hi everybody, i m fine.
Just that didnt want to think about pregnancy so have been doing other stuffs instead of surfing net. Hehe thanks for concern n sorry to have 'disappeared'.

Grats Comfort!
I have also tested a faint line a few days back, also dont know if its due to the pregnyl jab so will just wait n see.

Hi akachan, So great to hear from you. How nice to know u have tested positive too. Hope i will be next.
Take good care ok?

Comfort,
I am sure you will get BFP on your BT. You are definitely expecting.

All the best and look forward to hearing your good news.

Mystyy,
yes, it will be good not to take BBT since it only adds to the stress and anxiety at this time. Dont worry too much, ok? You have tried your best. Must be positive and happy that you are able to try whatever you can to fulfil your wishes. I am sure you will be blessed with your little ones very soon.
Jia You!

Mel,
I am still feeling the same. Every single day seems like every single year. But there is nothing I can do, so just have to bear with it. I just pray that all the discomforts will be gone very soon. I also think at the positive side, I think I am lucky to be able to rest at home everyday as I am not working.
Thanks for your concern. I hope you will be feeling better soon too.
Didnt see you at the other thread still. Heehee, you must have been very busy and forgotten to join.

Must take good care.

Akachan,
happy for you! I am sure you are pregnant too, same as comfort.

When is your BT? Do update us your latest good news!

Comfort and akachan,
Waiting for your BFP good news after your BT! Jia you!

some updates on myself,
I have been waiting patiently for my AF to arrive. The Nurse at Care was so sweet as she called to check on my status. She has kept a record on my progress. Feel that I'm in good hands and hope that this time round, things will be smooth for me.

Meanwhile, I was trying to stay relax and do other things like akachan to don’t think too much about this whole process. But gotten a bad news yesterday that I'll be getting a new boss next year as my very supportive boss is leaving. I’m currently on No-pay leave and will return Coming Jan. Gotten abit worried. But again, this is one of the changes in life that we have to face. Must impt is to relax and handle things one at a time.

Akachan,

Welcome back! Great to hear you are doing fine and I'm sure it will be a BFP for you too!

Bliss,
Thank you for the comforting words. I am trying to keep my spirits up and not to think too much.

Mel,
I just tried the molten lava cake this morning. Haven't baked it yet though, still chilling it in the fridge. Hope it didn't sink in! Will post pics later when baked just before I eat it....hehe

Hi akachan,
It will be a BFP....all the best.

just curious for twins or triplets, will they look different or identical face? anyone whose friend had twins/triplets from ivf?

Lina,
it will depend on whether it is identical or fraternal twins/triplets. Identical twins are formed from the same egg so will have identical faces and same gender. Whereas fraternal twins are from 2 eggs, so the faces are probably just like siblings and gender can be same or different. For ivf pregnancy, fraternal twins most probably take place as there are more than 1 embryos put into the womb.

Hi bliss,
thanks. i was also guessing that more likely fraternal twins. But for ivf pregnancy, even though place in eg. 2 eggs, it might still split to become 3 eggs. There is a case at kk whereby the mom put in 3 eggs, all survived and mid term pregnancy, then found she had 4 babies. She was quite shock and the taking care part and cost too.

akachan - congrats!! i'm sure that it is a positive.. i dun remember you having any pregnyl/hcg shots mah...

bliss - yah.. i was lurking there, haven't join.. cos nothing mush to post... here is more fun.. i am more curious abt the girls here and super wish that all girls from here will grad!! i have been littering my workplace with orange peels.. they seem to be the only smell that i like.. my poor hubby has to take oranges everyday, whether sweet or not... just so that i can take the peels to office.. hah...

happyever - yah, trust me.. CARE is very nice one... they will run and hug you when got good news... bad news they will comfort... very humane in this sense.. i am no longer going there, cos Dr PT says dun need mah.. and they still call me to remind me to continue to take medication.. so cute hor.. sending you very positive thoughts.. dun think abt the 'new' boss lah.. mabbe even more supportive lor..

mystyy - jealous!!! later when you cut into it, and all the molten lava chocolate comes out, think of me, salivating here hor.. if no pregnyl shots.. i think you can try 10dpt.. the ang moh thread that i was on.. they very on one.. they POAS 7 days after blastocyst.. crossing fingers for you.. good thoughts good thoughts!!

lina - whoa.. that lady quite stylio.. she must have had twins genes in her bloodline.. no easy leh... but i have always find identical twins quite cute...

Lina,
haha, so cute but was quite 'scary'! :D
I happened to see this webpage some time ago, showing a video about a mother having twins at first and one of them splited into 2 and ended up having triplets, so cute!
43wv%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/pmultiples/0,,43wv,00.html
There is one lady in the ivf MTB thread also having triplets now.

Mel,
you should take a look at this video, very cute. Showing the triplets were actually playing(touching each other's hands, kicking one another) with one another inside mother's womb.
Although there is one fraternal twins among the triplets, all of them look identical.

Lina,
Actually, many siblings do look alike too even they are not twins.

Mel,

That is if the molten chocolate comes out hehehe...I am not sure what shot I was given immediately after FET coz I was on sedation. Must be pregnyl and can't be others, rite? Hmm..I really have not fully decided to do HPT this weekend or not coz my BT is on Tues. Seems a number of ladies here are doing their HPTs first...so it kinda rubbed off on me. Will let you know if I do decide to test first. Excited + very scared.

Mel,
I also find oranges the only fruit that can help to 'cover up' the bitter nauseaous taste on my tongue. But I dare not eat too much, coz my mum said eating too many oranges will cause baby to have phlegm in future.

mel,
Thanks for the positive sprinkles, and hey! Think i found some magic babydusts in it. Hug hug!

So orange peels help for ur MS.I'll note tat down, maybe it will come helpful for me next time. There is a dish that i like, called chen zhi gu lu rou. You can add 3-4 table spoons of orange juice when cooking ur ketchup pork dish. For me, it is mork meat dish. Very kai wei.

i plan to start the ivf in mid dec. Wondering if it will clash with the chinese new year in jan 26th 09. Kindly advise. i need to take the pills first before the jabs. Thanks

Hi mel,
yeah, identical twins are cute.

hi bliss,
thanks for the link. Quite true, some siblings look very much alike although different age.

Hi nancy,
welcome

Nancy..thks for the info..well ive been trying for 2yrs plus eversince i got married in '06. Hopefully my eggs are good quality.

Ponytail..yup today went for my scan n blood test. i will hav to call them ard 3plus tfor my blood test results..currently they told me to continue taking the lucrin. Earlier while the doc was scanning ..she did mention to the other doc that my uterus n ovary at the back..i tink she was looking at the left ovary. after the scan i asked if everything is fine, she just said ya its ok..my lining is thin..n she did mention that she can see the ovary much cos it was small n very hazy..but she said its ok..wait for the blood test. Now i am wondering..if ovary small is it ok or wat ah?..n why she say hazy?..the monitor spoil??..whahhahaha..i dnt noe la..then she say my uterus at the back?..sighh..alot of questions running thru my head...

hope & faith - maybe she forgot to turn off the light or didnt clean the monitor screen. 'hazy'... hmm havent heard of this before. have you taken scan before ? how come your doc only notice the position of uterus and ovary only now ? now its after 3pm, so you know if you're going to stage 2 yet ? hee, tomoro my turn to scan leh...

akachan - hey you're back. Congrats !! Hope you get strong BFP real soon.

hopefully - i'm a civil servant too. but very busy at work leh. no time to check this thread.

Hi everybody, can I join in?

i am very troubled now as our checks at KKH concluded that we need to do ICSI if we want to have a bb.

i m not very keen on going for icsi as
(1) it is very costly (abt 7-10k per cycle?) and no guarantee success. with 3 cycles we would have incurred abt 30k expenses and depleted much of our funds even before the bb comes?
(2) i m 35 now, what if i conceived an abnormal, low IQ bb through icsi?

however, as i m turning 36 soon, we need to decide fast if we shld go for icsi.

i m very confused now, the cost of icsi is prohibitive and makes me wonder if it is worth it. one part of me says that it is ok not to have a bb, but somehow there's another part of me that's does not seem to be willing to let go.

sorry if i mumble-jumble, i m still upset ...

hi ristin..tis is my first time on IVf. Well firstly..u can use medisave..$3000 is from govt the Assisted Reproduction Programme and the rest of is used from ur medisave..
Secondly did the doc personally told u tht you hav to go thru icsi?..cos usually they use tht method if there are not many good sperm quality therefore they will pick the good one and put it together with ur egg. In my case..the doc just said that they will hav to see how the sperms are...Pls pardon me if my info is wrong.

By the way did sumone mention to u tht going thru ICSI might cause baby having low iq??..

I do hope i helped u in some way..im sure you will soon come to a clear decision..take care

Ponytail..i can start on my stage 2. I have to go to kk on Friday to take the puregon.
Yea..she said hazy...im kinda worried..whether or not she noes wht she is saying. I mean how could u tell the patient ..oh it is hazy so cannot see much??..where are u doin ur treatment?.
By the way the lady doin my scan is not my doc..i chose a particular doc to do my ivf but it seems i onli will get to see during ET and ER and the last stage. I m very unsure now.

Dwi ..u did mention abt private suite at KK with Dr SF Loh..hmmm..can u enligten me with this?..cos i hav not heard of this. I chose Dr Marriane to do my IvF as she did my laproscopy mths before. I check with the nurse tht if i dnt choose any particular doc then sum other doc will do the ivf treatment...u also mentioned tht all ur scans will be done by Dr Loh..u mean from stage 1 onwards??..pls enlighten me ..thks alot

hopefaith - i'm doing at nuh. the lady who did your scan, is she a doc ? how come they didnt detect earlier. maybe she not v good at using the machine, then just smoke you say hazy... dont think too much. at least now you progress to stage 2.

happyever, hope faith - are you eating anything special for stage 2 other than ensure (i think i remember you said you take ensure). just wondering if i need to go grocery shopping this week. do you know if need to rest more during stage 2 ? alamak i got this weekend packed with busy stuff already. also, your AF come already ? i going for checkup tomoro but AF not here yet leh...

Ponytail..my Af ended today. I just drink ensure and i ges thruout ivf we have to have enough rest and just don't stress ourselves up. Yes she is also a doc. she is not local..she is prbly frm africa.

hopefaith - uh oh, my AF not here yet. tomoro i ask my doc how come. ya see, your doc is not local so maybe not used to the machines here, so dont worry

this one's for DH with dried figs, but too bad his got not much of chocolate overflowing coz I took out from the oven a little late...hehehe...if only got strawberries, ice cream and mint leaf then will be just like a restaurant!

1791656.jpg

wow mystyy!!!

those cakes look really good and yummy~~~~~~~mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Ponytail,
I think the proceedure at NUH is that the superfact dosage is heavy to the point that your AF will not come at a natural timing and when you start your gonal-f it will come.

ristin,
Welcome to the forum.
By the way I do not believe ICSI will cause lower IQ bb. It is only another proceedure that modern medicen can help to concive bb. To give a helping hand to the boys side....

Hey Everyone...

This is my first time posting here. Me and hubs have been trying for a baby since 2004. Done IUI previously but still fail. Have made an appointment at KKH this Friday. Hope to start on my IVF cycle soon.

After reading all the posts posted here, I was more comforted as I was not sure what I was in for initially. To all those who have successfully when thru the process Congrats!!! I hope to join you ladies soon.

Hi mystyy,
delicious cake...wow!

Hi ristin,
For your first 3 tries, will not need to use own saving. Meanwhile you may want to save up for future tries or bb future. ivf might take years so you still have time to save up. After conceive you can do test to check for abnormality.

mystyy,
nice, tasty looking cake!
How I wish my body will allow me to take chocolate cake like this...

ristin,

do not worry about going thru ICSI. It is actually almost the same as IVF, just that it needs the injection of sperm into each egg. In fact, this helps to improve the chance of successful fertilisation. You should feel hopeful and happy to have such high tech medical treatment to help us.

I also dont know my pregnancy is thru IVF or ICSI leh, since KKH will do both during the fertilisation in the lab. But it was written 'ICSI' in my form during my first pregnancy scan, so I am also not sure my baby is created thru ICSI or not.
Anyway, it does not really matter now of course.

mystyy - yumms... can i order banana walnut cake too

sue - oh i see. just went for check up this mornig. clinic will call me at 3pm to let me know when to start gonal F. when you going for your check up ?

mystyy - jealous... dreaming of it now at work... salivating lor.. hey.. will you POAS?? i am very curious abt your results!! wishing you all the best!! **sprinkle sprinkle**

nancy - welcome..
it all depends how your body respond and stage will you be on by jan.. if all goes well, you could be pregnant by jan... btw, just curious.. does it matter what stage you will be on by chinese new year? if you are worried abt the clinics being off duty.. as far as i know, they will cater to you and your body, rather than making your body cater to them... well, you could delay this if you are worried...

hope&faith - congrats on moving to stage 2..

ponytail - you moving to stage 2 also?? you will know by 3?? let us know!!

ristin - i did all my eggs through ICSI.. hubby had infection in semen, so, they had to seperate the sperm from the seminal fluid... as for low IQ bbs through ICSI.. they studies since 1990s have been a little conflicting... not too many studies out there.. but, initial studies have shown that at the age of 1 year, ICSI babies have shown a 7 point difference between normally concieved(NC) babies and 3 point difference between ICSI and IVF.. for both mental and physical development.. later studies have shown that studies at age of 1 are not accurate, thus, they moved to looking at babies at age 5 years.. they have shown no difference for ICSI, IVF and NC babies.. then.. the latest study in denmark, for the europe convention, they did studies for ICSI, IVF and NC children at age 8. they have discovered that ICSI children normally has significantly higher IQ then IVF or NC children.. after all these, there is a disclaimer on the studies.. cos, they do believe that it is a result of 'nurture' and not 'nature'.. this is due to the fact that when children are more 'wanted' by parents that go through reproductive help, and thus, the caring enviornment will nurture the little angels to be better both emotionally and mentally.. wishing you all the best in whatever you decide...

Hi Hopefaith, Sunny & Lina,

the doc recommended icsi becos of the sperm issue.

i m concerned abt having low iq bb as i m 35 liao ... tot having bb at this age (or older) got higher risks of having low iq bb
if dat happens, i will be doubly torn whether to abort or not n really regret doing icsi for the rest of my life.

thanks for hearing me out tho

ponytail,
Oh your bloodtest is today!! yes yes please tell us how it went!
My blood test will be next monday... so today did you inject your superfact as normal?

melwong,
Oh yeah, I read that research too about ICSI,IVF children being smarter hehehe
(do to the more nuture and care they get from their parents)

ristin,
I dont think it is the IQ you should be worried about but, more of the down syndrom.

I am almost 40 and trying to have a baby for the first time.........

mel - my doc also mentioned that ivf kids smarter cos of nurture environment.

risting- as long as you keep healthy, dont drink or smoke, should be fine. a lot of ppl here are over 35

sue - normal blood test. they'll only know result in afernoon and let me know whether to continue with 50ml or 20 ml suprefact. was quite scared of needle today, but nurse v gentle, and amount same amount of 'pain' as doing suprefact. today i also joke with nurse that i'm getting better at giving injections. although i still need to look/ think of my ferroro roche to get me through... :p

oh by the way, the clinic also gave my hubby 10 days of antibiotics to eat once i start my gonal F. is this normal ?

Hopefaith - your hubby need to take ?

sue, ponytail - yah..hehh hehh.. i always think that we who want the little children very much, will definately nurture the little ones till they are such smart darlings!!

ponytail - my hubby was on 2 courses of antibiotics, but still the stubborn bacteria could not be killed out of his seminal fluid.. dun worry abt this..

sue, ristin - just to let you know.. though i am worried abt down syndrome too, but i have decided against taking the OSCAR test..

ponytail,

Ohhhhhhh you are doing the "choco-treatment"heeeee hahaha
Oh.. so monday when I go I might not need to do the injection.... I think I will call the nurse and find out..... so I can be one less injection hehehehe

yeah the nurse did mention to me about the antibiotics to my hubby. That is like what mel said to get rid of the not needed bacteria and things.. I think that is what the nurse said....

Hi everyone... Hope you dont mind me joining in this group. I know all of you have been a closely knitted group. I believe having a group that goes through what you are going through is very helpful. I was at one stage having depression as I do not have a support group when I was having a difficult early pregnancy after the IUI (which I later lost)

I am planning to start IVF cycle soon but how soon after our period can we start on the cycle?

How long does one cycle of IVF usually last?