iwant5bbs,
AF - Aunt Flo (menses)
BT - blood test
BFP - big fat positive (pregnant)
2WW - 2 week wait (from ovulation to HPT test or, Embryo Transfer during IVF to blood test for pregnancy)

Hi juju78,

Thanks for the clarification on the "validity" of the counselling session. Not sure if it's too late to make aptmt ... thought of slotting in the session during my trip back this week. Then plan for ivf in May09 (so abt 4mths ...)

I asked a friend, and she also said the same thing. Apparently KKH has this practice that if your results are ok, they'll not inform you. But they didn't tell me this, so I was left in the dark... Will ask the nurse when I go down next lah for an update.

I just went to KK yesterday with hubby to sign the ivf/icsi forms.

Went for the blood test for than a month ago on the 1st day of my menses instead of 2nd/3rd day.

Is there any difference???

Cos I mentioned it to Dr Loh but he didn't say anything and didn't explain the blood test results to me just say that its ok. But when I went for the signing of the IVF yesterday, the doc mentioned to me and hubby that my hormones for my blood test results are on the high side which is an indication that I have low egg reserves. Faintz...

By the way, does anyone knows is it necessary/compulsory to attend the counselling session at kk ??? Cos the same nurse who attended to me on my 1st and 2nd visit gave me different instructions...

2081024.gif

Hi sierra79,
TPS - The Private Suite.
No leh, I heard the queue is longer than Clinic D. Hehehe...
I think only 1 time for the counselling. If you worry then do the counselling 1 mth before you start IVF loh... hehehe ^_^
What is the purpose you do the blood test?
To check whether you got ovulate? (if yes, then you will see the doctor again and the doctor will give the dosage for jab lucrin/puregon base on your blood test).

hi sim,
Dr. Loh Seong Fei. You can see his name under this link:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/MedicalSpecialtiesnServices/WomensHospital/ReproductiveMedicine/

hi iwant5bbs,
What i heard is the queue at TPS is longer than Clinic D. But I will change from Clinic D to TPS after my 28wks cos i want Dr Loh to delivered my bb. hehehehe ^_^
Normally Dr Loh only do Blood Test and Larascopy. For my case, Dr loh want to check my uterus lining that is why he do the larascopy before i start IVF (cos you must have good lining so embryo can stick to your womb).
For Acronyms you might see this link:
http://www.fertilityplus.org/faq/acronyms.html

hi chris,

i think it is necessary to attend the counselling.
Cos it is include in the IVF programme.
For the blood test, i am not sure whether got different or not.
what u mean by low egg reserves? produce less egg? ^_^

hi juju,

yeah... that's what i was thinking of. since seldom really see doc now. so just stay put lor. he he...

Wow it's been so long since I last log in and the thread had become so long ....

Aniwae I'm starting my IVF journey this coming sat with a talk "fertility and u" forum @ health promotion board... Its a joint forum by SGH & HPB ...

To the old members - its still great still having you around

To the new members - nice knowing you all ..

Best of luck n tk care

Has anyone gone thru the 2nd IVF cycle(Natural Thaw Cycle) before? What is the procedure like? No injections needed?

We have decided to try again......perhaps somewhere in February or March. Heard that the success rate is only 20~30%. Was considering between 2 or 3 embryos. Anyone has done NTC (Natural Thaw Cycle) and has succeeded?

Thank you ladies (jas,nancy,sierra79,Lina) for your welcoming me.

And sierra79, I'm going thru the link you've provided. Appreciate it.

We'll also be going to the fertility talk by SGH on Saturday. Going thru the threads, seems like most of you go to KKH.

Is KKH better than SGH in terms of success rate?

Can I drink luo han guo, red dates, barley or ginger tea at 2www. Colleague just past me a bottle of luo han guo. Don't know whether to drink anot?

Hi Wanqs,
Welcome to you.

ladies, i had a negative blood test result. very disappointed.. my gynae was very encouraging though, he will analyse my case and determine next step of action. I should be trying again since i still have another 11 fertilised embryos in storage.

Good luck to those waiting in their 2ww now.

hi babylou,

so sorry to hear that...

i'm sure that very soon you will be able to have good news!!!

best of luck!!! ^_^

hi josephine, know very little abt laparscopy... now then i know it can help to check the lining. tot was for endo oni...thks!

hi kaira, juz asked my mum. she said luo han guo is 'qing1 ren4' type. not the 'han2' type so can drink. ginger, red dates oso can. forgot to ask abt barley. make sure it is not cold.

Iwant5bbs,
Thks. Going to drink now. Heehee.

Babylou,
Its not a easy period for you but do take care, eatwell and restwell. I'm feeling the pressure this 2ww. Very emotional and sensitive as well

Dear babylou
Oh must be disappointed. Pls take care and try again next time. My TCM doc told me that most that fail the first will likely succeed 2nd time as the doc has all the experience with dosage from the first time. Stay positive. Jia you.

Look on the bright side, you got 11 happy eggs waiting for you.

hi babylou,
sad news. sorry to hear.
dun dishearten. rest well.
wish you all the best for your FET.

Hi Kaira,
ginger is good to drink during 2ww cos it helps to prevent bloatedness.

Hi Josephine,

Yup the blood test is to test the level of FSH in the body, and high level of FSH could indicate a few possibilites of infertility such as low egg reserves (few eggs) or premature ovarian failure etc... ie this would also mean that i may need longer cycle and higher dosage of puregon to stimulate my ovaries to produce folicles.

I was alittle worried as 3yrs ago, my AF usually lasts for around at least 5 days. However after my 1st laproscopy done in end yr 2005, my AF lasted only 3 days, and 2 days after my 2nd laproscopy. I mentioned this to Dr Loh before and have shown him the pics of my 2nd lapro done at mt alvernia and he commented that the surgery was not well done hence some of my eggs are lost in the process. That's why if i were to go through ivf my success rate will be slightly lower than a normal person.

Age is also one of the factor, as the older the age, the lower the success rates as the number/quality of the eggs will deplete over the yrs esp at age 35. Hence I decided to embark in ivf this feb 09 as didn't want to waste any more time as I'm currently 33yrs ++ (going to 34 this june).

heehee any cycle buddies out here that are going for ivf next month???
2083351.gif

Hi Chris,

Dr Loh said similar to me too. I also had my lapro done at mt. A and he said the ovarian drilling done for me then seems to be overdone.

does the no. of days of AF tell u something about the eggs?

mine is still the same after the lapro last year.

he also asked me to go for the D2/3 blood test. now waiting for AF to report then can go.

should be soon liao.... we may end up to be cycle buddies. hehe...

but the nurse did mention to me even after doc certify us ok for IVF, depending on the no. of pple going for IVF... if they are quite packed, we may still have to wait for another cycle then can commence.

wangqs, most of us go kkh because Dr Loh has one of the highest success rates in singapore and also SGH's ivf program is under CARE which classifies as private. You will be unable to recieve the grant given by the government if you do IVF at SGH.

Sierra79,
try calling asap, will be good if u can squeeze in an appt. usu, if u can, even better to hv gynae appt after counselling so dat u can sign the ivf forms on the same day.

Chris,
i was told counselling is compulsory. maybe u can call ivf clinic & double check?

Rose,
clinic will call u a few hrs later on BT result

Chris

Saw ur message in regard to higher FSH. Personally i feel that for lady who is not responding well to Gonal F or puregon, it is better not to go for longer cycle, as end up the egg might not be able to wake up in time.

I have this problem, I have higher FSH, and i was put on long cycle (super long, extend my lurcin). The result is very bad, i have only 1 egg when all my follices is of good sizes.
And for egg which is delepting very fast, it is also not advisable to be put on very high dosage as it will damage the ovary even more.

I requested Dr loh to give me more dosages, but he did not , accordingly to nurses, reason could be the no of egg we have is already fixed so no point over exhausted the ovaries.

Not sure if this is right. So far this are some of the information i got from doc and nurses.

Hi Josephine/Develyn,

I just had my 2 cysts removed last mth and my private gynae ask me to take 6 mths of hormone to kill the cell tissue before i start my baby plan. But i am thinking of transferring to gov hospital because private is ver expensive leh and no subsidy.

Hi Wangs,i have also signed up for the talk this saturday.

Hi sunnyday77,

ooo ic.
how big is your cyst? maybe you can consult again with another gynae.
I got fibroid, and Dr Loh still allow me to go through IVF.
may i know, which gov hospital you will choose?

It's great to hear that ther are others too attending the talh tomorrow as I'm going to

jas - there is this forummer who did her IVF @ SGH (mummywannabe and I quote the email here -

"Yes, im with Care@SGH. The total cost of treatment is ard $9K to $12K, the cost depends on how well you react to the medicine and what other tests you need to go through.. Govt Subsidy is for ladies undergoing fresh cycle, with no more than 1 kid and under 40 years old. And yes i am covered under govt subsidy."

That is why Im going to ask them tomorrow during the Q & A about getting the govt subsidy since we would be doing in the location of SGH which is a govt hospital....

HI! Im new here n am thinking of doing IVF. Understand that if we do IVF now we r allowed to only put in 2 eggs.. Wat r the chances though.. M very woried coz have been trying to have a baby for quite a while now. Help!

jas - thanks, now I know how come so many go to KK.

zaza - yah, I'll be very interested in the subsidy issue also. hope one of the speakers will touch on that.

I've not been to KK as I went to see the specialist at SGH. The impression I got from that specialist is that he's 'pushing to sell' IVF to me cos' he did not give/explore other options.

In the end, we ended up doing, or should I say I ended up doing :) the research on what we can do. We're still doing those things - taking vitamins, Chinese medicine etc - but would probably want to try IVF.

hi zaza, that is weird, cause i heard CARE is considered private.... hmmm... ladies with SGH , please clarify if CARE@SGH is private or considered gov , ie, the grant still given

hi! chris (chris_baby),

Read ur post and I am also going to do my ivf next mth with Dr Loh(KKH). However, am abit uncertain on the chances and wat we sud or sudnt do after the procedure.I have done a couple of IUIs and SIUIs and have been unsucessful. Hopefully we can learn from each others experience.
Take care and god bless.

Hi itijabi, we maybe cycle buddy too. Welcome and I'm with Dr LC Cheng at Thomson Medical Centre. Let's hope 3 of us will be success for this round & let's keep each other update & company on the way.

zaza - I saw the andrologist there. My wife has not been there yet but she's gone to private hospital for her own check-up.

Hi Kaira,

All the best to your upcoming BT!!

Yeah... agree it's like waiting for exam results... must be very nervous...

Dear babylou: Very sorry to hear about your news. But truly admire you for your positivity. I pray that you'll succeed in your next try.

Josephine: Didn't know waiting time at TPS is longer! My friend opted for TPS when she got pregnant, she said waiting time shorter compared to Clinic D. Hmmmmmm. Oh, went for my Day 3 blood test today and all the remaining blood tests I'm supposed to take lah. Glad that's over. Now to wait for the results.

Also managed to secure a slot for the counselling this afternoon. So going again later. Just want to get everything over and done with lah during this trip back. Hopefully all the tests will come back a-ok, then it's just waiting for May09 to start with the ivf.

BTW ladies, if my test results are all cleared, this being Jan09 ... and I intend to do ivf only in may09. That's a lapse of 4mths. In between, no need to consult doc again right? So when my Apr/May AF starts, give KK IVF ctre a call on Day 1 of menses and they'll instruct me what to do next. is that about right?

should i call the kkivf for my blood test (bt)results or just wait for their call? it is the day 3 bt and i wanted to get onto the lucrin thing soon but got big project coming soon. a little worried that the long hours of working will be during the 2ww...
am i overplanning?

Hi ltjabi,
welcome to the thread.

Hi kaira,
BFP!

Hi sierra,
yes, you can call kk on the 1st day of AF. Then the nurse will ask you to go down to purchase the contraceptive pills.

Hi Dec & Lina
Thks for your blessings

Hi iwant5bbs,
If I'm not wrong, when see doctor then he will explain to you on your results. You can go KK very early ard 7:30 for blood test and injection . Scan 8am .