IVF/ICSI/IUI - 2ww

Hi Edel
Welcome to the thread
3 embries is good. Congrats. Err, is this yr first IVF/ICSI?

Errrr...I haven't tell my Msia doc yet. Will call him on Wed. Yes, u may be experience cramps (lower stomach), bloatedness, breast bit swollen, nipples erect, etc. But this symptoms applies to diff people. Some ppl don't have the symptons at all.

But for my case, after my ET and ER, the feeling is terrible. Imagine, I gain bout 3kg, and stomach is so cramp and bloated (really bloated like 3-4mths preggie). After ET, I really rest and sleep a lot for 1 week (total 8 full days). U must really rest a lot lot. The doc was telling me for the 1st week, the embries are still floating and will only start to implant on the 2nd week. So the 1st week, must have good rest. I even don't dare to lie sideway. But at that time, i got severe pain, and sleeping in 45degree for almost 1 week. Can't lie flat at all. I don't walk much at that time, just lie down and zzz. At that time, it's quite bad for me, as my ovaries are over stimulated and the pain is unbearable for me every night. I been on dripping for 5 days. But all this are over already, and no pain, no gain

You are very fortunate that yr hubby is so supportive and really restricts yr movement. He did the right thing. Just rest more

qoo,
yes it's my first ICSI. A bit strange because I wasn't given progesterone jab everyday but will be pregnyl jab once in 3 days, any ladies same here? A bit worrying as before ET, my breast tenderness and bloatedness were there. Yesterday after ET, the symptoms slowly subsided and today, seem like gone. May be it's because I'm understimulated. Hai... hubby says don't think anymore.
Yours seem bad but it's now all worth it with a BFP! Take care

Edel
For protocol in Msia, the progesterone jab was given continuous 4 days after my ET. And on the 2nd day after ET, the doc had asked me to insert the progesterone capsules (3 times a day)daily for the 1st trimester. My protocol is quite different. Maybe Seniors here can brief u their procedures.

Ehhh.. must have lot of PMA (positive mental attitude), symptoms slowly subsided means nothing. Thats why I mention earlier, different ppl have different symptoms. Dont worry , u are the lucky one who dont have to suffer the bloatedness for too long. Usually for those gals who retrieve more eggs will need to bear longer cramp and bloatedness. I remember one of our sisters (Humble) also retrieve more than 20 eggs and severe pain also. So , u dont worry too much. Remember you had 3 embries inside you now, and I also learnt that must have lot of PMA. Coz thinking negatively will send wrong / negative signal to yr embries. Only 1 day after ET, already think so much Maybe yr breast tenderness will come back this few days. This symptoms is on and off for certain ppls. PMA PMA PMA PLS.

U got msn? Mine is [email protected] If u need someone to talk to, call me loh. PM u my number

Edel,
qoo is rite, different people have different symptoms, and moreover, only those who produced more than 20 eggs had terrible pain, bloatedness, etc. Abt the jab, the daily progestrone is given to only those who had more than 20 eggs i think, many of the sisters in mtbs thread had the same injection as u once in 3 days i guess, so there's nothing u should be worrying now. Just enjoy the feeling of carrying the embies. Oh remember to rub your tummy and talk to your embies to stay healthy and stick to u.

Good luck to u dear!

qoo,
U can actually do hcg in any other clinic first and then go for the doc's appoinment. U should calculate the no of weeks from the date of your egg retrieval and then add two weeks to it. I think ur first scan will be on the 6th week and then another scan in wek 8. Good luck....hope u'll get twins!

Humble
I did called family doctor and she did suggest me to come in the morning. But my prob now is I don't have any more leave
can't take any time off or leave. All leave been used up. So that's why I must go and c Dr Loh at evening or Sat only. I just call and they had a slot for tomorrow evening 6.15pm. Will go and c Dr Loh tomorow instead of next week. Wish me luck. Thanks.

Oh yes, btw, my doc says after ET is considered 4 weeks (1mth) and plus another 18 days for HPT. Total is 48 days after HPT. If calculate in that way, I'm 6.8 weeks. Err...i'm quite confused, nvm, let me call my doc and check with him. Thanks. How are u humble? Feeling much better?

Edel
Oh yes, I did rub my tummy everyday and ask them to be strong and cling tightly to my uterus/womb. Must be strong bbs..
Every day talk to them like that. At nite before I sleep.

hi qoo

if i remember correctly, when i tested positive, i was in week 4. Should be taken as the number of weeks since the first day of ur last menses. Btw, suggest that u call KKH again to see if u can go and do the blood test tomm early morning or tomm noon during lunchtime, then hopefully by the time u see dr in the evening, the HCG results can be out already. Else without HCG results, there's little the dr can advise but to ask u to go and test for HCG and then come back to see him another day... Just suggesting, see if it is feasible for u.

Edel, dun worry, i am one of those who require the HCG boosters once in every 3 days.
And i din really suffer after the procedure. Everything seems ok with no symptoms. Only symptom i had was few days before the day i expect AF, i started having cramps that are exactly the same as if AF coming. Suggest u enjoy first lar, dun worry too much, cos if u preggie, the MS will come and then u may not be able to enjoy anymore. For the next 2 weeks, just lay back and relax, dun get involve in any sports, try to sleep as much as u can, stay away from cooling/cold food/drinks, drink lots and lots of water. And tell ur embies to hold on tightly to mommy
. Good luck and hope to hear good news from u soon.

And to the rest of the gals, good luck and lots of babydusts! hey humble, ur babydusts plus mine should be "powderful" enough for everyone here...
scully qoo got quads hor, then lagi more "powderful".

Chloe
Oh ...thanks for your suggestion. Hhhmm.. I think I better call up KKH again and request for blood test. U are rite, once results is out, only doc will be able to advise me more. Thanks.

qoo,
thank you. I'm feeling better. Really feel that the whole ICSI experience is like on a roller coaster, sometimes excited and happy, sometimes worried and feel hopeless. When things don't go as expected, I start to feel paranoid. Luckily I can still ask you gals here and hubby is very supportive, if not I don't think I can go through this alone.... I do rub my tummy every now and then but hubby prays and talks to embryos more. It's so sweet seeing his fatherly figure and he even wants to think of names for all 3 but I don't encourage lor... Have you called up KK?

Humble and Chloe,
thank you for the encouragement. Yah, must have PMA like what you all always emphasize
I had some cramps which didn't last long this morning, may be it's due to the wind in my tummy. I will try to relax more. You are right, I should enjoy this period now as it's the first time I'm carrying my own embies. I'm having my blood test end of Aug, a bit long on D19. Chloe, you were also on hCG booster, did you do any hpt before going for your blood hCG test? KKIVF nurse said it won't be accurate for me to do hpt due to the hCG boosters that I take once in 3 days. I really hope to do one test myself may be on D14 before going for the blood test on D19, at least to get myself mentally prepared but scared it gives me a false positive. How did you test and which day?

chloe,
ya ya...our baby dust will drown this thread liao! hehe...its good lets have more mtbs!

Edel,
U can test anytime after 14 days from your hcg shot given to u before ER. But if the hcg released by the embie is not high then tend to show false neg until it reaches certain level. I have heard a lot of false neg but not false positive so dont worry, I think including chloe many of us here hpt'd before blood test. Good luck k....

hi edel

i did the HPT 2 days before i am supposed to go for the blood test. i remember that was 15 days after ER, too itchy-handed, and becos got AF cramps so wanted to get myself mentally prepared for the worst. But it turns out to be a BFP, and the line was dark and instant. Quickly called my dr and went down for the blood test at noon time. By evening, dr called to see me at his clinic cos my bHCG showed that i have conceived.
oh, when i asked about whether the HPT could be a false positive, he mentioned that becos it was so dark, it should not be, cos the HCG booster should have very little effect by then. So i guess how dark the line also plays a part... i remember i drank lots of water before HPT test somemore, cos i was having UTI, but still turn out BFP.

If u dun feel safe testing on D14, maybe can test slightly later, say D16? bHCG doubles every 2 days.

Hi Humble and Chloe,
thank you, have learnt much from you gals. Think I will do my hpt on D15 or D16 then because I really can't wait till D19. Until then, it's still a long way to go. Will come here often to chat with you. You two take care and update us on little humbles and chloes

Chloe
Yes, all blessings and baby dust is flooding here
If quads, I really will faint leh. I prepared the most for twins. But no worries, doc says my chances getting quads is 0. If i want quad, then first place he will put in 6 embries loh. But in Msia, his record for quads is twice a year

Edel
Doc gave me 18 days also, but itchy hand and test on Day15. U don't worry so much, only 3 days after ET. Rest well lah.. Wow, envy that yr hubby is so sweet

Chloe/Edel/Humble
I just cancelled my appt with Dr SF Loh. Called my Msia doc and tell him the good news and this morning I did another test and yes, it's +ive. This is the official date that doc gave me. He advise me not to go to any doc for scan/blood test , or etc at this moment. Yes, after tested +ive, it's 4weeks. First scan will be on 6th week. As my progesterene capsules is finishing on next Friday, and most likely I will be flying back to Msia for 1st scan (6th week at that time) and also collect the medicines for two mths supply.

I also worry and keep asking my doc whether is it safe to travel during 1st trimester? He say it's perfectly fine and asssure me it's ok. For first few check up/scans I will be going back to Msia. Most likely 3 weeks once for 1st trimester. He wants to check on me until my bbs are stable then I can continue my regular check up and scan in Spore. Fly back on Friday night and come back on Sunday afternoon. It's a very short trip. If every 3 weeks fly like that, really kindda hectic.

Any idea how much per box (30 capsules) for the Progesterene? I need to compare the price. But think will be much cheaper in Msia also. Anyway, $$ is not a issue, most important is my bbs. Will discuss with HB tonite on next week trip and see what he says.

Hi qoo,
yah hubby does give a lot of support and strength. I think it's because of the pregnyl jab that I feel hungry more easily than usual. Have put on weight. Other than that, my breasts only feel tender when I have the jab once in 3 days, then when the medicine wears off, I don't feel anything again. I take it more easy these few days. Take care while you are flying ok? Think your Malaysia doctor just wants to make sure that everything is well in the first trimester. Don't think too much too, you will be seeing your babies very soon!

Hi didi,
I don't feel any cramps and my stomach is only slightly bloated. Other than these, I am like usual. Are you cycling or in 2WW too?

Hi Edel, I am not cycling yet. The reason I asked is because my gf who is undergoing is experiencing cramps and bad bloatedness.....

Didi,
ask your friend to hang on and drink lots of water. May be she had many eggs retrieved. I have seen quite a few cases with bad cramps and bloatedness getting a positive, so I think this may be a good sign for your friend. I was hoping to feel these too but I do not....

Edel, I see she only has 12 eggs (think that's is not considered a lot compared to most of the sisters here), and there are a few ladies that strike wo cramps or bloatedness too

Btw, have you heard of anyone having brownish discharge during the 2ww

Didi, I have fewer eggs compared to your friend so that may explain why I don't feel the cramps
I notice I have a little bit of slight yellow discharge though. Also don't know what it is but it does not cause itch or smell, so I think should not be UTI as I have just finished a course of antibiotics. Could her brown discharge be actually brown blood spotting? KKIVF nurse told me that some ladies spot from the time of egg retrieval to the 1st week of the 2WW. I still spot for about 2 days after my ET. The ovaries could still be recovering from the ER. If hers is not blood spotting but really mucus like discharge, could be 2 scenarios, I think. Either her discharge contains some blood or she may have an infection - observe for bad smell. Whatever it is, if it's serious, it's better that she seeks medical attention.

Hi, I stumbled upon your thread and was quite encouraged to know that I am not the only one going through the 2ww now! I had ET on 17th and emotions have been up and down past few days.....sometimes feel excited and hopeful, other times feel worried that will not be successful...its horrible!

Hi Hopewish
Welcome to the thread

U must get plenty of rest now and dont think too much. Yes, the feeling is unbearable and its naturally u will have mixed feelings. Its very normal. I must say, its really not easy during 2ww, but u must have lot of PMA (positive mental attitude). Dont think negative, as this could send the negative thinking to yr embries. Rub yr stomach and talk to them often, ask them to be strong and cling tightly. First week after ET, must really rest a lot, as embries still floating. Eat cooked food during this time, Hhmm3rd Sept must be yr HPT date.

If u need someone to talk to, u are most welcome to this thread and lots of experienced sisters here will give u advices. Share with us what kind of symptoms u having daily.

Where did u do yr IVF/ICSI? Good luck!

Hi didi,
you are welcome. How's your friend? May be can suggest to her to come to the forum too
It's only 7 days after ET. My tummy is bigger now, don't know if this is called bloatedness. Breasts are still a bit sore due to the hCG jab yesterday. Hopefully, these will sustain for good.

Hi hopewish,
welcome here! I'm also in 2WW, so happy to have someone in the same stage. I think I was the only one here in 2WW before you came.
I too, feel emotional, sometimes feel that it is possible but sometimes feel that my wish is so far away. However, we must learn to take it easy as there are still quite a number of days to go, so cheer up

Hi Qoo,

Thank you so much for your advice...I will try my best to keep a PMA and talk to my embries often! I did IVF at CARE. First 3 days after ET, felt bloated and uncomfortable but yesterday and today I feel quite ok leh. So I'm starting to worry that the embries didn't implant...

Hi Edel,

I am so glad to find someone who is going through this at almost exactly the same time as me! It is such a bumpy emotional ride isn't it? Anyway, let's hope this 2ww is over soon! Am keeping myself occupied with Chinese serials so I don't think about it! You take care!

hi hopewish,
welcome! Dont worry abt the bloatedness going off, same thing happened to me, I was very bloated and uncomfortable during the first week but the bloatedness came back during second week. Like qoo has said, rest well and talk to ur embies. Good luck!

Edel,
how's everything going? I know its hard towards the end but u r doing great, keep going u'll join us in the mtbs thread soon.

hopewish,
Yah it definitely is. Really have to keep thinking of happy thoughts to remain positive. Where is CARE? Is it a clinic or hospital? I was also not having much bloatedness in the beginning but in this 2nd week, my tummy has grown quite big, I'm not sure whether it is gas or that I have eaten too much. Hey, how many embryos did u transfer? I transferred 3, every night hubby will talk to them and tell them to cling on tight tight. Hope the Chinese serials u are watching are comedies. Remember not to watch any sad or horror movies at this time.

Hi Best_Twins,
I really hope so. Just now was out in the supermarket with hubby and saw a lot of pregnant ladies, really envy and hope to be one of them soon. Can u imagine? I had always been very conscious of any tummy and always tried to exercise it away. However, in the 2WW when my tummy is slightly bigger than usual due to the hCG jabs, I'm really enjoying it, keep imagining that I'm pregnant ha ha....

Qoo,
in 3 days' time u will be on a flight to see your doctor, are u excited? Hope that you can see 2 sacs or heartbeats on Sat!

Edel,
thats good that u are bloated again! Lets hope its "preggie" symptom. Dont envy la ur turn is on the way! Hey, of course we'll worry if the tummy is big wif fats la...but this is baby how to worry liao?? Hehe...Take care and good luck k...

Best_twins,
I'm not sure why my body is always giving me false hope. Yesterday was still very bloated but this morning when I woke up, bloatedness and breast tenderness subsided again. Also this morning I'm due for my last hCG jab, so I can't help but think that my previous symptoms were only caused by the jabs, not because I'm.... u know? Hai... my hubby was quite sad this morning when he saw me upset. Think I must buck up, no matter what, I must stay strong, can't bear to affect him again...

Edel, I have also heard before that some bloatedness are caused by the jabs, wonder how to tell the difference

Edel & didi,
ya u gals are rite, its hard to say, i have heard of women who had no bloatedness or nothing but got preggie while some who had bloatedness did not make it. Well, just pray hard everyday and keep a positive mind and i m sure things will work out cos its really too early for preggie symptoms.

Just to add on, even after testing postive for 3 times sometimes i'll wake up in the morning and my tummy and breast would be very normal and i'll think i m not pregnant anymore, aiyo u gals wont believe if i tell u i still have this fear every morning u know?

Edel, stay calm and happy ok!

Twinsmom, can I know waht happens next after the beta test at KKH ,I was just wondering whether we could have a 2ww diary thread so at least one can share what's going on but might be too long-winded

didi,
Oh yes, go ahead and start one! After the beta test if we are pregnant the nurse will give us the prescription given by doc to collect folic acid and progestrone if necessary and we will have to go to the D clinic or which ever clinic u wanna see the doc to fix your next appointment for scan and consultation in 2 weeks time. Hope this helps!

Best_Twins,
yah a lot of people have been telling me this as well. I just have to have some faith, though sometimes it can be hard when it's symptomless.
Some of the gals here mentioned having some kind of a cramp like menstrual type a few days before 14dpo or so, did u experience that before u tested positive?
I understand, we women will not rest our mind until the babies are born right?
Don't worry, I will try my best to stay calm, thanks for the concern

Hi didi,
it's a good idea! I've seen other foreign forum having such thread. They will log brief descriptions on how they feel everyday...

Edel
All this bloatedness will be on and off. And u are rite, sometimes it will gives us false hope. Must have lot of faith. Before I test +ive, I don't have cramp like menstrual type. Diff ppl diff symptons. Don't worry too much, lots of baby dust for you

Yes, I'm very excited for my 1st scan. Will be flying off on Friday nite and when reach, straight go to clinic and collect med and scan. Count down, 3 more days

didi
Ask yr fren to join us in this forum
Ask her not worry and rest more. Eat more healthy foods/cooked food.

Hi gals, regarding the 2ww diary thread, can someone kindly assist to set up as I am not sure how to go about setting one ? hope not too much of a bother

Hi gals, I'm still feeling very normal leh! NO bloating...feel quite down last 1-2 days too cos I went for a blood test and my hormone levels have dropped drastically. So I had to start medication to supplement...Am trying very hard to keep my spirits up but feeling like not much hope already...

Hopewish
How many embries u transferred? Some sisters here also get +ive but they don't feel bloated at all. What did the doc advise you? Don't worry, since u had medication to supplement, then everything will be fine.
U must be postive leh, coz if u feel sad or thinking negative, u are sending wrong signals to yr embries. Yourself must be strong first.

Hi qoo, I transferred 3 embries...doc said maybe my ovaries shut down which happens sometimes after stimulation. But she said don worry, no bloatedness doesn't mean that it is not +ive. Yes, I must have PMA!!!! Thanks for your encouragement!

qoo,
thank you. Hey, do updated us on how many qoos u see on the scan ok? So excited for u!

hopewish,
don't worry, after the progesterone jabs, I believe your progesterone is at normal level now. When did u do your ER and ET?
Honestly speaking, I feel very normal too, let's keep our spirits high and hope for the best!

Hi Hui,
yah, the judgement day! I dare not answer the phone that day. Think will ask KKIVF nurse to call my hubby instead, so scared!

Hi Edel, if you are doing ICSI with KKH, you will have to call them for results, think they will not call like those pte hospitals, I think ....
btw, are you feeling ok ? 1 more week to go ....

didi,

erm..kkh will call lah..hehe

i mean for the result day.. unless like those normal chk up if they ur blood test is ok then they will not call u if bad then they will call u..
but for the blood test result wether u preg anot they will call

Hi Hui, is that so ? as my friend was told after her blood test that she need to call back to get the results as they say they might be busy to return call, anyway whatever it doesn't matter who calls so long as we can get the results

didi,
if kk doesn't call, I will ask my hubby to call hee hee
I still feel like usual, no symptoms leh. That's why dare not take the results over the phone... How's your friend now?

Hui,
let's hope so, I already take leave on that day. Whether or not it's a good news, I'm going to relax and enjoy myself that day. Gonna bring my mum out for a big meal to thank her for taking care of me in the first week of 2WW
What time is Xinyu going?

qoo,
if u happen to come to this thread, do update us when you could grap a pc with internet access. So excited for u! All the best!