IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Jeni, I also praying i will be preggie, but hubby kept telling me not to have too high a hope cos he doesn't want me to be disappointed, crashing down from high hopes will prob make me very depress for a few days and he will suffer too.

I teaching a new P5 class next year.
just sent off my batch of P6s this year. how about u?

Thanks Ashly for your encouragment. Do enjoy your long holidayzz and share your jokes with me.OKIE!@?

Dawn and Jeni,
Today I dun feel so much bloated, only feel bloated after food.So much urine! My terrible cough is back due to the cold weather. The progesterone jabs have caused some degree of pulling sensation around the waist line, and countdown for another 14 jabs.

Dawn,
so you are an upper primary teacher. I am a lower primary teacher and they gave me double math... the school is not very considerate and I am quite disappointed with them.... anyway, can't expect them to be understanding as they always say, school needs come first...
Keep praying, I am sure it will help but you must also stay positive, ok?

Stacy,
just don't think aboout the jabs and it will pass quite fast. I remembered someone said before that the jabs made her sleepy so the time passed fast for her... u too?
Anyway, take care of yourself and monitor your breathing as Cat also had breathing problem last time and was admitted to hospital due to excess fluid in the lungs I think...

Just take care gals, ok?

Hi gals, today i din feel bloated in the morning but afternoon and night very very bloated leh. Kept burping. In fact i look like a 3 or 4 month pregnant woman with a visible bulge....i hope the bloatedness will slowly reduce! Jeni, do you have any bulge in tummy now?

Stacy , alot of urine is good leh. cos it is washing out all the hormones. I drink alot but urine always not much, even though i feel bladder full. Aiyoh, your cough back? must take care....when i cough i can feel pain in my lower abdominal, i think cos i had 5 stitches in my ovary. take more vitamin C. The progesterone jabs coz my both thighs to be blue black leh....
so sad. very painful, like kena punch and it is oni 3 days. haha...i am like you, looking at all my bottles counting down, still got 14 bottles....ouch!

Double math + english? that will be heavy. or juz double math only? math has lots of marking daily! Maybe they din know you in family way liow, that is why gave u such a heavy load. Talk to your supervisor or Principal?

Dawn.
my tummy is slightly bloated and I burp a lot too...

I am taking double Math + Eng... unfortunately, they know and yet.... what to do

Hi Buddies,

Happy New Year To all ! May the new year bring us joy, peace and a lot of babies.... Yeah..

Best Regards
Koala

Happy New Year ladies and Baby Dust to All!!!

Been a long time since I last log in to this thread and I did miss alot.

Both my twins are doing fine and they measured at 6mm and 4mm during my last scan on the 20th Dec, it's so amazing to see their heart beat even though they only stand an average of 6.4 weeks during that time. I didn't have any m/s and I also eat like a glutton. My tummy has such a big bump that sales assistant in shops tot that I'm 5 mths pregnant.

I agreed with Jeni that we have to drink lots of water during 2WW. If u can't tahan plain water, u can try to drink ribena. My breathing during my 2ww was so bad that even climbing out of bed to toilet and back to bed will make me pant & pant. Cough makes the whole thing worse with lungs in water. No medication was given to me although my bloodtest during 20th Dec shows that my lungs are not fully recovered. My next blood test and scanning would be on 19th Jan. Till then my hubbby and I would be able to see our 2 little "cashew nuts" again.

Any ladies here embaking into IVF programme need extra lucrin needles? I have about 10 over pieces left and would like to give it away.

Interested party pse PM me.

Jeni,
The jab REally made me very sleepy and I always sleep for 2-3hrs after comgin back from the jab. This morning, I woke up late, quickly ate 2 eat white and took the antibiotics/folic acid. I vomitted terribly in my DH's car and when I reach 24hrs clinic, vommited all the egg white out again. Very "Lang-Bei"! I think I mixed the wrong food with the medicine.

Dawn,
Are you in the 24hrsclinic today? I've seen a few ladies who did ER/ET on the same day waiting there.Why you have blue black on thighs? Are your injection on thighs? Mine is done on buttock, which need consent form. Injection is not painful (cos I've fatty butt) , but it is the after-effect, like some sort of pulling sensation lasted for quite long, can be on-off. I dun know abt the no. of stitches I have during ER. Got tell you ha? Really must take more vitamins for recovery.

Hi gals!

Catherine...must be so fascinating to see the heartbeats of your twins! oh wow, look like 5 month pregnant? i look quite bloated too, like almost 3 to 4 months bloated. Maybe i am on the slim side so the tummy very obvious. Wednesday when i go to school to teach, sure got a lot of questions to answer. how to convice pple i am not preggie with such a bloated stomach? And hubby says i look like a pregnant woman liow...walking so slowly.

Jeni, if really cannot take it, take MC lor, like what you say, bb(ies) is/are more impt! hee hee. And do let ur supervisor know lor....when they plan the timetable, most prob it is in early/mid dec, would not have known that your are preggie liow!

Stacy, i went to the 24 hrs clinic both yesterday and today since hubby not working can drive me around. I went to see the doc on duty at the 24hr clinic yesterday cos i had very bad gastric pain at night. The doc is a Medical officier, very inexperienced, like just graduated, alot of things unsre....*sigh*, so din help much. The nurse there enthusiastically wants to do Pregnancy test for me....I was like "huh?".....this is only 3 days after ET...test sure be negative. Jeni, i think they like to do Preg test leh...that is why last time they do so early for you!

Stacy, I had my jabs on thighs....only one of them can see a big blue black....the rest can feel the soreness but no visible blue black. I scared jab on buttock hit nerves leh. Today i was in blue blouse and blace/brown skirt....yesterday was in same skirt but purple blouse. Shoulder length hair, tied up.
Think u din see me today lah, cos when i went (very late, almost 10am), all unfamiliar faces...yesterday when i went (around 9am), i saw 4 IVF couples that looked very familiar. Oh, u threw up today? Maybe it is a side effect? I also feel nauseous today leh....dun feel good. any gals experienced this? hope it is not ohss getting serious....

Dawn,
Hi. Don't worry abt yr bloatedness and the questions those "kay-po" pple that will start to ask u. Just tell them u have lots of wind in the stomach recently and thus cos the bloatedness. That's what I said to some of them whom I didn't want them to know that I went thru IVF. U know, sometimes in the office, pple tend to gossips and start to spread things that are not suppose to be.

Thanks Catherine! now thinking of what clothes to wear...think most of my pants cannot button liow.

Stacy, how are u feeling? Yestterday, i couldn't eat much and yet vomitted at night. It was horrible.... Gastric pain still very bad in the middle of the night...have to wake up hubby to make milo for me and then take some pain killer...

Dawn,
Your gastric pain must be very severe. Think we have to check with KKIVF for the side effects tomolo. Try to have light meal and avoid drinking milk. I'm okay today. I woke up early, and asked my mum to prepare for me sandwiches to eat b4 medicine. Yesterday nite also not sleeping well, always cough at nite and till now dare not to anyhow take cough syrup. Last time after my 2nd scanning for follicles, did asked the DR at KKIVF for cough syrup and was given 2 bottles. Already finished all b4 ER. So scared that self medication will affect our implantation. I think it is best to consult KKIVF first. Despite many of our buddies commented well on the grades of our embies( that realy motivating), but i think the most impt factor now is implatation. Sometimes I worry are they still inside?? Do they like to stay there??Why no feeling har?!@#
Do you feel the same?
The nurse at 24hrs clinic is very funny! Only 3-4 days after Et, test what pregnancy? Today I went there for injection and the nurse warned me there will be risk to jab on buttock and it may result in paralyse. So scary!Last time, the nurse at kKIVF only make me sign on the consent form and told me there is a spastic nerve there, so must be careful when injecting. I think I have to double -clarify with them tomolo.
633415.gif

Hope you get better today
633416.gif

Stacy, Hope your cough will clear up soon.....
i also got the same concern....cannot feel any cramps or anything there....like machiam not done ET like that...i also wonder how to know the Embies still here? *sigh* except for the bloatedness...which is a solid proof i have gone through ET and ER...hiaks!
Think we must stay positive...hopefully the embies are still there! They must like our uterus lah....we go to KKH to jab everyday to make the uterus more sticky (comfy) for them leh, so hee hee.....hopefully they no complain.

Is it the very stern nurse at 24hour woman clinic today?
don't worry lah, there is a risk, but the nurses there are quite experienced, should be quite safe. What time were u there today? I was there around 10 am again. Thinking of taking MC tomolo as i am still very bloated and having gastric pain. And also let the KKIVF nurses check tomolo better. I trust them. The 24hr clinic doctor (MO) like dunno much about IVF one.... I told her i was given antibiotics after ER to take and asked her if it will clash with the medicine she going to give......she asked why IVF give me anti-biotics...i was like...huh i tot that was a standard procedure?

during my 2ww, I didn't have any inkling whether my embies were still there too as I don't have the implantation spotting that some ladies talked about, only a body of pimples towards the about 12 - 13 days, so don't frighten yourselves, ok? Stay positive!

Like now, I don't feel anything also, just occasionally cramp and the frustrated feeling of feeling unwell and slight nausea... I also worry whether by next Wed I do my scan, he/she or they is/are still there or not or normal or not.. haiz... so you will have worries at every stage, even after they are born.
So stay positive , ok?

From what you gals have talked about the 24hr clinic, I think they have a habit of asking pple to do the pregnancy test even though we told them that we are IVF patients... Is it because they want to earn the pregnancy test money? I mean they even asked Dawn to do the test on the 3rd day of ET...don't they know? Don't they communicate with the IVF centre? Money is not the issue here but like what I had gone through that time, when I saw the -ve result of the urine test at the 24hr clinic, I was devastated and didn't know what to do, at a loss and that further added on to my stress!! Only when I called up KKIVF and the nurses there assured me that it was too early to do the pregnancy test (and a urine test instead of blood testwhich is more accurate and sensitive)I think they have to take note of that... it is not good for us esp if we are already enduring and dealing with all the side effects and so on...

Jeni, it is comforting to hear that we can't feel/know if the embies are fine. I suppose we can't help it but be worried at every stage. It is especially daunting now when we need to go for daily jab, go through the emotion stress plus for me...i have been not feeling well...lost my appetite these 2 days, threw up again juz now, feeling very very bloated, measured my waist line...it went up to 33 inch from 27 inch!!! wonder why i am putting myself through all these......thanks for the encouragement.... trying to stay positive.....

you are right about the 24hr clinic....think they really dunno anything about IVF procedures. When registering to see the doc, in fact we have to fill in a form with the help of a nurse right? The form asks us to confirm that we are not preggie???? really difficult to answer this qn for IVF patients.

Dawn,
I think we really have to feed back to KKIVF in regard to this discrepancy. It is important as KKIVF is not open the whole day and whenever there's an emergency, the nurses always tell us to go to 24hr clinic. If the clinic cannot assist us in the best possible way, then why go there in the first place when we could have gone to somewhere else that may be more helpful and also able to help us un time, which is the most important. Otherwise, a lot of "heartbreaks" will continue to happen.

Dawn/ Stacy

hmm... it is gald that to know that so far both of you are ok in your 2WW. (Esp Dawn, I am quite worry for you)

No symptoms NOT equal to no pregnancy and
Got symptoms NOT equal to pregnancy.

Dun let the "symptoms" to confuse you, ok?

Enjoy your 2WW, buddies. Wait for you to bring us the first two good news in 2007 !

Hi buddies, updated list in 2007,

Stacy - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)(Promoted to 2WW)
Dawn -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec 2006)(Promoted to 2WW)
Synergy - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Dec/Jan 2007)
Moonfairy - ivf/icsi/TMC/Dr LC Cheng Dec06/Jan2007)
Rose -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec/Jan 2007)
Atlas - ivf/icsi/NUH/Dr PC Wong (Dec/Jan 2007)
Bodhi - ivf/CARE/Dr C.F Koh, (Mt.E) (Jan/Feb 2007)
Koala-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Jan/Feb 2007)
Yvonne - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Jan/Feb 2007)
Ashly -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Feb/Mar 2007)

Bodhi

Are you going to do u\icsi too?

Atlas/Synergy

I have added your name in .

Don't know how is Moonfairy?

Dear cycle buddies
A very HAPPY NEW YEAR to all of you... May all the buddies here be blessed with lotsa baby dust in 2007
634337.gif

Hi Stacy
How was your New Year countdown with DH? You coping ok with the jabs? Good grief, i dare not think about the jabs yah... i prob "peng sang"...

Jeni
How hv u been? Taking leave from work? Yah... agree wif u, your priority are your little one(s) inside, even if your school is not that supportive u'll prob need to "sacrifice" your leave to a smooth 1st trimester...
I've started taking Dr Toh's medicine... will be taking until my next AF comes, cos' she's worried about my PCOS + thin lining problem, so doing some "preparation" (heh... heh...)

Hi! Ashly,
Great to know you are back. How's your trip??
I slept early on New Year EVE as not in the rt mood to enjoy anything. Luckily I feel much better, can say already resume to my normal self now. I can eat well and walk fast. That few days after ER and ET, just like another version of"Liang-Poh-Poh", walked like an old lady and behaved like one. Yesterday, went out shopping and felt very awkward, especially when looked into the mirror."Aiyoh!" I became Fei-Poh already!Not as brave as Dawn, dare not to measure my waist line, sure more than 30 inches. 50% of the clothes in my wardrobe guaranteed cannot wear now. Daily jab is not that tough, but when think of the side effect and whether worth doing all these really "tiring". Sometimes just put aside the worries and continue with the journey, but sometimes the mind still wander.. Not easy...
I've started injection since 21 Nov, and last jab is on 14 Jan.The whole thing last more than 1 month plus, going 2 months(longer than usual).The injection is not painful,as I always tell the nurse"Painless". maybe I have more fats, but come to the sensation cause by jab, must endure lor. So dun worry much abt the jabs. If you are like me, lots of fats. I think still endurable la...hehe...

634410.gif

Dawn,
I'm back from Bldtest and injection. Hope your gastrice get better!
I reached there at 7.40am, only a few early birds. VEry fast leh!

Jeni,
I clarified with nurse about the side effect of injecting the bums, and the nurse at KKIVF said no such thing abt body paralyze, only when it hits nerve will cause numbness(temp). I think it is so difficult to trust 24hrs clinic. Wait until I finished the whole process, sure shoot email to tell DR Loh abt this.

hui,

FET is quite simple, there are 2 ways of doing it, naturally or with medication help, depends where you do FET, I done mine in NUH and I have got ovulation problem, so dr gave me clomid to help in ovulation, if you do it naturally, meaning you just wait for menses to come, then on Day 10 start to scan for ovulation, the day you ovulated, 3 days later (if your is day 3 embryos) dr will do a ET into you and then after that, they will give you inserts of progesterone to take home and insert everyday (no need daily injection) and after 16 days, you do blood test for pregnancy, as simple as that, however if you got ovulation problem and do not have any follicles or do not ovulate, then that cycle you cannot do ET, you need to wait for the next cycle again. Basically your body needs to prepare itself for the embryos to be transfer in, therefore every mth when you ovulated, instead of having sex to fertilise your egg, you wait for 3 days since you already have fertilised egg (which is your day 3 embryos) you put it in but if you do not ovulate, your body did not tell your uterus to prepare the linning for pregnancy then your linning is not thick enough or your hormone is not good enough for pregnancy then putting in the day 3 embryos is useless too. Hope you understand what I am trying to say. Do not give up, though FET chances are slimer than fresh cycle but not by alot, it is still higher than IUI and only about 10% lesser than fresh cycle.

hui,

about HSG, doing FET do not require you to do any test but sometimes when you fail fresh cycle or if you have not done any tests before embarking on IVF, the dr might want to double check if you have problem implanting, that's why they suggest you do a HSG or sono saline test to see any small cyst or scarring on the wall of the uterus, through HSG, a dye is pump thru your tube to see if it flow thru, patent or not (if your tube are not blocked, it shd be patent, dye will flow thru) and when the x-ray are taken, dr will use that to see your uterus smooth or not too. During HSG, they will put a catheter into your vagina and pump in liquid dye, takes about 10 to 15 mins in all, discomfort comes from when they pump in the dye, some experienced pain, some just discomfort but after the procedure, you should be fine, will have some staining, that's very normal.

Yvonne,
thanks for your info

very clear.. that means is just scanning then if everything ok doc will do FET for you..Actualli i done my fresh cycle on sept'06 and success now preg n EDD in June'07. am thinking goin for FET on sept'07 since i left with 7 future little ones(Embryos)

wow today the thread really busy!
Kai Gong liow ah? (open work) hee hee...

Jeni, how;s your first day in school? hee hee.. i miss school leh!

Koala and Ashly, din see u all for some time.... good to see both of you back on the thread! Ashly how's the hols in malaysai?
My gastric still very bad at night but i have gotten the hang of quickly making a cup of hot milo the moment i feel the sharp pain, then pop one panadol with it, then i can go back to sleep. Still quite bloated, today nurse press my stomach, was very hard...also got blue black near the belly button dunno why. My OHSS must have gotten worse over the public hols, when my urine really reduced alot even though i was drinking alot of water. I told the doctor at 24hr clinic, thinking they could give me some medication to help me and instead, their diagnosis is i have UTI!!! I really lost confidence in this KK 24hr clinic, anything problem better wait and refer to KKIVF clinic.

Stacy, wow u are early leh! i was only there about 840am, quite alot of pple. After the progesterone jab by nurse sarah at 9am and taking the progesterone blood test, i was told to wait and see the doctor cos my symptoms sound quite bad. (cant eat anything, throwing up whatever little food i trying to get in,diarrhea, gastric) She also took another blood test to determine if i need to be warded (to put on drip) so asked me sit around and wait. Luckily blood test came out okay, so i was just given 3 days MC to rest at home with some anti-vomitting medicine and even stronger gastric pain medicine. Wow u still can go to shopping? peifu peifu...i walk very very slowly, like pregnant woman liow. Monday went to Plaza Sing GNC to get the protein drink which some gals said will help to reduce the bloatedness, i can't even make myself shop other places, so wasted.

Hui, you are my Ou Xiang! Haven't give birth, oredi thinking of next one!!!
Very far sighted, hee hee. How many children are you planning to have?

Dear Stacy
I must really SALUTE u like those parade contingent saluting to the president(in NDP parades)!!! almost 2 months of daily jabbing! I will be grateful if i can walk like "liang po po" after all those jabs... problem is i forsee myself like in ICU(coma) after all the jabs!

My KL trip was quite enjoyable lah... abeit too rush... my HB speed like "speedy monster" along the highway. The countdown in KL city was quite exciting, problem is: TOO CROWDED! Weather was cool, no rain + sun... and lotsa of sales

Hi Dawn
Rest well during these 3 days okay... b4 u know it, it will be the weekend again and at least your DH can keep u company... Jia You okay!!
My KL trip too short lah... but good enough for a weekend... ate like a mad woman there cos' i scared when my turn to cycle, lots of things cannot eat like... my HB said i'm just like those "break from Hell ghost"
634606.gif

Ashly

You went KL? Never mind lah, 3 days more than enuf leh.. I like KL foods but now not so safe, so hubby said dun go... sigh.

I also like to eat nowadays, put on a lot even before the treatment start.

Koala,
Oh Really! You put on alot. I always joke with Ashly about being"PUi Pui" so by then you will qualify to join our club. Dun worry
! Xtra Fatss will add more cushion to your coming injections.heheee.....
634749.gif

Hi Hui
You are most welcome! I don't think i help u as much as Yvonne did... heh... heh...
Hope u r enjoying your pregnancy and i "salute" u for wanting to have more kids... i don't think i hv the stamina to hv more than 1... heh... heh...
Do drop by here and advise us "juniors" okie... Thanks!
634751.gif

Stacy

This is the good way to think +ve.. ha ha. When I have dinner with Bodhi, Synergy and Atlas on last Friday, they said to me, oh... u have to eat more, if not how to carry more than 1 ? When I told my hubby this, he really fainted.. ha ha

Dear Koala
Aiyoh... don't worry abt too "pui" okie... right now, i eat all those food that i want to eat... wait sekali cannot eat during the cycle, i very "cham"... what to do... i so greedy. Evident from my size right?! Heh... heh...
ACtually, i find KL quite "safe" leh, slightly safer than JB (in my opinion lah)... maybe becos' i was in those "touristy" areas like KLCC, Bk Bintang etc... even their famous Chinatown was ok lor... i dare not bring any sling bag, just chuck the cash into my front pocket. Then of course, i held on tightly (& dearly) to HB for protection lah... heh... heh...

Wah... the food is really CHEAP and GOOD lor... i really heck care the calories + oil... just gobble. How was your long weekend? Workload still heavy??

Dear Stacy
I really hope my "fats" will help me wif the jabs leh... if not, i cnfm ICU liao... if the fats can really cushion, then i won't be that terrified also...
oh yah, are you still taking egg whites everyday??

Ashly

Ya, me still busy. now planning the leave if I am start my IVf for Feb cycle, so Er and ET will be on last 2 weeks in March. So now look forward to it. Ha ha..

KL foods, laksa, "hei mi", wanton mee, all are nice.

The long weekend i clear all my "s" size top and dresses out, TWo BIG bags, due to my promotion to "M".. hee hee.

Koala
Oh i c... so u plan to take leave during your 2WW is it??
I met Dr Loh last wed and at the sametime, went for counselling + consent form, 1st time HB went wif me to KKH and he commented that Clinic D really crowded like polyclinic... heh... heh...
Oh yah, we also took all the req'd blood tests liao... results all cleared also... i was afraid about the rubella jab cos' so many years ago, dun know if the antibodies still there...
Nevermind abt your old clothes, can buy new ones liao...

Ashly

I will only be sigining on 17 Jan, dun koe y scheduled soooo long since last Oct. But never mind lah.

Next time when u preggie, u can change to TPS, wah lau, the environment there very nice, like a hotel lobby. Totally diff from clinic D.

Koala
Okie... thanks for the suggestion!
Oh yah, how was your dinner last fri with Bodhi and the rest? Did u gals chatted for a long time?

Ashly

Ya, we chat until 10.20 p.m....until the rest closed. My Hubby "compliant", Wah, see ppl first time, talk soo long already... ha ha ha...

Koala
Understand-able lah... i think i'll also be like that... that night, i had dinner with girlfriends and we "yak" until 10pm! The waitress had to come and tell us that they are closing... so "malu"... She must be thinking... a bunch of "jabber-jaws"! heh... heh...