Sesame oil,
during reproductive yrs, typical LH level can range from 1-20 mIU/mL, with an additional surge during ovulation.
consistently high LH is usually an indication of pcos but the LH will still be within the normal range of 1-20.
consistently high LH above the normal range is rare and indicates other medical issues.

Imp22, embryoists work round the clock in the lab by shifts. They take turn to watch over the growth of embryo after fertilization as every day there will be ER. Only during the cleaning wk in dec then they dun work n there will be no ER tt period.

Dr loh only needs one helper for ET. This helper can be a nurse or sonographer. This same person will open the clinic door for you also.

If I didn't remember wrongly, u will be given instructions when ur dh need to clear sperm on the day the nurse arranges for your ER. If your hubby chooses to collect sperms at home on your ER date, the nurse will give u a bottle. Usually clear sperms is abt 3 days b4 ER.

Relax n look forward to next wk n getting BFP end of the mth!

Imp22, dr loh is a workaholic. That said, his team of medical staff are also dedicated. The sister I told u who was scheduled to do d5 ET on a Sunday? She canr do D2 transfer as she had ohss. That wad why dr loh said try d5 instead n hopefully her ohss has subsided. But on d4, sat morning, she received a call from kkhivf n was informed embryoist informed dr loh her embies may not make it to d5. So instead of taking the risk tt all embies will die on d5, n have nothinv to transfer, dr loh asked her to go down immediately for d4 transfer instead. FYI, she is a proud mother of a pair if twins now.

So everyone is doing their part. Though we as patients shld be vigilant at times n remind them also if necessary coz they r afterall human too n hence there may be slight oversight here n there.

flowers, I will only start in 2 weeks time. ER/ET will be ard 2nd or 3rd week of Oct.

winnie, Ic, CARE really "design" each protocol of everyone. everyone's unique! hw I wish govt hospital can give this service as well.
so you officially start yr 1st jab today!!! Not painful? Dh anxious or not or he v steady in administering the jab?

grumpus, thanks for the answer! You are always such a great help! Orh...no wonder the last time I saw Dr Loh, he says my blood test results are all ok. Ok, I am going to throw all the results aside and wait for my 1st jab...really looking forward.

Hazel, Dr Loh and his team are really dedicated! My fren whom went to another hospital was told they dun work on Sun!!! In the end she has to do a D4 transfer as D3 falls on a Sunday. In the end she got a BFN with no frozens.

I am v mad at tt team and the doctor cos cause my fren to be so sad and dun dare to try on ivf anymore. they determine the date of ET even before ER!!! Tt goes to show tt they dun monitor. everything is already planned for before ER. So irresponsible!

I am so glad tt I hv decided to choose Dr Loh though he is a busy doctor.

Susan,
errr no sure abt Dr Loh but usually hormone profile blood test is one of the fertility tests. u go back and check yr records whether u had any blood test done before all the iui etc that tests FSH, LH, Prolactin etc.
mine was done by my previous dr, when i went to Dr Loh i already know my FSH, LH levels.

Sesame, I m very thankful to dr loh. I hv complete trust in him. The minus part is he is very biz. If he dun say anything it is usually ok. I ever bombarded him with lots of qns on my embryos at ET. He told me to speak to the senior embryoist myself which I did. Nice lady too.

I chit chat with sonographer, Karen also. She told me her wish is to see all the ladies she scanned BFP. She said she knows we went thru alot to conceive n we deserve to be BFP.

Sesame oil,
that is really irresponsible of yr friend's dr! after all they are also gynaes and they should be used to being on call 24/7
babies dun wait till working hrs to be born!! how can they say they dun want to do the ET cos it falls on sunday.

my own ET was on 1st may, labour day. i was so touched when the dr, nurses and embryologist turn up at an empty clinic to do my ET.

sesame - my jab "officially" start liao, u must trust ur doc ok! this morning jab is done by the nurse, I was holding to my hubby's hand tightly. I update u tomorrow if he's steady in the jab hahaha

Hazel, are you on the cycle now? ever since I decide on kkh, I already tell myself to compromise on the service as they have so much patients and they are not pte. So we must understand. Agree with you that we shd know about the cycle and question them as and when we are in doubt. Though ignorance is bliss, but I still try to get as much information as possible so that at least I know what is going on and I am thankful to this thread.

I am happy with Dr Loh so far and hope his magic hands will work on me.

grumpus, Precisely!!! Initially I wanted to choose tt hospital over KKH, but after hearing my friend's experience, I decided to change. They din really say they dun work on Sundays, but just keep telling my friend to go for D4 trf on Monday though she insist to hv a D3 trf. But the nurses keep telling her it is their normal protocol to trf btw D3 to D5.

But the questionable point is hw can they decide on D4 trf even before ER??? This is something which I cannot comprehend. Other than dun want to work on Sundays, I can't think of any other reason!

winnie, I trust my doc tt is y I hv chosen him ma! Just tt they dun provide such special service like the pte. If they can, it will be perfect! Ok, dun compare liao.

Okok, do update me ya. Tell your hubby there is always a 1st time. Haha...

MA, late OHSS as in after ET? Dr Zou tolds me those whom suffer from OHSS after ET usually hv high chances of bfp. So you are one of them. But hope the OHSS subside soon for you as you hv bfp.

Will immunocal help?

Gers... Anyone quit ur job for ivf? Am thinking my stressful job dun fit ivf plan... It is only after ET then will hv 2 wks HL... And still hv to think wat to tell boss... Before tat, jabs r stressful enuf... And still hv to juggle between work & trips to hosp.... Dun think i can cope very well emotionally w all the stress too... Any advice?

Hi happy, ur work sounded stressful. If u have no problems financially, I encourage u to quit ur job. Being stress is definitely a no-no for ivf lor. What stage are u at now?

Hi pink... I've yet to start... Next appt will be mid sep... Hope to start asap as our egg quality decreases w each passing mth... Financially, we r ok... Just tat must convince myself to give up all the benefits & worried if I can find a job after tat... Cos hope to carry on working...

happybb,
if u do quit yr job, u need to bear in mind that if the ivf is successful u'll be preggie and most likely will not be able to find a job after that. even if u dun declare yr pregnancy to the new company, i'm sure u won't want to put yrself under stress again so early in pregnancy.
so in effect u'll need to give up yr work for at least a yr and not just the during ivf

just a thought for u...

happybb : Just to share. I am grateful to hv an understanding boss and allows me to work from home through my stimulation phase till my ER. If you find it really stressful to cope with your work and the oncoming ivf procedure, its best to quit ur job.

grumpus, i do hv a quickie question which I have been chewing on. Just had my embbies frozen on Day3. My DH's SA was normal and we opt for 50% for natural and ICSI fertilisation. My ICSI embbies seemed to have a "high-knockout" rate of like- 40% frozen as compared to my naturally fertilised ones-80% frozen. It seems that ICSI didn't quite work well for me. Did check with the labbie if its my egg quality but they said its not. Hmmmmmm

day,
that is very interesting cos ICSI is supposed to give better fertilisation rate. mine was 100% icsi and my fertilisation rate was 80%.

my own personal opinion is that the lab/embrylogist does play a part in the success rate cos there's human factor in picking the sperm and inserting the sperm into the egg. dun forget, this is all done microscopically so it does require some skill on the part of the embrylogist.
if the sperm or egg is somehow 'damaged' during the process then it may not fertilise or may not develop well.

my dr did tell me that their lab has been achieving higher than average fertilisation rates for icsi, so i'm guessing there has to be some other factors involved although she didn't say outright that it's the skill of the embrylogist lah. that's just my personal thinking and opinion.

Hi pink... Hv talked to my boss on my workload... She was in the midst of hiring a replacement & the plan was to change my portfolio when the replacement is in... But he took up another job offer... Now another coll will be transferring to another dept... So we r short of 2...

hi grumpus, Opps, my embryologist is v.experience and they will just choose the eggs and spermie randomly. But one interesting point she brought up was that the "mediocre" eggs may dis-integrate during the ICSI process. For me, 70% of the eggs got fertilized via ICSI but a few just degraded over the next 2 days and they were deemed not good enough for freeze-thaw process. Will check with my dr on this again. Meanwhile I will just accept the fate that natural fertilization works better for me and this is just the embbies elimination game - the toughest will survive and am crossing my fingers that i don't see a high knockout rate again during the thaw process when I am ready for FET.

Happy, in the meantime, just hope that a new replacement can come in asap since at least they are doing something. However, try to think positively k? Stress can affect the quality of our eggs.

<font color="0077aa">happy
you are starting your lucrin mid sept?
If financially okie, a break will be great. But of cos there's a risk to take whether be able to find a job after tat. And yes... If bfp all worth it.
A stress free environment is essential. </font>

Happy - I left my job, went for a long holiday before I started on my IVF. And I BFP this time...
There is pro and cons I must said, IVF is very time consuming and stressful period. We need to travel to hospital if your company is ok with it then fine. Else you will exhaust all your medical leave and leave.

Discuss with your dh is the best...

Though finanically is abit tight for me now without my income but im enojoying everyday now, like grumpus said if I got myself a job I dont think the company will not let me go for medical appointment or medical leave. IThis will only make myself more stress for myself.

my 2 cents worth of advise...

happybb, there will be a job for everyone out there. But hving a baby is not something we want, and will have. If you hv no problems financially, perhaps can quit first and concentrate on your ivf? Dun think of everything too much, we cannot forsee much. Just take things at a time. If I were you, no plms financially, the 1st thing I will do for this ivf is to quit my job and think later.

sesame - yesterday when I was at CARE I casually ask cos I saw on my schedule that hubby need to do SST (sperm survival test), they'll test the survival rate of the sperm if u do ivf instead of icsi. since mine is 100%, they say we can skip the test, no point wasting money to do the test. last nite &amp; this morning my hubby jab me, quite painful leh, not sure issit becos I lie down. thought of trying sitting position tonite and compare the pain level

happybb - I cannot quit my job to concentrate on ivf cos financially really cannot cope and there's nobody to cover my work. now I'm planning to work from home when I start stimulation now I'm just taking one step at a time

winnie, hw is your D2 jab?

pinkaddict, I checked with Dr Zou on LH le, she told me v quickly tt it has something to do with progestrone and something to do with lining. I can't really catch wat she is saying completely. And I ask her issit the higher the better, she says no la...if too high means pcos liao and LH must be lower than fsh. She says ideally is btw 5-6 wor. If lidat then my reading also not ideal ma.

Anyway since Dr Loh says its ok to proceed, then we shd not think too much cos ultimately the main responsibility still lies in western doc.

winnie, I tot we shd do our jabs sitting and not lying down? Isn't lying down will be more painful? U try sitting down tonight and squeeze some fats out so tt it wil not be so painful.

Sesameoil, typically if there are male issues, then ICSI will definitely help fertilize the eggs. Also there could be various factors that affect the fertilization and also the growth of the embbies. Don't get affected by me and always follow your heart ;)

day, yes I understand not everyone will acheive good fertilisation rates. Some are with underlying problems, lab, embroylogist. All these plays a part.

I guess we won't know before we try unless we really go in depth to check even cycle starts.

<font color="0077aa">winnie
i also tot of lying down and get dh to jab me next time... Hmmm... U try a different posture then update abt it...

Sesame
mine LH lower than you, then dr zou oso never say much. Oni say my P low. Anyway i dun wan tink much of the figures le, since nuting much can be done....</font>