Ahhh all these stories today are making me very heavy hearted...

All you ladies are strong and willed (including me :p)! We will move on and give ourselves a pat on the back someday when we meet our pot of gold at the other end of the rainbow.

1.Connie_hopeful
2. Redvel
3. Star.star
4. Anamika87
5. Rachelt
6. Ashkea
7.michng
8. chunkles
9. Peaches21
10. baby_sparkles
11. mesara
12. pigletlyn
13. acadia
14.muff

Am I late? Sorry that I have missed out so much. Too busy with work, sighs. Currently thinking of when to do my 4th transfer. Really afraid that this one wouldnt work. I am trying to prepare myself in a better mental mind and also to rebuild my health before doing my next transfer. I have 4 embies left. I am suspecting I am either an implantation issue or embryo issue. Thinking to do intralipid for next transfer to improve chances. Not sure if it will work.

TTC 4 years. 1 ectopic, 1 tube removed.
IVF#1 in 2013- no fresh did 2 FETs = BFN
IVF#2 2014 - Fresh =bfn. waiting for FET and undecided when.

Query on frozen embryos..

Embryologist called me yesterday to say that they had froze 4 satisfactory eggies for me (7,8&9s) cell. I'm happy coz this is my first time getting to freeze the eggs.. (#1 ivf all eggs stopped growing after Day 4) My questions are:

1) read somewhere that FET cycles are has slightly higher chance of preggy? Why? And does the quAlity of eggs play a part?

2) can't say no to freezing of eggs now coz nurse said I consented for freezing at initial paperwork.. Was actually thinking of not to freeze them becoz of quality of eggs is just satisfactory... Wateva it is, I'm freezing it but if I ever want or need to do another ivf, can I still opt for fresh cycle?

Gonna ask the questions tmr with my doc since got appt.. But wonder if the strong ladies here hev had any experiences with these issues?

Thank you QueenHera81. And to the ladies here for the moral support. Just came back from the clinic to take another kind of jab: Luveris. It is supposed to get the follicles to grow better. So here's what I know pertaining to your qn:

1) read somewhere that FET cycles are has slightly higher chance of preggy? Why? And does the quAlity of eggs play a part?

FET has proven to be more successful than fresh. Not much difference but there is a difference. Why? All the embryos are frozen, not just the less than perfect grades. Your body gets back to normal after flushing the hormones from the jabs and the frozen embryos defrosted are put in you.

2) I ever want or need to do another ivf, can I still opt for fresh cycle?

Sure you can. But check out what your paperwork says. Maybe you need to dispose the frozen embryos before the fresh cycle.

Query on frozen embryos..

Embryologist called me yesterday to say that they had froze 4 satisfactory eggies for me (7,8&9s) cell. I'm happy coz this is my first time getting to freeze the eggs.. (#1 ivf all eggs stopped growing after Day 4) My questions are:

2) can't say no to freezing of eggs now coz nurse said I consented for freezing at initial paperwork.. Was actually thinking of not to freeze them becoz of quality of eggs is just satisfactory... Wateva it is, I'm freezing it but if I ever want or need to do another ivf, can I still opt for fresh cycle?

Gonna ask the questions tmr with my doc since got appt.. But wonder if the strong ladies here hev had any experiences with these issues?

Queen, it depends on the lab if they are good with FET processes of the embryos. Some labs are not good with FET. ALso, it depends on the skill of your doctor. Quality of eggs has always been a very controversial topic. There are people who BFP with lower quality. Just remember, the grading that lab gives on embryo only determines the appearance of the embryo to a certain level. In order to determine if the embryo is healthy or not requires a PGD test (chromosome testing on embryo) but it is not allowed in SG.

So in short, you still have all the chances in the world to BFP with your embbies!

Chuckles: thanks. I will go ask abt it during my BFN review later this week. Apart from ANA, did u get tested for anything else?

Redvel: i hv 2.5yo now blessed from a perfect egg. But apart from that, none of the supposedly ok 14 embbies put back ever implanted - the bHcg readings are always nothing (i hv done d2 d3 d4 d5 transfers). Never gotten a natural BFP despite married for 8 yrs. I know i am "luckier" to hv no implantation than to hv to face a m/c though.

Hi Ron, I tested for everything except for 1 test that sees if my husband's DNA fit with mine. That one costs more than 2k so I said no. I don't even want to think that hubby and I are incompatible. The report looks like mumbo jumbo to me. I see a lot of negative to them which is good except for that ANA test.

Queen, it depends on the lab if they are good with FET processes of the embryos. Some labs are not good with FET. ALso, it depends on the skill of your doctor. Quality of eggs has always been a very controversial topic. There are people who BFP with lower quality. Just remember, the grading that lab gives on embryo only determines the appearance of the embryo to a certain level. In order to determine if the embryo is healthy or not requires a PGD test (chromosome testing on embryo) but it is not allowed in SG.

So in short, you still have all the chances in the world to BFP with your embbies!
HI Muff, Sincere IVF Center checks for chromosomal inbalances if one requests. It is $5500 for less than 15 embryos. For PGD, it is $1800 for 1 - 10 embryos.

Hi ladies, I m finally given a briefing date for ivf procedures & sign the papers on 14 oct. I had my BT done for HIV in apr, so do I have to retake the BT on briefing day again? Actually I think I can only do ER in nov given my cycle.... Sorry, I am still a novice & 1st timer so I didnt manage to ask kkhivf nurse who called me. Hope to get advise here...
Welcome to the IVF/ICSI board. The HIV test is valid for only 6 months. Once 6 months up, you have to take another one. The ladies here are super nice. Ask anything. Sometimes the messages moves too fast, so you gotta ask again cause it might get lost somewhere up there. ;)

Anyone did any NK Cells test before? I am trying to research what I need to improve or know for my chances in TTC as I want to improve holistically. Feel like going for genetic testing, NK Cells, Vitamin deficiency etc etc . Any more blood tests to test for?!

Muff,

Testing is not for everyone. Doctors only test if you have a miscarriage more than 3 times I was told. Don't panic. The following is a cut-n-paste from a website fyi.

Causes of recurrent miscarriage

• Genetic: In a small number of cases, one partner may repeatedly pass on an abnormal chromosome, causing recurrent miscarriage.Both you and your partner should be offered a blood test to check for chromosomal abnormalities (known as karyotyping). If the tests show a problem, you should be referred to a clinical geneticist for further testing.

• Hormonal: In some rare cases an imbalance in pregnancy hormones can lead to conditions such as polycystic ovaries, multiple cysts on a woman’s ovaries caused by high levels of LH (luteinising hormone) and testosterone, which can cause miscarriage. Healthcare professionals can discuss the pros and cons of medical treatment for this.6

• Blood clotting disorders: Some blood clotting disorders, such as systemic lupus erythematosus and antiphospholipid syndrome can cause ‘sticky blood’ and recurrent miscarriage. These rare disorders of the immune system affect the flow of blood to the placenta and may cause clots that prevent the placenta from functioning properly, depriving the baby of essential oxygen and nutrients, which may lead to miscarriage. Treatment may involve taking aspirin and/or heparin therapy, which both help to thin the blood (research shows that in women who have recurrent miscarriage, their blood has an increased tendency to clot, blocking the flow of nutrients to the baby).6

• Uterine problems: An abnormally shaped womb can increase your risk of recurrent miscarriage and premature birth. There are a number of ways to investigate the shape of the uterus and depending on the findings, surgery may be recommended.

• Cervical weakness: If you are considered at risk, you may be offered a scan or be advised to have stitch early in the pregnancy.

Chuckles, I already have 3 failed transfers. I just wonder if any condition is obstructing the implant other than embryo issues. I would really like to get PGD done but current embryos are not with Sincere. Would be good to check underlying issues if any.

HI Muff, Sincere IVF Center checks for chromosomal inbalances if one requests. It is $5500 for less than 15 embryos. For PGD, it is $1800 for 1 - 10 embryos.

PGD can be done only if :

- u or yr husband has genetic issues within the family, n
- yr dr is willing to put up yr case to the medical ethics board for u, n
- the medical ethics board approves yr appeal.

Do note that PGD also carries some risk in damaging the embbie, depending on the skill of the dr doing it.

Anyone did any NK Cells test before? I am trying to research what I need to improve or know for my chances in TTC as I want to improve holistically. Feel like going for genetic testing, NK Cells, Vitamin deficiency etc etc . Any more blood tests to test for?!

My gynae did not recommend NK cell testing after i failed my first fresh due to implantation issue. I went directly for intralipid treatment which is suppose to help to suppress immunity n help with implantation. Not sure if u want to research n explore.

@portia3 Thanks for the information! I am also with Dr Loh but at TFC. Thinking to do Intralipid on next transfer, have yet to speak to him about it. Did you do intra with him?

Yes, i did.

Once before ivf and twice after bfp. I can't credit intralipid as the only reason for my bfp as i had other alternative treatment n supplements for this bfp. But no harm trying it since it does not hv side effects.

Welcome to the IVF/ICSI board. The HIV test is valid for only 6 months. Once 6 months up, you have to take another one. The ladies here are super nice. Ask anything. Sometimes the messages moves too fast, so you gotta ask again cause it might get lost somewhere up there. ;)

Yeah agree! Super helpful n knowledgable. I feel paiseh that i didnt even know whats the purpose of the different jabs i took for ivf... i just jab accordingly. Learn n benefits so much in this thread from sisters here!

Yes, i did.

Once before ivf and twice after bfp. I can't credit intralipid as the only reason for my bfp as i had other alternative treatment n supplements for this bfp. But no harm trying it since it does not hv side effects.

Hi portia after a long time seeing u. How r u and ur baby? Prince or princess?

Yes, i did.

Chuckles, so what other treatments and supplements did you have? For supplements, I am in a dilemma. I am currently taking Folic and Vit C only. Felt like trying a multivit but researched and found lots of vitamins in multi cancel some of the other vitamins out. Lazy to research all the brands that are good. I read that Vit A,D,K and magnesium are the most important so far but unsure of my own deficiency or have any. I dont want to overdose. haha.

Oh man this journey is sooooo hard.

I'm taking conceive well which has folic and coq10 inside. I got prescribed dhea from kkh which I'm still taking. Roland told me to forget abt dhea but I don't care. I paid so I take it religiously. I will stop when I bfp. Hehe
I think roland thinks I'm mad sometimes. I like to read when I'm free and I ask him too many questions. He cannot tahan when I asked him if it was true that heparin is made from pig's intestine. Haha should have captured his look on camera. He told me to do research on my own. Even my hubby thinks I'm mad. I don't think I am though. :)

I don't do tcm. I wish I knew more but like I said, I like to read and know what medicine goes in me. I don't know chinese herbs and like you, I'm scared of overdosing or having a clash with western meds.

Hi portia after a long time seeing u. How r u and ur baby? Prince or princess?
Hi anamika!

Hope everything is going well for u. Are u still seeing TSB?

It has been an eventful 20 weeks for me and i can finally relax a little after clearing my amnio test and detailed scan. Earlier scans showed bb as a gal but it's cfm that i am expecting a boy. No preference so long bb is healthy!

Hi fellow ivf sisters,

I do hv some dhea from iherbs to be given away for free. I bot it from one sister here before i bfp but i did not take it. I hv an unopened bottle and a half opened bottle to give away. If you want it, feel free to pm me.

Portia oh now changed to boy? Haha I remember I asked ya if baby was a prince or princess. Hope you didn't rush to buy pink back then! Congrats that you're now in another new milestone.

I don't do tcm. I wish I knew more but like I said, I like to read and know what medicine goes in me. I don't know chinese herbs and like you, I'm scared of overdosing or having a clash with western meds.

hahah, I dont think you are mad. Because I am also the kind who went to research how to improve my IVF cycle based on my IVF#1 results ( i was having too many follicles which may impact the embryo quality) AMH (linked to too many follicles if stim dosage too high as I have over ovarian reserve) and assumed to be PCOS symptoms to adjust the drug dosage for stims. HAHA! It kinda of worked. I have lesser follicles but more fert rate. I think sometimes we have to do some ground work because Doctors assume all bodies to be almost same conditions which i begged to differ.

Yes, i did.

Portia, what other supplements did you take as well?

1.Connie_hopeful
2. Redvel
3. Star.star
4. Anamika87
5. Rachelt
6. Ashkea
7.michng
8. chunkles
9. Peaches21
10. baby_sparkles
11. mesara
12. pigletlyn
13. acadia
14.muff
15. Oceangal

Baby dust to all of us!!

This is my 3rd fresh and worst result of all. I do not respond well to stim. Only transfer 1 emmby :( I think that's about it will stop after this. No more cofunding. I'm hoping for the best but prepared for the worst.

Do you gals continue with Conceive Well during 2ww?

And someone was asking about Q10 Migrate.
I buy direct from wholesale. http://www.haldanepharma.com/contact-us.php

Just go down to buy. Must use cash. $30+ a box. Call and let them know before going down.

@chuckles tks for your warmth welcome! This thread is moving really very fast & even I have problem catching up as a slient reader still for now. Thks for the info! I think I may have to do BT again if I m doing ivf in nov....
@portia3 congrats!! update us your little beanie prince when you have time. Were you with TSB previously?? I got to learn from somewhere that some patients go to her prior to IVF & strike!! I seen her for 3mths only & I gave up....

Portia oh now changed to boy? Haha I remember I asked ya if baby was a prince or princess. Hope you didn't rush to buy pink back then! Congrats that you're now in another new milestone.
Hi redvel,

Hope everything is going ok for u too. I haven't bot any clothes yet. Still maintaining the cautiously positive attitude till bb crosses the 24 week milestone. Just pre ordered a few essential items from oct bb fair.

Portia, what other supplements did you take as well?
I was on conceive well gold, immunocal, royal jelly with cq10, chinese TCM herbs and receiving acupuncture as well for my 2nd fresh with bfp.

First cycle, i took conceive well n immunocal only.

@chuckles tks for your warmth welcome! This thread is moving really very fast & even I have problem catching up as a slient reader still for now. Thks for the info! I think I may have to do BT again if I m doing ivf in nov....
@portia3 congrats!! update us your little beanie prince when you have time. Were you with TSB previously?? I got to learn from somewhere that some patients go to her prior to IVF & strike!! I seen her for 3mths only & I gave up....

Thanks, bubble blue. It was a difficult journey from ivf till 20 weeks of pregnancy.

I am still with TSB. Been seeing her after i failed my first cycle in jan n went on to my 2nd fresh in april. Taking her 安胎药 now。it seems to be helping to stabilise my pregnancy in the early first tri along with all the hormones n jabs.

portia3, wow! you respond very well with TSB prescription ah.... within 4 mths you strike on your 2nd fresh!! Sorry can I understand, we can choose to freeze or not freeze our embryos? Possible to do 2nd attempt with fresh mah? I assume all will be freeze after ER. Sorry if this sound stupid question but I am really still trying to find out more....
Bubbleblue, there is no stupid question here. Ask all u want, if any one knows, sure will share with you... we are all on the ssme journey trying to achieve the same dream. :)

I believe u can choose not to freeze if u hv excess after transfer. But of cos not many will want to hv embbies destroyed till they hv a bb in arms cos u dunno if u will succeed on yr fresh cycle.

I did my 2nd cycle from fresh cos i only have 1 frostie left from 1st cycle. I wasn't sure if the frostie will survive the thaw n i wanted to transfer 2 embbies as well.

Now, i hv 1 frostie from 1st cycle and 4 more frosties from 2nd cycle in kkh snow land. Hopefully, i will conceive no. 2 naturally after this one. But i will keep them till i reach 40 years old.

Bubbleblue, there is no stupid question here. Ask all u want, if any one knows, sure will share with you... we are all on the ssme journey trying to achieve the same dream. :)

I believe u can choose not to freeze if u hv excess after transfer. But of cos not many will want to hv embbies destroyed till they hv a bb in arms cos u dunno if u will succeed on yr fresh cycle.

I did my 2nd cycle from fresh cos i only have 1 frostie left from 1st cycle. I wasn't sure if the frostie will survive the thaw n i wanted to transfer 2 embbies as well.

Now, i hv 1 frostie from 1st cycle and 4 more frosties from 2nd cycle in kkh snow land. Hopefully, i will conceive no. 2 naturally after this one. But i will keep them till i reach 40 years old.

Tks for sharing, @portia3. It's so wonderful to have a thread creating support to each other & "meet" nice ladies like you willing to share more & clear my doubt! Now I understand more. Tks so much!

Muff,

Testing is not for everyone. Doctors only test if you have a miscarriage more than 3 times I was told. Don't panic. The following is a cut-n-paste from a website fyi.

Causes of recurrent miscarriage

• Genetic: In a small number of cases, one partner may repeatedly pass on an abnormal chromosome, causing recurrent miscarriage.Both you and your partner should be offered a blood test to check for chromosomal abnormalities (known as karyotyping). If the tests show a problem, you should be referred to a clinical geneticist for further testing.

• Hormonal: In some rare cases an imbalance in pregnancy hormones can lead to conditions such as polycystic ovaries, multiple cysts on a woman’s ovaries caused by high levels of LH (luteinising hormone) and testosterone, which can cause miscarriage. Healthcare professionals can discuss the pros and cons of medical treatment for this.6

• Blood clotting disorders: Some blood clotting disorders, such as systemic lupus erythematosus and antiphospholipid syndrome can cause ‘sticky blood’ and recurrent miscarriage. These rare disorders of the immune system affect the flow of blood to the placenta and may cause clots that prevent the placenta from functioning properly, depriving the baby of essential oxygen and nutrients, which may lead to miscarriage. Treatment may involve taking aspirin and/or heparin therapy, which both help to thin the blood (research shows that in women who have recurrent miscarriage, their blood has an increased tendency to clot, blocking the flow of nutrients to the baby).6

• Uterine problems: An abnormally shaped womb can increase your risk of recurrent miscarriage and premature birth. There are a number of ways to investigate the shape of the uterus and depending on the findings, surgery may be recommended.

• Cervical weakness: If you are considered at risk, you may be offered a scan or be advised to have stitch early in the pregnancy.

I have 4 out of 5 you have mentioned.

Suddenly this thread is going very fast....

thanks portia. Me now waiting for AF and that's when I will start my FET. Last week I dreamt all my 5 frosties couldn't thaw nicely *%&$^#@!+

Bubbles, as what Portia has shared on your question. But I wanna ask why are you gearing for 2nd fresh and not use any frozen embies? Just like to know where you’re coming from :)

@redvel, I wanted to clarify wtih Portia3 what does 2nd fresh means cos I m still trying to grasp the bits & pcs of the whole ivf process. I was told fresh has a higher chance of striking while some strike with their frosties.... I really admire Portia3 courage going thru 2nd fresh cycle..... It's double intruding to our womb & exhausting for our bodies right?

Oh yes ivf alot of terms! I'm also still learning while going for my frozen transfer in a Oct.

I've also failed two fresh cycles boohoo. There are different views on success rate for fresh and frozen. I believe Ivf is about trying different protocol, I mean luck aside. Unfortunately it means a few attempts needed.

1.Connie_hopeful
2. Redvel
3. Star.star
4. Anamika87
5. Rachelt
6. Ashkea
7.michng
8. chunkles
9. Peaches21
10. baby_sparkles
11. mesara
12. pigletlyn
13. acadia
14.muff
15. Oceangal
16. the_fruitful_one

trying for #1 too..will be going for natural FET this month once af comes..am abit worried of the conditions needed to be met before the ET..i still have 4 frosties in kkh...hope my womb lining will be ok and i'm able to track ovulation...

thanks portia. Me now waiting for AF and that's when I will start my FET. Last week I dreamt all my 5 frosties couldn't thaw nicely *%&$^#@!+

Bubbles, as what Portia has shared on your question. But I wanna ask why are you gearing for 2nd fresh and not use any frozen embies? Just like to know where you’re coming from :)

Redvel,

I can understand the stress... but i know u r a very strong lady too... i hope this will be the cycle for u!

Life after bfp is not easy too. The symptins, the weeks of wait for scans, test results can be equally, if not more stressful and devastating than the ivf journey.

But i know each n everyone of us here will be able to brave through any obstacles ti achieve thay dream of ours.

1.Connie_hopeful
2. Redvel
3. Star.star
4. Anamika87
5. Rachelt
6. Ashkea
7.michng
8. chunkles
9. Peaches21
10. baby_sparkles
11. mesara
12. pigletlyn
13. acadia
14.muff
15. Oceangal
16. the_fruitful_one

am trying for #1 too..will be going for natural FET this mth once af comes..am abit worried of the conditions needed to be met before ET..hope my womb lining will be ok and i'm able to ovulate properly this mth!

@redvel, I wanted to clarify wtih Portia3 what does 2nd fresh means cos I m still trying to grasp the bits & pcs of the whole ivf process. I was told fresh has a higher chance of striking while some strike with their frosties.... I really admire Portia3 courage going thru 2nd fresh cycle..... It's double intruding to our womb & exhausting for our bodies right?

Dun admire me. I am nowhere as brave as some who had gone through 3 or 4 more cycles just to achieve their bb dreams.

2nd fresh mean you go through the entire cycle of stimulation jabs, scans, ER, ET and the 2ww again.

Depending on each individual's circumstances, some are not able to transfer fresh due to ohss and had to do FET instead.

Dreams are opposite!