope she'll be ok with giving me more medication to bring back with me lah. The acu part, no choice, can only do it once a month when i come back. I'll only be back in SIN for good by May09, when I start my ivf. Hehe ... but I'm still not sure whether or not i want to combine ivf with acu/TCM.

Hi juju,
maybe ladies in civil service could advise. The benefits, i assume should be better compare to private companies.

Hi sierra,
wow, your friend's company is so good. My company only pays a flat $400 per year for medical and dental. Sigh...what a great contrast to your friend's 4K. Imagine all of us here can claim 4K from company for ivf...that's nice, nobody will thought of giving up. Meanwhile from now till may, your hubby can continue with Dr Tan. My hubby tried making a few appointment dates in advance. They never keep track of the patients call, so your hubby can for example, book one date this month and another 2 dates next month. If he cannot make it, just cancel last minute. My friend who frequents Dr Tan says that she notice many people never turn up at the appointed time and never call either.

sierra - I'm meeting my doc this 26 so if everything is clear will start mar/apr if all clear.... I think u shld just carry on with ivf plus tcm/accu since it will complement IVF and hopefully higher chances of BFP ....hehehhe

As I am in civil service under MOE - I am only covered for $350 for dental & medical to last me the full financial year - no additional cost for pregnancies ....not too sure for teaching staff though .....

Juju78, Lina, Zaza
I agree! Good rite, company covers all. Mine really ZERO maternity benefits. I don't even think i can claim for like medical check-ups I did at KKH. technically not appointed company doctor mah. The other time, I went to Raffles Women Ctre directly, thought can claim (cos Raffles our appointed company doctor) but also cannot. Cos need to get referral from the Raffles GP to Specialist Ctre then can claim. WTH. I was just so fed up I decided heck lah, cannot calim, then bopian lor. I need to do all these tests anyway.

BTW, you ladies heard of this insurance for maternity? It's not well known in SIN. But what it does is cover ALL your medical check-up fees when you become pregnant, hospitalisation and birthing fees, and also certain pregnancy/birth complications like ectopic pregnancy, miscarriage etc. Only thing is, you must buy the plan and can it'll only kick in 10mths later in order for you to exercise your claim. Seems like a good option for ple like me who lack medical benefits from company. Too bad got no insurance for ivf that we can then claim from. Heh...

Lina,
Good idea. Shall make my hubby call for several dates of aptmt. Just that he being blur will forget th dates he makes aptmt for *roll eyes* I was supposed to be on waitlist for 13Feb with Dr Tan. They finally called me on Friday to say a slot opens up for 9pm!!! But I canx cos oredi got aptmt with Dr Zhou.

Hi Lina, the herbs prescribed by Dr Zou are really yucky, I really have to force them down the throat haha.
Dr Zou is quite patient and seems to know IVF procedures well like what you said

Libby - my apologies, I thought that you had your trial transfer liao... Anyway, all the best for tomorrow... Fingers crossed...

sierra,
dun worry. ur company is jus one of the many around - normal. ur 2 frens' companies are just being extra good to employees. most SIN companies dun let employees claim for maternity-related stuff.
think the plan u mention is one of those i got from prudential. but i only noe they cover for anything which happen after birth, got to ask my FP whether cover chk-ups or not. if can claim, then can get back quite a good sum of $$. yes, my plan also effective 10 mths after buying.
since u do ivf wif kkh, alrdy got 6k from medisave & 3k from gahmen, very good le. i din get the 3k cos i put in 3 embies and ET was before the plan was effective.

sierra & juju - I also had the maternity insurance from prudential ... will also ask my FP about it later ....I had gt it since 2006 and being paying even since for definately more than 10mths ... hehhehe

babylou - alamak if yucky then mus reali stand back chocolate beside so cld quickly gulp everything down .....

Hi sierra79,

I was on d16 of lucrin shot during the scan.

Hi BlesswBB,

Thanks for your reply. Oh, the numbers refer to the number of follicles..i thot it refers to the womb lining. :p Yes, i have went for the US and blood test and will proceed with puregon soon.

Hi Blessbaby ,

Are you with KKIVF as well , at 1st IVF , how many eggs retrieved and fertilise ? How many IU of puregon u have taken in 1st and second try ? Also , are u with Dr Zou for accupunture ? Sorry for many qns , i am doing my 2nd try IVF soon.. and hope to know more abt getting more eggs - if massage/accupunture really helps..

Btw, u dun be disappointed k.. u will not know 1 embryo has also chance for twins.. Just stay positive and relax.. Cut away the negative thoughts and brings in all positive on your little one in your stomach now ya..

Hi Jas ,

Indeed it is stressful thru' out.. for ur case .. u are trying really hard to hide your emotion that why there is only 1 embryo and get really worry .. Hmm.. i really dunno if i guess the above correct as i studied nursing and learn abt pycology before.. As for your report , i strongly suggest that u insist KKIVF centre to give u one copy before seeing Dr Thong.. At least he can study the situation... Yes, my next stage i will play PS3 & PSP .. buy those long story line one like Harry Potter too.. haha .. cos reading makes me sleepy.. i can do it when i need to sleep.. keke.. Btw , have you studied about Raffles sucess rates .. still using puregon ? i really think gonalF works better for your case..
Sorry , cos i went to check on Raffles and realise that they are not as experience as KK, Gleneagle..etc.. hwvr , it's all luck too

Hi Breezy ,

Haha.. i will really need to be determine and minus all stress and hope to bring across to all gals to be relax... when your mind is full with "how,why and what" , get some music or divert your attention from all these... :D

Btw, when i wake up from ER , i am filling with blood on my buttock.. still got blood stick on the bed... I think individual experience...

Hi Bee ,

I suppose you are in private hospital .. My cousin done IVF with Gleneagle and the gynae strongly encourage that.. The gynae wants the hubby to see how suffering is the wife during the process and treasure what the wife has done.. Unfortunately , KKIVF do not allow it at all..
I am trying to request Dr Loh for the next cycle.. hope he agrees... i find it is right for hubby to know what has been done and take better care of us after ER..

Hi Sierra ,

I replied your PM.

Hi ladies, for those seeing Dr Zou, how much is she charging for the medicine?Is the charges a flat rate irregardless to the number of days she prescribe?say if she prescribe 5 days med for $40, how's about medicine for 7days or more?Is it the same charge of $40 too?Blesswbb-good luck, relax & stay positive. Sending you plentiful of sticky babydust your way. Nancy & Bee-Good luck with the ER tomorrow. R u both doing ER & ET fr TFC with Dr Cheng?Sending you both lots of good quality embies dust your way.

hi develyn,
for me, i do enjoy reading a lot so that will be a good way to take it easy... hehe i have a
nintendo DS lite with me now so that helps too....
Dr Thong is a she not a he... :p she is very experienced in ivf... and i feel confident with her. I am not sure what meds they will be using for me, but I will definately get my report from kkh. WHen i start, i will ask her the drugs she will be using, but since there is no supression, the meds might work better for me .