Ponytail, do you feel very discomfort? If not, if i am you, i will take the chance and go ahead with ET. Embryos transferred after an ER always have better viability then to freeze and do a FET later. To cancel, i suppose is a very painful decision to make. I wouldnt cos i would have come so far, i will just want to complete it. Of cos cannot be life threatening so i ask if you feel alot discomfort. If very uncomfortable, then maybe you listen to your body and do a FET later?

Oops, sorry, i think i very chatty today, hogged the whole page so far liao.

tryagain: no problem with u at all!! I also find that my urine is more yellow in the morning. It gets better during the day.

I used to take up to 4-5 cups of coffee a day. Very, very bad. Couldn't help it. It was an addiction I picked up while I was working at a company with night shift. Now I take max 2 cups. Trying to cut down till I take none.. working hard at it!!

I'm very happy. My boss (aka the hubby) finally made the announcement that I will quit after Dec this year. It took me a long, long time to convince him that I need all the rest and be as stress-free as possible.

I'm as happy as a bumble-bee!!!...la la la la la...

dec: yes. I married him since 1999. We are still childless. For a big part, some 7-8 years, we were slogging together. It doesn't help that he's a Japanese. We all know how workaholics Japanese can be.. to me, he's the "cruel boss" at work.

woohoo!! still so happy!!~~

Try again, good for you to have an understanding boss. The last time i had a medical problem and needed time off to see a doc, she went around telling other colleagues about my condition. Cannot imagine if i told her that i m TTC-ing. Also, like u, i feel that if dun work, then will not have $$ and will not feel useful. But working in the current place gives me more stress...sigh..

Btw, what's POAS? How many days did you wait before you do a preg test? I just had my last jab on tues... and was told to wait 10days later before i go back to clinic for the test.

Yves - nice!! good to be the lao ban niang. At least u can still go in to office to do some light work if required? still will have some income, rite?

Btw, i read somewhere that after the ET, its best to avoid coffee. I used to be a hard core coffee drinker. If without it, i will get headache. But since embarking on ivf journey, i told myself to quit. Now only occasionally taking sips from my hb when he orders it.

starzy

Would you believe it or not, the first couple of weeks were spent catching up on sleep and taking care of terminally ill FIL.

subsequently, spend more time on family, and housewife stuff like housewrk - till date i am still inept at housework. trying out new recipes, catching up with friends.

and getting started on the list of things i never got to do while working, like picking up a new hobby, continue schooling, and learnign how to drive!!!

eh so yeah, there are lots of things that can be done. I am also thinking of volunteering once my schedule is more or less fixed...rite now with scheduling classes, exams, assignments, IVF and accupunture.

I plan to start an exercise routine but somehow it got shuffled to the last item on the to-do list :p one step at a time :p

starzy,

dun worry about the symptoms, as the medications you are on also cause the same symptoms. like those gals who succeeded, some have no symptoms at all, while other who had lots of symptoms also not necessarily got pregnant.

So keep the faith and be positive, kepp your mind busy. I spent most of the 2wws (so far 3 cycles - 1 fresh and 2 FET,nt including IUIs hor) watching light hearted korean/tvb dramas.

babymaking, looks like you do have a very packed schedule. But good to know that you are enjoying it. Guess i better make a list of things to prepare myself.

Do u know if the 1st ivf has failed, and if you need to go through another cycle, do u have to wait for 1 cycle to past (and start with birth control) first? or rather, how long does the body need to rest before can start another one? And will it be the same procedure? I am abit confused with FET and ET... are they not the same?

Babymaking, thanks for the encouragement
*hugx*. This morning, when lying in bed, i totally went crazy when i cannot feel any symptoms.... and my mind just went haywired!!

I had 7 IUIs and this is my 1st ivf... thus my hopes for the 1st one is unspokenly high. btw, which stage are u in now?

Chew

yep, just started first lucrin jab yesterday. was supposed to be on 2 weeks of lucrin but was told to extend another week due to the audit closure
i suppose you are in the same situation?

fellaine,
i guess there is nothing much we can do. write in to SF Loh and protest? I am upset because the lucrin vial only last 24 days, so if have to extend, means i got to buy a new bottle, which cost $98 plus.

try again
i admire your persistence with staying on with SF Loh. I have many doubts in continuing my journey with him as i felt that he couldn't empathise with my needs. My 1st cycle was supposed to be fully icsi, but after the process..was told that half the eggs collected was used for IVF and the other half for Icsi, which meant the number of embryos available for transfer was halved!!.

Then left with 5 embryos for frozen, i wanted to thaw all and go for blastocycst but he refuse, so had no choice but to tsf 3 for medicated FET.

for 2nd FET, we wanted to use clomid to stimulate ovulation as some private centres who used clomid locally and overseas had better results, but he also refuse to do so.

this time round, the only thing he aceded to change in the protocol is the addition of aspirin after ER to minimise auto immune reaction to the ER and embryos.

still pending are my requests for 1)blastocyst tsf 2)assisted hatching

now with this KKH IVF extending the lucrin jabs for another week... it really make me wonder why i stick on to KKH IVF.

I fervently hope that this will be the last cycle i am going to do, be it at KKH or elsewhere.

how many cycles did you set yourself to do before you give up?

starzy

FET is frozen embryo tsf. FET is a lot simplier as there is no stimulation, just need to take meds to prepare the lining for transfer.

from western point of view, the following cycle after IVF failure can do already, but if you follow TCM view, it's better to rest at least 3-6 cycles before trying again.

personally, i think it depends on how ready one is emotionally and mentally to start again, cos physically one may be recovered but the fear of failure again can be a huge stumbling block.

Yve,

can imagine your happiness at being FREE finally from all the madness of work. he he... =)

you are a japanese too?

Hi Babymaking, i see. Maybe you had much more eggs thats why he wants to set aside half IVF and half ICSI and see if the IVF lot work. Becos if the IVF lot work, then that lot is actually a very good and strong lot. Cos no matter what, IVF is still more natural than ICSI so the resulting embryos should be better, stronger, more viable. Maybe he was hoping to achieve that for you.

As for developing to blastocyst, i heard that about him before. He is skeptical of the lab culture and think that mother's womb is always most conducive maybe thats why he want to transfer in embryos early so that they can develop better. To go on to blastocyst is actually a gamble cos not alot embryos can grow that far and even if that far, transfer already, may not mean higher success too.

Assisted hatching he should allow for you. He allowed for me. Unless your condition very much better than mine then maybe that explains why he rather let your embryos hatch naturally. I have high FSH and mid grade embryos, that might explain my embryo quality and why he accede to assisted hatching. Maybe you are much better than me.

I dont know how long i will stay at KK. Frankly, i also dont really have to stick to Dr Loh. Just that since he already knows my case, i thought better to stay and see if each protocol can be improved till i suceeded.

Babymaking, to add on, i can understand your frustrations with him and KK. Lets hope no more of this meaning you would have succeeded!

hi starzy...
FET (aka Frozen Embryo Transfer) & ET is the same in the embryo transfer procedure, but its cycle is much shorter. FET cycle is less stressful to body because the embryo is taken from storage to be thaw 1st before transfer, unlike in fresh IVF whereby many of us are required go thru about 3-4 weeks of injections to simulate follicles growth, followed by the invasive procedure of ER. FET cycle (prior to transfer) only requires us to take medication.

gyane usually recommend our body to rest for 2 months before embarking FET after 1st IVF failure (provided there were embryos for storage). i believe this duration is the minimium alternatively, u may wait for 1 or 2 menses after the failure.

Ponytail,
So sorry to hear about this. It is a difficult decision to make. I agree with Sue and Try again. You should do your ER since you have lots of eggs. Don’t worry about the high ovaries, doctor should know what to do. Mine was so high that when I did my US, I have to use both hands to keep pushing my tummy down to push the ovaries for doctor to scan.

How serious is your case? Do you have abdominal swelling or pain? Or do you have Diarrhea or vomiting plus dark strong urine? Continue to take your egg whites dear, drink water every half an hour. This will help wash out the medication in you and clear the urine. Don’t give up ok. If I’m not wrong, I remember Comfort also has this problem at first but now she is BFP.

You may want to discuss with your hubby. Your health is more impt than anything. Don’t worry, do your ER first. Ask doctor if he can observe your condition for 2 days (usually we rest 2 days before ET) before deciding to do ET or not? You can continue with your egg white rescue for 2 more days.

Sue and Hope&Faith,
How are both of you doing? My ET is tomorrow, won’t be using the computers for the first few days. Wishing both of you good luck for your ER and ET!

Ponytail,
Wishing you good luck for your ER and ET!

Hope&Faith, Ponytail, Sue and Happyever,
Lets all have BFP, Positive! Positive! Jia You!

The forum is moving very fast and I can’t catch up with all your discussions now. All the best to everybody! Catch up another day.

Hi ....

I have been a silent reader in this forum...May be gg for IVF next year...

Was reading and found that some of u mentioned abt the medicine called QASEH...I also saw that it's sold at one shop in Masjud Kassim...Anyone of u know the shop name or address...Can't seem to see any shop selling any medicine...abit confused...Help...Thanks...

molecule... do u mean u detected bleeding after the ET procedure??
personally i don't experience this in both of my transfers. why don't u check with your gyane??

Ponytail,

I had the same problem with you having too many follicles, total 35. I am PCOS sufferer & high risk of getting OHSS. Despite that, KKH proceed with ER & ET. I believe if it's a high risk, KKH won't proceed with it since government hospital has their strict protocol.

As expected, i suffered from mild to moderate OHSS for 5 days. I had bloated stomach, chest pain, difficulty in breathing & walking, nausea & vomiting. Glad it's gone in 5 days. Afterwhich, my OHSS came back few days before my blood test. I guess i may be pregnant as presence of hcg will trigger back OHSS. I tested myself with HPT & it's POSITIVE. On the day of BT, OHSS has worsen & i was given another 1 week MC. And indeed BT came out to be positive. Although i was in pain, the thought of me had succeed tells me it's worth the suffering. At last, my 2nd OHSS last me about 7 days & i am now a happy mum-to-be waiting for my next scanning.

I am telling you my experience with OHSS hoping you have a better decision whether to proceed or defer.

Like what Try again has mentioned, If very uncomfortable, then do a FET later? If not, i were you i will still proceed with it. As it's only a small percentage of having severe type which needs to be hospitalise. But there are still chances of having the severe type. It depends on individual body. The days of OHSS was the worst miserable sick days i ever had. I was lucky that mine was mild to moderate type.

I understand that you are confused & sad with either ways you choose. Maybe you would like to google OHSS for more information.

All the best to you
Whatever it's ur decision, God will provide for you.

pretyy lady,yes I guess is bleeding caused by ET procedure. I did ask the nurse she say is normal because the cervix is raw, but I personally feel uncomfortable.Will check with my gynae again.thks.

hi ,

need help. my menses have been delayed for a long ime. due on the 13th but still not here yet. taken provera for 8 days and now is my 4th day after the last pill, still not here. what shld i do. i want to start my ivf this cycle.any advise. i am under kkivf, dr loh.

thanks all

babymaking, sue, happyever, comfort - apparently the OHSS will go away by itself during next AF. i have 13 on left, 11 on right. total 24. size abt 19.5, 19. i think having gone through 4 weeks of injection, will go for ER so its not wasted. confirm ER this sat already. going to jab ovidrel later tonight.

thanks comfort, for sharing your story. it gives me more hope. right now my tummy is big, heavy boobs, when i walk got very slight back pain, but otherwise ok. will drink water every half hour like happyever said. can i know what you did during the OHSS days to keep your spirits up and cure the OHSS ? 35 is quite a large no. why did you decide to proceed with ET knowing that there's such a high risk.

Dear Ponytail, Sue, Hope&Faith, wishing you well for your ER and hope you can proceed with ET smoothly.
Think Positive ok? Remember to rest well during 2ww.

Starzy & GraceBB, Bt is coming soon, wishing u BFP too.
Take care from now till then and after too!

Happy, may you have a smooth ET and hope bb can implant successfully in you. You can do it! Jia you ok?

Bliss, Comfort, Mel, Faith: Wishing you all and the babies well too. Hope MS can be reduced to the minimum while BBs can still grow very well and healthy. I am also starting to feel abit nauseous with some giddy spell. And it didnt help at all when i m so tight up with work. Got a very demanding boss indeed. My 1st scan has been scheduled on 8 Nov. Just hope all are well.

Remember to stay POSITIVE and Smiles

Hopfully,

Great to hear an update from you again. So are you working at the moment or taking rest at home? Take care, ya! Let us know abt your next scan.

Hi Mystyy, so nice to hear from you. I am now at home. Finally got time to log in to catch up with you ladies. How are you, dear? Wishing you well too.
When are u leaving for Norway?

Hopfully,

I am doing fine. Will be meeting up with gynae to find out the causes of failure this Sat, then will take my next action. Starting on my massage tom. So hopefully, don't need IVF. Will be leaving for Norway on 2 Dec. Can't wait for that. Next Monday, will start work again for 2 weeks then meetings till end of the month. Felt lazy to go back to work after bumming around at home for 4 mths.

Mystyy, heehee i can understand that feeling before going back. I have that thought too and it just felt like "school reopen" for me though. And yes, i definitely hope you can accomplish your mission naturally.
You can do it!!!
Please also enjoy ur trip and break away from all things. Relax relax and relax.

Just to tell you, i do miss my 2ww. Staying at home is such a blessing.

Hi Alyssa,
Have you been prescribe clomid?
You can drink clomid so you can get ovulation and menses straight away come.
If not, maybe you can ask Dr. Loh what should you do to got the menses.

Happy - sorry, I koon like pig the last few 2 days, so, didn't see your post.. Yup, the ET is done in same theater.. Had to lie there for about an hour or 2... They will show you the pretty embies on the screen, you will get to see the little beans being sucked up from the petri dish and after that, being transfered in, where yiu will see the images on US.. Good luck on the ET tomorrow... Stick, little beanies, stick!!!

Ponytail - I find that stroking my tummy helps to encourage the "feeling"... Try that with lots of yakult, fruits and prune juice... Once got feeling, easy to da pian... Hee...

Hopfully - thanks for the well wishes.. Me okie, thought my puking days were over since last deepavalli weekend, I was happily eating without retching, but I spoke too soon.. Started the puking regime on Tuesday, and I have been a little pissed ever since.. Shouldn't have thought that it'll be over so early... Anyway.. Enjoy your preggy time, and really eat before your body start the nausea stuff... Lastly, be happy!!!

Good luck at all girls at all stages!! Good thoughts your way!!

ponytail,
the egg size seems to be really good!
1837725.gif

Stay strong!!!

Good luck with the injection! by the way... is it a long needle? or about the same as superfact?

Good luck on Saturday! what time is your ER going to be?

Ponytail,
Wow, you got 24 eggs. That is a good number, the more you should go for ER first. I think Comfort’s sharing has given you a clear picture. As for the water drinking part, do it in moderation, don’t force yourself too much. Once urine colour become lighter, you should be fine. Jiayou on Sat!

Mel, Hopefully, ponytail and sue,
Thanks alot for your cheering! Finally it is my turn. May all of our dreams come true!

Mel,
So I can see the little pretty embryos on the screen and than doctor will suck it up and transfer. So exciting, must tell my hubby about it. I think he’ll like to see our little embryos before they stick, stick, and grow grow inside mummy. Oh, I’m so happy. Thanks again Mel. Sleep and have a good rest. Listen to your body, your babies wants mummy to rest and they like the closeness of being with mummy. Oh,envying u!

Hi Alyssa,
how many days of provera were you being prescribe? It should be a 10 days of tablets and menses will only come 1-2 days after you complete this.

Hi ponytail,
all the best for your ER and stay positive.

Hi mel,
hope your puking will be over soon.

hi Lina,

I was given 8 days. i called KKIvf and they said e no of days varies. should i call kkivf, dont want to be so kianchong, as the nurse said shoul be 3-5 days after the last pill. but no sign at all. today is my 4th day after last pill. i reall want to do during the nov dec hols. thanks so much for ur help lina,

Josephine,
i have taken clomid before but should i take clomid now? den wont i waste so many days as i got to start a new cycle? thanks jo, really lost on this issue. feel like it is playg hide and seek with me

hopfully,
thanks! I am as usual, ms has not reduced so far, hopefully will be better soon.
How are you feeling lately?
Must rest well and take good care.

Happy,
you had your ET liao? How many embryos you put in?
Must rest well and stay happy!

Hope to hear good news from you very soon!

try again

thanks for trying to rationalise the situation, however i really felt he could be more responsive, or maybe i am expecting too much..but still..anyways, since now already started a new fresh cycle with him, must have confidence and faith that he's doing his best.

oh it's quite difficult to transfer doctors out of KKH, cos KKH IVF refuse to release the medical reports - if want, have to go through the medical office and it cost $180 for a report and 3 weeks i think plus $5 for each blood/lab test/scan. the cost do add up, considering how thick my file is. *faint*

alyssa

Usually AF will come 3-5 days after your last pill, now is yr 4th day, so hang on in there. your body have to register the sudden drop in progesterone (provera) before it can trigger the shedding of the lining in the womb = AF.

You can also request for a progesterone jab which works a lot faster, AF appears 2-3 days after the jab.

ponytail
Good luck on your ER and remember to continue your egg whites till you feel better. take care!

hi Babymaking, you are welcome. Just airing my thoughts. I also dont want to side Dr Loh or KK becos i also know they can indeed be quite rigid. Maybe govt hospital, so very kiasi, everything must follow standard protocol, cannot explore new things, cannot take risks etc. And was just thinking maybe your condition/response is good thats why he also dont feel need to do much more.

Anyway, you are right, since started, lets just hope this will be the last for you meaning you will BFP! As for reports, each time you do tests, you got ask for copies? If have, those are good enough to bring to other doctors. My file also thick thick. I have been collecting every test copy since day1.

Hi Alyssa,
My menses also like you not regular. So, last time oh I take clomid 1 month before when me and my DH decided to take IVF. Hahahaha *cheating oh... because I just scare that my menses wont come mah. I think oh, should be ok because after menses, 2nd day nurse will give you tablet to make menses come again.
Btw, you just start the IVF programme or you already start the IVF Programme?

sue, happy, hopefully, lina, babymaking - thanks for the encouragement. the ovidrel jab is like normal suprefact needle. Cheh...i thought was a frightening one. except had to do it at midnight, a bit blur blur. sue, it helps if your hubby is around to help you. i was alone at home so a bit nervous abt dropping the needle etc. actually since its such an important jab, they should give us 1 more as backup right ?