I just came back from my first scan. The nurse mentioned number 6 on the left and 5 on the right...do you have any idea what does it means? I am currently in stage 1 of lucrin. Thanks!

Hi BlesswBB,
Hahaha! So it was you who helped to translate when I called ah? Hehe ... ya, you sounded a lil' "groggy" over the phone, no wonder lah. Khekhekhe, luckily you were there! Heh.. and no.. I'm not Indian, do I sound like one??? *Alamak!*

babydreamzy,
You in Stage 1 of Lucrin still? Oh ... how many days have you started lucrin before you went for your 1st scan? Hmmm ... I was told that I won't need to come down for any scans and/or bloodtest during the 2weeks of Lucrin. Cos I'm planning to do my Stage 1 jabs overseas. GOnna fly down to SIN only to collect the jabs & bring it back with me overseas. Will come back only for Stage 2 onwards. Can you share on this?

Can share again what we should take to ensure healthy eggs and higher chances of conception before starting ivf? Some that were thrown up were:
- egg whites
- chicken essence
- folic acid (??)

Any other vitamins we should take? I guess my priority is to ensure that I prepare my body well so will have lots of good quality eggs for ER and after ET, eggs will successfully stick to get BFP. Hehe ... Do share info on this ya! Thanks!

I had the scan this morning. Dr cheng decided that we will not do fresh ET this time. I have 24 follicles today. He is afraid of OHSS plus i have temporary polyps.

The ER is on Monday, 9 Feb. I am a little disapointed but OHSS can be life threatening so no choice.

Breezy
May i know how many cycles of menses after the ER then u start the pills again? Rebecca was suggesting that i go back in April. Thanks

Bee
How are ur scan today? Did dr say when is ur ER? Tomorrow i have to go back twice for jab. One in the am and the other at 10pm to prepare egg collection on monday.

Hi Nancy,

sorry to hear that... but nvm... better to have your body in good condition to receive the embies!!!

Hi Jas , noted.. too exp. for me le.. so i will stay with KK for one more cycle.. if still cannot make it then i will go gleneagle.. Save the money for last use.. heez.. that's great to hear that u are moving on.. so when will u start the IVF at Raffles ?

Hi Nancy , sorry to hear that.. since OHSS is life threatening , just keep well and be happy that you have many follicles.. ET will soon arrive... best of luck ! :D

hi develyn, since this will be a very short cycle, only about 14 days, i will be starting after my menses in may, so it will be a june transfer. My husband will have to go through injections all the way till then as dr thong says fresh is always much better than frozen... poor him... I chose her cause I have a friend who did ivf fresh cycle with her, had a girl the first round and FET, expecting twins delivering soon.

december/develyn
thanks. I consoled myself by saying ' waited for so many years, what's another 2 months?'

This IVF thing no wonder makes up so emotionally unstable. Too many eggs u worry OHSS, too few eggs and u worry lesser chance for fertilisation. Life.........Sigh.

ya lor, nancy..

nvm lor... try to take it easy during these few months. maybe go for holiday or something...

wait you BFP, don know when then you will be free to go holiday liaoz... hee

December
You very positive, just like my hubby. I more paranoid. Hee...but i am glad the eggs part i have done my best waiting to take them out on Monday.

All the worries never seems to end....now worry eggs, OHSS. Later BFP worry can have smooth delivery. Then worry baby health. When they grow up, like my gfs worry abt the grades in school....list continues. haha

nancy,

yup... like my counsellor says celebrate at each milestone....

you must congratulate yourselves once you have passed each stage.

so do celebrate after your ER.

nancy,

If I am not wrong, 2 cycles. I had my ER on July'08. FET was on Sept'08. Hmmm......since confirmed no ET you may take this period to 'bu' your body before FET. Good health, good chance!

All the best to your ER on Monday

Hi Nancy
Dun worry too much, take this time to 'bu' your body to a tip top condition and give your embbies a good environment to grow inside your womb! All the best to your ER and wish u have good quality embbies!

Breezy and zaza,
I do have the malay lady contact but currently i went to javanese massage at jalan jurong kecil. The price is reasonable abt $38 per 1 hr session. They hv a few branches. However, u prefer malay lady to come to your hse u can contact Yati at 97803442. Just tell her u going thru IVF she knows.

Sierra,
when u told me your name i was like errh...pause for awhile rite? As i'm still trying to concentrate...hehehe so sorry
Anyway not to worry abt the translation. Her assistant will be there. But try to be early as she has mentioned.

babydreamzy,
This means that u still hv follicles in yr ovaries. Did they request u to continue with lucrin? U should hv blood test too rite? The blood test will tell u whether u can continue with the 2nd stage. Not to worry ok?

I've just bought my 1st tin of Ensure Life (vanilla flavour) from NTUC, hoped I didn't get the wrong one as its really a small tin of 400g and cost $14.80. Btw when shall we start taking Ensure, ie which stage of IVF?

Hi Sierra,

When is your appt with Dr Zou??? Remember to bring with you all your medical reports (including your hubby) during your appt.

BlesswBB,
Hehe, yeah ... I remember. Haha! I thought you also couldn't understand me when you paused. khekhekhe! But thanks for coming to my rescue on that day ;) I'll try to come early on that day. Cos hubby knocks off at 530pm, by the time we get there it'll be 6+pm liao. But will try to hurry so the assistant will still be there!

Chris,
Hehe ... I'm seeing Dr Zhou next wk on 13Feb. Okies! Will bring all my medical reports. But err ... all in English. Can Dr Zhou understand? My hubby said he's more comfortable seeing Dr Tan @ Clementi (esp after I told him he'd hv to do lots of herb drinking with Dr ZHou :p). So looks like he'll continue to see Dr Tan lah, while I'll see Dr Zhou instead. Hehehehe ...

Tigi
Yes, my hubby has low sperm count. Actually need not freeze cause fresh sample is best and since doing ICSI so need only few good sperms.

I bit a kiasu i froze one last week though my ER is next monday. As my hubby tends to have flu/colds so just in case.

Hi Tigi,
My huby also has low sperm count. Were you advised to freeze them or you decided on your own? I guess fresh sample is still the best bah?

nancy,

Ya! Pls prepare ginger, red date and longan. You need to boil the said to drink after ER. According to Cindy and Shamsiah the drink is to help us to get rid the wind.

Breezy,

Im with KKH. Then that is really a worry coz if OHSS then must wait another 2 months. This is my 1st time doing IVF. Did IUI n SIUI but unsuccessful. Am also taking chinese medicine.

Anyone here can advise on how to prevent OHSS?

hi nancy
so sorry to hear that u can't do fresh ET... actually, i envy that u hv 24 follicles.

Had my scan this morning and I have abt 12 of which I think only 5 will be retreived cos the others are rather small (4-12mm).

Dr Cheng said I am ready for ER on monday. Like u, I will be going back tmr two times, one at 10am, one at night abt 9pm for two jabs. Rebecca said I only need to jab the Cetrotide tmr morning, no need GonalF. I just hope that the follicles quality are good enough and I can proceed with ET on 12 Feb.

May I know if any one of u request for MC from ER to ET? Dr Cheng said no need but he can give me if I want to.. I thought it will be good to rest till ET.

hmmm... i suddenly felt i hv lost all my freedom... fearing that i may not hv the chance to go out with friends after ER, i actually plan to enjoy myself to the fullest in the next 2days, before ER!! lol

Hi Sierra,

Don't worry, although Dr Zou does not speak english but she knows how to read medical reports. Like I've shown her my blood test report at KKIVF and also my hb's sperm report done at CareParagon. My friend who is going with me too shown her her latest health report and she is able to explain to us what the report means and what to look out for

Bee,

huh u mean that we should be resting from ER onwards??? sob..sob... just thinking of resting at home for that 2ww after ET is already "killing" me. Hmm...

Blessww
Thanks alot

Hi Jas , please explain more on why the whole cycle only 14days.. that's worth to consider then... cos normal ivf have to take almost 1mth+ jabs.. awaiting for your advise..

Hi! Breezy,
thnks for the web link.

I actually changed my gyn to Doc Loh for IVF. M worried coz previously I had to abort SIUI coz with 125 or 175 doze i had 11 follicles. Worried that Becoz of OHSS complication cant do IVF soon also.

Can imagine wanting a baby soo bad n when it's finally here, must wait again.

Women and our problems.

Hi Chris,
Ok hehe. That's good then if Dr Zhou has no problems comprehending the medical reports

Nancy,
I agree with you leh. Like each step of the way always have worries. I ahven't even started my Stage 1 yet and already I'm worrying about ... what if have OHSS, or worse still, what if not enough eggs?? Or if have eggs, what if only few fertilised and even fewer will survive ET, after ET what if never BFP. Arrrgggghhhh!!!

BTW, for ladies with KKH, could you let me know how we can get hold of a copy of our blood test results? Do we ahve to specifically request for it and if so, from whom ya? When I did my Day 3 blood test, they also never call me to tell me my results. I called and the nurse said "everything is ok". Just like that. Would like to get hold of a copy of the report if possible. Can advice?

Hi Sierra ,

I am unable to get the report too and realise that i have to call KKIVF for the result.. meaning i am following up myself.. hmm.. maybe the next trip to KKIVF , just speak to the nurse that u want the pass record and see what they says..

Also , please dun be negative over OHSS .. just to share with u , i only have 8 eggs during ER and one 2 fertile during my 1st IVF.. it is worse when u dun have extra embies to do FET later.. leave everything to your body.. Be positive too.. i have been stressful for the whole IVF stage and it is not really good.. trust me , sit back and relax.. i am gtg to do my next IVF keeping myself RELAX and stress free..

Itjabi,

*pat-pat* Understand your feeling

Have you see Dr Loh? What did he say to you? I believe he manage to solve your problem. Have faith!

Positive thought + Positive action = Positive result. Jia you

Chris
So, it is not necessary to rest after ER b4 ET? I dunno, just wondering would I feel weak / uncomfortable after ER. Is it a norm that Dr will give 2 weeks MC for 2ww?

Hi Breezy ,

That's my experience thru the first cycle.. i am so stress and panick on Lucrins (scare BT not pass).. then Puregon (scare the medication cannot perform on me) .. then ER (scare on no much eggs) .. then ET (scare it will drop out when urine) ..then pregnant liao (Happy but scare i cannot get thru 1st trimester).. now learning more on the web .. stress will caused alots of effects on embies.. spoken to Dr Loh and told him abt all these stress.. he said that i shouldn't be so scare and stressful.. at the end, MC liao .. i scare cannot conceive again.. lolz.. so, i am determine that if i go thru IVF again , i will take it cool and calm.. sit back and relax.. if i am stress, it is difficult for the embies to stick and grow well.. will really JIA YOU...will *smack* myself if i get over-react again on next cycle.

Gals, this is my experience.. so pls do not get stress up.. it really makes alot of harm to embies during IVF.. Try to read up a few web as it is really proven..

Hi Bee, it is very very very important to rest after ER n4 ET as u lost quite alot of blood during ER.. trust me that u will sure want to rest on bed as u will feel uncomfortable after ER... Keep well before ET.. Yes, it is normal that they give u 2ww MC to rest..

Hi Sierra,
Dr Zou has an email address. If you encounter ivf terms that nobody there can translate, do let us know. We can check for the chinese meaning and email her. Dr Zou could surf the web and explain to you. And i just found out that the herbs can be modify. My hubby who hate bitter can now accept Dr Zou medicine as she put some orange taste item inside. Do ask your hubby to try.

Hi Lina,
Thank you so much for the info and offer of help
I will try my best to go down when the assistant is still there so she can help me in all the translation etc. Hence, no need to disturb all of you for translation service. Hehe ... but thank you so much for this info, if push comes to shove, will ask you nice ladies here for help

Wah ... orange taste item? Can ask for chocolate or strawberry also or not? Heeheehee. Kidding :p Will ask my hubby again. But I think he's more comfortable with Dr tan cos Dr Tan speaks English and he's been seening him a few times now. He told me he very scared to go see Dr Zhou alone if I'm not around. hahaha!

Develyn,
I know I hvn't even gone through the process yet, but I think i feel the same way you did also that time! My hubby said I'm crazy. Everything also worry. Errm ... easy for him to say leh, cos not him who'll go through the procedure. And ultimately it'll be my body reacting -vely or +vely to the whole process, so naturally I'd worry every step of the way. (Like every stage also I keep thinking what if this stage not successful???) Like how before blood test, I worry abt the results. Results come out ok, I worry abt the next thing. Hehehe ...

I'm in my 2ww. Any ladies in their 2ww?
Very disappointed today. Only manage to transfer 1 embryo. All 7 cannot be used. So sad. Went thru TCM and massage but end up result worst than the 1st cycle. I guess the time is not right cos many things happen during my last stage.

hi develyn,
what did dr loh say about stress? I was thinking all along, that I am hardly stresses but going through IVF, I realised how stressful it can get... all the testing got to me, i was moody, unhappy and stress my last try... next try, not going to stress, not testing, taking it easy, going to buy harry potter adult verision and read all 7 books during the 2ww... hahaha should be better, the last cycle, i was so bored, walking around feeling stressed. I really have to try to manage myself.. Has anyone here tried taking all the ivf reports out after IVF from KKH? I am thinking of getting all my blood work, results and reports out for Dr thong .

bee,

It is very important to rest after ER and ET. I took 3 to 5 days to recover from ER. I think may be ovary kena poke to many time liao. I suggest you to have full rest in 2ww, if can. I was asked to avoid carry heavy thing, have more bed rest, avoid oily & spicy food, avoid housework and avoid crowd. Good luck to your ER & ET