IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Thanks Jeni,Rose,Bohdi,Ashly, MSH and Atlas
628813.gif
for your strong encouragement.I'm feeling Okie, except sometimes having slight cramps, then I quicky put heatpad. Now I pray hard that the eggs can be fertilised well. Tomolo appt is at 8am. Will get to know the grades and decide how many to put in. Different stages have different worries and it seems like never ending.

Ypmk,
Welcome to our big family, see you soon in 2ww forum!

Dawn,
Wow!Our eggs no. increased drastically after Christmas, should ER earlier hor.I was the second last one in Q, came out 1.20pm. My DH saw the 1st lady walked out and thought it was you in purple shirt. Were you in pain then? Please take care and drink lots of H2O and also egg white. All the best to you for tomolo ET. Hope we can cycle together.
628814.gif
JIAYOU

628815.gif
Anyone done the daily HCG jab before? Can share more with me how is it like??Is it as painfulas the pregynl jab we took 36 hrs before ER??The nurse said I have to start tomolo. So Scary!

Hi Stacy,
glad your ER was painless and you have a good nos of follies. You're right keep on the bright side, hope you have many good quality eggs to choose from. Any news on the fertilisation report yet? When is your ET? Take it easy now and dont stress too much, you have ET to think about.

Dawn,
wow thats a lot of eggs, no wonder you are so uncomfortable. Hope you dont have OHSS and you can have your ET. keep us posted.

Hi ypmk,
good luck for saturday FET. You will have Dawn and Stacy as your 2ww buddies!

A little update from me, menses finally shows and i am in for a nasty headache. But i am not complaining just glad menses finally shows up!

Good luck Stacy & Dawn.

Rose

Stacy, hee...I was in blue leh....the day b4 i was in purple....whahahaha! Was in a bit of pain, so have to walk out slowly to the consultation room to be briefed by the nurse. Oh i saw 3 husbands in front of the IVF reception areas. My hubby brought me there in the morning but went off to work...year end, banking very busy. Told my dad and sis to pick me up. Btw, how many eggs can we eat a day har? will overdosage or not?

My ET also scheduled to be 8am, but i think u will go first as i have wait (1 hour at least)for the blood test result to come out b4 i know if i can do ET.

I am feeling much better today already, luckily last night finally can lie down to sleep (was so scared i cannot breathe like afternoon) but gastric pain getting more and more serious. Jeni, I read that you also like that, safe to take antacid right?

Rose,
AF come then can start your cycle oredi! yeh!

Hi Dawn,
Glad to know you are getting better. I think my DH saw you, bcos he told me your dad and sis were there to fetch you.I take only take 2 egg a day.Did you try heatpad? I find it better after using.

Rose,
I had developed hot flashes and feverish when menses came during Lucrin injection. It was a terrible xperience but this is only temporary effect accord. to Dr Loh.

Koala,
Welcome Back. Enjoy your holiday?

Stacy, haha...yah, then your DH did see the right person lor.
He waited very long huh...since u came out 120pm? When i woke up, feel very cold leh....so asked for another blanket. They also gave me a protein drip after the ER cos i got too many eggs.

yah...i did try heat pad...helps a little when i sleep at nite. Anyway, i realise as long as i am seated, on the bed/sofa/chair...i feel normal, lying down will feel the pain. Now the only pain i feel is my gastric pain....urggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Tomolo you have to start the progesterone jabs? so fast i tot saturday morning? BTW, do you think i can go to a GP near my house for this jab everyday? otherwise i have to travel down to KK every morning for the next 2 weeks....sure will not be able to go school...then the poor students will miss 2 weeks of lessons liow.

Rose, me no side effect except arthritis (dunno if due to cold weather in shanghai or lucrin) during the hormone surpression period.

Koala, welcome back too.....how was your holiday?

Hi Dawn,
I suppose you can go to a GP for daily progesterone jab. So not need to travel to KK everyday. According to nurse, any time of the day we can have the jab.
Tomolo see whether my DH can identify you??
Do update us.Take Care
629038.gif
629042.gif
629043.gif
629044.gif
629045.gif
629046.gif
629047.gif
629048.gif
629049.gif
629050.gif

Dawn & Stacy,
good to see you both are okay now. So when is your ET, is it tomorrow? Does KKH inform you by phone on how many fertilised? How many you going to transfer? Hubby and i decided to follow the hospital protocols when we signed the consent note depends on the quality & quantity of the eggs. Do you decide the same?

I dont have any side affect also doing lucrin except maybe like you Dawn a little bit of backache but nothing serious. And i dont have any symptom when AF came this morning. Guess different people has different way of dealing with the meds.

Hi Koala,
hope you enjoyed your holiday!

Rose

Rose,
We have ET tomolo. Only know the grades and decide how many tomolo. Hope don't receive call from KK today, it means case closed, no "feritlization'...
Same as you, I ticked "follow hospital protocols" in the consent. Dunno why after retrieval, stomach"Kong-kong" turn hungry easily.

Rose, your turn will come soon.
629087.gif

Oh ic, can we call and check if the eggs fertilised or not and how many? Dont think i can stand not knowing for one whole day. I might go crazy

Rose,
They do not advise us to call, mainly fertilization result may change overnite, so no definite answer for enquiry one day earlier.

Hi Dawn & Stacy
Hope u gals r feeling better... perhaps the "bloatedness" will gradually disappear... wah... both of u going for ET tommorrow... really excited for you gals! Pls keep us posted yah...
JIA YOU!!

yeah... your "journey" is going one-step further...

Dawn
I went with HB for the counselling yesterday and signing of consent forms... spent > 1 hr with Caroline (the social worker) and then with Dr Loh, only 15mins! We ticked the "follow hosp protocol" lor... can't decide now...
At the sametime, both HB and I took all the req'd blood-tests... wah... when i went back to office, my arm like "jelly" (no strength)
heh... heh...
oh yah, while waiting to see doc, we saw this Dr Sheila Loh walked out of a consultation and told one of the nurses she's going for emergency c-section... so i think the rest of the patients were re-scheduled...

Ashly

Are you joining us for dinner tomorroW?

My trip? eat, sleep and see see walk walk, but not so many baby dance leh, becos very very tired after going back to hotel... ha ha ha...

But Bangkok's weather damn good, so cooling and most important is no rain,, no even one drop in my six days trip.. hee hee

Dear Koala
I hv a dinner appmt (which was arranged months ago) tommorrow night... so can't join u ladies...
Wah... glad to hear u enjoyed the good weather in Bangkok... here very "sian"... everyday and everywhere "WET WET WET"! I've almost ran out of "dried" shoes
629166.gif

BTW, maybe we can meet next week and i'll pass u the HPT...

Ashly

Aiya, wat a waste man, u can't join us.

Never mindlah, we meet for lunch next week, I am ok on Wed and Thurs. ok with you?

Koala
Oh dear... i can't make it on both days... so SORRY! How abt the following week? Anyday also can?! Maybe u sms me? Thanks har...

Wah so good, can meet tomolo! Think i will be house bound the next few weeks.

Koala, hmmm...i should have gone to bangkok, weather so good. hubby wanted to go there, but went there too many times liow...so think shanghai better...who knows so cold..... It is good juz to relax lah, my hubby also loves to walk around everywhere and come back to hotel drop dead tried.

gastric still pain....*sigh* din know that will be a terrible side effect for me. how often can we eat antacid har? Everytime i pop 2 antacid i feel better for 1 hour plus oni...then the pain resumes....

Koala,
thank you... I hope for a smooth 9 months too.
Your turn is coming soon...

Dawn, I think you need something stronger as you have the same problem I had. I went to 24hr clinic to see the dr there for some medicine and they did help a bit. Antacid is only a temporarily relief... you have to drink at least 2 litres of water before very very bad bloatedness happens or else, you will feel like your stomach is going to explode, so pls take care.

Good luck to you and Stacy for your ET tomorrow. Don't worry, it is fast and painless, ok?

Ask your dr about the grade of your fertilised eggs and the thickness of your lining.

I'm back from ET. It was painless and fast. B4 that, nurse need to take bld test(cos I've over 15 eggs) to check OHSS, then proceed with the ER. Today there were quite a number of patients waiting for ET and my turn came fast. I have 8 embies (1xGrade5,5x Grade4, 2xGrade3) and 2 is still forming. Embrylogist said will be finalised in a few more days.DR Loh asked how many we want to put in.We decided to put in 3 embbies.In my case, Dr loh suggested me to have Grade5-4-3 combination.After that I had the progesterone injection on my buttock, this need to inject for 17 days. Today dunno why everything is very smooth and injection also painless. Thanks for your supports!!
629969.gif
I can now promote to 2WW.Now need to rest, DH don't allow me to use PC too long.
629970.gif

Congrats Stacy!
You have done well!
630005.gif

Don't worry, I think your chances are very high. Just keep youself occupied meaningfully and rest...

Dawn, what about you?

Hi Stacy,
well done! Good to hear everything went smoothly and the embbies are now safely tucked in. Good luck on your 2wws, just try to rest and take things easy. Just one question, did the dr advise for any bedrest?

Dawn,
hope things went well for you too. Let us know how you're doing.

Rose

Hi Stacy

Glad to know that u have a smooth ET, u take a good rest during 2WW and prepare to be promoted again.

Ur embies grade so good.. great, so happy for you.

Hi gals, sorry for being abit late in updating my progress. I gave myself bedrest after the ET, haha. Tot would have to cancel the ET today but the blood test came out very good, so proceeded for ET about 10am. Yah Stacy, today KKIVF centre was so packed with pple, and so many of them doing ET!

Out of the 42 eggs collected, 1/2 was used to IVF (i.e juz allow the sperm to interact with the 20 eggs freely) the other 1/2 was used to do ICSI. For the first 1/2....none fertilised.
Dr. Sheila Loh says now we know why not preggie after so long...the sperm and eggs do not bind on their own. Not sure why, might be the "shell" around the eggs too hard. We were glad that at least we finally found out what our infertility problem was!

The other 1/2 of the eggs used to do ICSI did well. All 22 were fertilised. 2 Grade 5, 17 Grade 4, 3 Grade 3 . So we decided to put in the 2 Grade 5 Embies in, and freeze the rest of them. The ET progress was indeed painless and very fast. They given gave pictures of the 2 embies put in!!! haha .....so cute! I am still having bad gastric, was given medication...hopefully will feel better by tomolo. Doc says can drink ginger tea to reduce the bloatedness...so i going to start drinking.

Stacy you put in 3 ah!
then may have probablity of getting triplets! How u feeling now? Dr Loh says OHSS will peak around 3 to 4 days after ET, so now i really drowning myself with water, going toilet every 1/2 hour! oh yah, i also realise the jabs at KKIVF is more painless compared to KK 24 hour woman clinic. Think the nurses here more experienced?

ypmk, good luck for your FET tomolo!

Koala, u going to start jan? or Feb?

Dawn, you have done very well too!
I am sure you and Stacy will be promoted to the next level sucessfully. Just plan your 2ww well so that you will not be tearing your hair out with the anxiety like I did.
Are you going to school next Wed? Just take care of yourself, ok?

Jeni, thanks for the encouragement....really hope can join you soon.
Can check with u how long your gastric pain last har? I will go to school next wed if not bloated and no more OHSS symptoms.

Dawn,
it lasted for a week plus but that is because I didn't drink much water after the 10th day blood test for progesterone and thereafter, it went downhill and it became very very bad so I went to the 24hr clinic for some medicine and almost got admitted into KK. That's when they did the pregnancy urnine test, remember?
I suppose the stress due to 2ww also contributed to the gastric problem as the moment I found out that I am pregnant, it just improved tremendously and now, I'm alright.
Now, I just feel slight cramp here and there. The nurse told me it is common as long as there's no spotting or bleeding. Thank God for that.
Hope what I have just shared with you helps.
Drink lots of water to flush out your system, don't forget that, ok?

Dawn & Stacy
Good to know that your transfers went well. As for me I am a bit nervous. I start to have slight sore throat.... have beent trying to drink more water. I hope I am not going to get a cold. I was a little wet in the rain for a while though I had an umbrella. Not sure what I should do... call in tomorrow to cancel the ET?

Dawn,
Glad to know you are well. I dun think the chance in getting triplets is great,bcos we just follow Dr loh's insturction not to put 5-4-4, instead 5-4-3 and my average is still 4. I'm contented with it. If TWINS then double happiness.
630282.gif
Singleton also good.
Interesting part is I feel hungry easily. Whole day EAT,EAT,EAt. Cannot sleep leh, just lazing around.I think I will have to go out , very boring!! Tomolo still need to go back KK for injection, but Sunday,PH, and Tuesday will need to go 24hrs clinic.Luckily my DH insists to drive me there every morning.

Jeni,
WOW!Your bloatedness got better. So I will remember to drink lots of H20. Actually I like to drink water since young.I'm ShuiTong HAHA.....

Roae and Koala, Soon it will be your turn. Must tiao your body and take Good Care hor . Dun be like me so sick during the process and almost give up. Now of coarse feel better alot and more relieve..

Ypmk,
Try to make yourself honey+lemon+hot water, or honey+milk . I also use this remedy to cure my flu and cough. Hope you get better by tomolo.JiaYOU
630289.gif

Hi Dawn

You are back, no matter icsi or ivf, as long as we can get preggie, then is good enough. Right?

Please take care of yourself during this period, if u don't feel good, please stay at home and rest and don't go back to school, this moment nothing is more important than babies, ok? kuai kuai hoh..

I will be signing my consent on 17 Jan, most probably will decide when to start the jab after consulting Dr Loh. If I start in Jan, 90% will crash with CNY taking that I take 2 weeks surpression. The problem is if I am going to extend lucrin, I will be on risk as my FSH is pretty high.

Anyway, either Jan or Feb is ok with me now, I am not worrying the 1 month difference as long as I can be a mother eventually.

ypmk,

hope u are better now and have proceeded with the FET. As far as I know, the RE wouldn't allow us to do ET if we have high fever. I did check with TMC before.

Koala, you are right, as long as we become mothers, all other things do not matter. I think Dr. Loh will be able to advice the best soln! Let's jia you!!! Urmmm....if not well by next wed, will of course take mc, if well, then i think can go to school. See how lah....

Ypmk, hope u r okay after the FET. Let us know how it went... good luck!

Jeni, one week plus of gastric?
*faint*...i am still waiting for it to disappear....if not for the gastric pain, i feel almost normal.
Thanks for sharing with me, it really gets me ready for more days of gastric. yup definitely will drown myself with H2O, currently trying to drink more than 3L per day...read on web some angmo drank 8L per day...wonder how she does it?

Stacy, so good....have good appetite. due to my gastric i can oni eat in small quantity. Juz lie on bed to read newspaper or magazine or read newspaper. This will be my longest 2 weeks....

Dawn

Never mind lah, wait later ur little one (/two??) pop out, i think u can't touch the newspaper/magazine liao, so just sit back and relax now...

Dawn,
I feel bloated easily after eating food. So we can try eat more meals with smaller quantity. It helps! WE Jiayou together during these 2 ww. You have good grades and so many reserves. Sure will make it wan!

Wish everyone Happy New Year and realise your BB dream in the coming year.
630767.gif

Koala, haha..i really hope so!
As long got one implant will be happy enough! Now i really no mood to work leh...have to prepare for next year stuff to teach, i cannot bear to sit down to prepare. Alot of colleagues sms yesterday thinking i got good news liow cos i missing from yesterday YearEnd Staff Meeting.....aiyoh so stressful. How was your gathering yesterday?

Stacy, yah, i also get bloated after eating abit....hee hee...eat more small meals then will be eating the whole day cos i eat so slow! You will be going down to KKH everyday for the progesterone jab? I thinking of going to my GP for the jab the next 3 days.....

Dawn,
I will be going to 24 hrs clinic for injection in these 3 days.I just shifted to this new premise and not yet find a good GP. If go back to my old family DR, it is also very far. Hope they can do it the same as KKIVF staff, not like last time.So PAINFUL!! Today went to KKIVF and the nurse still give me the smiling face grading on the scale. But I dun think I 'm happy to have daily injection leh.
BTW, have you received any embryolist report?? I was told on the day of ET, my report will only be ready a few days as another 2 is still forming.These 2 days, I donnot really bed rest , cannot sleep, feel back aching etc... I have lots of complaints
haha...

Dear Stacy and Dawn
CONGRATS on both your smooth ET yesterday!! Wah... both your embies are above average... so chances of "striking" +ve very great leh

Keep yourself stress free during these 2 weeks okay?! Hope your daily jabs will be a breeze as well and b4 u know it, u gals can join Jeni to MTB liao...
HAPPY NEW YEAR in advance!! (I'm going to spend the weekend in M'sia) so to the buddies here...
HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

have been reading your threads...

Stacy and Dawn,

what you are going through now is what I have gone through last time.
I think just keep on drinking water should help.
Now, I'm just HUNGRY HUNGRY HUNGRY... the feeling is very extreme... now I understand why my colleagues who were pregnant before ate like a glutton.

During my 2ww, I didn't feel any special symptons just very bloated and then about on the 11th - 12th day, my body popped out many pimples... I also did not experience the implantation spotting that many sisters talked about here, just light cramp here abd there at the lower ab area...so Stacy and Dawn, if you don't see any symptons, as long as AF not here, your chance will be high... besides, the grade of your embies are very good! Grade 5 is the best!
I am sure you gals will be promoted soon.

Dawn,

don't be stressed... your colleagues were trying to be concerned... if you dont't feel well, just don't go to school... it is not worth it, ok? I am going to have the mindset that if I am not feeling well, I am not going to school as after all, it is not easy to get pregnant ... I am not going to risk it. If I faint in school, I don;t think the school will appreciate that too as they will then have to counsel the pupils and pacify the parents...hahaha

So, let's just pong tang!!

Stacy,
I don't have to wait for any report as I don't have any embies still in the process of multiplying.

Ashly,
I did not call Dr Toh as the nurse in KKIVF told me not to take any chinese medicine during my 2ww. Then when I confirmed pregnant and went down to KKIVF to collect my appointment date for scanning, they told me once again not to take any chinese medicine during the first trimester as they said we don't know what's inside the chinese medicine. So, till now, I did not go back to her as again, I do not want to risk it. Besides, my hubby does not believe in chinese medicine so, I dare not try it.

Jeni, have u told ur school about your pregnancy? so u reporting to school next wed?
Agree should stay at home if not well, but feel so guilty leh.... And i haven't told my colleagues about me going IVF, so dunno how to answer all their questions. You hungry now all the time ah? good leh, that means baby growing well lor...need more food , hee hee. When are u going for your scan? Know the EDD already?

Ashly,
really hope the embies implant leh. but i read somewhere that the grade of embies is not related to the success rate of pregnancy? hai.....so can only pray. You enjoy your trip to Malaysia!

Stacy, I hope my GP can give the jabs not so painful also....*sigh* otherwise, will really have to make a trip to the 24 hour clinic. I think i have received the Embroylogist report. It is just a simple one page report right? indicating number of eggs retrieved, used , kept for freezing?

Dawn,
I have told my school right before I embarked on the programme. So they know liao but that didn't stop them from giving me a heavier time table compared to last year and the year before. I know about the guilty part and I feel it too but think about it, our babies are more important to us and we get them through hard work so just tell yourself that, ok?
I'll be back in school next wednesday and my first scan will be on 10 jan as that is the speculated 6th week of the pregnancy. As EDD, not sure yet... think will find out on that day.

How thick is your lining? If it is 9mm and above, then the chances are good, ok?
Now, just try to relax and pray lah...

Everyone,
have a BLESSED NEW YEAR!!

Jeni, I am still comtemplating whether to tell my Principal and VP....think will do so if i need to take any leaves next week. Colleagues, will only tell the close ones.....

They din tell me my lining leh.....but during the last UltraScan by the sonographer, heard her saying 11mm, not sure if heard correctly.

Dear Sisters, have a happy 2007! May all our baby dreams come true!

Dawn, 11mm is good!
Mine only 9mm when I asked Dr Loh during my ET as my sinseh always tell me I have thin lining and that's not too good as embies may not be able to implant but then now, I am pregnant...
So, I think you have a very high chance!!
Keep your fingers cross!
Btw, which level are you teaching next year?