hi josephine
I dn't know if i got a lot of good grade egg, because of my last two cycles feeling a bit down. Things are bad for me today my tummy is so bloated as though i am 5month pregnant(wish it was true),So cannot eat much because it is pressing my lower tummy and damn painful.
I think legally can put in only 2.

Hi josephine,
thanks for the info. Yes, i wish everything goes okay.

Also, I find the flow is very low , compared to my previous flows...
Is this normal....

Hi kalki, patricia, debz

Thanks. Totally new to this. so many post flying around. i've had a miscarriage before and done IUI twice and not successful. So quite nervous abt ivf cos dont want to be disappointed again. have you done ivf before ? (or is this a silly question since this is obviously an ivf thread :p)

Hi Josephine,
Congrats!!!! :D Soooo happy for you!!! I can understand how nervous it was to take the pregnancy urine test!
Can I ask you the number and grade of embryos you put in during your ET?

I am now officially in my 2WW. Just did my ET this morning. Out of my 18 eggs extracted, 11 were fertilised and so 2 in grade 4 are put in and the remaining 9 in grade 3 are frozen. (Patricia, we have the exactly same number of eggs extracted and same numbers of embryos fertilised leh!! Our cycles are so close somemore! Hehehe!

Actually I was a bit disappointed to hear that only 2 are of grade 4 and the rest are grade 3. But Dr Sadhana said that it does not mean that embryos in better grades will have higher chances to get implanted. So I was feeling better after that.

My ET was ok, just have to wait for some time for my doc to come. Held my full bladder nearly until cant tahan. Got lots of cramps after the transfer and cramping alot when I rushed to pee. But after that, I was feeling much better. However, the bloatedness and crampy feeling has been on and off. I noticed that the lower part of my body has bloated so much that I cant see my waist anymore!!!
So scary leh!

Maykel,
it indeed feels very good to see my own fertilised embryos from the TV screen during the ET and also after looking at the pic of the 4 cells little embryos KKH gave to me. Really have the effect of reducing the discomfort of holding full bladder during ET!

I am on progesterone injections for 16 days now. Will have to go to KK everyday.

Patricia,
I also starting to feel worried about any symptoms from now on... dont know why leh... We must encourage and support each other huh, since our dates are really near.
Anything must share with me, ok?

Hi Ping,

how are you now? long time never see your postings. You are so far the only who has been feeling quite ok with the ER and ET. Hope you are resting well and feeling good these days.

today after my ET, I asked Dr Sadhana if I should continue taking my multi vits tablets for the 2WW. I even showed her the multivits I have been taking. She told me that she personally is not a believer of multivits, and also many multivits tablets selling outside are actually not totally proven to be safe and effective. She is it is actually very sufficient to just take well balanced and nutritious diet everyday. However, she told me that if I have been feeling ok all these while with taking the multivits, I may continue to take. But after hearing what she said, I decided to stop for this 2 weeks and just take my folic acid tablets and chinese med only.

Anyone of you are still taking or not taking multivits huh? Can share?

Hi Kalki,
I also only put 2. Dun sad. You must rest well, drink plenty of water and eat egg white.

Hi Bliss,
Thank you, hope the result is true.
During ER, the doctor retrieves 25 eggs. Only 12 fertilized. 5 is grade 4, 7 is grade 3.
During ET, I only put 2. 10 are frozen.
You also got quite number of egg.
You got buy the insurance?
Wish you all the best on your 2WW.
Btw, I only drink Vitamin C-1000mg from GNC. I got the nurse whether is ok If I take it and she said it is ok as long as after I finish the antibiotic.

Hi Sri,
Yup, same. The flows not as much as the normal flow.

i put in 2 embroys only coz tht is the rule if we take the govt funding.. pls correct mi if i am wrong..
So far for me, no symptoms.no bloating, no pain,no vomitting..VVV.slight cramps..maybe i notice it coz im SEARCHING for signs!hahaz..apart from tht i look and feel like a normal being!

Bliss.. you got a good no. of embroys!n yes, i guess grade and number of embroys not THAT important as we think.Like many say,it takes only 1 embroy of any grade! glad your ET went through well & Welcome to 2WW
Rest well & take lots of protein & plain water!

Jospehine.. Great News!Congrats! Am suRe u will Graduate! U muz be sooooooooooo ecstatic yet nervous! gosh! few more days only!!so happy for u gal!

Kalki.. r you taking your proteins and water? Did you mention to your gynae bout this..Maybe u should consider a review from the gynae? take care yea...

Could i ask u gals sth...sumtimes, some of you mention when u have some queries/symptoms, you check with prof loh or make an appointment? how does this work? do u have your gynae's contact #? or you have to go to the appointment dept to make an appointment & wait like normal patients? pls shed some light...~ThnX~

Josephine,
yes, I am confident that you will get your beta test positive!

Yes, I am buying the insurance, you?
Thanks , I will try to rest well and eat well.

Thanks, Dimple!
Ya, you are right, got to put in max 2 embryos only in order to get the govt cofunding.
Dont think too much, I think it is good to feel as per normal too. It also doesnt mean much to have lots of symptoms. So stay positive still!

By the way, how many fertilised embryos you have? What are the grades?

Hi Bliss,
Yea, I got buy the insurance. The insurance already sent and in my desk now. Hehehehe ^_^

Yup.. rest rest and rest....
Folic acid.. eat.. drink.. eat.. drink.. napping.. eat.. drink.. eat.. drink.. eat.. drink.. sleeping..

rest well oh...

josephine,
congratulations!!

bliss,
seems like yr ET is a lot less scary compared to yr ER ;) congrats for the gd no. of fertilised eggs! u must rest properly during the 2ww...

ask u, were u taking chinese med thruout the ivf process, even when u were on jabs/drugs? yr gynae says this is ok?

Hi ponytail,
I have gone through 2 cycles of IVF one stopped on D5 of gonal-f and next was a full cycle with a -ve effect(but the doc i went through is not known to anybody).
But now with mt.e and on my 3rd cycle. The doc was recommended by a friend.
You just take it easy. Start eating a lot of nutritious food and keep yourself relaxed. Do not have your expectations high but at the sametime keep your fingers crossed(i know how difficult it is). During you moodswing we are all here to help each other don't worry.

My husband also tell me not to take any other medication. I think it is mainly some medications carry chemicals that could cause a negative reaction. Just eat enough healthy food should do the wonder.

hi pooh,

thanks! hehehe! Ya, actually before my ER, I already quite scared of ER after knowing how it was like. But for ET, I had IUI before, so kind of knowing how it will be like for ET.
Thanks, I will rest more, though I am still working on some part time job at home.

oh yes, I have been taking Chinese med throughout IVF, even while on jabs. I did ask my doc, she said though she knows nothing about TCM, however it will be fine to take TCM if the chinese sinseh is familiar with the drugs used during ivf and so has the knowledge of how and what to prescribe for me to complement with the treatment.

The KKH nurse, Sarah also advised me on that too, told me must find those sinseh who has knowledge and experience to help ivf patients and not any normal chinese physician out there.

On the other hand, my EYS sinseh also told me that it is best that my doc approved me to take TCM while on IVF, coz some docs might be very unhappy if I insisted in taking TCM.

ok you all pray for me for tomorrow. Now going to bed tomorrow will be a early day for me.
Goodnight
will keep you all updated.

hi Josephine,
congrats to the +ve hpt! u r only 3 days away from beta, wun be wrong one!

welcome, Ponytail

Patricia & Cale,
yup! was on supp progesterone for 17 days (i think). no spotting for me, except some pink spotting on 1 of the days in the 1st week.
yes, make sure u get hold of nurse Nora to extend ur HL.
noticed that usu the billing clerk is the one who answer the phone, dun ask her for extension. she will ask u to see doc...

Hi Cale and juju,
Thanks for ur info. I feel much better now but still have cramps on and off. Dunno whether izit a good sign or not. Do u go out during 2WW? like eating outside?

Hi Josephine,
I using the supp progesterone, so i will call Nora to extend my HL. Do u go out during ur 2WW?
like eating outside?

Hi Bliss,
Yeah, we are buddy. I feel ok today, only feel cramps lower abdominal on and off.
Yes, we have the same number of eggs, same number eggs fertilized also. put in same too. What a good buddy! haha..

Hi Patricia,
Yup, I got eat outside few times specially Saturday or Sunday when my DH around. Hehehehe ^_^
For me, I just talk to any nurse to extend my HL.

Yesterday in the middle of the night, I had the terrible miscarriage type of cramps or contraction kind of cramps again. This time it lasted for more than 5 minutes and it was very very intense. My husband nearly called for the ambulance. I've not had any pains during my 2 miscarriages and neither have i gone through labour pains but this was so intense that I think this is similar to miscarriage or labour pains.I didn't bother calling the clinic as all I know they will tell me is to rest which which I'm already doing anyway. There was no blood at all but I had to go to the toilet after that.

I don't know what these pains mean but I'm not too optimistic now.My pregnancy test is on 15 Sept. but after this experience, I think it has failed, but deep down I'm praying that it will work out. I cannot share with my husband these thoughts because he is so optimistic and I don't want to upset him.

Hi Kalki

Hope you had a smooth ER today!

Hi Bliss

Congratulations on your smooth ET! Take plenty of rest and eat well.

To all those in the 2WW

All the best to you!

Hi Mala,
Sorry to hear about the bad cramps. It's really hard to conclude what the cramps is about. Think on the positive side, could the cramps be due to the implantation? You had gone through this far and already tried your best, while praying for the best, we can only rely on the blessing of the god.
Keep up the spirit, you never know what will turn out in the end. Jia you!

Hi BabyMaybe,
ET is stand for egg transfer. Are you planning to start IVF?

Hi Patricia,
Nearly most of us will experience some kind of cramps, be it a mild or intense. It could be a positive symptoms

During my 2WW, i stay at home through out except 1 time going KK for blood test as my MIL prepared lunch and dinner for me. However, I think it should be fine to go out for dinner sometimes. That may help to make yourself more relax and happy. I remember feibb only rested for a few days after ET and she went back to work after that.

Hi Mala,
Hang in there! There is always hope as long as the results are not out yet. Stay positive, ok? it could be just implantation cramps and yours are just more intense than ours.

Hi Mala,
I also had similar very intense pain/cramps for the failed ivf. But mine came with brown discharge, followed by red bleeding. Yours have no blood, so might still be hopeul. Do stay positive and wait for the results.

Sorry, didn't login yest, was so tired cos didn't sleep well the night b4.

Hi Josephine,
Congrats to you! Tat time i oso tested positive on my 14dpt. I was oso on pregnyl (1000iu) every 3 days after my ET. I read that pregnyl stays in the body for around 66 hrs, after shld not leave any residue. I'm not sure, cos different articles may say otherwise.
Actually that time i oso very worry it could be false, so i did again on the day b4 my beta, at least another positive would increase my confidence heehee....But i have a feeling urs would be positive, take good care

Hi Fellaine,
Not to worry, you are in good hands

Hi Patricia,
I never do anything in 2ww, except chatting on forums, surf net. watch TV, read and sleep heehee...most impt is to rest and rest. I am a restless person by nature, can't really stop walking around the house oso haha....but think as long as dun exert urself can already

Just take note that implantaion may start to take place from Day 4-5 onwards, so those few days must really take extra care.
Oh, I did call kkivf to extend my HL heehee....i called on the day that my HL finishes and the nurse say no problem, can extend for me til my beta date. But think Juju called oso and another nurse ask her to go and see dr. Eventually no need to see, she go down oni the nurse wrote for her
Call early if you already decided you want to extend, mine was last min cos i nvr thot of it initially.

Hi Ponytail and Babymaybe,
Welcome and all teh best for your journey
feel free to ask any questions.

Hi bliss,
Great! Must rest well now ok? Dun think so much abt the grading, cos the Nurse Officer oso told me that grading does not determine how well they will stick to you. Anyway, i didn't even ask abt my grading tat time, forgot abt it heehee....
Haha....dun wori abt the bloatedness, most of us has it too...remember i told you i bloat and cramp around 2wks. Ya, i even took the embies pic and put in my hp sceensaver, sounds crazy hor? kekeke....Rest well ok?

Hi Mala,
Are you feeling better today? Try not to think too much, at least a positive is there is no bleeding. You know i had a similar experiences b4 oso. The pain was oso very severe, but the problem is, the pain felt like cramp, gastric and going to poo kinda pain altogether! So til now can't conclude wat kinda pain is that. But the 1st time, i tried to take a glass of milk quickly and can't even finish due to the severe pain, but after that i rested and felt better. Got 1 time i felt better after i go poo. So dun think so much 1st ok? Cos the pain could really means different things.
I think it'll be good to share with ur hubby ur feelings, at least he will be there for you....
Just to share with you, i am taking Anmum now, its yummy and dun know why i just felt tat my tummy very soothing after taking it. I usually doesn't finish anything tat i bought, but this time i'm finishing my can of milk powder already heehee....

Hi Maykel,

thanks! I will rest well.
Ya, I know the bloatedness is inevitable, but sometimes it is so severe that I cant sleep well at all and feel quite painful when walking! Can be quite frustrating. I drink a bit of ginger drink today, coz really too much gas liao.

No la, you are not crazy to put the embryos pic on your hp screensaver.
I also like looking at it too, cant wait to see how it will grow into baby! Hehehe.... hopefully I can get to see that, really wish that.

Hi Bliss,
I understand wat you mean. Usually i'm a side sleeper, but during my 2ww, i'm so bloated until my tummy seems to be wobbly, can't even sleep on my side.
Heehee....yes man, i really hope you can see ur embies growing oso. Eat healthy ok, cos ur embies absorbing wat you eating now

Me so bored at home leh....but lately got no mood to go out oso, scared go crowded place kena bumped into....
I went bk to work early this week and was so stress i got cramp and some spotting. Lucky i make early appt to see dr loh yest and he gave me more HL to rest. I think rest is good for me, cos i really dun have cramp so far *touchwood*

Hi gals!Hows the weekend going?

Bliss: i only had 3 embroys..2 grade 4 and 1 grade 3. actually what is the purpose of this grading since it doesn affect anything? further to tht,i believe one of our fellow sisters mentioned,the doc advised her to put in the embroys with more division?anyone knows whts the diff or more or less division?

Mala: Hope you feeling better.Pls take care dear. I reali think u should speak to your hubby. u r soulmatez!im sure he would understand n it's better to share than bottle your emotions.. don't worry so much oki?*HuGz*

Hi Dimple,
For fresh ET, the grade would mean a difference to affect the chances. But for FET, should not have much difference.

hello

i just went for checkup this morning and signed up for IVF for this coming cycle this month. quite excited. but bad thing is my doc will be on leave for some days in Nov, which is near my egg extraction and embryo transfer days. the nurse said i can either let the relief doctor do for me, or continue taking more injections to time it such that my doctor will be back to do the transfer for me. i'm thinking of waiting till my doc is back. what do you think ?

also, can i know how you told your office colleagues you're going on 3 wk MC ? I want to keep quiet abt it, but need my coll to help me cover work. shld i give them some excuse ?

also another timing problem, i have a company trip in oct for 3 days, near the time i have to start my 1st injections. if i cancel, again office will want to know the reason. if i go, scared i dont know how to take injections then no one to help me. v confused... any advice ?

Hi Ponytail,
If you are not too picky about which doc is doing the ER and ET, then it's ok. I just felt that if i am comfortable with the existing doc, i would prefer him to do it for me as i believed in his skills.
If you want to wait for your doc to be back and extend your hormone jabs, you have to consider the additional costs involved for more hormones.

For your trip, you have to bring an icebox to transport your hormones and keep them in fridge once you reach there. Would your colleagues know about it? As for self-injections, some of us here jab ourselves. It's not difficult. Just need to try once or twice and you will be fine. I always tell myself to look beyond the injections and see the end result of having my own children. This gives me the courage to stick thr the journey.

Hi Bliss

I am here. I am feeling as normal as it can be. So normal that I something worried that nothing is happening to my embies.

Now everyday do nothing but watch korean drama so seldom post in this thread.

Anyway welcome to 2WW.

Thanks for your encouragement and reassurances. I can only hope and pray that the pains i felt are nothing to worry about.I'm feeling better now, only slight cramps on and off.

I still find it difficult to share with my husband because he is so sure that this time it will work though he has told me before not to worry because we have a fall back plan which is adoption but I know that deep down he hopes that this will not be the case.

Take care all of you and all the best. My thoughts and prayers are also with you gals!

Hi Ping

Good to hear from you now.
Been watching korean drama ah? Wah, not bad. I cant watch coz I really dont fancy korean drama or any other drama series leh.

Actually I am quite used to boredom, as long as my embryos are growing well, it does not matter about what to do with myself during the 2WW.

need to ask you all a stupid question. I have heard from many of you that egg white and ensure milk can help to reduce bloatedness and have been eating them all along. May I know why is that so? How does it help to reduce bloatedness huh? How come the older nurse in KK told me this morning that no need to take egg white for reducing bloatedness, I didnt understand leh. Any other methods also, beside taking ginger? Thanks!
I am desperately looking for ways to reduce the bloatedness problem. it has been very uncomfortable.

My Er was ok today retrieved 14 eggs but the grading will be informed only tomorrow. A bit painful but came home around 12:30 and rested.
Mala,
How are you feeling now.Just relax and stay calm, we are all praying for u.
Hi BabyMaybe
Welcome
Bliss,
The problem of water retention due to all the harmone medications can be suppressed by taking protein.This is what i know about having protein.

asked the same question to hubby ok here is the answer..
The kidney will produce or use up less water to drain out the protein from the body so the excess water from the body (which is the cause of bloatedness)will be used up and thus resulting in less pain .

thanks kalki! But any other ways of reducing the bloatedness? i am having constipation and bit loose tools too.

Glad to hear that your ER went smoothly today! You have a good number of eggs extracted too! So you rest well now and drink lots of water. All the best for your ET!

Hi Bliss/Josephine

Thanks for your advice.

Bliss

You can try to take egg white/Protein drink from GNC/Ensure (Gatorade might help but i read somewhere its high in salt content and hence not recommended). If the nurses didnt take your blood test and recomend hospitalisation, your condition should be ok. Don't worry too much.

Ruru_cat.

Yah, we seems to have the same experience. Was warded and had a stomach drain and cathether. One of the worst episode of my life. Had zero chance (cos Dr did not want to proceed with ET) after going through all the jabs and ohss. Still shed tears thinking back and kindof deter me from going through another fresh cycle.

I have PCOS and was on 150 puregon but still has ohss. My chances for FET is very low. Had 2 m/c. Unknown causes. Hence, my only option is to go for fresh cycle.

Went to consult Prof Ng (O&G) and he prescribed metformin for few months (though I havent been taking regularly).

Both Dr Loh and Prof Ng don't recommend the usual protocol. Need to take some other stimulation drugs for shorter period. But the problem is I might have very few eggs.

Also, cost is at issue. I think monitoring is very important and hence went to private. But with the co-funding, I might have to go back to kk where Dr Loh is super busy and all monitoring is done by nurses and drs on duty.

$ + jabs + ohss + work = lots of worries