I am new to this thread but having same problems as all of u --- ttcing for bb!

Have been trying for 1yr+ and nothing happened. When to see gynae and discovered there was a cyst at ovary. Op 3mths ago and after that really want to hv bb, so choose to go through IUI after discussion with RE.

I was under clomid 150g/day from D2-D6 then D7 to D12 taking Progynova 2tabs/day. body was reac pretty well and went thru 2 cycles of IUI (3 IUI done as there was one double IUI on second time as I hv 2 eggs, to maximise the chance). Unfortunately nothing happened!

I was very sad and disappointed yet RE unable to tell me where/what goes wrong! Thats why i understand how those ladies who posting here..... is a very stressful and headache process.

Beside pray, I still pray and pray just hope that bb reach me! and hope that all the ladies here are granted with bb!

Hi spore BB,
Welcome!
Ya, all of us here have 1 problem or another...but some of the sisters here have conceived and thus we're always encouraging one another here.
So what's your next step? Have you discussed with your gynae?

ET,

maybe u can spread out the injection site to not just buttock... consider thighs ? My progesterone jabs were all made on the thigh... after each jab, I can feel that leg literally go numb :p hehe.. but in my heart i feel good... cos i know its good for bb so i dun have to be so worried that not enough hormonal support.

chillipepper, PCOS stands for polycystic ovaries syndrome.

TGIF, finally liao...Hubby will be back tonight, going airport to pick him up... so happy!!!

Have not come in for so long, how is everyone?

Tomatoes ~ When will you be popping? Everytime thinking whether you have popped yet or not... but sure when come in will see your posting...

Adria ~ I also got PCO, my gynea also ask me to take metformin, says it will helps me to ovulate. But I reacted very badly to it, vomitting and diarrhoea. Now stop the medicine completely, turning to TCM, see if it will helps.

Tnsw ~ How are you, have not been in for so long.. how is your visit to your gynea?

Potato Chip ~ Today my side got caramel cheesecake and strawberry cheesecake, met up with some gers from the forum, everyone also bought cakes but me
as going to airport to meet hubby...Will have my revenge next week.

ET~ Read a pew posting and you mention that you are not feeling that well, how are you now? Hope everything is okie liao..

shirlynn,

ya metformin is known to have side effects like bloatedness, diarrhoea and vomitting. I always get diarrhoea each time i take those pills .. and I was on high dosage of 1500mg. Dr yeong told me that if we can bear with the side effects, then it would do us good cos of all the benefits... so bear with it lor. Treat it as slimming pills hehe

adria,
thx!

dr advised go for one more round. worse to worse go IVF! which I really scared. I scared of needle!

ever conceive naturally once but hormone not enough to support and lost it at 5wks+. My gynae has trying his best to help but........ I was crying like hell!

Due to dis, my gynae suggested go IUI since I am 35yrs old, cant afford to wait anymore.

all the sisters here r very kind, all the support and encouragement is really what we need at most at this point of time. Many ppl dun undertsand if tell them our anxious to get bb. I was very happy that I can share with all of u..... thx

hi spore BB,
Did you go for IUI or SO-IUI? Cos' a few of us went to SO-IUI & we all had to go thru injections everyday leh...hmmm...

poohy right?

Hi Shirlynn

No leh, haven't pop leh... she too comfy inside my tummy. My friends also call me on alternate to see if I pop... hahaha... maybe my bb has got my stubborn character.

Wah, tonite your hb coming back...
You must be very happy... me also very happy to go airport to pick my hb when he used to travel for business trip in the past

adria,
mine just IUI since I react to clomid 150mg/day. Will SO-IUI stand a better chance? If yes then hv to do lor!
guess still better than IVF which I so worry when I was reading the IVF procedure especially the ET part!

wat abt u? ur r going to hv iui or ivf?

Hi BB,
Think you should speak to your gynae on which option. He/she should be in a better position to advise you...we're afterall, all sharing our experiences here, and in way are qualified to advise you whether SO-IUI stands a better chance for you....

I've went thru 1 failed SO-IUI. My gynae spoke to hubby and me and cos' of our specific problem, he feels that SO-IUI will not do much for us...thus he advised us to go for IVF.
I've started the self-injection for IVF for 3 days now.

ET,
Now u taking tis jab I think it's progesterone jab to stablize ur pregnancy(an tai). I know it's very painful cos last time Dr Yeong jab for me he already warned me but didn't expect to be tis painful. Just bear with it for a little while. After the jab usually I'll rub my buttock with my hand.

Chillipepper,
PCOS is polycystic ovary syndrom. Meaning eggs r not release every month, thus it remains inside the ovary, after a while it becomes a cyst, tis results in polyscystic ovary.

Annie,
Congrats!! It's easier to buy clothing for bb gal and u got more choices.

tomatoes,
We r waiting for ur BIG DAY!! Dun tell me how painful it is cos I dun intend to have epidural.

Hi regtmc

Wah! I salute you for not opting for epidural... I hope I do not have to describe any pain to you cos I must die die have epidural and hope it will help me.

So what did you eat today to satisfy your taste bud today?

adria,
if u dun mind, wats ur problem?

I hv mild endo and hubby sperm count at low side. I was thinking go to ivf too. I cannot take it anymore the stress, I like crazy woman during the 2wks waiting period! mood swing and bad temper, always throw temper on my poor thing hubby. Disappointment and hopeless wen see 'red'!

wow dats gd since u hv started! mean gd news is coming nearer to u!

Shirlynn,

Welcome back.. wanted to message you to ask you how you are since you "disappeared" for some time..yr hb coming back fm biz trip?

My check up was okay, doc loh did some internal examination and said that i shld have some more slight spotting...but thank goodness, it stopped on the day that i had the check up which was on tuesday 5/7/05..was hving slight depression yterday but today feel much better liao thanks to the support of the sisters here...

adria, think maybe my server got pblem....thats why you din receive my email..see u on monday..hee hee, u are the first "sister" i wld be seeing in person...havent met the rest yet..

Hi regtmc,

how's your bb doing now? ...the thread moving very fast ... i cannot catch up. :p

hi sgp bb,

so your gynae didn't suggest so-iui for next attempt but to try iui only?

thx adria. Jia Yu!

hi poohy,

u hv any idea if so-iui stand a better chance compared to iui? any special reason ur RE advised u to do so-iui instead iui?

Adria & tomatoes,

From the beginning I orali told myself I am not going to take epidural, last few days my hb still asking me, whether I am sure. Of course, I've been very determined till now. Last nite experienced my first leg cramp....hehehe. I'm sure it's different from contraction pain.
Went Ubi techpark foodcourt for sung mee.
Where's our dear potato chip?

annie, thanks, am feeling much better...yterday was really a bundle of nerves...and under depression....but now okay already..

think wkend i more stressed and busy...hv to bring my kid for lessons and rush here and there...

Hi bb,
My gynae said i actually had too many follicles after all the jabs......heeee...however, the problem seems to come from hubby...he's got low sperm count too, in fact, gynae said very low...so even after the sperm insertion ( 1 had 2 as well, consecutively on 2 days), gynae already not very hopeful...

That's why he suggested based on hubby's condition, we should go straight to IVF & not waste anymore time & money on IUI..

hi annie,
nope, my gynae said maybe need to go for other option and need to discuss with hubby n me next wk.

yday went to scan on D10, he just said only 1 egg dis cycle which just 10mm, too small. will go back to scan again next Mon then arrange if to perform one more round iui. Can I still opt for so-iui at this stage? mayb ask my gynae wen I see him on Mon...

sg_bb,

so-iui involved superovulation. Technically speaking, clomid can achieve superovulation too if it helps u to produce more than 1 egg. Basically superovulation is just to produce more than 1 egg.... and generally using FSH injections like puregon or gonal-f can have a more direct effect to stimulate your ovaries into producing more than 1 egg. The aim is generally to produce 3 eggs (much more in the case of ivf). It is thought that with 3 eggs, will increase the chance of successful iui subsequently since 3 targets mah hehee

I was also on clomid 150mg and metformin 1500mg previously before so-iui. It did help but it has come to a point i stop ovulating even if that. So my gynae asked me to go for so-iui.

u really dun have to be fearful of the ET(Embryo transfer) part of ivf. Since, its actually very similar or almost exactly the same procedure as IUI. Instead of placing washed sperm into the womb area in the case of IUI, ET places embryoes into the womb.

As for Embryo Retrieval (ER), its done under general anesthestic.. thus the problem only comes if u respond badly to the GA... which may cause vomitting in some.

For the first part of IVf, consists mainly of injections... for down regulation and stimulation. The stimulation part is same as SO-IUI.

So u see, its actually not physically as scary as u thought. From what I see, the most stressful part comes in the mental stress of having ivf as its seen as the last resort method (thus like no other method more to fall to if fail).. and also the cost associated with it.

just what i think lah ..

hmm I lost my first bb at week 5+ too. Also due to lack of hormone support I guess. Fully understand how u feel... but try to relax .. I think it will definitely help ur fertility!

btw, i was like u when i first lost my first bb.. my poor hubby got it real bad from me ... doing so-iui really took alot of stress out of me and i guess the relax feeling helps.

tnsw,
Wow! I'm glad to be the 1st one you meet...haha, very honored!!!
I really think we should have a gathering, if not a big one, at least a mini one...i feel so close to all of you gals already....
I'm gonna sound long-winded again here, but i'm gonna repeat myself (& not for the last time...) that i'm really gald i found this thread!!! That i have many sisters around me to lend me a listening ear, & i've grateful to whoever who started this & also the ones that keep the thread going....chang qi right?? haha!!!

hi sgp bb,

if you are gg for so-iui, you would have to start the puregon to stimulate more follicles on day 5 or day 6 ... now it's too late.

but since you are halfway on iui - all the best! and stay positive ok?

tnsw,
Not bcos of $$, but afraid of side effects like getting backache during rainy days. From the very beginning orali told myself I'll bear with all kinds of pain if I choose to go tis way.
To me, u r already very brave and I want to be like u.

adria,
if ivf can get a bb just go ahead! alhough I very (very very) scared of needle but come to worse will still go ivf. Told hubby b4, i will do watever dr wants me to do, no matter how tough it is as long as I can hv a bb.

poohy,
thx for the info.

actually i was thinking drop this cycle since only 1 egg. I will request my gynae for jab next cycle to get more eggs then do one more round iui.

I really very desperate huh?!

sg_bb

annie is rite in that its too late for u to go to so-iui now. Generally, a full FSH based super ovulation ... starts on cycle day 2 where u start to inject FSH...

clomid is not as effective as FSH becos it actually cheat your body into thinking that you dun have enough LH... thus it produce more hormone (both FSH and LH)... the FSH produce will stimulate the ovaries... the increase in LH though is not a desirable part. Thus u can see injecting puregon has a more direct effect lor... i know its easier said than done to relax... but do discuss with your gynae and find a solution that will help u most effectively...

regtmc,

i am very sure u can succeed without pain control... actually its all in the brain. I always tell myself the pain is all in the brain... if i tell myself i can bear with it... then i will.

sg_bb,

hmm if u wanna drop the iui part in this cycle, u can still try naturally... for all u know .. u might just succeeed...

regtmc,

i noe for you its not because of money lah because every one is different...some wants to experience childbirth in their natural form and some like me are scared of pain....

thank goodness i din get backache bec of epidural dun noe though next time when i am old, wld i feel it or not...no lah, i where got brave...if i brave, i wld want to experience childbirth in its most natural form like poohy...

adria, i think i shld be honoured leh to meet u because from me, you can learn wat not to do because watever you name it, i have had it, from miscarriage, to naturally conceived child, SO IUI and wat nots...i always think i am the best to learn on "wat not to do"

i think tomatoes is the "founder" of tis group, she is the lady who started tis thread and hence its popularity (tomatoes, i very good in pai1 ma3 pi4, hor)

hi sgp bb,

sorry the thread move very fast and i probably miss your earlier postings ...how many cycles of clomid have you went thru? i believe there is a max of times during a period ... the sisters here might know better.

check with your gynae first ... 1 egg doesn't mean no hope, some gals dun get preggie because they fail to ovulate.

annie,
thx.

yup since now is half way, I may be try naturally this cycle. will ask for jab next cycle. I am aggressive type cos age is catching up!

poohy,
u also hv the same problem as mine that lost ur 1st bb at 5wks+! hope I will be as lucky as u to strike with iui/so-iui....

ya, I feel so sorry to my hubby wen I cool down, just cant be help to throw temper on him since only 2 of us at home!
guess he also very stress but cant do much thing!

I am those type that very gan cheong and paranoid. I will try to control and relax myself!

Hi tomatoes
I have actually checked my fallopian tubes and my gynae said they are cleared. I seriously don't know what is my problem.

Hi poohy
I really hope so too but I don't dare to pin high hope. The more I think of it, the more I feel like crying.

tnsw,
Don't like that say la...it's not your responsibilty that the treatments failed...SLEF WORTH SELF WORTH!!!
HAVE MORE CONFIDENCE IN YOURSELF AND IN GOD!!!
Hee, think i can go open motivational class liao!!!
All of you can be my speakers!!

Hi Regtmc & poohy,

This little pain is really nothing to me lah, just the after effect...the buttock feel very 'suan' lor. I got very high threshold of pain one...thick skin mah! before Dr Yeong jab for me, he said "sorry, it is a little painful but I think it is nothing for u right, after being thr so many ops" I smiled at him. haha

I also dont intend to take epidural for my delivery.

I still remember after my major op to remove a big tumour, the cut on my abdomen is 33cm long, after the anaesthesia has wear off...the pain was so intense and I just kept quite coz i thot is normal to feel pain after surgery. I was in ICU then, the nurse monitor my blood pressure very closely and noticed that it was very irregular. So she ask me, has the anaesthesia wear off, are u in pain? and i say yes. immediately she yell...."why dont u press bell, we will give u injection to relieve the pain..aiyo, poor girl"

When my mother came to visit me, she told her I very brave, next time give birth sure no need epidural one. Haha....

Hi tnsw

So I should buy something for you to eat huh?
Np, I can buy you Yami Yogurt!

Me "founder" of this thread make me sound so old. Anyway, this thread wouldn't be successful without you all around rite? I can't be talking to myself....

Hi regtmc

Yes, I think your threshold of pain is very good. I am like tnsw... a little bit also "ouch"
Me has YTH today again. So boring...

Hi Regtmc

I went out to run errand and wanted to try the fishball noodle on tv last nite. Who noes reach there ard 12 noon, the stall owners oready cleaning up liao
. So disappointed.

When I came back, the thread is moving so fast liao. I like no chance to talk lei. Btw, if I ever give birth, I will oso be like u, NO epidural

sg_bb,

hmm i understand how u feel abt there being only 2 of u at home etc.. cos same as me ! I was so devastated when i lost the bb... last time i was sooooo scared of pain and when my gynae want me to go for laparoscopy, I gave up the idea of having a bb.. can u imagine how scared i was of such thingy. Then i tried with clomid again after a long break, and lost my first bb. That breaks my heart but it also subsequently give me strength and the strong desire to have my own bb so much so that i know that i can brave through any pain for it. That's when I finally made up my mind to go for any procedure be it ivf, so-iui, laparoscopy or watever it takes. I am sure the same desire is in your heart... The desire to have a baby is extremely strong (I guess hormones play a part too) after a miscarriage or childbirth.. I will pray for u that God will grant u your wish.. very soon!

I know how u feel after u cool down.. cos thats how i feel too .. i apologise to my hubby and shared with him how i feel... to realise that he was just as upset ... it brought our relationship closer actually...

poohy & annie,
yup, I will not just drop and give up dis cysle, will definately try naturally since we need 1 soldier + 1 egg to strike! I will not miss any opportunity to get a bb. Moreover, my gynae told me b4 dats since I can conceive naturally b4, chance is high just timing not correct!

Poohy is correct, what I can do now is relax, relax and relax (which I dun!!!)!

Include this cycle, I hv been putting in clomid for 3 cycles (1st cycle was 100mg, subsequent 2cycles were 150mg). My gynae told me cannot increase the dosage anymore as I hv headache which the side effect of taking clomid. thats y i was thinking jab will be a better solution to me.

based on past records, I used to ovulate on D12 or D13, sometimes but very rare on D14 or D15. But my gynae told me most probably I will ovulate only on D14 or D15 for this cycle which is gd thing as it will give more time to develop lining. My lining a bit thin most of the time.

Hi potato Chip

Oh you are back.... just about to sms you to check on you.... eating cobra again huh? hee! ;p

Tomatoes...no lah,u are the one who started tis thread and contributed so much, mah...i think our support group got more postings than the rest of the groups...

Potato chip, u are also a brave girl who wld go thru without epidural...pei fu pei fu...for me,really an internal examination can kill me with the pain liao..

Adria, yah, i think you can open class liao on motivation...

sg_bb,

ovulating on d14-15 is great... I hope u will be able to succeed soon!
btw, do u have ovulation problems before taking clomid ? (just wondering why u r on clomid)...

for myself, when I was not on clomid, I not ovulating AT ALL! I can go for years without menses kind. Then with clomid (150mg and metformin only cos i dun respond to lower dosage of clomid at all)... i ovulated at the earliest d21 onwards. Each cycle last abt 2 months. It was so painful mentally for me taking temperature daily and trying to determine when i will ovulate... we tried with clomid for almost 5-6 cycles ( cant remember exact) and to the point where I am so anxious that my hubby got performance anxiety even.. I was almost going to force him to take viagra liao... poor guy..

taking FSH jabs is great cos I achieved ovulation at d10 which is a first time for me. The only side effects of course is the hypersimulation part but that was ok....

Tomatoes

Thanks for yr concern. Yalor.... So TGIF mood again hor, don doing any work today izit. Taking yogurt today for tea break? Btw, din know u r de kai1 guo2 gong1 chen2 for this thread
kao_embarrassed.gif
. ThankQ so much.

Oooo... btw,
kao_welcome2.gif
Spore_bb.

Shirlynn

So there r some sisters in the forum working near u huh!

Hi Poohy

So r u having regular mensus after giving birth to Samuel?

Hi Tomatoes

So hv u decided de name for yr gal? Izit without a proper name, thats y she don come out?