IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Jeni,
Hope to hear more GOOD news from your Wed scanning. Jiayou!!
board-post.cgi

hi Stacy, i'm good. thanks. staining has stopped.

well i'm suffering :-( constant hunger and yet still no appetite. yet can put on weight. my face now so round!!! i just had fish poridge but i think the fish not so fresh today, feel like puking now... waiting for the pressure to build up. so uncomfy.

you also jia you! when is your test date?

Hi MSH,
thank you for your kind words and tips. I will make sure i dont pull the pen too soon tomorrow. Guess i just get worried over nothing. As you know the worry always there going through this treatment
. Can i ask whats the purpose of the egg white? I try to take eggs at least once a day just to build up my protein for the my eggs. How many weeks are your pg now? Are you with KKH as well?

rosebud, the seniors said the protein in egg white help to reduce bloating, like u say just try to build the protein level in the body so that after er, less bloating. also protein help in egg development i think. but i think most impt is water.

i'm now 8 weeks, and yes with kkh

MSH,
thats good news, so happy to read your success! Congratulations, maybe i missed your posts earlier on the thread since i just joined this thread also. Dont want to ask too many questions here i think i will read your earlier posts later. Is it true that you gonna have triplets? Thats wonderful news, i dont mind having twin or triplets either.

rosebud, i think triplets no joke. i was teling hubby we should have put in 2 embryos instead of 3 the other day. he scolded me. i'm quite scred actually, of the future, and finance. but i think walk one step, count one step la. now just trying to survive ms.... think about everything else later.

MSH,
My test date is next Monday. Now left with 6 jabs ( everyday countdown haha...)
I'm also very excited to know you've triplets. So Wonderful!!They can play together and you can teach them together.............
Must eat more lor! For the sake of them. MS will go off after 1st trimister
641854.gif

MSH, congrats on your triplets!!!! They say it is a lot of hardwork taking care of them but the happiness/joy you reap is much more than the extra work!
Since god gave u these 3 bundles of joy, i am sure you will be able to handle it! Which gynae are you seeing now in KKH?

Today is tiring in school....climbed up and down the stairs so many time....worried will be affected cos there will be sharp pain in lower abdominal for a few seconds....so had to slow down my walk. trying to take things easy....left school straight after 130pm.....a record for me!
Stacy, how u feeling.....*sigh* other than my tiredness and a few seconds of sharp pain....got nothing liow....
rose, don't worry about no feeling during the stim...dun think we can feel the follicles growing one lah. i had 42 growing and i din feel a thing. good luck on your 1st scan!

Hi! Dawn,
I feel bloated again.Hope it is not bcos I over-EAT haha...........
This morning went for injection at KKIVF and nurse asked me whether any bloatedness, maybe she noticed my tummy big again. She said it should be this way ,at this pt of time bloatedness should come back wan.Other than that, I dun have cramp, spotting,pimples,food craving..........
Just cross finger and pray hard
642679.gif
We are left with another 5 jabs.Hurray!!!Are you going to GP for jab?

Dear Stacy / Dawn
Counting down for you ladies!! Next mon is D DAY! Jia You
642695.gif

Stacy
I like your "kow tow" cartoon... very cute leh! Me down with stomache flu last week, thats why din appear here... Almost recovered liao... and of course tummy also vanish (temporarily) only lah...

AiYoh !Ashly,
No wonder you MIA.
Must take care , cos weather is bad. No copyright wan, you can copy the icon if your like.
642710.gif

Stacy
I so "gan tong" (touched) that i'm being missed leh... heh... heh... "thick skin" hor?!

Oh yah, can chk wif u if u took birth cntrl pills b4 starting lucrin? Apparently, i'm suppose to start taking them once AF reports...
U hang in there okay... only hv to "tahan" 5more days!!

Hi MSH,
Ya, me also wan the secret formula lah...

Just a little update for myself.
Went for a scan & bloodtest yesterday.
The result is not so good, need to continue lucrin for another week.
Also, there is a cyst in my left ovary...
Just continue and see how next week scan & bloodtest result...

MSH,
i can understand your worry. I know to have triplets is not easy, involved alot of hardwork and money. But still at this stage while we are still trying to get pg, it just sounds so good tehehe

Atlas,
yay.. how was your first injection? do you use the pen also?

Stacy,
i hope your tummy big because the baby is now there, think positive!

Dawn,
thanks, i guess you're right. I always worry about things, i know its not good for me but i cant help it
nono.gif
. (Sigh) i dont know how i will react when i am on my 2ww lol!! Take it easy at work, too tired is not good for you. Rest as much as you can okay.

Ashly,
hope you're feeling better!

Rose

Will go down to collect the pen later. How do you find the pen? Besides it's convenience, is there any other advantages as compared to non-pen type?

Synergy
Did not hear about the cyst thing from you yesterday. It should be temporary. Also read before from another posting that even there is cyst, it can be removed at the same time when they do the er. Not to worry, treatment will proceed as planned. Jia you.

Hi Atlas,
The nurse gave me the pen in KKH, but i dont know if they will take it back once i am done with the stims though. Ladies from KKH, do they take it back? otherwise i can keep it as souvenir tehehe. I cant exactly tell which one is better the pen or the normal syringe. With the pen i dont really like the click sound of the pen when i pull or push it. And sometimes the knob is a little hard to push while the needle stick on my tummy, so its a bit of struggle for me. And now i have bruises all over my tummy, but i dont really care its all for the good cause

Synergy,
hopefully the cyst will go away after another week of lucrin, sometimes it doesnt but as Atlas was saying it can be removed during ER. So dont worry.

Ashly,
So Paiseh, just now didn't see your posting. I wen to
643124.gif

I was not given any contraceptive pills leh. Is this used to regulate your coming menses? Maybe other buddies can help to answer you.

Rose, the nurse didn't ask the pen back from me. Poor gals. You must be painful with all the bruises.Most likely, it has hit the vein. Maybe you can try to hold up/pinch lightly the area you wan to inject, so it will go into your your 1st layer of fats/muscle. Anyway, No pain No gain!

Hi Rose
Thanks for your well-wishes! Feeling much better altho my tummy still gives out loud noises... so embarrassing, esp this morning when i was in a meeting and my tummy rumblings were louder than the chairperson of the meeting
643262.gif

Hope u'll have less "marks" as u progress on the Puregon pen. I never dare to do it on my own, always HB does it for me... can't bear to see the needle going in

Stacy
Its ok thanks! Maybe becos' i'm a "PCOS-ian" thats why hv to take BCP to control AF...
So envious of u... can sleep soundly in this nice weather... me trying to master the art of sleeping wif my eyes open *sigh*
643277.gif

Ashly,
My hb is afraid of needles. He doesnt dare to give me the injection, in the end i have to do it myself. But i think its okay to do it myself i know where the needle go and i can control the pain, so no problem. Hubby only help me to take out the syringe and the drugs from the fridge hahaha.

Ladies, do your hb asked to take antibiotic before ER?

Rose
Thats so brave of you! Well, at least your HB is involved in "part of the process"

i don't know if my HB needs to take antibiotic but dr loh has prescribed him Vit E to take for the past 2mths, so i can't really help with your query...

My hubby and I intend to do IVF as we have already have 3 failed IUI previously. Have some queries regarding IVF-ICSI, hope anyone of you will be able to advise me...

Me thinking of choosing between Dr SF Loh from KKH or Dr L C Cheng from TMC. Is it true that TMC has simplified procedures(less injections etc) for IVF? Roughly wat is the IVF-ICSI cost for both hospital? Thks.

Hope will be able to join you ladies as cycle budies very soon...in the meantime, good luck to anyone here!

Hi Dream,
both kkh and tmc have long and short protocol, it depends on your doctor. the costs in kk is from 5k-10k n tmc is 10-15k, it depends on your protocol and dosage.I tried both long n short protocol , as well as kk n tmc. personally, i prefer kk, if you dont mind the waiting. i find the doctors and nurses in kk to be more professional. the only cons in kk is that once you start stimulation,your u/s scan is done by the sonographer afterwhich the resident doctor will bring your file to your doctor for comments, so you dont get to see your doctor at all, you only get to see your doc during the 1st consultation, er n et. the lab also play a very important part besides the doctor. u may want to consult both doctors before u decide. see who you are more comfortable with. remember, there is no guarantee to ivf, be prepared to try ivf more than once. so be emotionally and financially prepared. good luck! hope to hear your good news!

Hi Dream

Welcome to this thread. I was with LC in Sept and did consider to do IVF with him. I think he has gone through with you the procedure for IVF in TMC right? They call it short protocol, means we start the surpression jab on our CD2 and the whole process is only abt one month. Eggs Transfer ("ET") will be after 3 days of Eggs Retrival ("ER").

His quotation is S$13k, everything inclusive.

KKH is practising long protocol, which we start lucrin (surpression) on CD21 and will jab for 2 to 4 weeks, depends on individual scan results. After that 7 to 10 days of stimulation period, please note that ET is only 2 days after ER.

The cost for KKH is abt 7k to 8k. But no matter you are with KKH or TMC, the important factor to determine for the cost is the usage of stimulation drugs that we need.

The cost above are before deduction of medisave.

One thing you might want to take into consideration is KKH mc is only 5 days (from ER date) while for TMC, mc will be given up to 2 to 3 weeks.

Hope the above clear.

hi dream,
just to let u know , i have tried both long and short protocol in tmc. i have also tried both long and short protocol in kk. in all, i went thru 4 fresh icsi n i fet in both hospital but all bfn. i understand most patients in tmc are put on short protocol and most patients in kk go on long protocol. but the doctors will decide on the protocol depending on individual condition.
anyway,the cost i have quoted you are based on personal experience not based on estimate. never trust estimates!

Hi Rose,

FYI, husband was given antibiotics to be taken b4 ER. I (wife)was also given antibiotics after ER.

Dream,
Hope to see you soon in our cycle buddies thread.

Hi gals, felt depressed this evening cos i felt too well during the day. No pains/cramps, no tiredness, no bloatedness, no painful breast/nipples...and could zoom around at my normal speed unlike yesterday. now have to wish my bloatedness and ohss comes back as it is a sign of preggy?

ashly and rose, the antibiotics give to hubby before ER is to ensure the sperm are free of bacteria/infection.

Hi Ashly & Rose,
When I called KK on Mon to check my result, that nurse only told me result not so good.
Then, the next day morning, Ms Chan from KK called me again to inform my result, then I ask her how about my scan, any cyst or not, then only she told me left side got cyst...

Hi Dawn,
poor thing, sorry to hear you are feeling down, i know this is part and parcel of doing this treatment. Its normal to feel this way, one minute you're okay and the next minute you're depressed. Be strong and dont think too much of the symptoms, none of it doesnt mean you're not preggo okay. Hang in there.

Hello Dream,
welcome! Guess everyone here has given you the clear picture of the cost. I agree the protocol depends on the individual condition, you will be advised when you have your appt which one is best suit you. May i know what is your diagnose?

Stacy,
how are you feeling?

Synergy,
sorry about the cyst. Do they say anything about the treatment, do they want you to continue with lucrin? I know you must be upset and I hope you will be able to decide on what to do next. Some patients prefer to cancel the cycle than continue because they may not get the desired result. Its up to you, let me know how you're doing and what you decide to do.

Rose

Synery
If u r worried abt the cyst, why not drop dr loh an email and ask him if it'll affect your cycle? Perhaps he can address your worries, if not, u hv to "tahan" till next wk for your nxt scan to see if it has disappeared... oh dear, i can understand your feelings... pls keep us posted
643977.gif

Dawn,
Dun be depress and upset. No symptom doesn't mean not ++. Cos I checked with the nurse for not having any other symptoms than bloatedness, she said some preggie ladies have no symptom at all. So you still stand a chance.Who knows symptoms can come to you anytime!! Things dun look good on my side, as today I'm so worried abt ohss and the nurse said if I get serious have to see DR.

Rose,
Thanks for your concern. Yesterday nite, couldn't sleep well, due to bloatedness.Have to turn to side sleeping and still not comfortable.Today I must drink more fluid, hopefully feel better. I just came back from injection (left 4)
, think I need to catch up my sleep now. Whole morning I act like sotong,very clumsy.....

yesterday was not feeling well, didn't feel like loggin on, so many psots!

well, there is no secrets leh, in fact i was very sure i din strike cos i had no bloating, no craving, no nite pee as most gals have, even now. just behappy. like i said above. at least drink lots of water, to reduce te discomfort of bloating, i think although no bloating, i was a bit worried, hubby and i were more pleased with my 2ww condition, cos i was stil able to go out, take bus to kkh during 2nd week of 2ww for jabs, and life was quite normal. compared to my first attempt, i think i didn't take enough water then, tummy bloated until i couldn't stand straight, then got gastric pain some more... whole 2ww was torture. this time round, maybe more bochap and more comfortable healthwise, so time pass faster. slept alot, almost whole day and whole nite.

synergy, as for your cyst, don't worry about it, i had it too. it'd usu go away with lucrin. even if it doesn't it doesn't affect the egg growing i think, else kkh will not give go ahead to proceed without scannign again to make sure it had gone away b4 asking us to start puregon.

rosebud, my ppen knob also got stuck a few times, when get stuck, if u use force, u'd feel pain at injection site cos u edxert yourself, i find it help if hubby can do the pressing for you. my hubby too didn't dare to poke for me, but when the know get stuck, he'd help me press it down, sometimes easier from another angle.

dawn, do take a rest, go slow on your work, take care and don't be depressed. stay cheerful.

good luck to all of you who are trying now and soon! baby dust to all!

Hi Rose, Ashly,
Dont't worry about me, I will be fine even if I cannot continue the programme..
I already resign, if really cannot continue, might go and look for job, then take a break...

Stacy,
Y u become Panda soon?Hahaha...
If my next week scan ok, will start end Jan
I hope so...

Did anyone experience backache during lucrin?
Since yesterday, I feel a little ache leh...

Synergy,
i do suffer some backache while on lucrin, i think its one of the side effect. As you know lucrin shut down your ovaries make you like menopause and for menopausal people usually have backache
. Hope that helps. Hope you can go ahead with the treatment.

Ashly, Wow! So fast har. You already used that icon. When will your turn? I need to do countdown for you too.Jiayou!
644564.gif

Synergy, Dun give up yet! SYNERGY have strong POWER. REcharge yourself 1st and make another comeback.YES. You will make it!!

HI everybody,
went for my scan and it is a singleton!
Both my DH and me are very happy!
Dr Loh said it is as good as it can be and being nausea is a good sign. Can't see much as it is still very small but can see the heart beating... quite cute. Anyway, I am glad that everything is fine but dr loh said still need to be careful as it is still not stable.

Thank you Stacy!
I am waiting for your good news, ok?
Dawn too...
not to worry about lack of symptons as if you are pregnant, you are still st a very early stage of pregnancy that you may not feel anything yet...
Dr Loh told me yesterday that we are considered 2 weeks pregnant on the day of ET... hence still very early ok?
Like now, I am 6 weeks and the nausea is getting worse... slowly, it will come...
So, Dawn, stay positive! Enjoy your 'normal' self while you can!!!

Jeni
CONGRATS!! Now u hv more reasons to go for sales/shopping trips... heh... heh... Do take care while walking around those kiddies in school...

Stacy
how r u feeling? Counting down... just 4 more days!! yeah!!
645612.gif

i was asked to call KKIVF once my AF reports in Feb so tt i can take bcp (contraceptive pills) b4 starting on lucrin...

Hi Miracle, Koala, Stacy, Rosebud,

Thanks for the valuable info you've given, it will certainly help me in my decision making.

Miracle - you mentioned in kkh, once you start stimulation,your u/s scan is done by the sonographer afterwhich the resident doctor will bring your file to your doctor for comments and we don't get to see your doctor at all, until the 1st consultation etc. Will this be the same if from the start I choose to see a fixed doc, say
Dr S F Loh? Thought it will always be the doc who does the ultrasound? Btw, wat is the meaning of "bfn"?

Koala - I haven't go to see any doc at TMC or KKH yet. My previous IUIs was done by outside gynae, not under under Infertility centre.

Rosebud - I was told by my previous gynae that I have mild PCOS eventhough I have very regular menses every mth. My hubby was diagnosed to have low percentage of normal sperm...only 3% normal.

Hi Ladies - For 1st visit, can I go anytime of the cycle or must it be say between CD2-CD5 etc?
For those of you who was under LC Cheng or SF Loh now or previously, are they nice doc or the impatient type?

I hope to go for my 1st visit by Feb, dun wan delay too long. Quite excited and worried as well, so trying to find out more...thks everybody for reading and answering my queries.

Take care everybody!

Hi Hi everybody,

Jus one more thing to confirm...so KKH got use pen injectors also?...thought only TMC use...is it much easy than using non-pen type to inject??

Ashly,
OIC, you're going to start in Feb. So you are still on time to have "little piglets" lor, as next year Chinese horoscope is "piggy".
Thanks for your concern. Yesterday I drowned myself with H2O, thinking maybe I dun drink enough so I had bloatedness, but then my stomach really cannot take in any more and almost explode after dinner time.I think I'm so silly to do this to me, confirmed bloatedness has nothing to do water intake.Anyway, all the while I've been drinking alot, more than 2l. Yesterday doubled intake. Now I should try egg white, hopes can help.
646045.gif
I've left with 3 jabs, last jab on Sunday and test on Monday. Think it comes too fast.

Dream,
never mind about the quality of your hubby's sperms as most probably you will have to do IVF/ICSI like me... nothing diff only the way that they fertilised the eggs after ET. I am under Dr Loh and he is a nice doctor so far and helpful with questions posed to him via email.

Stacy and Dawn,
the other day, I received a cheque for the refund from medisave and I got about $1730. So in the end, I only paid about $1300 + - cash for the whols fresh cycle (1st cycle).