Ximi,
CONGRATS!! You did ur blood test today? So happy for you! See... your precious embryo was meant to be yours!
So when is your 1st appmt/scan? Are you taking duphaston too?

Hello all, I am new to this thread under Dr SF Loh. Jus did my 1st scan on 25th, now into 7th week.

So happy to find this site with so many of us going through similar situations.

Question: what kind of test for DS would you all recommend? Anmio or AAA? I am 38 liao, so under the high risk group

Just realised you 3 are same batch, all in 2ww now - Babydust2, Joanna and Ophelia.

Hi Littlebaby,
Welcome! How was ur scan? Can see the heartbeats? How many babies u carrying? I thought amnio is compulsory for those 35 and above? I'm going for my 1st scan this week.

Hi Petals: Thanks for the site...will be going through it later... you are right... I am very thankful for my boy. DH and I always joke that he must be a great swimmer and 'clinger'...

Hi Ophelia: I read that betweeb D7-D10, the blast will break from its shell and start attaching. So do go easy on these days.

I am not feeling bloated at all, although my breasts do feel quite tender.

I am taking spirulina capsules, which are supposed to be rich in protein. I cannot stomach too many eggs and I saw my MIL putting on weight with ENSURE. Spirulina comes in powder or capsules. I find the powder quite awful to take. I aim to drink a glass of water (200ml) every hour.

Ximi: Congratulations! Proves that quality beats quantity.

Petals,

I managed to my acu
think the best time to call is after lunch time, easier to get thru. Seems like alot of pp goes there 4 IVF acu cos the recept asked if i'm going for it

Ximi,

Congrats!! Yr baby is a really a champion that made it despite it all. It pays not to give up no matter what.

I'm new to this thread. It is really interesting to read the earlier postings.

I'll be starting my IVF soon, hope that I can gather some support here.

Got a question, I notice there's different between Clinic D and TPS. I first visited Clinic D before processing to KKIVF, does that means I'll be scanned in Clinic D during my cycle? When is the best time to transfer to TPS?

Thanks very much.

Tigg3r

Hi tigger,
welcome! I think you can transfer anytime, just need to let them know. I'm not sure if they will charge u the 1st consultn price again for ur 1st visit to TPS. For me, I'm trsf to TPS as they have after-office hours so more convenient. For TPS, it's slightly more expensive for the consultn etc, but u can pay and get medication all in the same location. Also nicer decor and more 'private' I guess.
Oh, but u are just starting ur IVF? So you'll be spending ur next couple of mths at the IVF centre getting ur jabs and ER/ET, not clinic D. So u prob don't need to trsf first. When u starting lucrin?

pupi,

I finshed a packet within 2-3 days.

Petal,

Thank you. i have blood test yesterday and today as well as the reading is very high about 2500. Think the doc need to confirm the reading. I just went to see doctor today and will be going for scanning next week. I need to take duphaston and jab twice a week too

stardiva

Thank you. Yes. I have been talking to my tummy too. But i am worried about my reading now as so far i have not read about someone who need to take blood test twice.

pupi,

I finshed a packet within 2-3 days.

Petal,

Thank you. i have blood test yesterday and today as well as the reading is very high about 2500. Think the doc need to confirm the reading. I just went to see doctor today and will be going for scanning next week. I need to take duphaston and jab twice a week too

stardiva

Thank you. Yes. I have been talking to my tummy too. But i am worried about my reading now as so far i have not read about someone who need to take blood test twice.

Hi Petal,

thank you and all the best for your scan.

I am carrying one and yes, i saw the tiny heartbeat at AMC before seeing Dr Loh at clinic D.

The wait was about an hour plus, but the consultation was only less than 5 minutes. So do prepare a list of question to ask before any of you go see Dr Loh as he has a lot of patients.

Hi Tigg3r,
Which dr u seeing for IVF? and all the best to you. The process is very enlightening and u will made a lot of discovery about your body. Cheers and enjoy the journey

I just got my blood test result. And the hCg reading double to over 5000. I am very worried. I have to take another blood test

This path is very hard. Although the nurse mention that it is normal for it to double. But why do i need to take blood test again this friday.

I really hope someone is there to tell me what wrong now. Or anyone who is in the similiar position as me.
I called the clinic but no one can tell me much and i have to wait till next week.

After read this forum, I found so many miracle happen with this IVF journey. For myself, this is my 2ww and it's really2 tired & stressfull. I feel not confidence but I always hope, pray, hope, and always pray.

I'm 27, I got 22 eggs retrieved & 8 eggs successfully fertilised
Transfered 3 embryos on 27 sept.
The doctor & embryologist said my embryo not really good one.
I'm so afraid, I'm alone here in spore, my husband just accompany me on 2 first day after ET, after that he back to indonesia. So sometimes, I feel so afraid especially with my bloated, is it danger to my embryo? and did I walk too much? or did I doing dangerous stuff or eat something bad?

So, hope you guys can help me...

Btw, I found I have different medicine with you guys. I got crinone (progesterone gel) one day before ET, use it twice a day until now. And after ET, I only have 1 times jab for progesterone on ET day & 1 times HCG jab on saturday (day 3 after ET).
And I don't have oral medicine.

And anyone can answer me how many glass red dates a day I should drink to reduce my bloated?

I'm bk. Have not been logging on as having prob wif my pc on and off. Now the thread is so active..i got a hard time catching up!

Ximi,
Congrats! Very happy for you. Yr HCG is high, is yr beta HCG is measured in IU/L?

Yuki,
Thks for yr detailed explanation on how to make the ginger drink, will try out if i'm really cannot tahan...me getting more and more lazy nowsaday

Petals,
U seeing Dr soon? Waited very long oreadi rite? Feel that Dr dun really tell you much if you dun ask..so prepare yr question before hand if you have any doubts to clear, if not, like me..alot of things also never ask.

Ophelia,
Relax during yr 2ww wait..dun be stress. I also felt very bloated esp during the 2nd wk of my 2ww. Try to walk slowly during this period. Must drink more water since you have alot of eggs retreived also. Nurse said ginger water can help reduce bloatness, maybe you can try.

To all ladies in 2ww, all the best!

hi Ophelia
It is a nervewrecking period. But you do have age on your side. Is your family here? Are you on skype? I skype my hubby when he is at work.

As mentioned earlier, I am not feeling any bloatedness except on the day prior to ER cos of all the follicles and then after ET - the soreness.

I take about 4 cups of the red dates drink/day. I think too much might be heaty. I drink plain water for the rest of the day.

As mentioned earlier, I take spirulina. The other sisters in the forum take egg white and drink ensure for their bloatedness but i cannot stomach them. So I though since it is the protein in the egg and Ensure that they need, Spirulina, which is high in protein, should work. I get it from Nature's Farm.

I found from the discussion here that different docs use different protocol. Sounds like you had lots of eggs retrieved, that's why you need the progesterone gel twice a day?

I am getting used to the progesterone jabs....

Stay on the bright side.....

Oh Nano is right, ginger tea does help. It really helped me on the day b4 ET when I felt like 'dying'.

If you have time to brew it yourself, wash and pound a handful of old ginger. Boil it with 3 cups of water for 30mins. add some brown sugar or honey to taste...enjoy.

If you do not have time, buy the packet ones.

Love
jo

Thank you for all the support ladies...

Joanna:
I stop drink red dates bcause the nurse said too heaty is not good for the embryo. I'm afraid I drink too much since yesterday.
So now, i just take raw egg white & tomorrow I'm going to buy spirulina.

I have my aunt (from my husband side) here. I stay at her house.

Hi ophelia,

It is ok to worry, so u are normal. Just remember to take it 1 day at a time, maybe u can hv a chart, & upon completing a day, u put a big X on it to spur u on.

Ximi,

My sis went thro IVF too, & she also had 2 blood test. I guess they jus want to be certain on whether u are carrying 1 or 2 BB. Read fm the website that our HCG doubles every day. So no worries

Hi Ophelia

Is it advisable to take raw egg white? Do you mean half boil egg? Maybe you should hard boil it instead.....I am concerned about Salmonella...

Jo

Joanna:
yes, raw egg white not half boil, usually I mix it with orange juice. Really? salmonella? is it danger to embryo?

LB:
thank you for the suggest, hehe...

When I was preg, had to stay off anything raw. Now that there is a chance you might be pregnant, I think it might be wise to cook it first.

ximi,

Don't worry, i read in alot of postings tt high levels of hcg jus means high chance u might b having multiples

petals,

yes, starting acu. also booked for my hubby to do with me to increase chance but he's freaking out. Think mayb he jus eat more vitamins n "dong chong cao" lor since IFV focus more on the girls cos can do icsi

Ximi,
How many days after ET was your blood test of 5000? Cos the hcg level will double every 2-3 days, and this shows that your pregnancy is progressing. Try this site which shows the HCG levels. Note that the range is very wide and may not mean u are necessarily carrying multiples.
http://www.americanpregnancy.org/duringpregnancy/hcglevels.html

Ophelia,
Diff doctors have diff protocol for IVF, so prob yours believes in using crinone while KKH gave me oral progest tablets. But same purpose which is to support the pregnancy. If u have any questions, u shld check with ur doctor. He can better explain his reasons. If ur bloatedness gets too unbearable and u can't breathe, must tell ur doctor ok? He will be able to advise u how to solve it. But i heard that if u still have a little bloatedness at the end of 2ww, might be a good sign. Take care.

stardiva,
maybe get ur hubby to try acu once and see how. But I find if both hubby and wife go, might end up quite costly... haha...my hubby not interested too. So I went by myself. We also thought since ICSI, acu not so crucial for him.

Ophelia
I second petals advice that you should consult your doc should you feel unwell. And I strongly think you should stay off the raw eggs : )

stardiva
adding to petals point, I found (upon the girls' recommendation) that cordyceps helped...esp my husband.

jo

Petals

Thanks for you tips. I'm not sure when I'm starting my Lucrin. They just ask me to go back on this Friday. In fact, I have not seem my doc since my first consultant with him in Clinic D. Most things are arranged by staff nurse. Is it the usual protocol? I'm just lost!

Umm, excuse me for being blur, what's AMC? And when do we have to buy the neonatal insurance? The staff nurse who went thru the procedures with us was so fast, both me and HB are still very lost. Thanks very much

Littlebaby,

Thanks for your well-wishes! I'm seeing Dr Loh in KKIVF. Is it normal protocol that I won't be seeing Dr Loh until ER? I'm just curious how would the nurses know what dosage of lucrin or Puregon?

Tigger,
yes, that's what i find abt kkh ivf...not very forthcoming abt anything! You need to ask ur own qns b4 they tell u anything. They just tell u what needs to be done now, but not what to expect in the coming weeks or possible side-effects etc. They forget that most patients are first-timers who don't know much abt ivf and will be quite kancheong. That's why you have us! We're more helpful and friendly...haha...and will try to answer what we know.

You may not see dr loh until ER & ET cos the ivf nurses will handle the rest b4hand - scans and jabs. But i think he'll review ur dosage based on ur blood tests and instruct nurses. IVF insurance is compulsory and applies to your babies in the event that they require NICU care. You will need to submit the form on ET day when u decide how many embies to trsf in. AMC is where they do scans for preggy women...i'm not sure what else they do. Can check KKH website. Oh, and usually if I still have questions, I will call the nurses to double-check. If still doesn't really answer, I will email dr loh.

Nano, Needles, Rammy,
How r things? When u went for ur 1st scan, did dr mention how often ur next visits will be? Evry 2 or 3 weeks? What's the next test that we need to do later on?

Wow! I've been away for a week & this thread has been very active!

To the newbies, a BIG welcome!!! Glad to have you ladies sharing your IVF journey.

Ximi,
Congratulations! Have a smooth 9 mths ahead!

Petals,
Looks like you've been real busy here. For me, I've been bumming around the house, sleeping, watching tv, reading & bossing my hubby around. Heee...

My morning sickness has gone down a little. Not too much nauseousness. But I get tired very easily & my back's starting to hurt.

My doc didn't mention if my visits will be 2 or 3 weeks apart. But my next visit is 3 weeks from my 1st one. And then I'll be doing the tests for DS on my 12th week, which is 6 weeks from my 1st one. Maybe the doc would want to see me soon after that.

ophelia

Dont worry, you can alway come in to post here. As for the bloatness, i think it is normal to feel like bloatness as you have alot being retrive. Did you try ensure? I know one of the sister here also feel bloatness and egg didnt really work but ensure did , at least ease abit.

Drink more water and avoid raw food. I think you can tried to eat the egg white but must be hard boiled.

I rememeber the nurse also mention that bloateness is also due to water retention. If it become unbearable, must tell the doc immediately.

Nano,

Yes mine is in IU/L. When did you did your first scanning

LB, stardiva,

Thank you. I have three blood test within a week. This coming friday i will be having the third one. I saw the website, with my reading, i can even do scanning and i am in almost week 6.

I keeping telling myself that i am having express one now. Hoping this will keep my mind off my reading.

Petal,
About 14 Days after my ET. and my reading is 2572 something . and the next day which is 15 Days after ET. my reading went up double.

I went to this website and saw the info on the high side. one of the factor is rather disturbing. I think i must remind the doc that i am one of the twin myself and will this be one of the factor which increase.

I am thinking of all reason to calm myself now.

Rammy,

Ximi,
Hmm, can't recall...did u have any HCG jab after ET? It might affect ur HCG blood test result if too close. Did u check with ur doc what the result means? Maybe he can give a better answer than the nurses.

Rammy,
Thanks, will see what dr loh says. Can't wait for my scan. Hope everything's fine.

Petals

Thanks for all the infomation and words of comfort. At least I feel less kancheong now. hehhe.
I agree with you that I get more by reading the seniors' postings rather den the staff nurses. Maybe they are just too busy to explain in details.

Sorry for asking so many questions.. Ummm.. how many times do we have to scan the baseline before ER. I'm actually rather shy... I've never been scanned by a man before... Previously, were scanned by female gynae during my IUIs..

Any gals have the same fear of being scanned by man? Was it terrifying?

Tigg3r

Tigger,
Don't worry. Somehow I find males more gentle and anyway, they do this everyday. They prob see until sian...haha
Anyway, if u r referring to the scans done in the ivf centre (for lining and follicle) for ur lucrin and puregon stages, it's done by the same lady. The number of scans depends on ur response, min is 1 scan for each stage.

Tigger,
Don't worry. Somehow I find males more gentle and anyway, they do this everyday. They prob see until sian...haha
Anyway, if u r referring to the scans done in the ivf centre (for lining and follicle) for ur lucrin and puregon stages, it's done by the same lady. The number of scans depends on ur response, min is 1 scan for each stage.

Hi all.....
Does anyone have a retroverted uterus n went thru ER? is it thru GA? cos my left ovary is alittle hidden so think i might have to go 4 GA.

Petals & Jo,

Yup, got my hubby to take the cordyceps powder ( very ex ) n he is popping around 20 vit pills a day till he wanna vomit liao

tigg3r,

i think we might be doing IVF around the same time. I am counting down to do the lucrin jab in mid oct...nov will do the ER n ET n 2ww. Dun worry dr. loh is rather gentle. i also find tt having yr hubby there while he does the scan helps ease the tension.
Have u done all yr blood tests n hormone tests?

Hi all.....
Does anyone have a retroverted uterus n went thru ER? is it thru GA? cos my left ovary is alittle hidden so think i might have to go 4 GA.

Petals & Jo,

Yup, got my hubby to take the cordyceps powder ( very ex ) n he is popping around 20 vit pills a day till he wanna vomit liao

tigg3r,

i think we might be doing IVF around the same time. I am counting down to do the lucrin jab in mid oct...nov will do the ER n ET n 2ww. Dun worry dr. loh is rather gentle. i also find tt having yr hubby there while he does the scan helps ease the tension.
Have u done all yr blood tests n hormone tests?

Stardiva

Oh! that's great that u are also cycling around the same time. Hehehe.. maybe can bump into you.

Both me and hb have done our blood tests in August. But no news from KKIVF yet. So I presume no new means good new?

Stardiva

Oh! that's great that u are also cycling around the same time. Hehehe.. maybe can bump into you.

Both me and hb have done our blood tests in August. But no news from KKIVF yet. So I presume no new means good new?

stardiva
wow! 20 vit pills? dun think i can get DH to ever do that. I hear zinc is good for sperm production too.

DH sperm count and motility was badly affected by a bout of viral infection a few years' back. But after we started on this vit programme, we could see the improvement on every test.

I still had my doubts whether the eggs will be fertilised bec of poor sperm quality. But out of 15 eggs retrieves, 11 were ferilised and all in the Grades 4 and 5 range.

As Dr Loh said, now is the difficult and unpredictable part - the 2 ww.

It is nervewrecking for me to think if my embbies are still growing in me or stopped completely. And I have to consciously shut out these thoughts.

I am not sure if I am being pessimistic or morbid, but I am preparing myself for the worse. So that in case this round doesn't work, I will not fall that hard...........

stardiva
wow! 20 vit pills? dun think i can get DH to ever do that. I hear zinc is good for sperm production too.

DH sperm count and motility was badly affected by a bout of viral infection a few years' back. But after we started on this vit programme, we could see the improvement on every test.

I still had my doubts whether the eggs will be fertilised bec of poor sperm quality. But out of 15 eggs retrieves, 11 were ferilised and all in the Grades 4 and 5 range.

As Dr Loh said, now is the difficult and unpredictable part - the 2 ww.

It is nervewrecking for me to think if my embbies are still growing in me or stopped completely. And I have to consciously shut out these thoughts.

I am not sure if I am being pessimistic or morbid, but I am preparing myself for the worse. So that in case this round doesn't work, I will not fall that hard...........

Petals

Thanks for the assurance. It's not the 'gentle thing' I'm worried about. It's the "Other man beside my hb" traditional conservative fear that I have.. hehehe... old fashion rite?

Will they be doing a scan before they start me on lucrin?

Petals

Thanks for the assurance. It's not the 'gentle thing' I'm worried about. It's the "Other man beside my hb" traditional conservative fear that I have.. hehehe... old fashion rite?

Will they be doing a scan before they start me on lucrin?

stardiva,
Hee hee, ur poor hubby...20 tablets? I just told mine to take the usual Vit E, Zinc, Men's supplements. I didn't ask him to take cordeceps.

joanna,
yours very good fertilisation rate hor...11 out of 15. Moreover the grades are good. So now just let your womb do the rest. Have a good rest and catch up on all the tv shows.

tigger,
No lah, natural to feel shy at first. Once you get thru it the first time, it'll be easier. On the day u start lucrin, they'll take a progesterone blood test and then teach u how to jab. 2 weeks later then they'll do a scan and E2 blood test.

stardiva,
Hee hee, ur poor hubby...20 tablets? I just told mine to take the usual Vit E, Zinc, Men's supplements. I didn't ask him to take cordeceps.

joanna,
yours very good fertilisation rate hor...11 out of 15. Moreover the grades are good. So now just let your womb do the rest. Have a good rest and catch up on all the tv shows.

tigger,
No lah, natural to feel shy at first. Once you get thru it the first time, it'll be easier. On the day u start lucrin, they'll take a progesterone blood test and then teach u how to jab. 2 weeks later then they'll do a scan and E2 blood test.

Petal,

Thank you. I have 3 HCG Jabs during 2ww. But one week before blood test i have no jab at all. Think i will ask the doc more when i see him next week and do my scan.

I even forget to ask what week i am now?

Tigger,

I have slight discomfort in term of mentally, just like you . My hubby find it disturbing until to a stage we realise that female doc whom we went so far is not that "expert" he changed his mind.

all,

My HB took cordyceps , ginseng powder and vitamin E to improve the quality of the sperm.

He has been taking small tomatoes everyday as well. I am not sure if this help. I got this tip from a friend who is trying too.

Petal,

Thank you. I have 3 HCG Jabs during 2ww. But one week before blood test i have no jab at all. Think i will ask the doc more when i see him next week and do my scan.

I even forget to ask what week i am now?

Tigger,

I have slight discomfort in term of mentally, just like you . My hubby find it disturbing until to a stage we realise that female doc whom we went so far is not that "expert" he changed his mind.

all,

My HB took cordyceps , ginseng powder and vitamin E to improve the quality of the sperm.

He has been taking small tomatoes everyday as well. I am not sure if this help. I got this tip from a friend who is trying too.

Tigg3r,

Not to worry, the nurses at IVF centre are supported by doc, who will advise them the dosage at various intervals of the cycle.

KK does about 200 cases a month, that's why they (nurses and doctors) are so busy that they have no time to be forthcoming in their explanation.

Petals,

When is your scan? Will it be at TPS or AMC? All the best to you

Tigg3r,

Not to worry, the nurses at IVF centre are supported by doc, who will advise them the dosage at various intervals of the cycle.

KK does about 200 cases a month, that's why they (nurses and doctors) are so busy that they have no time to be forthcoming in their explanation.

Petals,

When is your scan? Will it be at TPS or AMC? All the best to you

ximi,
You can count ET as 2 weeks already, then add on from there. So u are considered 4 weeks when u tested positive 14 days post-ET. Later when you go for ur scans, doc will give a more accurate date based on baby's size.