Pupi,
Congrats on seeing your singleton sac!

Tigg3r, Stardiva, Pupi,
Pls remember, very impt to drink lots of water (at least 2L) daily so that you won't get dehydrated. If you can't take plain water without throwing up, try mixing a little bit of juice or ribena in your water to add some flavour, but not too sweet. Don't drink too much juice as it contains a lot of sugar. Also, try to drink all your liquid quota by evening so that you can cut down on your toilet trips during the nite. Remember to take your folic acid too! And enjoy your pregnancy ladies...

To all the ladies going for their blood test,
All the best! Try not to worry abt symptoms during 2ww, cos some will experience pregn symptoms similar to AF symptoms.

michelle,
For me, it was more like hot flushes in 1st trim where i will suddenly feel hot for a few min, then it goes away. Just take your temp occasionally to make sure you don't have any fever. As for cold-like symptoms, I do sneeze almost every morning when i switch off my aircon when my nose readjusts. I read that our blood prodn increases during pregnancy, and this also affects our nose. If stuffy nose, u can try a saline nasal spray (made of seawater only) which is safe for preggy women. Did u try wearing long pyjama pants when u sleep?

pupi..

Congrats on ur Singleton..! The best thing abt having Singleton is tat it is much easier to cope !!
Enjoy ur 9 mths ahead!!

Alone..

Dun be too negative.. i think Crampy feeling is not necessarily a bad sign.. stay positive.. !!

hi hopes,petals,joanne and little twin,
thank you very much for you well wishes. this site and all of you were a great support to me.
i am trying to drink water as much as i can. but i cant drink any milk or milky product so bit worried...today i took kfc..is it okay if i take fast food once a while? you have any idea?

joanna,

thanks, yes even after preg. it's a roller coaster ride of anxieties. at least 4 this stage, can take a breather

petals,
think i will stick to kk cos no choice: twins. in case anything kk's support is better so i'll have to jus bear with it n get a stand by gynae in case

pupi,
i crave 4 outside food. somehow home cooked food gives me ms ,heehee strange. tom is pizza day 4 me
i guess everything in moderation will b ok...think better ask someone more experience...

michelle,
i alternate between feeling hot n cold. mostly at nt my tummy to hips feels cold n at times tummy will shiver cos feel cold. i never had this before i was preg, think my babies like to be warm but i feel hot only tummy to hips cold. more strange than yrs right?

alone,
preg n af same symptoms one, don;t conclude yet ok, as long as red dot never come, got chance
jia you

pupi,
A little fast food one in a while is ok, as long as your other meals are healthy. My food craving changes...one wk i wanted pasta, so i went to swensens by myself for exec lunch. Then another wk wanted macs...hee...so i ordered home delivery.

Thanks for your well-wishes... Feeling the effects of the hormonal changes.. Just puked at least 5 times within half n hour... Haizzz..I feel so sick. Looks like my MS is more servere at night

Pupi

Congrats on seeing the sac.. Haha! out batch graduate hand in hand... Wah! KFC... I'm dying for it man! but bcos of my cough... it's out for the time being.
Looks like my MS is getting worst!

Petals

I'm trying hard to down at least 2 litres a day.. but these 2 days... beginning to reject plain water... aiyo dun know what to do.. I couldn't take Juices or even Ribena... so worried that I'm out of choices soon...

Alone

Dun worry too much... have a good nite sleep and go for the test tml... All will turn out well!

tigg3r,
Oh dear. Since ur ms is quite bad, maybe just drink whatever that you can hold down, so that at least u won't get dehydrated. Just avoid coffee and tea which have caffeine. Did u try Ensure and also soybean milk? Just try to bear with it...your ms will get better in 2nd trimester. Stay positive ok? Jia you!

Alone, All the best to you. As well as to all those waiting to do the test.

10 dpet - No sign of AF. I have cramps on and off but very mild. I have no nausea.

Ladies, is that normal?

AF is due on the 18 Dec will normally spot 2 days before. I am so worried.

When does AF come once I stop the progestrone?

All the best for all the preggy sisters. Being a mom, is one of the most remarkable experience. And I hope that everyone will be blessed with this.

Hello Everyone

Logging in from Sydney, so had to have a slightly dif user name...

Just wanted to let you know that I have received some very good news!

I went for my blood test late on Thur afternoon, but before I did, something promted me to do a HPT... it was immediately positive!

I've since had the HCG results and apparently it was 624- a day and a half before we were due to test... so they are saying there is a high chance of twins, or at the very least it is a strong implantation!

I'm a bundle of emotions right now- the news is still sinking in, I can hardly believe it, but just trying to take it easy and wait until I come back for scans before I get too excited! I have my first scan on the 7th back in Singapore, so I'm praying everything will be ok...

Just wanted to take the chance to say how much I think all your encouragement and well wishes have helped! I'm really grateful.

I'm sending out all my vibes to all of you still on the 2ww!

Alone- your test is today- all my best wishes to you, and hope you can get a positive!

Hopes, Shazzer and Rose- thinking about you too, and sending out vibes for a positive!

ML

ML

Congrats! Have a smooth 9 months!

Petals

I do drink ensure milk but not drink soya milk, it'll make me more bloated... my MS very funny ... morning feels like bad hang over from previous night of drinking... head will spin and naueous... Afternoon, will depends on what I take for lunch. Usually, I won't puke any food out.. Tea break will always be a glass of Ensure.. Dinner will have to depend if my lunch has fully digested, otherwise... my tummy will be so bloated n hard.. Usually an hour after dinner will start vomiting lots of liquid... no sign of food. Den will mourn until I sleep... haizzz...

I have mild cramps on and off. Today I did not have it. No spotting as well. I have just tender bbs but no nausea. I have another 5 days to go for the test.Is this symptoms normal?

I think my AF might be delayed bec of my progestrone. I had a reading of 208 the last time. I am really worried now.

ML..!!

Congratulations !! Wow..!! u can join Petal's Twins Club already!! That's So Nice !! So Happy for you!! NOw ur kiddo got more than one sibling to play with already!! Isn't that exciting..?

Do continue to come in for a chat ya!!

Wishing u a smooth 9 mths ahead..

Thank u again for ur vibes!! hehe.. Hope Alone will deliver good news also!!

Shazzer, Rose.. we must jia you.!! hehe..

Rose..

I also have on and off cramps ..as long as no spotting or AF.. there is still a good chance ya!!

This article might help to re-assure you

http://ezinearticles.com/?Symptoms-Of-Early-IVF-pregnancy-Signs-Of-An-In-Vitro-Pregnancy&id=628338

Congrats ML! Let's hope your positive news gets "contagious" around here...

Rose, Hopes,
12dpet, still no other symtoms except for on and off cramps. still trying to be positive.. but at the same time... mentally preparing for the worst... my test date cannot come soon enough. i have a xmas dinner with friends that night, if its good news, i have something to celebrate, if its not good news, well at least i can feast to my heart's (and stomach's) content.

Alone, how are you?

hi ml,

congrats!!!!! it's a long wait but u pulled through. hope u can join the twins club

hope, alone, shazzer, rose
hang in there. good news coming soon!

tigger,
find out what is yr trigger 4 ms. it helps alot. i'm so much better now
cos i know my triggers n when it'll come. also when u visit the dr ask them 4 vit b6. it's 4 ms it helped me alot. now i only have ms 1-2 hr b4 meals. i jus have to take the vit b6 around that time b4 meal n i have no probs after that.
i also told me mom n mil that i'm allergic to home cooked food!!! n they laughed es when they c me eating so well at the restaurants n were surprised

find out yr triggers n avoid it, u'll feel much better,
take care

Stardiva,

I've been taking Vit B6 for quite sometimes, but looks like it's not going to help... The problem is not wat food that triggers my vomiting... I can eat most food, including home cook... It's just that my giddiness that makes me wan to puke... I can't watch TV or having anything flashing at me... definitely will make me more giddy and that for sure will trigger my vomiting especially when I have just drank water or when my tummy is bloated...

tigg3r,

in that case u have to try not to get dizzy.hee .the dr will ask if u can hold yr food down, if u can ,they will not give u vomit meds but u can tell them about yr dizzy spells. mayb u need more iron. r u taking any prenatal vits?

ML,
Congrats!!! Welcome to the MTB club!
Take gd care and enjoy ur sydney trip. What a nice way to start the weekend.

Hopes,
All the best! R u taking ur HPT tmrw? Lots of babydust to you!

Tigg3r,
Oh dear, like what stardiva said it could be low iron or maybe even dehydration that makes u giddy. When u drink, try to sip bit by bit rather than finish the whole glass at once. I also can't take much liquid at one time else will feel bloated. Also, sit upright for a while after meals, instead of lying down immed. Hope this helps. Sorry, can't help much regarding the ms. maybe some of the other seniors on the MTB thread can help using their MS experience. You can also try emailing dr loh abt it.

i'm new here... i'm in a little indecisive state.. doc initially asked me to try out SO-IUI for once, if not successful, den go for IVF.

My first SO-IUI cycle this mth has just been terminated due to over-reaction to medication & jabs.
Was given an option to switch to IVF but we were worried dat switching to IVF halfway will not get the best results and moreover, i'm not mentally prepared.

can u gals share how the ivf process is like? i wan to find out more like the duration of the daily jabs, what additional jabs required besides the usual jab, the estimated mc required, and how often u nid to be at the clinic to do ultrasound scans.

thanks in advance and sorry for the long post. :p

hi babyhopes..

welcome to the thread!!

i was in exactly the same situation with you last yr
Over reactive to the puregon jabs at the final stages of my SO-IUI and was also given the option to either abort the cycle or convert to IVF.

I chose to convert bcoz I do no wish for all efforts to be wasted. Furthermore, according to statistics, the success rate for IVF is higher than SO-IUI, so, I felt.. since I was already halfway there, I might as well convert.

The process for IVF is slightly more complicated than IUI. Jabs are still basically the same but usually abt one wk prior to the embryo retrival date, u have to be at the hosp daily to scan the size of the follicles. Once they have reach the desired size, doc will tell you the estimated Embryo Retrival (ER) date. The ER will be done with GA, so you will not feel a thing during the process.

After ER, you will be given abt 5 days of MC. But u can request for few more days if u need more rest. The embryo transfer (ET) will be done usally 2-3 days after the ER.

After the ET, you will have to go through a 2 wks wait ( 2WW) and then go for ur blood test abt 2 wks later to see whether u a are pregnant

You can claim a total of $6k from ur Medisave for the first time for this IVF procedure. That should cover at least half the cost.

Another good thing abt IVF is that, your un-used embryos can be frozen for furture use so that you dun have to go thru all the jabs again

The procedure are very similar to what this link describes..

http://www.advancedfertility.com/ivfprocedures.htm

deerdeer...

i haven't do my HPT yet leh..hehe..

coz I run out of them :p

i actually got 5 HPT sets and out of curiousity, started testing since 8 dpet...haha..mad right..? on day 12, i finally see a very very faint positive.. (two lines) but since it is very very faint.. i cannot be 100% sure yet..

I wanted to go and get another few HPT set to try but no time yet.. think I will go and get later...hehe..

Hopes,

Do you count the number of days from egg retrievel or transfer? I am bit confused.

The 14 days for the beta test is counted from Day 1 after egg transfer?

hi hopes,

thanks for the info & link! sorry, may i ask if that converted IVF cycle was successful? was thinking if i decided to go for SO-IUI again and this happens again, shld i convert...

actually i had the same thinking as u yday, might as well convert since we're oredi halfway thru... but just worried that the smaller follicles may not catch up in size with the big ones in time for ER. Understand that there're possibilities that follicles might be egg-less, so in the end we decided not to take the risk.

alamak, i dunno got to go for daily scans b4 ER... dun wan colleagues to noe, so dunno what excuse i can use... what time are the scans usually?

Seems like i'm missing quite abit..alot of reading to catch up!

1st of all, congrats to all who made it!! Seems like alot of MTB having twins! For those who r still on the way, all the best!

Michelle,
I do get cold chill quite often. Esp bcos i bath quite late in the nite so sometimes my whole body will shiver...sometimes i wonder whether my baby will feel the cold. Trying to bath early but very hard to chg my old habit.

Tigg3r,
I'm aredi in my 4th mth but i still puke once awhile at nite. I still cant take alot of plain water so usually i will sip alittle instead of one cup at one time. Also tried to subsitute it with other drinks like ribena, milk, soya bean, honey etc.. For me, i find tat orange seems to trigger my vomitting so i tried to cut down on tat.

hopes,

jia you jia you! we'll hear yr gd news tom ok

petals,

i has a scare last nt. first time in a long while that i slept switching on the aircon . i'm always switching from hot to cold n the nurses told me b4 it;s normal. but last nt i ended up waking up at 4am shivering away. had to get hubby ti switched off the ac. i was shivering n breaking out in cold sweat. perspering on the outside, shivering on the inside. i tot that's it i caught a cold. the shivering came in intervals n i soaked 2 night dresses. when i tried to take away the blanket cos t'm so hot, i start shivering again. end up sleeping with all windows closed .......
when i woke up at 9am...i;m drenched but all seems fine again.
when in cold sweat, my temp dropped, this morn it went back up again. stranged right.

i've read the mtb posting n no one seems to have this but when hubby searched the web, he said it's common in preg cos hormonal changes n caysing body temp yo fluc causing ny sweats n shivers...also i might have insufficient nutrient in diet. but i eat healthy meals lei. my babies seems to like being warm. aiyo

ML - congrats!
Hopes - good luck to your bloodtest tom.

Got a question to ask (a rather silly one)... during the time when one does the lurin jabs (the first jab) ..is it ok to do chemical stuff like dye hair, straighten hair or perm hair?

hopes,
Hey hey...sounds like someone is getting a BFP!! *wink* I'm quite excited for you...hee...

Stardiva,
Yah, I think our hormones cause temp fluc during preg, in esp in 1st trim. Once u get to 2nd trim your body will adjust and you won't feel such drastic changes.

bbhopes,
IVF is cheaper in KKH ($6k-$8k) compared to pvte which can go up to >$15k. Also the long protocol has the lucrin stage (add 2-3 wks of jabs and scans), which is absent in the short protocol. Which doc are you seeing?

Nano,

Thanks, I'm trying diluted ribena for now.. it seemed to work a little bit.. Funny thing about shower, it's been a few days that when I shower (warm water) it will trigger me to puke... ah!!!! that's disgusting... luckily it's only fluid and no food substances.. sometimes it can go on a few times during the shower.. What a weird thing !

Stardiva

Bcos of my cough I can't sleep in aircon but it's really too hot and difficult for me to fall asleep with just fan. Especially my poor hubby...got to suffer with me... so wat we do is switched on the aircon to cool down the room and set timer for it to switch off about an hour later (by den we should be sound asleep).. And becos I tend to be extremely hot in the middle of the nite, I set timer to switch on just at about at hour before hubby wakes up... den it won't be too hot by the time the sun rise and the room starts to warm up...

hi petals,

i'm seeing KKH's Dr Loh... hv arranged to see him in abt two weeks to see what he says...

is it true be it iui or ivf, one has to rest one mth b4 trying for next cycle?

congrats to the gals who manage to get two lines on ur HPT.

bbhopes,
well, in betwn IVF cycles, i believe it's best to rest and let ur body gradually flush out all that additional hormones before restarting. You may even consider going for acupuncture during that time to prepare for next cycle if u r not keen on trying tcm. How many mths to rest really depends on u since u terminated ur cycle halfway, rather than failing it. Just my 2c worth.

hi petals,

thanks for ur advice.
I've tried many months of tcm where i had to boil the herbs daily, but I've stopped a few mths now. Tot of acupuncture b4 too, but dun hv the courage to go cos i'm scared of the needles... can't imagine them going in & out of my body...

did u try out acupuncture b4?

Thank you for yr well wishing.
I hvn't drop a tear till tdy.I just feel so sorry for my hubby.
My left tube is gone and my right tube is blocked.I.......

Gals, all the best and take care.

Hi Hope,

I've lots of questions regarding about IVF.

On which CD do we have to starts the jab? How long do we have to jab? Do we have constantly go back to KK for scan while we are having our daily jabs?

After ET, there will be 2ww. Will MC to be given?

Understand the cost of IVF cycle is about $8-$10K. Is this cost after deducting $6K from medisave?

Petals, what nasal spray u using? Dr Loh forbid me to use my nasal spray cos he say it is a form of steriod, he ask me to stick to just Piriton. My nose is running, then stuffy, then sneeze, then runny again.. this cycle will last the WHOLE day!!

Hi Sunshine..take care and rest well...

BBhopes... i have tried TCM Acup..it is actually not as painful as it seems... it is just when the needles go in sometimes the nerves abit tingling....sometimes i can sleep when laying there..so it is not painful...

vanilla pod 2, you mentioned your TCM doc mentioned that after ET, it is good to take dong cong ciao and American Ginseng... Can i ask how to cook those and is it to eat right after ET ? Please advise

hi Ladies..

Sorry for the late update :p Too many activities yesterday.. no time to log in.

My official bloodtest is on 19/12 but I have done a HPT yesterday and it was a positive.

I was quite relieved.. but dare not be too happy bcoz of my last experience..

Anyway..it was a good start...I'm greatful and hope I can hold on to it this time..

Deerdeer..

my email is [email protected] can add me to ur MSN?

*Sigh*.. just started work today after 2wk break.. engine cannot start..haha...:p

Hopes, great to hear your good news!! must really take care and dun exert yourself, dun carry heavy things, just rest and go easy..... hope you have a smooth 9 months. actually once you tested on HPT, you can go for your bloodtest liao, no need to wait..