i did some research n finally realized wat might have caused my bruising....on the day of my acu, i was down with flu n took lemsip with contains paracetamol, painkillers which acts as a blood thinner or something tt will cause the nerves to b more sensitive n may cause bruising while doing acu if i'm on paracetamol! n i shld tell the acupuncturist while on such medications............guess tt explains y this time i bruise so badly.....sigh
acu here i come again

HI Tigg3r

so sorry to hear about your ordeal.

I had my AF too when I went for my scan. Had my Tampon and was confused cos at that time I din realise the were going to do a vaginal scan. Anyway, I reiterated that I am having my period and the Chinese lady said it's ok.

Like yourself my left ovary is also hard to locate but i did not let her know. She went to my right first and when she tried my left, it was obvious she had difficulty but she did not use any brute force. Instead, she said it was ok and that she did not want to hurt me by 'poking' me any further.

jo

Jr mint,

what the other sisters said does make sense. I agree with them that what happened was more positive than negative. So keep on the bright side, ok?

Hi jr mint
Thanks for the message. Don't get dishearted yet, keep positive.

I chanced upon this forum and was really glad. My hubby is working overseas and he most probably won't be ard for me through out the whole cycle of IVF so i was really happy when i find out abt this forum, at least i am not alone.
I've just started my 1st cycle of IVF on Monday. Heard that acu do help in the success rate for IVF, anyone to recommend?

Mint
Take it easy at work today, 0K? Maybe you should call the clinic in case they want you to go for some progesterone jabs etc to boost your levels. I read a site on IVF and they say that spotting can indicate implantation. Even in the worse case whereby the womb is shedding, this may only apply to one of your embies. The other embie could be just fine.

With Blackberry, I always end up reading all my emails while lying down in bed. For the irritating emails, I try not to spend too much time responding otherwise blood pressure will go up. My boss actually told me to rest well and not check mails but sometimes, fingers get so itchy to check. Blackberry is a bit addictive for people who use it. Only good thing is that I can serve the web and do things like post this message. Ha...

Tigg3r
I think sometimes the people don't intend to be rough. I have an inverted womb and the right ovary is also very tilted to the back (esp as it got heavier as follicles grew bigger) which made it difficult to scan. Even Sheila Loh, who does all the scanning for me, asked me to bear with it everytime she measured follicle sizes. It was more discomfort rather than pain though...

Winnie
There was an article on Yong Yin Yin, the embryologist for Raffles Hospital in yesterday's papers -Mind Your Body (last page). She was headhunted from SGH, where she was the head embryologist.

Viviself,
We're all very friendly...hee... Cos we all know how easy it is to get disheartened after TTC for so long. We've all gone thru IUIs, etc. Where are u doing ur IVF? U mean u just started lucrin?

So far, I've heard from this thread of 3 places to do acu...AMK, Mei Ling St, and Raffles hospital. I went to Dr Zou at AMK.

stardiva,

I have blue black bruise at the same spot. tummy just below the belly button. I think u might hit the blood vessel. As our tummy is full of small blood vessel so sometime when we jab, it might turn blue black but it will go away after a few days.

i did ivf w/o acu too. I think most impt is relax when you do the jab or acu.

Jr_mint
during my 2ww, the 3rd day i saw spotting, really freaked me out. but according to the nurse it could be either implanation or i hurt my vaginal wall when i insert the crinoe gel. dont get dishearted.

Hi ximi,

so nice to c u back in this poating again,
at least it's comforting to know i'm not alond in the bruising. later i'm going in for my first lucrin jab.......after tt acu! faint!

pupi,
u started right? how's the lucrin jab? pain? u did in morning or evening. tot i will learn from jo n do in evening so can spread out timing es when have to start puregon. i also felt the pain in the leg during acu but i jus bare with it

vivi,
u started lucrin or er?

petals, ximi, nano, jo and all who r preggie, this is the best time to be preggie cos loose clothings is in fashion so u guys dun need to buy maternity wear until final stages

Hi Chevall
Tks for your blessings. My baby dust is on the way to u now..Dun worry too much abt the period feeling as now i also feel it on/off, now i convinced it's normal to have cramps too when you are pregnant. It's also not too late to pray to Kwan Kin esp now it crunch time. Stay focus on your goal!

Stardiva, u r a brave woman and soon u will reap the benefits of acu..

Junior mint, keep up with the positive tots..dun be influence by the small red dot..hehe..enjoy yr work and soon will be testing time..

Hi Viviself
Welcome to IVF journey! Depends on your stage of IVF, u can start acup before ER and ET, but again some people can still get pregnant without acu, so the best is to stay focus and positive on this path..

hi shara,

my close friend told me there's nothing i dun dare do nowadays. for teh sake of having a baby, i'll do jus about anything.......tt includes having a Godson! the herbal meds etc....have to cover all areas. i pray this will b the year 4 me! i've waited from dog to pig then now rat...which is fine since i like mickey mouse too

littile twin
my suppereffect 2 days gone. it was ok with me.but my hubby felt pressure during the time he jab me.this morning he was crying while he was doing jab for me. he dont want to hurt me but i told it is ok i am not getting pain.

hi stardiva,

YES! This is the spirit we must uphold to go thru this journey 2gether..I also wait fr chicken to dog to pig...finally rat next yr..Since we have invested so much effort and money into this programme, we must do try our best to max the returns. If we can succeed with acu, so can all of u..rem we at the same boat yah!

stardiva,

yes, so good to be back. it is getting harder for me to be online lately, been feeling very sick.
Talking about clothes, i can only wear those string type bottom. most of my old one has been put aside. i cant zip them up.

how is your first lurcin? Are you doing it yourself? dont worries about seeing bruises too when you start on the jab too. it is also okay.

petal/nano,
Are you able to hear the heartbeat before going for the scan? I keep wondering what is happening in my tummy? I have been asking my hubby to hear if there are any sound, all he heard is growling or other funny sounds.

Hi petal/shara/stardiva

I'm doing my IVF with Dr Cheng from TMC. And i just started my first Gonal-F injection on Monday. Today is the 4th day, and i already can feel the bloatedness in my tummy which is quite uncomfortable. ANd i'm also more tired than before.
I like jogging and used to jog abt 5 days a week. But now, i stopped completely and tried to do brisk walking instead. Is it true that i should stop all exercise completely?

ximi,
i can hear my own heartbeat when i lie down...it seems like it's pounding fast n loud. But i don't think can hear our babies' heartbeat without doctor's machine. Going for ur scan soon?

viviself,
Only after ET will u need to cut down on ur strenuous activities n heavylifting. But if u're tired now, u shld just listen to ur body n rest, cos could be all the hormones.

petal,

not really, it is for a fren. She tried 2 fresh IVF and wanted to give up, so i was thinking of asking her to try acu too before going for another round of IVF since she has not tried acu.

I think i cant do TCM, too much medication now. i am on the same jab as lefty too. already very "pu"

pupi,

yr hubby so sweet....can feel for u until cry

my hubby on the other hand very stressed n scared tt i'll scold him for not doing it properly ,hee

shara & ximi,
the acu jus now went well...not much pain
i was told to eat more peanuts n red beans n red dates etc cos i might have clotting prob if i give birth n might need blood transfusion from blood loss! can't worry about tt at the moment. Must think positive

ximi, if drawstrings become uncomfortable, there is this belly band thing tt might b more comfortable to wear over yr pants or skirts tt can't zip so u can still wear yr own clothes n the band will cover it. i was looking for those too cos when i do those jabs, my tummy will bloat until i can only wear dresses

vivi,
u better listen to petals...u have to take it ez during this period of time. i remember dr. always say don't overdo things during follicle developement. tmc used gonol-f? i asked kk 's nurse jus now how come we r using puregon n not gonol-f. she jus say they only use puregon ...when asked if it means it's better....she can't ans me leh. think mayb hospitals have contract to drugs used. tmc use short protocol right?

Wah so much to read ...
Chevall, No i still dont have any symptoms.

Petals, Mint,Shara and Chevall, Jo
I did my HPT last night and this morning (one day before blood test) and it was a faint positive, like half as dark as the 'control' line. What does that mean? I am a bit scared that the hcg is not risng enough ? emby growing or not... Feel better now that i see a second line though... I will wait for results tomorrow then let you all know. Fingers and toes still crossed !

15DPET

Tigger,
Hi. They did my scan with AF too. I think most ppl have it bcs it coincides with when westopped OCP etc, cant help it. The last scan just before ER when my ovaries were enormous, was the worst, but it's just a few minutes and it's bearable.

Pupi,
Your husband so sweet. Maybe we should create a forum for the hubbies. Coz usually hubby is the strong one for me to lean on, and one day he said he felt very stressed and scared and he wanted to tell me all about it. Even he didnt realise he would feel that way.

Petals,
I read that pregnancy causes a 10% increase in your blood volume and heart works a bit harder, maybe that explains your blood-pumping sensation.

babydust,
Sounds like a gd sign, cos some hpt kits r not as sensitive. I saw a faint positive line after waiting an extra 2min...but my hcg next day was actually already 400! Jia you for ur test tmrw!

Hi Stardiva

I am not too sure. i didn't know abt (short protocol) until your message. But will ask Dr Cheng when i see him the next time.

Is this your first IVF cycle and how much is the cost?

babydust,

wow! congrats! this threat so far all positive++++++++

vivi,
were u on lucrin? or u start imm with gonol -f? if on lucrin means long protocol. i'm worst. on 5 wks of contraceptives b4 lucrin cos they scared i become accidentally preggie while on lucrin. well i had side effects to this contraceptives.....my vision became worst! i became long sighted!!!!! can't focus properly
n i read tt one of the side effect is blindness!!!! no choice liao. 1 more wk to go. today is my first day of lucrin jabs.

think for kkh ivf ...cost between 6-8.5k depending on how much drugs u need. minus 6k from medisave cos it's my first time...cheapest in s'pore

yr first too i guess?

stardiva,
So ur acu is better now? Not as much pain? Remember not to clench ur muscles when the needles are there. And let her know if the pulse is too strong, she can adjust. All the best! Babydust to you!

ximi,
Yah, can tell ur friend abt acu...no harm trying for her next cycle. Tell her not to give up.

For casual pants, other than the waist extension piece that stardiva mentioned you can attach to your old pants, you can also get those yoga pants with a fold-down waistband that you can fold down to your hips below ur belly. Saw some cheap ones at Carrefour for less than $20. You can wear until ur tummy big.

Petals, Joanna, Lin_tan, Babydust

Thanks! Yeah I guessed I shouldn't have expected too much from them... maybe I was spoilt by my previous gynae...

Don't know if it's hormonal change, I've suddenly lost the enthusiasm in this entire IVF thing.. I'm beginning to feel very depressed. After reading another thread on voluntary termination of pregnancy as a result of down syndrome, I began to fear about it and thot maybe I should not carry on...

I recalled my hubby's second brother died at the age of 3 becos of down syndrome.. They were den in the Middle east so there were not much facilities to detect possible risk during early pregnacy.... I shall keep it short...

The point is, although we were both desperate to have a child... would it be wise to rethink about this? What if history repeats itself? Would I be able to take it!

I apologise to all MTB if I've unintentionally added more worried to you... But I'm equally clueless about what lies ahead...

I returned to work today and just came back home. After being away for 8 days, there, sitting in my inbox was 700-ish emails to clear. As expected, i spent half my day trying to get through them, by the time i left office, there were still 200-ish but who cares, i could drop dead now.

Anyway, i decided i will heed Lin Tan's advice and gave a call to the clinic. Disappointingly, the nurse was quite blunt in telling me probably i didn't make it this cycle but to still continue taking my oral meds. I tried to bargain if i could then skip the blood test on Mon but was told this cannot be done. (i seriously dread that phonecall, in fact thinking of diverting all calls to my hubby's hp that day). Anyhow, after hearing that, my heart sank like a stone but as i was in office, i had to rebound quickly to settle myself down. Until now, i still see brownish stain when i wipe myself and some "sng" cum crammpy feeling but other than that, no other symptoms....

Lin Tan, haha, i bet that blackberry of yours can be addictive, you must be travelling a lot in your job right? How are you coping with all the jabs? I apologise if i'm out of date with your status but i believe you have not reached the stimulation stage yet right?

Little twin stars - i can't agree more with your statement , i believe my ttc days were as long as yours, how much longer do we have to wait? I married young (considered amongst my friends, at age of 26) but probably end up the last one to have children.

Ximi - cheer up though may be what you're going through now is hardly possible. Remember a lot of us would die to be in your shoes. As so many books have documented, morning sickness is a sign that the embryo is developing well. Always keep this in your thoughts.

babydust!! - i was logging in from tiem to time the whole day to get an update of your status. Hey congrats!!i think your piece of news has really lifted my spirits and Chevall since currently both of seem to be having little or no symptoms. Will be crossing my fingers for your and saying a prayer for you. So excited about your blood test tomorrow!! Ihave never seen 2 lines on a HPT, how incredible that must be for you i think!

cheers,
mint
9DPET - little brown stains + "sng" feeling around my lower back

petals,

today my acu is much better
only some soreness to my left leg. think she didn't put much current to my tummy after seeing so much bruises
how's yr twinsy? treating mama well?

mint,
wer married at the same age!
dun loose heart yet. i saw a documentary on ivf n this lady tot her period came n was devasted but the nurses forced her to do the blood test although she told them her period came n it turned out +++++++++++++
Praying for u!

it's yr turn to have +++

jus did my lucrin jab....pain pain

babydust pupi & the rest,

My hubby was commenting over dinner today tt it's so nice tt i belong to a forum where i can pour my heart to n i'm actually more positive instead of focusing on my probs alone n there is a support group 4 me to voice my ques n fears.........

then he said, how he wish there is a forum for hubbies in support too. ya.....y no singapore fatherhood forum?
he also wants to voice his fear of injections but he doesn't want me to do it myself. he also does his research online to find out wat vit he shld take to help his morph etc....

guys will not talk to their friends about the struggles they face while ttc. however, they can talk online cos they dun know who each other is so their ego will not be bruise n i'm sure it'll help them in this journey with us as well.

For all u know, they'll start to understand us more n be better hubbies
cos they r happier n they dun feel as stressed or alone in this cycle with us as well.

Hi Girls,
I found this thread that has "died out" last entry was April to June 2007, then no more. It can be revived. Maybe we can ask out hubbies to start posting over there and ask each other qns. I guess initially it will be a slow uptake, but sooner or later more and more ppl will join and it will be as active as ours. In fact maybe we'll be fighting for the computer at home !

What do you all think ?

Its called : Matters Of The Heart > IVF/ICSI/IUI-Relatives & Friends

OK, better eat fast and make my way to KK. Talk more in afternoon.

Tigger,
Don't give up. You've already come so far. Try not to read those sad stories as it will only get you depressed. Read the positive ones. In IVF, there are many stages to make us worry already, so just cross each bridge as you get to it and ignore other people's sad stories unless there's a lesson to be learnt from it. Take care!

Junior mint,
Is it possible for you to stay home and rest instead of going to work in the 2nd week of 2ww? Cos it might hopefully decrease ur spotting.

I also read a preg book and the author herself had red bleeding until she wanted to cancel her appmt the next day. But luckily when she went to check, her twins were still growing well. So don't give up...

Babydust,
Waiting for ur good news!

Stardiva/Cutiebabie

i was on 3 weeks of BCP. And immediately started Gonal-F on day 3 of my menses. Dr Cheng was recommended by my gynae. This is my 1st cycle and the cost is gonna cost me approximately S$15K. I didn't know that KKH charges is so much cheaper...

hey girls

During these peiod, can i still drink coffee during the IVF treatment? I have a problem with constipation and normally drinking coffee in the morning helps me to relieve. But still, i don't want it to affect the IVF treatment. Anyone has the same problem as me?

can someone start like a new thread for the hubby...mayb name it IVF support hubbies or something. i'm new, dun even know how to pm ,hee.
babydust,
tt one is for pp to complain about their relatives n friends lei

vivi,
yup, tmc uses short cycle. which means they stimulate ovulation immediately. i am on 5wks of bcp..it's giving me visual probs liao. one of the side effects is blindness!!! but i have 1 more wk to go although i started lucrin.
tigg3r,
ya, come so far liao. dun read those scary stories....." filter" read the good stuffs
must remain positive.

anyone has probs with lucrin?
my jabs r in the night n i woke up shivering this morning ( i'm never so cold in my aircon room )

Dear Little twin,

no i am not facing any prob . it was my third time.
U try to be more relax. try to take quilt while sleeping in aircon. while u r jabing pinch the tummy tighly so u wont feel pain.

HI everyone

Share a joke with you.

DH called overseas to cousin who is an O&G to relay good news. Cousin asked, "So, what is Jo's HCG level?"

DH replied : 7.2

Cousin absolutely puzzled, " In Australia, the cut off is 25. Maybe singapore uses a different measurement. Anyway, still early days"...so diplomatic.

When DH related tale to me, I nearly knocked his head. HOw can he deviate by 1000 units. My HcG was 1168!

So had to call cousin back and had a good laugh. Anyway, cousin said he would usually scan when his patient's HCH reaches 1000 level mark. That's usually when the fetal sac is visible.

Wishing you all a good day ahead

Hi babydust: sounds like great news!you should know very very soon! Must announce loudly ok!?

hi jr mint

I hate calling the nurses up for feedback too. More often than not, they scare and disappoint me with their comments. As Dr Loh responds very quickly to emails, I tend to prefer sending him an email.

Tigg3r
Take things one step at a time. Don't worry too much about things you have not control over. Instead focus on doing the best you can on things you have. It is a difficult enough procedure, so pls do reserve your energy (physical and emotional) on keeping yourself healthy and happy. That is half the battle won.

viviself
I used to have a cup every morning. But for IVF I abstained. Replaced coffee with tea instead. Not sure if it affected. But figured that since I was going to spend so much on this procedure, better not do anything that might make me regret.

Babydust 2,
Soo happy u r next to graduate! this +ve chain is indeed working...quick pass it along..

Vivi
I m also under Dr Cheng from TMC..as a gauge my IVF cost was $10K when i did in Apr, however it still depends on the usage of drugs and i was also not on lucrin for my fresh cycle, so that was a short protocol. U can still drink coffee until ER stage but try to refrain after ET, it also affected me cos i need to drink coffee to relieve. Since now i have to stop my caffine intake, i replaced it by lots of water and milo..dun worry, yr digestive system will adjust accordingly. U r pretty sporting same as me, i used to play tennis on wkends but i normally stop playing in 2WW, u can still continue joggin now but pls stop completely after ER procedure..let yr body recuperate for this programme.

Hi Mint,
Dun feel bad on the nurses comment, like the others had posted, others also got pregnant with spotting so pls be strong and believe in yr embies, they are still hanging supporting u! just be extra careful now yah...

Hi All !
Ok, so i have got the results. Beta HCG is 385. That's a positive !!! yaaaaayyyyy !!! Am very excited. I am a little concerned that its quite low (above 250 is positive), so i willdo a repeat one on monday to ensure it has doubled. Kiasu lah. But cant help the apprehensive feeling and its getting in the way of my joy and happiness, so i'll do it.

Thanks for ALL your well wishes. I'm sure it made a difference.

Cheering on everyone going for tests soon.
Babydust

Babydust!
Congratulations!!!!!! no la, above 25 is considered postive no?
Very very very happy for you....have a good rest and go celebrate.
jo

BabyDust
Congrates !!! Congrates !!
do u have any symptons during the 2WW?

Mint
Dun feel bad,it still too early for the nurses to comment tat the cycle has failed. Ur embies and still fighting the battle.My colleague tot her cycle fail when she has 3 day sort of full period but ended she is preggy instead.Luckily the pregnancy went on as she stop all medication support then.