IVF/ICSI/IUI - 2ww

hi humble

Mine is a female prob. i was diagnosed with PCOS 4 years ago. Took clomid for many cycles and still cannot conceive. After 1 year of trying with clomid, i gave up and stopped for 1 year plus to do TCM. With acupuncture and chinese medicine, i could ovulate without any clomid. However, still cannot conceive. Very disheartened and took a rest again. After that, we went to see western gynae again and did many rounds of IUI for half a year, still no result. Did HSG test and confirmed that tubes are not blocked. So, we really dunno wat is the problem. Tubes are ok, me ovulating with clomid, husband sperm count ok, but still cannot conceive. At that time, i was already on 3 tabs of clomid (max already).

Last Aug, we decided to switch to Dr L C Foong of Gleneagles. He prescribed me with metformin (a diabetic drug) and reduced clomid to just 1 tab. Also started puregon injection on CD6, 8 and 10 to stimulate egg growth. After 3 cycles of IUI, still cannot. So, last Dec, we decided to do a laparoscopy. i have bad menstrual pain during period, so doctor suspected something must be wrong. True enough, during the laparscopy i was discovered with scarred tissues in my pelvic region. Some pple with same case as me dun even experience menstrual pain. So i was lucky to find out that the scarred tissues stuck my tubes against the pelvic walls, so dr said that becos of this, tubes could not move to "catch" the egg when it was released from the tube. We started doing IUI again for the next 3 months after the laparoscopy, still no results. Dr suggested that we do IVF cos he felt that we have tried long enough and since even after the laparoscopy to remove the scarred tissues still cannot conceive, the inside of my tubes could also be affected by scarred tissues without us knowing. He suggested IVF to bypass the tubes totally. And so in late Apr 06, we started the IVF prog.

*phew* i know it is a mouthful. Hope i dun confuse anyone of u. Frankly, the past 4 years were terrible, and we were really at a lost of wat to do until we met Dr Foong. Very grateful to him, cos if not for him, we would not have known that i have other problems other than PCOS. We have been working around the PCOS problem for the past few years!!!

Gals, i hope that thru my long story, u can continue to perservere. Infertility is a tough journey and for some, if not many, it is a long and draggy journey. Although it is easy to give up, please hold on to ur belief. If u try, one day, ur dream to have children will come true. Dun leave urselves any regrets by hesitating to do treatments, esp IVF which is financially, physically and mentally draining. Hold on to ur dream and work towards it, ur dream will come true one day! There is always light at the end of the tunnel!!

Chloe,
so glad to hear your story... guess everyone has their own stories to having children...anyway, can I check with you, how do you know when your AF is coming? thought doing IVF, AF will not be that actual date... how you calcuate it? I'm now on the 13th day since ER, and I actually check with the nurse whether can I know the result faster, she suggested that I can use the kit after tomorrow... a bit worried though... still don't dare to face the truth... how?

chloe,
Many many thanks for sharing your story. I can understand how much you hav gone thru. Such success stories will help boast our confidence and positive thinking. U hav just contributed a lot of PMA in me
431919.png
Hope my 7 years of agony will end this time. Take care

hi constantia

u can take the day which u do ER as ur ovulation day (so start counting as zero). The day after ER can be taken as ur first day after ovulation (1DPO). Normally, my period will come between 15-16 DPO. i tested my urine 15 days past ER ie. 15DPO and gotten positive. In ur case, should be 12DPO if u count the day of ER as 1 or 13DPO if u count the day of ER as 0. Is this normally the time u get ur period? But remember, even if the kit says negative, it may not be true cos different pple take different time to build up HCG. Blood test is still the most accurate. But if positive then high chance liao. Good luck!

humble, yes i also hope that this will be the final cycle for u. Good luck!

Chloe,
my period normally not accurate then how? but the last time just before IVF doctor did let me take contraceptive pills... so how should I calculate? I was actually thinking of doing it on the 15th day... but since what you say, maybe do it slightly later...

hi constantia

like that ah... i think as long as after 14DPO, i think should be ok. But just a guide only cos a blood test will still be the most accurate. So maybe like the nurse say, test after tomm??

chloe,

thanks for sharing. agree with humble that your story is great motivation for us to keep going. next time i start to feel sorry for myself, i will think of people like u.

take good care of yourself.

Chloe,
actually haven't decide whether to test or not... but hubby actually wants me to test, as least know the result faster... then dun have to think so much... if really decide think should be testing either on sat or sun... wish me luck!!! :p

CONGRATS Summer!!!

had a scare tis morning, took a sip of tea tis morning.. forgot ct take too much tea.. aft tt, had stomache, thot jialat liao.... cannot b rite....then switch to drink milk... who knows, lagi worst, stomach not gd so went washroom & empty bowel... lucky it's jus norm "BIG" biz... :p

Hi Chloe, very motiative story...Chole, my AF always very on time one, i am on D10 after ER, isn't can test on D15?

..humble, I am same as you....7 years is really long road to us.....hope we can make it through.

Constantia, My blood progesterone level is good...so i don't have to add any more....so relieve....at least less one thing to worry....so fast you can start to test...so envy...I don't know want to test early or not....very worry negative result....but wish to test before my husband leave for KL....don't know how leh...so confuse.....

Dear all, I think i would like to share my story too. I am 33 this year. Married on year 1999. After married, both my DH and myself not really trying but we are thinking to let it be natural....we started to ML without precautious....but one year passed...no news....two years passed...still no news...I began to get worry...friend started to introduce me chinese senseh...
I went to the JE one and was told that I had PCOS problem and my DH have bad quality sperm....she referred us to Professor Cheng. We went to see him...result is the same as what the senseh had told us...Dr Cheng suggested both of us go for operation. I went back to the senseh and seek her advise..she said that we don't have to go through op, just take her medicine regularly. I took her medicine for 2 years and at the same time she referred me to Dr Fong Yang..I did 2 round of IUI.... but nothing happen...Finally, I decided to give up..seek another senseh advise...another friend introduced me to a senseh at chai chee...i took his medicine for another 6 months....no news again....i gave up again...mom took me to another senseh at somewhere near beach road...I took for another few months...again, to my disappointment......

My friend introduced me to Dr WK Tan at TMC. I did a HSG and blood test. Result came out that one of my tube was blocked. I have high FSH. I was so shocked cos all these while...I had been asking the JE senseh i suspected my tubes were blocked but she said no...she told me not to worry because she know that my tubes were ok. I went back to the JE senseh and told her my result...she still said something to me like...don't worry...u have another fine tube...the FSH thing is ok...I am actually quite disappointed...
I did not let Dr WK Tan do the laproscopy cos i heard she is not the fertility specialist...so i did it with Dr Fong Yang.....After the op...I try a few months but still disappointed....

At last, mom took me to tong chai and i met this nice senseh. She reviewed my case and told me to try taking her medicine for another 3 months...if nothing happen, she want me to go straight to IVF....she said as i had wasted so many years searching for help....I am actually deceasing my chance....so I took her advise and ended up with Dr SF loh..she recommanded me.

Imagine...ladies, I had been taking chinese medicine for 5 years.....everyday.....any form of chinese medicine i had tried before....the boil one, liquid one, tablet one, powder one...everyday without failed........I just don't know how i manage to pass all these years......

So I would like to advise anyone out there...if you are trying for baby...please don't be like me....wasting too much time...look for a good doctor and do all the test 1st....don't jump into conclusion that you are fine...don't listen too much on senseh...we still need to use modern equipment to check......

Hope my story will help some of you.

Huangling,
thanks for sharing your story with us... anyway, I'm still quite worried as to whether to test it so fast... like you, I'm afraid it'll turn out negative... but hubby say if it's really meant to be neagative, testing it now or later will still be negative... so if really testing... think I'll test on D15 or D16... wish me luck everyone...

Huangling,

I am in the same age group is you......

Are you seeing Dr SF Loh from KKH? Are you contemplating IVF treatments? I know that we r not getting young anymore......but I believe that IVF treatments are only an option and possible success depends on luck and one individual body system.......

Can anyone tell me where is Dr Fong Yang located? Which hospital and which contact number?

Have a nice weekend!

my story is simpler than Chloe & Huangling.

ROM'ed in 1998 but customary only in 2003.....we only started not to take pre-caution from 2000 onwards (after we got our flat) but no news..... we decided to go for check-up and realised HB's having low sperm count & mobility. Gynae oso required me to check my tubes & both are ok. So continue to try and didn't think of gg to sin seh cos afraid of taking chinese med... :p

then before customary in 2003, i went to another gynae to do the pap smear & find i like her so continue to stick to her :p i did my 1st IUI with her at TMC in 2004 but not successful...so she suggested me to do lapro to ensure my tubes r not block...the cost is almost $3K wich i din want to.... so change plan...

went to polyclinic to get referral letter to KKH to seek more opinion....after advises to try naturally for 3mths w/o success, Dr Sadhana suggested SO-IUI wich failed of cos....i hv nvr thot i will come so far as to do IVF... it's not end of the road/world etc, it's just the begining

Looks like we are all quite ill-fated. I went through a long journey too and hope it will be ending soon.

I ROM in 1999 and got married in 2000. 2 years later, thought of ttc. I remembered that year June I was in Takashimaya, there was a baby clothing sale. I was still discussing with my hubby if we should start buying some baby stuff since we were ttcing. Then, I decided that no need since Christmas would be 6 months later, so definitely got sale, so no hurry, buy by then will be just nice since I would be pregnant in 2nd trimster by then.....wishful thinking at my end....

After ttcing for one year, I sensed that something not right since no result. Went to see my first gynae. Did IUI twice cycle, each cyle two times, gyane suggested IVF. I was young then, thought no need. So we decided to try natural for a while then tried TCM. on TCM with medication and acupuncture for a year, no result. Decided to give ourselves one last chance. See my current gyane.Tried 3 rounds of IUIs but failed. Resigned to fate that I need IVF.

It's been 4 tiring years... During this period, friends who got married after me are now either mother of two or ttcing for the 2nd one. Just like all of u, I believe children will make my life more complete. Sometimes, I think I have not done anything evil in my life, why do I deserve all these ??

At least, with this thread, I gathered strength to move on with all of u. Let's hope our baby dreams will come soon. For those in 2ww, hope that all of u are successful in your IVFs. For me, may my dream come true tomorrow after my ET.

wow.... u r rite TTBS, some of our journeys to hv bb in our lives r difficult, lots of ups & downs... however, am sure we will be granted with our wishes very soon....

Wow....so many similar stories....all trying hard for one goal......at least we are not alone...

TTBS, I used to think like you...I had never done anything evil in my life too and...why do I deserve to suffer all these?....especially my staff (young girls) can just get pregnant easily but thinking to abort ....I am angry and envy them....I don't know why I had been trying hard to have one but they can just tell you that they don't want, they are not planning to have one.......how i wish it's me not them......

Constantia, count down already...wish you can bring good news for us......

MB, Dr Fong is located at Paragon.

Rachel, glad to hear that your level is good too....lucky us...no need to increase more medicine....BTW, which dr are you with?

MB, I visited Dr Fong at 18 Jalan Membina #02-02 tel:62767727

I think he have another branch at paragon but I don't really know the address.

Good idea to share our story so that we can be more focused.

I m 30, married in 1999 as well. started ttc in 6 months time but nothing happened, went to see GP and was told hb has low count and referred us to glenE Catherine chan (anyone heard of her?). she said i can surely get preg given my age and the fact that i hav no prob. but it was BFN, we froze 3 embies but i never want to go back there again as I was unhappy abt many things that happened during ET and 2WW. i dont know wat happened to my embies (poor them). Both hb and me totally devastated that we dont want to talk abt ivf for almost five years. finally gained courage to try again. Chose kkh cos its cheap. Mine is little different frm u gals cos i hav never tried anyother alternative tmt. we simply cut ourself off from social gatherings to avoid pple asking y no kids yet and concentrated on studying and upgrading. Now the two of us (just us) walking alone hand in hand in this dark desert not knowing where are we destined.

sorry to turn this thread into "ivf story sharing thread". But i think it will help us.

huangling, ya man.... may i kn wich area they inject you?? buttock?? :p

oops, forgot to add that am 32 tis yr..

hi humble, u hv us too...
like u, pple ask during social gatherings, esp. relatives... so we agreed a pact tt it's HB who din want kids yet... still young..
console ourselves...

Having read all your stories, I can't help but feel very emotional..I fully understand the pain all of you have gone through (My past 4 years were really a "down" period for me). But I really hope that my experience and success will give all of you hope and the courage to continue pursuing your goal, most important is to have faith and be patient. Miracles do happen as long as we believe.

wow!!! so many stories today... really touched and glad that I'm not alone... (used to think why only me having this problem)Very emotional and excited for all of you too... hope all of you have good news in the future... of course hope that I, too, will have... let's all bless each other and keep our fingers crossed for all of us...

hi gals....

your stories are so touching and it shows how strong all of you have been. I m sure all of U will pass through this very soon. All the best to constantia18, huangling4 and rachel whose BIG day is coming very soon hor?

Just to share my experience on the 2ww... mine was symtoms free and i try to have more rest on the first 3days cos after that cannot tahan anymore. Subsequencely i just do my normal routine.

Once again i'll like to apologise for letting U gals waiting and worry for so long.

Hi Summer, it is reassuring to hear that you were systoms free for the 2ww, at least we don't have to worry about having some tell-tales sign afterall. Take Care

Rachel, I did the injection myself every 3 days....today is the last day...I jab on my tummy.

Constantia, how do you feel now? R you going to test today? So excited for you.

Thanks, winter and summer ...we hope to make it like you 2.......summer, you don't feel more tired than usual during 2ww?

Humble, thanks for sharing your story too....I didn't know that most of us married on 1999.......

i was unable to join u gals yesterday cos was at my mom's place the whole day.

Wow, all ur stories are really so touching. i am sure all of us have been thru a lot. i am sure we will be good parents next time cos we have worked so hard to have children!

constantia, wow, very excited for u. Did ur urine test already??

I have done my ET today. Feeling pretty alright. So officially today onwards, I will join all of u in this "long" 2ww. Just heard from one nurse today that the success rate from my gynae this period has been encouraging i.e more than 50% success. Hope that I will be one of the successful 50% soon.

By the way, for those of u who feel pregnant symptoms, when did it occur ?

hi summer, thanks... yup...now TTBS has joined us....
so urs syptoms free... tt's great

hi huangling, oh urs nt progesterone jabs... :p it's more easier rite...

hi constantia, hope u r feeling fine??

hi TTBS, glad tt u had a smooth ET.... tt's great news for us
pls add in ur test date..

constantia18 - 8 Jun
huangling4 - 10 June
rachel - 13 June
TTBS -

I'm not doing the test tomorrow... checked with nurse today, she tells me don't waste money... not very accurate and may cause one's to be more frastruated and worried... she suggested that I wait till thurs... since it's just 5 days away... and I've decided to wait too...

But gals, so sad today, think I'm falling sick... having sore throat, flu, headache and think slight fever... and dunno whether can I take medicine... but think if I really cannot tolerate already, will go and have 2 panodols... hope it'll not cause any side effects...

Hi rachel, yup, mine is easier....I just do it myself every 3 days.

Constantia, i think your's is a good sigh leh....usually pragnant lady body temperature goes up.....I think you have very high chance......As for me,I still feel the AF sensation....also feel like got bubble coming out from my v...don't know what's that leh...thought it's AF but lucky not...make me so worry.....I also feel hot all the time.....I think it's due to the jab.......Actually, I hope I can get fever too cos I heard fever is a good sigh...wait for your good news.....Take care.

huangling,
really? don't give me false hope...
but still feel it's because of the medicine... and lately I perspire a lot... just going downstairs to open letter box, come up already perspire... dunno why... hope really got good news... keeping all my fingers and toes crossed...

Hi Rachel
My blood test is on 19 June. Still a long time. Basically, I am feeling alright. Today, gone out Suntec with Hubby. Everything fine except I need to take more frequent breaks as I felt breathless if I walked or stood for a longer time. Once I reached home, felt tired and a bit breathless again. Maybe had walked too much.... hee hee hee. Today only 1 day since ET already restless already... Will try to rest more today as still feel breathless a bit.

Anyone has similar experience as me ?

hi ttbs

i've added in ur test date to the list:

constantia18 - 8 Jun
huangling4 - 10 June
rachel - 13 June
TTBS - 19 Jun

All the best!

morning girls.... till now, i feel nothing except slight bloatedness, hot flushes & nausea on 1st few days aft ET... oh & constipation thou i drank lotsa water

constantia, isn't cos of the weather? lately the weather is so hot that my clothes dried up pretty fast... kekeke :p

thanks chloe for adding TTBS to the list... hw r u feeling so far?? good?

Rachel,
yup yup... me think it's the weather too... :p coz really dun dare to think too much... anyway, 3 more days!!! So scary now!!!

Hi ladies, can i join? I had my SOIUI last Friday at KK. Now in 2ww. I am feeling ok, except painful breast. My blood test will be on 21 June. Still "Nong Nong" time.

433972.gif
xinyu,
welcome... no problem, u can join... but is it the same? (sorry, not very sure what's SOIUI coz what I did was IVF - ICSI :p) but still is 2ww... so let's bless each other... ^_^

Updated list of 2ww :-

constantia18 - 8 Jun
huangling4 - 10 June
rachel - 13 June
TTBS - 19 Jun
xinyu - 21 Jun

Good luck everyone!!!

constantia, Thanks. SOIUI is different from IVF. It is like IUI but with injections instead of taking clomid. I saw the subject of this thread "IVF/ICSI/IUI-2ww", got the word IUI, so i join lor.

Crossed my fingers and toes for you and all the ladies here...

constantia

wow, 3 more days!! Waiting for ur good news! i am sure u will be very excited!

me still feeling normal. Hope will be like that for the rest of pregnancy!! My mom says the more serious symptoms should kick in after 2 weeks since i missed my menses... See whether true or not.

welcome xinyu to our big family! aiyah, does not matter if it is SO-IUI lar, we are all on the same boat.
Btw, which doctor are u with?

hi constantia, u hv 3 more days to go wheras i hv 9 more days... am feeling kan cheong liao... i had took 1day leave on 13th & told my boss if it's a success, i will celebrate
.. if not, will cry at home

welcome xinyu... i did SOIUI at KK before i did IVF/ICSI....May i kn hw long u hv been TTC before decided on SOIUI?? can kn ur age too??

Rachel,
me too... took leave for that day... scared it will be not successful then really can't concentrate on work... surely cry whole day coz i crying baby :p

Chloe,
me not excited now... also dunno why... maybe really have a good thinking... have or dun have I can't do much... just keeping my fingers and toes all crossed on that day...
anyway, no symptoms also good what... so how u calculate the menses date?

xinyu,
no prob... anything can just feel free to say... we are like a big family here... be at home... ^_^

Rachel, I am 31 this year. 1.5 year ago, 1st try got pregnant but have a "mis-abortion"(bb no heartbeat). After that, no success, so went for checkup. Discovered that hubby got low "normal form"(morphology). Gynae suggested to try SOIUI first. If not success, will need to go to last resort IVF. How about you?

Constantia, Thanks. I really need to find a place to pass by this "long long" 2ww.

434216.gif
xinyi,
you are at the right thread, this thread is for both iui and ivf, if you scroll down the archieved pages here you will find some of the gals who also did so-iui.

Hi everyone...been busy working even on sunday.....how's everyone? Look like we have new kaki liao...welcome xinyi.....

Constantia....2 more days right?? Rachel, I also very gan cheong leh...I feel like test it before sat....Lucky my test date is sat..I don't have to take leave......

Today I felt strange on my tummy....like something pulling inside...I also feel hot all the time.....how about you constantia? R you better now? Do you have any strange feeling?

Chole...when are you going to scan your baby...must be very excited right? Are you still working?