Hi Shirlynn,

I also did HSG in KKH, the pain was like 1st day of period pain.

If there is blockage, the pain will be more intensed. If tube is clear, only slight cramp. For me, quite bad, need to take synflex to relief pain coz one of my tube is blocked n a polyps was also discovered.

hi there, i started by lucrin injection 2 weeks ago. on the 14th day, i went for a scan and show that i have a cyst on my right ovary .. 23mm by 20.. i was upset by the nurse keep repeating that is a VERY BIG CYST .... got to wait for doctor review ... next day i was informed that the doctor think is a SMALL CYST and want me to continue for another 1 week of lucrin and then will go for pregron injections ... anyone have the similar experience? was wondering if there was sth i did not right ? during the lucrin i continue my routine gym work out since the nurse
inform me that is ok to carry on w my usual routine but did advise me to rest when pregron injections start ..... this is my first IVF try ...was really hoping that will "strike" with 1st try ... now the cyst thingy ... kinda anxious .. any one out there can share?

I just had my op to remove fibroids etc in Feb and doc said I have endometriosis. I am now on monthly Zoladex jabs, and will have the 4th (and last one) on Wed. I have PCO too. Just wondering if anyone has similiar conditions as me and advice me what's coming up in my treatment?
Am prepared to go for IVF as a last resort, but feeling a little lost here as to what is to be expected in near future...

Hi Sisters

Tomatoes back in action!
Hee! Juz discharged yesterday noon time. Sorry I din have the time to view through last postings. My bb now asleep so managed to sneak in here to give you all an update.

Adria: Thanks for posting for me when I am away

10am - Push to ops rm on last fri. Epidural was given and I felt millions of ants biting my lower body when the drug was taking effect within 5mins (my hb was changing into ops gown then). When I was pushed into room, I really want to back out and tell them I dun want to give birth anymore.

I was lucky to meet my usual Anethetist (sorli for wrong spelling) cos he know that I am always a merlion.

10.20am - My hubby came in and surgery started. No feeling at all but can feel people touching me. I was given a curtain to prevent me from seeing what happen. But my hb was the curious cat and keep staring when my gynae was cutting me up. He said it is really "colourful".

About 11am - BB was taken out. My Anthetist was the one keep updating me what was happening ( only the decent part). He told me I will hear my bb cries now and next it was my bb really crying...and I cannot control my tears and I cried too. I was just too touching. And it was at that moment that I felt that all the pain, fear and suffering that I have gone thru was really really worth in.

The staff cleaned my bb abit and the anethetist pass my bb to me and hubby. The moment my bb saw us both, she stopped crying liao and we just kept talking to her while her eyes keep looking at me and hb.

Then my hb followed my bb to the nursery while I remained in the theatre for my gynae to stitch me up. Then when I can felt some pain then, the gynae quickly ordered a mild sedation for me. I t was this jab that make me throw up immediately. And as you all can guess, I continue to throw up the rest of the day.

I must really thank my Anethetist cos he is the one kept encouraging me and checking on me if I am alright throughout the ops. When my hb was gone, he even offer his hand to let me hold on for emotional support. And he came to my ward to check on my again the next day when no anethetist should do that.

After the ops, I was under observation for the next 6-7 hours for nausea and for losing alot of blood. I din see my bb again until about 6+pm when I tried to do some breastfeeding (even though no milk).

When I opened my eyes, I can see that my hb has oredi bonded with bb. He can carry her like an experienced daddy and I was so glad that he loves her so much ( my hb not the fatherly-kind).

Food in the hospital was great and I kept eating like a pig. Luckily I recovered on Sat to enjoy the food. No infection throughout cos my gynae put me on drainage to drain out those dirty blood from my wound. However, without pain killer, my wound hurts like crazy. I stayed in bed till sat nite. The first step down from bed was a nitemare cos I was near to fainting due to poor blood circulation.

I took alot of photos of my bb but got no time to down load yet. Will post it once I get it done this week. I am waiting for my CL to come today. It's really stressful for me and my hb when my bb wakes up for feeding during the nite. So tiring.....

Now she screaming 4 me again.......

Thanks Adria, Thanks ET. Does anyone btw knows any symptoms of blocked fallopian tubes?

Hi Tomatoes, feeling so happy for you now.. You are really brave..From what you have described, it must be very hard for you, but its well worth it rite.. your beautiful bb ger in your arms. the picture of a happy family.

Glad that you are recovering fast, hope to be able to see your bb photos soon. In the meantime, take good care of yourself hor.. hope to hear from you again soon...

Hi, tomatoes, thanks for your update...its great that everything is okay and baby is doing well and i cant wait to see her pictures...

Shirlynn, welcome back leh..nearly wanted to message you and ask you where you disappeared to...To me,on scale of 1 to 9, i would say about maybe about 4 or 5...and also it has been a long time since i did, i could have forgotten the pain...but after i do the HSG again, i would let you noe...after next tuesday, i let you noe..

For adria, maybe its blocked, thats why its painful..

I would rather put it as its uncomfortable but try not to think about it, relax and you shld be okay...only kk has the practice of letting people rest after the procedure, i think Raffles Hosp does not have this practice...i was okay enough to be able to go back after the xray but had to rest at recovery room for about half an hour...

I think its useful to go for a HSG if you want to find out more about the status of your fallopian tubes..if i din go, i wld never noe my insides were stuck...

tomatoes,

wow u r now a proud mother of a beautiful baby gal giselle is a beautiful name! Congrats... Hope that your CL comes soon and u will be able to rest more so that your wound recover REAL FAST! Do post giselle's photo for us ok... we all eager to see !!

Hi Tomatoes,
Your writing is so touching...i could feel goose pimples slowly crawling up my arms...luckily it stopped it time...if not I would have cried. The most touching part is when you heard your bb cried, you also cried...I guess that's what being a mum is all about!!!

CONGRATS!!!

Hi Tomatoes,
Congrats! glad that both u n bb are doing well! cant wait to see ur bb photos liao!

Hi Shirlynn,
dun worry! Its a simple procedure! I did HSG end march '05 at TMC. My threshold for pain is super low yet I dun think dats very painful. It was very very uncomfortable with mild cramp! My tubes are OK and the process took less than 10mins.

the patient b4 me took 1hr+ which really drive me crazy and I almost chicken out! I went to tell the recep dat I want to cancel the appt but the recep told me is fine blah blah ....... I so nervous wen the dr is preparing those instrument but there were 3 nurses talking to me (tried to diversify my attention), u feel cramp wen inserting the instrument. Dr n nurses will tell u to relax ect. while chit-chatting, Dr told me to breath in and release, turn left n right etc for X-ray and DONE!
I din rest there, immediately I get change and go for a light lunch and back to collect result 2 or 3hrs later.

Hi tomatoes,

Thanks for sharing your birth story. Do take care and rest well after your CL arrive. Can't wait to see bb tomatoes photo!

Tks for all your well-wishes!

Giving birth is not eaily but I believe being a mum is even more challaging.

I can't really catch up with all the updates in this thread. Juz hope to c more good news coming
My bb is asleep now and me going to catch some sleep oso (oni slept for 3 hours last nite).

You all take care and I should be able to post often when my CL is here.

Hi chemistry

Your turn will be next. Hee!Hee! I can't wait to hear yours and regtmc birth story also

hi, potato chip, dear...very sleepy, today nothing much to contribute..just woke up from sleeping....so terrible, early in the morning already felt like sleeping..yterday went to buy some bfw and dcc..

how are you doing?

Hi tomatoes,

Actually, I'm kind of looking forward to delivering my gal too. So envy that u can now hold your baby in your arms!

BTW, is the administering of epidural painful?

tnsw,
you not working today meh? Or sleeping at your desk?

I just finished sweeping the floor, & changing my chinchillas' cages. Now taking a rest & eating porridge. Later will have to mop the floor.
What are you gonna have for lunch?

Hi Tnsw

Me ok, busy tats y seldom contribute. But I do read the thread whenever I hv time.

Hi Chemistry

Your time is coming soon liao. So hv to pass on yr work to yr colleague n keep yr desk clean. hehehe..

Wow tomatoes, u r really great!!! Really look forward to seeing little tomatoes.

Chemistry,
Do u feel nervous after hearing tomato's story? Not so scarry after all rite? Be brave, me waiting for ur little chemistry too.

Shirlynn,
Me got one tube block too, but no feeling leh. Only found out after doing HSG. During HSG, only felt slight cramp, dun worry ok?

hi, sisters,

chemistry, to me its not painful,you must listen to the anaesthetist instruction and they administered to your back...not too bad lah, to me okay...

adria,
i working, but slept at my desk, terrible man...
dun overexert yourself..meeting an ex colleague for lunch, a lovely retiree..she always buy me lunch, very paiseh...see u later

If I may, just would like to contribute my 2-cents worth.

Reading this thread is truly inspiring. Tomatoe's experience and some of yours shows that there's definitely light at the end of the tunnel. Guess we all have our down moments when things are not exactly going the way when we want it. And patience is key!

cheers!

Hi potatochip,

Aiyo, my desk is in a big mess cos I'm all the while a messy person. Think the person cvg me will have a hard time.

Hi tnsw,

recently, i got a stupid dream. I was in labour and the doc tried to inject epidural. Guess what, the stringe is so big, 1/2 a man's height and the doc had to lift it up using 2 hands. I was so scare and tried to run away! Then I woke up and was kind of relieved.

Hi regtmc,

Actually, i was never scare of labour, cos got epidural mah. All I'm scare is the adminstering of epidural. But hope our labour will be a short one.

Would like to consult you on this... is it better to try something 'less traumatic' like IUI first or go straight to IVF? Bio clock is ticking away so not sure if I can still wait. Any advice?

Also, anyone seeing Prof Chen here? I find him a little intimidating so sometimes don't really dare to ask him too much questions... sigh...

Hi KweeNee,
I think you should discuss with your gynae whether you should do IUI 1st or go to IVF straight.
Of course, some of us would think that one should try IUI 1st. there are cases here where some sisters struck with IUI, thus they didn't even need to go IVF.
However, your gynae knows you & your hubby's condition best. So he should be able to give you his advice.
I had 1 failed IUI. After the IUI, my gynae told me based on our condition, we should not try any more IUI & advise we go straight to IVF...
there are a number of sisters seeing Prof Chen of Gleneagles. Tomotoes, who's just given birth, is under. She & miko & probably a few others may be able to answer your question about him.
take care

Hi Chemistry

Administering epidural it still ok. They will inject you with a little morphine to numb the area b4 giving you the real jab.

Hi Adria

All the best to your coming ET!

Hi KweeNee

You intend to see Prof Chen? Let me know if you need us to answer any of your questions about him

Thanks Adria for your advice.
I'll check with Prof Chen when I see him tomorrow.
My hubby has varicoele but didn't want to go for the operation and Prof Chen wasn't too happy about it. So hopefully he won't scold me when I see him tomorrow.
Perhaps I can try 1 time IUI first and see if it helps. If it doesn't work then will go for IVF.
Who's your gynae? Have you conceived already? How long have/did you try for a child?

Hi Adria

Yalor, just breastfed my bb and now finally she's asleep
Very shiong! It won't be long b4 she becomes hungry again and screaming for milk.

As for you, you better not do anything strenous today.

tomatoes,

ya parenting not easy... hmm she shd be crying for milk at least every 2hours (that includes the time she takes to feed and burp... so its less than 1.25 hour interval
) Its really challenging... do take more rest ok. When I first brought samuel home, i was vaccumming and mopping the floor myself (cos I feel its quite dusty especially with dogs ard) and washing bb's clothes etc my mum and all my aunties keep saying i sure will get backache and all those crap when i grow old.... but i really enjoy all of those moments...making everything clean and orderly and taking care of my boy...

Hi poohy

You are really a great wife and mummy
Yesteray, I was dead tired after discharging and when I see the house is in a mess, I more xian. But I just tell myself to let it be. There is no way I can do everything by myself. I just got to make sure hygiene around my bb is there.

Hi tomatoes,

Dun sit up too often. Lie down as much as u can. That's wat old folks told me.

Hi poohy,

U still do so much housework during confinement ah? I tot cannot touch water. Really pei-fu u!

Hi KweeNee,
I'm 1/2 way thru my 1st IVF. Tomorrow is my embryo transfer.
I got married when I was 23, but decided only to try last year, after 9 years of carefree life...who knew after trying for a while, nothing happened. So decided to seek gynae's help lor.

Hi tomatoes,
Read your posting about your delivery... so happy for you...

I am already seeing Prof Chen. He did a lapro for me (which was totally painless). And I will be going for my last Zoladex jab tomorrow. So will be seeing him again then. Will I be seeing your photo in his clinic?

About Prof Chen, is he really that intimidating as he looks? Worried that he'll not be happy that my hubby don't want to go for the op.
I like his style in that he will find out what's the root of the problem first, treat it, then go on the fertility programme. Another one that I saw before him style was to try all ways of fertility treatment, then if nothing works, will see what the problem is. And this same specialist didn't spot my fibroids when he did the ultrasound scan... But prof chen did (about 6 months after I saw the first doc). And I was impressed.

The only thing is that I find Prof Chen not so approachable. I usually have a thousand and one questions to ask, but when I do see him, all I ask is just that 1 or 2 questions. And worse, my trip to see him last month, I didn't even ask anything.

tomatoes/chemistry,

me those tough life kind of people hehehe dun do work not happy.... joking lah. At that moment, must be the nesting instinct still very strong in me... I just must make the house clean. I also dun wanna tire and trouble my mum whose cooking for me everyday from her own house and bringing over. So I try to take biscuit in the morning, packed lunch like char siew rice in the noon or skipped it, and then eat what my mum cook at nite. I dun wanna tire my hubby too much cos i was in such pain from my stitches, he need to be the one rushing fastest to our bb when he cry... (me gotta slowly walk else very pain)... For housework, I do it real slowly when i am not expressing milk or feeding my bb. And my aunties nag like mad cos I bath and wash my hair everyday with normal water. I am such a picky eater... I drink cold water somemore... cos dun like red date water. my mum they all really cannot tahan me hehee. By week 2, I go out daily with my mum to jurong point to eat at the food court. Everyone so shocked to know my bb less than 1 mth old. I think alot of people dun observe confinement practice liao...

tomatoes,

for u different, better rest more cos yours is c-section wound... bigger ..

hi ladies, I am not a frequent user, but just wanted to take some time to thank some of the ladies in this forum. Similar to most of you, my hubby and me had some problems conceiving and were advised to consider IVF as our options. When we were feeling confused and demoralized, we came across this forum. The positive manner in which you ladies have shared your experiences really helped us know more about e IVF process, and more importantly, feel less fearful about the whole thing. So thanks to all of you who have contributed so regularly to this thread!

And my 2nd intention for this posting, I guess, is to pass our experiences along as well to others, as I noticed some questions about IUI and IVF. For us, my hubby had very low sperm quality and were told that we will have low chances of success at IUI and to consider IVF as one of our options. However, the doc did advised us to try IUI for 1-2 cycles first. We did and succeeded on our 1st try, which is really a miracle! I'm now three months pregnant :>

Although I know the odds of succeeding at IUI is low for those with severe fertility problems, I think it is still good to go thr' IUI first. 1. Of course, there is still a slim possibility of success (like my case) 2. I think it offers an idea of what IVF will be like, as you will need to do some injections as well. Just my 2 cents worth for your consideration :>

Hi Adria,
ET means what? Embryo transfer? Back into you? Wow... better rest well.. I'm sure everything will go smoothly for you. Keep us in the loop of how you're feeling okie?!

Any preparation required for the IVF? Ie. diet, rest etc?

feeling excited for you liao!

Chemistry,
U going to follow all old folks confinement rules? Me also now trying to clear as much work as possible.

adria,

ET posted the document on tcm etc already,did you manage to find wat you wanted?
How r u feeling? let us noe after your et..u take care, we go for lunch once everything okay and when you are back to office....

Hi regtmc,

Not that I want to observe those confinement rules, but because my MIL will be coming over to my place to do confinement for me. She's quite traditional and I will just have to follow her style loh. Dun want to upset her or make my hubby in a difficult position. Afterall, she meant well. Just hope that she will not be around all the time, then got chance for me to wash hair!

hi poohy,
thanks for the enlightenment. there's so many short forms here. think it'll take me a while to get understand them.

Adria, no pblem...scared that you missed it out thats all..its very useful..
when u come back, i will go to your office so that you dun need to walk so far..

kwee nee, fet is also equivalent to thawed cycle transfer...meaning the embies were frozen and thawed becuz maybe the conditions after the time the eggs were fertilised were not suitable for transfer...
hope you are clearer about the terms...the sisters here are willing to explain if u want to noe..

tnsw,
thanks for shedding more light.
hmmm... hope i'm not sounding sceptical here. For FET, how come the embryos are not suitable for transfer leh? by freezing them will improve the quality of the embroys? or is it the condition of the would-be-mother is not suitable? Or...??

kao_welcome2.gif
All new comers. So happy to see so many new faces

Hi tomatoes

Seems like hide-n-seek lei. When I m busy, u posted. When I m free, u MIA liao.. Is ok lah, understand u can oni talk to us when u r free. Wonder y yr CL come so late huh?

Hi Chemistry

Agree with u, better don upset yr MIL n hb. Jus be a good DIL n wife during the confinement
. Any grievances, jus come to this thread, we r all here for u