IVF/ICSI/IUI - 2ww

Hi Piggy,

Realised you had ET around the same time as me too. It's nice to know some ppl going thru this tormenting 2ww together. We must jia you together!!

When are you going to do your preg test? Am wondering if it will be accurate if we do our own HPT before that?

How many times do you have to go back for injections? I only need to do blood tests. So sorry to ask so many questions...

Hi wildcherry,

I've to go back for the jab 3 times after the ET. on the day of ET already have one jab. Btw which hospital are you with for your IVF?

Yah we must jia you and stay positive, have been to office to work these 2 days, and try to walk slowly as usual at home... hmm my colleague also very understanding, help me a lot... My hubby keep insisting, if i dun take leave I should try to leave on time these 2 weeks...

About the HPT not sure if I wanna try leh.. but I've got one from my sister in law and she tells me it's expiring soon, ask me to try a few days before the blood test, so most probably trying on day 14 day my ET

Hi Piggy,

I'm with TMC.

Unlike you, i've not told anyone about our IVF journey. The ppl at my office are very kaypoh and I don't want them to ask too much in case I fail this cycle.

They scheduled my preg test on a weekday and my hubby can't take time off to go with me. Am wondering if we can do it earlier or later.

I'm trying not to think too much about the outcome.... though I think I'll have a very slim chance. I've not been feeling very well these few days. I've this irritating cough that refused to go away. Am so afraid that the little embryos won't implant.

Hi Piggy,

Just wondering, do you have to insert Crinone everyday? I got this strange pinkish residue from the insert on my panty liner this morning... not sure if it's normal. argh!

Hi wildcherry,

I didn't have to have any insert besides injections, I'm just on 7 days of antibotics, but today finish all liao. However my nose like wet wet as my hubby was down with block nose a few days donno whether it's from him, I'm also afraid the embryos won't implant at times but have to think positive and talk to them daily..

My hubby dun wish that I use the HPT leh, but my blood test is on a tue... sigh... donno how also.. when is your blood test? Think should be earlier than me right cause pte hospital is around 14 days from ET, my is on 22 May

Hi Piggy,

They said they'll only give me injections when the blood test indicates low level of dunno what also. Wah so good, got antibotics to keep the flu bugs out. Wished I had that too. I was coughing like a sick patient the entire night. Hubby quite nice all this while. He also talked to our babies every day. I told my babies to cling on tight and they're going for a roller coaster ride everytime i wanna cough.

No inserts? Got pills or anything to eat? They gave me some progesteron pills to be taken 3 times a day.

You're back to work already? Also good lah, can keep mind off things. Time passed faster. Don't think I can go back to work though cos my co is very stressful. Everymorning like madhouse market. Meetings here and there etc.

Another day passed. Jia You!!!

Hi Bodhi,

Thanks for the info. Just went for another blood test. Apparently the level dropped and have to supplement with more pills.

Can't help feeling sad but think there goes this cycle.

WildCherry,
hang on there! There are a few buddies in the thread previously also had low progesterone level tested and with supplement like more pills and injection, they had succeeded. Dun give up yet!
Being happy may help in your hormones development

Hi Stacy,

Thanks for your encouragement. Not sure if it's the hormones or what but I was crying buckets today for no reasons. Amyway, feeling more positive now.

Just wondering, did you have any symptoms during your 2wws? How did you spend your 2ww?

Hi! Wildcherry,
AS I had more than 15 eggs being retreived, I was asked to go back KKIVF for daily progesterone injection.So during 2ww, every1/2 day is spent on travelling to and fro the hospital. The next 1/2 day I feel so tired and normally will eat and rest. I've symptoms quite early, abt 10 days post ET. The symptoms include bloatedness and queasy feelings.But then not everyone the same. I self tested urine kit on day 14 or 15 after ET and already got the + sign. My blood test for progesterone which done on day 7 after ET is marginal pass, however, hormones can change over time. My beta blood test for pregnancy 0n day 17 shown very hi-end and immediately the staff could tell it must be multiple. Treat yourself like a pregnant woman during the 2ww, eat nutritious food and drink warm water. I did not feel so stressful during 2ww, bcos I believe what I can do is to play my part WELL and the rest leave it to fate,luck. Jiayou!
798726.gif
Pls dun cry as you are crying, your embbies also crying inside you.

wildcherry,

I experienced mood swing too. But i feel staying relax during and after the treatment is more important. Just try to think "nothing" and just focus on your sleep, eat and shit :p

Lastly, my advice is not to think about and compare with others the symptoms of 2ww. Let it be..you will know the result when you do your offical pregnancy test. I sleep, eat and shit during my 2ww and think "nothing". Cheers up! and Good Luck.

hi wildcherry,
pls hang on there.. ya, agree that the 2WW is tough... i also had low prog reading during my first blood test but all went well in the end... you may read my blog here for the details: http://nafeeza.blogspot.com/2007/03/this-morning-i-went-for-my-blood-test.html

yes, try not to think so much. I tried to keep my time occupied during the 2WW doing stuff i enjoy such as simple cooking, reading, watching TV and of course, talking to the embies to encourage them along.

jia you!!

Hi Sisters,

Haven't been online the last few days. Been vegetating at home... just eat and sleep.

Am just wondering, if we do our own HPT before our blood test with the hospital, which will be a good day to do? After 10 days from transfer?

Also, which brand to use and is it possible to have a positive on a HPT while blood test shows otherwise? If it's a faint line, is it consider positive or must it be a dark dark line like OPK?

So sorry so many questions...

wildcherry,

I did my official blood test on day 14 after ET. I suggest you use the Clear Blue Brand with Pregnant or NO Pregnant. The indication is very clear no need to guess whether the line is dark or faint.

It is possible that HPT is positive and blood test is negative. Due to the high level of progesterone in your body may result an inaccurate result on HPT. Therefore, most ivf centre test after day 14.

Hi there Everyone!
Is this thread still active? I just had my IUI procedure done on 23 May and am in the midst of the terrible 2WW!! Had my E2 and P4 hormone test done yesterday - 1 week after the procedure and levels were normal, but have to wait till 6 June for the BHCG results, only if menses do not come by then. Anyway has any stories to share during this period? LIke how you already can sense you were pregnant or how you sense that it's not going to be successful case?

I'm new in this thread. It's great reading all your posting as i will be undergoing my 1st IVF this month. I'm thinking of putting in only 1 ET but worried that chances might be slim..... has anyone just put in 1 ET and success???

Hi Theresa,
err.. so far, has not heard of anyone putting in only 1 lei... seems like at least 2. what did your doc advise you? i think the doc will take into consideration your age to decide how many to put in... seems like some younger ones only put in 2. for me, I put in 3 and 2 implanted so am pregnant with twins. you may want to read my blog for my ivf journey... http://www.nafeeza.blogspot.com/
827398.gif

good luck for your IVF treatment and be positive always! jia you!!
827399.gif

Hi G,
it's best to stay relax and positive during the 2WW... just wait for the blood test to determine the results... u may read my blog which did talk about how i got through my 2WW as well.... good luck to you & jia you!!
827417.gif

Hi There Everyone!

I'm new to this forum. I just discovered this great site yesterday and I spent hrs reading it!

I went thru my ET last Thursday. Just like everyone....worrying abt every single signals my body is giving me. I had 18 eggs during EC, 12 matured ones and 6 got fertilised. I had 4 ET because the doc told me mine are not of the top grade so to increase the chances, they transfered 4 in!

During this 2WW now, I have lower abdominal cramps. Just like the normal months when my menses was abt to come. This worries me a lot. I've calling my gynea regurlarly and they kept telling me to stay positive and dun think too much! Really ladies out there...is this a bad sign?

I asked my mom to pray, I asked my sis to pray for me!

I've been on MC since my EC and am goin back to work this coming Monday (i scared to take too long MC). I wonder if this is advisable. I definitely will be walking a lot more compared to staying home...so this worries me if goin back to work b4 my blood test will affect my chances! my gynea said ok but the nurses said it's better to stay home till the blood test day! I'm in a dillema!

Angie,

I guess you are not doing your IVF treatment in Singapore.

In my opinion, difference people has difference symptoms. Not one is the same. You will just need to stay relax.

I was on leave throughout my 2ww to rest at home. I was informed the embyro(s) will start to implant on day 5 or 6 after ET. Therefore, sufficient rest and minimum walking activities are ideal.

You already reach this stage why are you giving yourself stress at this point of time to minimise your chances of success. You will need to stay positive and Jia You till your test day.

Hi Bodhi:

You definitely are a very positive person from reading the reply u gave to the sis here. Good one!

Yah I know staying positive and relax is very important. I try doing this by praying a lot! Haha...think i sound crazy! Anyway, thanks for your advise.

You are right, I didnt do mine in S'pore. I did mine in M'sia. I've been ttc for the past 4.5 yrs. Been thru lap surgery, 3 IUIs before.

Angie,

Let's be logical. That's nothing much you can do now beside waiting for the result. The more you ask, the more you know, will not help you now, instead it will add more unneccessary stress on you questioning yourself how come i don't feel this and how come i don't feel that. It will make you feel uneasy. Therefore, just free your mind and don't think about it and you will eventually get the result when you perform the blood test. I know it is not easy you just need to try and stay calm.

ladies..rite now i on day 6 after my ET..quite moody now cos just know my progesterone level is below d required so have 2 increase my dosage 2 100mg. now very worried if my embryos will b successfully implanted..still got 1 more wk 4 my blood test..help..think may go crazy waiting..

mika, do not fret. just relax and rest well. i justed ended my 2ww today (D16). my iui was not successful. will try again after i take a rest this month. you only have a week to go.... nearly there...

think about your embies implanting now... cos implantation takes place about now. positive thinking is very important! most of all, a relaxed mind, so your embies are also relaxed...

hi Mika,

How do u cope with the bloatness after ER? Since my ER, i experience very bad bloatness, somtimes like bad cramp. The whole area from my breast downwards to the stomach is uncomfortable. Cannot eat too much also as it worsen and make me feel even more bloated. Followed the doctor's advise to eat egg white but it doesn't seem to help a lot. will this continue for long or will subside soon?

orangedots: i tried drinking red dates wif a few slices of ginger. then keep drinking water..i got quite bad cramp 2 cos d nurse told me it due 2 d swollen ovaries..ard day 4 d cramp gone but had very bad bloatness on day 5 n 6 till i was so breathless..eat more egg whites..rest well..i rest on bed most of d day except gg 2 kk n breakfast.

me on n off feel bloated 2..but not as bad as day 5 1.

Hi Mika,

Thanks for the advise. Do you feel any cramp? Besides bloated, i do feel cramps coming on and off. Guess it is due to the oavries. Actually was quite worried to get OHSS as i had more than 20 eggs removed.

You were quite sad earlier, are you feeling better now... let's jia you together and go through the 2ww.

Hi Orangedots
Do you have the HCG jab before your ET? I had my ER on 16 Jul and had 24 eggs but didnt feel much bloatedness and etc, I am also wondering if I am normal... sign..

OHSS is a good sign cos its a sign of pregnancy. Now I dun have I also worry...

Hi Curl,

Had the HCG jab before ER. Currently not feeling a lot of bloatness but still having the cramps occasionally. It is quite uncomfortable once the cramps starts. Do u have that?

Haiz... i have the same thoughts as u today. Bloatness worry it is uncomfortable, not bloatness worry not pregnant. Guess there is nothing much we can do... Luckily have lots of eggs in freezer so hopefully if have to do FET next round, will not be so uncomfortable.

Hi Orangedots
I also dont have any cramps. May I know are you v slim? I read from books that slimmer pple get more prone to OHSS symptoms.

You are right, nothing much we can do at the moment. I am like you, I have HCG jab before ER.. but not before ET. I have some frens who have HCG before ET & by day 4 after ET, they already v uncomfortable. They told me the HCG jab after ET is no joke.... in fact, they stopped the jabs after they felt so horrible.

I read from another website that there is the late onset OHSS which is like 6-8 days after ET... Ya, I also so worried abt OHSS that I kept telling the doctor I dun want to get that. I even 'bargained' dosage with him so that I have 'fewer' eggs. I have 17 to freeze in the end out of 23 retrieved (sorry typo error on 24 last post) and 2 ET. How abt you?

When was your ET? Let's keep each other posted. Are you with Dr Loh from KK? I am with Gleneagles.

Hi PL,

i am not very slim, almost reaching the overweight scale already. I had my ER last thurs and ET last sat so should be safe already right? Unless suay suay get the late onset OHSS.

Don't know why i still get the cramps. It can be quite bad when it comes. I told the nurse when i go back KK and they say it is ok, normal. Guess will have to be careful and monitor myself.

i had 26 eggs retrived, 17 fertised and 15 frozen. Actually quite surprised to see so many eggs. My last scan b4 ER only has about 17. Yes, i am under Dr Loh so will have to take jabs everyday now till D18. How about you? Does Gleneagles have this practice too? When was your ET?

Hi Orangedots

I am like you! Not v slim and almost overweight type.. he he..

My ER was last Monday and ET was Thurs. For me, my last scan show almost 30 eggs and I immediately wanted a reduction in stimulation dosage, I dun want so many eggs cos scared OHSS. In the end I got 23.

At least you have some feelings, I dun even have cramp & etc. Today can feel a bit more bloated but still manageable, can wear office pants just v tight..on the tummy. BUt also maybe I eat & sleep, eat & sleep, so grow fat lor.

GE dun have this practice of jabs. What jabs are you having? I believe is progesterone, not HCG? Cos if its HCG, sure will feel horrible now. GE give the progesterone inserts twice daily but once you are tested positive, then go for progesterone jabs. Thats what I understand.

Is this your first IVF? Its the first for me. I had 2 pregnancies before via clomid & IUI last year. But I lost both of them. Cos I am in early 30s already, so I decided to do IVF so can freeze the egg early when still 'young eggs'.

Hi Orange, Curl, i want to join this thread soon! My ER is tml and ET on sat. Will be in 2ww along with you gals soon.

Orange, must go KK everyday to jab? What jab is that? Progesteron? Cant we collect and jab at clinics near our home?

Wow, so nice you gals have so many eggs. I think i have only 10 at most.

Hey gals, need abit of help here. Do you gals have discomfort over the ovaries after your HCG jab to mature the follicles? I having intermitten pains, alittle like ovulation pains. Could my eggs have ovulated on their own??? I sneezed a few times this AM. Maybe that has shook the ovaries alittle too hard and they ovulated on their own?? How ah?

Hi Curl,

yes, its progestrone. It's purpose is to thicken the womb lining and increase the chances of embroyes "sticking" onto the wall.

As for cramps and bloatness, well i guess different people will have different symptons. Started to have very bad back ache too since mon. Also dun understand why it has timing, it will start around 2 and last till the night.

Actually i also worry if there are too many pains and ache. I will tend to move around, shift my body, stretch to relief the pain. Wouldn't that make it more difficult for the embroys to stick better.... hiaz

yah... this is also my first IVF. Hopefully the many eggs left in the freezer will help in FET if this round fails

Hi Maple Babies

Dun worry about the follicles. They should be doing well. Sometimes the scanning may not reflect the actual follicles avilable. I remembered the nurse always say xx number of follicles plus some shadows. i also had more follicles than the number seen on the scans.

As for the progestrone, yes u will purchase all at 1 time at KK. Then u have the option to go back to KK for the jabs or do it at your GP. I think it is good idea to go back to KK on the first few days. The nurses can check on your condition and give u some advises.

ALl the best to your ER and ET!

Hi Orangedots
Good to hear from you. I also started to have mild backache, also only come in the nights.. like after dinner got some, then when I sleep at abt 1-2 am, i feel it like menses backache like that.

Maple babies
Dun worry, sneezing would not not cause emrbyos to fall out. But I read a book to say that if you can, press a pillow on your tummy when you sneeze to lighten the impact & I do that too.

Hi Curl,

Do you know of any ways to relief the back aches?

The only think i do now is rest with on sofa with a big pillow supporting the back. This only relief some of the pain only.

Thanks both!

Finally, my ER is done. But quite disappointing cos out of 17 follicles, i only had 8 eggs. Well, will accept it as God's plan that 8 is what he will give me. Hopefully, all 8 fertilised so that i may have some to freeze for future use. Hmmm ... my big day is on Sat. Hope to join u gals soon!

Hi Orangedots

When I have backpain, I will change my position & etc or get up to walk, then I feel better. Sometiems wonder if I lie down too much. As my pain is mild, I can still take it.

For me, I also bought a heat pack from OTO. You can bend a small piece of metal inside & the whole heat pack become crystallise & warm, then put on your back. I taught that to my fren who is pregnant but suffer backpain and she felt it helped.

I read that some of the reasons for backpain is that our ovaries move to the back after ER and sometimes hit the nerves causing backache.

How are you today beside backache. For me, the backache comes on & off. The bloating is till around but not severe.

Hi hi, i am in 2ww along with u gals now. Can anyone, esp those under Dr Loh at KKIVF, share during your ET, how many cells are your embryos already? 2 or 4 or more?

I also have backaches and stiff muscles due to bedrest so might walk around abit. Shd be fine rite? Since coughing/sneezing wont force out embies, walking about abit shd be fine hor?

Hi Curl,

Thanks for your advise. The OTO heat pack sounds like a good idea. Will consider buying it if really pregnant.

My back is no longer as painful as before. Now my body is back to normal. Only the tummy still a little bit tight and only slight bloated. How about you?

I read that most of the sisters who eventually get tested positive will feel bloated throughout he 14 days. hiaz... but i dun feel anything now leh... looks like must try another round...

Hi Maple Babies,

I under SF Loh too and my embies are 4 cells during ET. Is this the norm? Didn't ask the embroyist much as she only say they are of good quality.

I did walk around too after my ET. Even go out for my meals. But i do rest a lot in-between due to the back aches.

Orangedots
Just wanted to let you know my bloatedness has subsided too today but a bit muscle ache (like do 100 sit up), but it could be all the resting & etc that causes it.

But most imptly, I wanna share that I am 11 days post transfer today and tested positive! Both from home pregnancy kit and blood test. Cos I was running out of medication, I have to go clinic today and since I was positive from HPK, I wanted to do my bloodtest too, came back v strong positive! I just hope things can be fine. This is my 3rd pregnancy though first IVF.

Conclusion: We can have no symptoms but still positive.

Hi Curl,

Wah congratulations! Wishing u a smooth pregnancy!

I am only due for my bloodtest on D18, which is another 1 week wait. hmm... quite tempted to buy pregnancy kit to test too! :p

Hmm... No symptons but still positive... Hopefully it also works for me!

Hi Orangedots

I was having a v light line Day 6 past transfer, D8 past transfer is darker. But I think if u are abt 10 days past xfer, no harm peeing and see how.

curl u gave me so much hope...i am also in my 2ww n no symtpoms.. praying for a miracle baby
maple- let pray we are pregnant together. the clinic told me to check next sun only.. very tempted to check this wk end.. ha ha