IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Stacy...haha....yah, high chance we may do ER together hor?

Atlas, I read that can't take ginger after the ET...not sure why...b4 that should be okay.

I called KKIVF and the nurse there told me that it was abit too early to do the test. Besides, urine test is not as sensitive as blood test so it will not pick up pregnancy as accurate as the blood test... anyway, just pray hard!!!

Stacy and Dawn,
on the day of scanning, I was told to carry on with the Lucrin injection that morning before the scan but not the Puregon. Just bring the Puregon along just in case need to have more injections.

As for ET, I went in at about 7.45 and my hubby was told to come and fetch me around 12pm but in the end, I came out at about 11+.

For ER, it is faster but relativeless painless but I think it is a good idea for your hubby to be there as they will show you guys the embryos on the screen and even give the pictures of them... but most important of all, both of you will have to make the final decision in regard to how many eggs you want to put in. I think the whole process is about 1/2 hr but the waiting time is about an hour for me as it was in the morning and you know how busy they are in the morning.

Hope these informations can help you girls.

Jeni, when will be your actual test? this saturday? or next week? Talk to the embies more!!! Thanks for the info, i am abit confused do you mean ET takes longer time? or should be ER from 745am to 12noon?

dawn,
sorry!
ER is the one that last from 7.45 to about 12.
ET is the one that is relatively painless and fast.
I think I am really quite sick and worried.... to mix them up...hahaha
Yes, my actual test will be this Saturday.

Jeni,
For ET, must drink h2o till full bladder? How many glasses do you drink? So scared that drink too much may worsen the bloatedness.

Stacy,
you know what....
during the 1st week of 2ww, I drank almost 2 litres of water daily instructed by the nurse and my bloatedness was not so bad but towards the end of last week, I didn't do so and my bloatedness is so terrible that I can't even breathe properly. Now, I find that my urine is very yellowish and that is not good so I have to force myself to drink more from now on.
For ET, yes, you need to have a full bladder... the nurse will tell you when to empty your bladder before you go to KKIVF for ET, then she will tell you when to drink the water and how much... I can't tell you much as the timing that you do your ET may not be the same as mine... as mine was delayed, I told the nurse that I couldn't take it anymore. So, I went to to empty my bladder while waiting. Then, I kept drinking water until they called me... so I managed to hold it and it was not torturous...hehehe... unlike now

koala,

I am doing fresh cycle on jan too but as mentioned since will hit the CNY, the nurse suggested I take another week of lucrin however i am not too keen on that, worry that it might suppress too long and not so good, have you emailed dr loh about it, wonder what is his opinion on that, another 1 more week of lucrin to avoid CNY or postponed to feb? I think my next menses will come around 15 Jan leh and nurse told me that on CNY week, the whole week, the lab is close.

Hi Jeni...hee hee it is okay. must think of more question to ask you to keep your mind off worrying.

I read from some gals' blogs that they actually drank alot of water after ET (some said 7 litres...i was like "huh?") to prevent the bloatedness...... so must drink more i guess.

Yvonne, I originally wanted to start at later time, I also heard the nurse saying that they will close the lab for a week, cos think they taking the chance to do a major cleaning.

Hi Yvonne

I have yet to e-mail to Dr Loh on this, yes, I know that is such option to take another week of lucrin, but I am also not keen to do that if it is unnecessary.

Usually how long do we need to take the lucrin? I know they always said 2 to 4 weeks, if I take 2 weeks lucrin and 1 week puregon, then will crash with CNY liao. But I think yours should be alright, cos you will be starting your lucrin on early Feb, so should not crash mah.

Koala,
I took about 20 days of Lucrin and then another about a week with Puregon. So I only used 1 bottle as 1 bottle can roughly last up to 28 days.

Hi Koala, I started lucrin 1st Dec, Puregon started on 15th Dec...going to scan on the 22nd Dec to see if follicles ready for ER. yours may go into the CNY...but better to check with the nurses.....

Dawn and Jeni

Thanks. I know most of the sisters are on 2 weeks lucrin before they start with puregon, only exceptional case will go on to 3 weeks. If I am on 2 weeks lucrin, then will crash with CNY "chun chun".

Wow there are so many of you here
. I am new on this board (although its my 2nd try of ivf) and have been posting on different thread. I've met Koala and she was good enough to recommend me to join this thread. (thanks Koala!) Hope you all dont mind.

I also go to KKIVF with Dr Shiela Loh and on my 5th day of lucrin. My protocol is as follows:
Lucrin 10units start 15Dec
Puregon 600iu start 5Jan
U/S and b/w on 3Jan
Est ER 19Jan
Est ET 22Jan

Looking forward to get to know you all.

Rose

Rose,
You are welcome
621118.gif
to join us.

Koala,
I've lucrin for 23 days b4 puregon.REason is to extend lucrin so that DR Loh can be back in time to perform ER for me. Tomorrow going for follicle scanning.

Jeni,
How're you today? I just vomitted
621624.gif
3 xtimes today. Flip thru KKH info & find out that this is one of the side effect of puregon. Hope everything will be over soon.

Stacy,
I am not feeling well at all. My tummy feels like it is going to explode and I am extremely uncomfortable... don't know when this will stop

koala,dawn,

last time at NUH, I on supefact for about 2 weeks lor, if menses come on 15 Jan, ER and ET will hit around that CNY week lor. I think it is okay to postpone to feb, I asked the nurse if can do that, she said can leh, I dun think need to re-queue again lah hor cos not our fault mah, cannot be so sway one, anyway when menses come, then decide cos nowsaday, these kind of things cannot plan one, the more I plan, the more it deviate :-(

stacy, so you extend lucrin for 1 week plus liao? Dr loh got say anything on the extention or not, he advised it or the nurse asked you to do that?

Hi Yvonne,
It Is Dr LoH advised me to prolong bcos he is away for overseas leave. He said no effect on the cycle. Anyway, tomorrow going for scan, will know how well follicles grow. Wish me Luck! haha..

Hi Rose

Welcome, welcome, finally you are here. Here is the list I mentioned to you.

Jeni -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
(Promoted to 2WW).
Stacy - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
Dawn -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec 2006)
Moonfairy - ivf/icsi/TMC/Dr LC Cheng Dec06/Jan07)
Rose -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Loh (Dec/Jan 2007)
Bodhi - ivf/CARE/Dr C.F Koh, (Mt.E) (Jan/Feb 2007)
Koala-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Jan/Feb 2007)
Yvonne - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Jan/Feb 2007)
Ashly -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Feb/Mar 2007)

Yvonne,

I also add you into the list.

Yvonne

Then it is great if they allow us to postpone, I also think that shouldn't have any problem. I just knew that my HB master exam is fall on 22nd Feb, so other than CNY, lab close, if I do it on Jan, also might crash with his exam... so sway, every time, I sure kena stuck here and there. But on the other hand I feel a bit reluctant to postpone it as I have been waiting long enough..
Sigh, but bo bian lah, it seems have to do it on Feb.

Stacy

Wish you luck.... sure have many many good eggs hoh. Have faith.

Just hang on there, yes, puregon will make you vomit, I also had a very bad experience when I was doing so-iui, vomitted at least twice a day, after taking breakfast and lunch.

Stacy, poor gal, have enough rest okay?

Jeni, hang in there okay

Rosebud, welcome!
The more the merrier...so we got more pple to share our fear/worries/frustrations and happiness?

Koala and Yvonne, sometimes i feel that we really cannot control these things hor? the faster we want...the slower we seem to be...

thanks for the warm welcome. Hope to share this journey together with you all.

Jeni,
sorry you feel so poorly, i have to read your previous posts, are you waiting for your beta? Hopefully you have some good news soon.

Stacy,
good luck with your scan hope there gonna be lots of follies growing. When is your ER? Looks like you have the typical symptoms of puregon too, i dont want to scare you better check with your dr for OHSS it can be very uncomfortable.

Koala,
hi.. nice to see you here. thanks for sharing the schedule and include me in, thats so sweet of you. I am with Dr Shiela Loh but i saw you all mostly with Dr Loh. Is he better than Dr Shiela (or we are not supposed to ask that here?

Dawn,
thanks for the welcome. I saw you are seeing Dr Shiela Loh? My last appt hubby and i had to wait for 2 hrs to see her, very busy doctor! Good luck on your scan tomorrow. Hope you will be ready for ER soon, how are you feeling?

I have a question hope you girls can help me. I am on my 7th day of lucrin. Waiting for my menses supposed to be yesterday but hasnt arrived yet. Can you share your experience when to expect your menses while on lucrin? Thanks.

Hi Rose,

So u are under Dr Sheila loh, here is the updated list:-

Jeni -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
(Promoted to 2WW).
Stacy - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
Dawn -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec 2006)
Moonfairy - ivf/icsi/TMC/Dr LC Cheng Dec06/Jan07)
Rose -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec/Jan 2007)
Bodhi - ivf/CARE/Dr C.F Koh, (Mt.E) (Jan/Feb 2007)
Koala-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Jan/Feb 2007)
Yvonne - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Jan/Feb 2007)
Ashly -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Feb/Mar 2007)

I think we can't compare both Dr Loh, who is better. What I know is Dr Sheila Loh is a very detailed doctor and the waiting hour is very long, the reason why I dare not choose her also becos my hb can't wait for that long..

As long as you are comfortable with her, I think you have made the right choice.

Koala,
you're right. Its very important to feel comfortable with the doctor, if not difficult lah! esp on what we re doing now hehehe.

This morning did my scan. 7 left and 7 right, total of 14 follicles found. Size is too small(7 of them below 11mm, not even one reaches 15mm) and need to continue puregon for another 2 days, then go for a second scan on Saturday.ER should be next week.HAHA.. Dawn I wait for you..

Jeni,
Hope you get better today.

Rose,
I've menses on my no.10 day of lucrin. The menses is not as heavy as normal period. Only on and off spottings and it lasted quite long , I think more than 5 days.That time, I had terrible experience when haivng AF, as I was feverish and developed not flashes ( side effect of lucrin). Checked with Dr and was told this is temporary effect. It really went off after a few days. Some people may have AF come late so they need to continue with lucrin for a longer period.

Koala, dawn

so you prefer to postpone it to Feb instead of one more week of lucrin lah? me still not decided yet cos really depends on when my menses come in Jan. One step at a time.

dawn,
yes the more we plan, the slower it becomes, some of the gals at the other thread used to plan and plan like us but all turns out haywire so now most of us decided to enjoy life while waiting for the "bb". Becos of this IVF thing, alot of us neglect alot of things and dare not even plan for holiday but now some of us dun want to care and plan so much liao :) just dun be extreme can liao.

Stacy,
14 follicles!! Don't worry as last time, they also made me inject a few more days before I went for my ER.

I am still feeling bloated and every night, I have bad gastric pain...

I will know the result on Saturday and hopefully, it is BFP... I just heard from a colleague that one of my colleagues is pregnant...
How I envy her... Anyway, stay positive for another day!!

Stacy, you too! I am sure your follicles will grow grow grow...

Remember, Santa will take care of us!

Rosebud,
Thank you for your encouragement.
I also switched from Dr Sheila Loh to SF Loh as my hubby can't stand the waiting time too and SF Loh is also in Private Suite. That's why I switched to him... mainly due to the waiting time.

Rose,

7 to 10 days of Lucrin till your AF arrive. If still havent arrive. Your gynae may ask you to continue with Lucrin till AF because your system has not supressed enough. I was on Lucrin for 14 days the last round.

Rose, my AF also came on the Day 11 of my lucrin jab....
so u r alright! Yes, the waiting time for Dr. Sheila Loh is always very long.....i usually bring my compositions there to mark....usually can clear 10 to 20 pieces while waiting....haha. the shortest wait was 1 and 1/2 hour while the longest wait was 3 and 1/2 hour for me. I do like her....detailed explanation and kind.

Stacy, 14 follicles is good!!! another 2 days they would grow much bigger liow! I falling sick liow....sore throat and sneezing away....drowning myself with vitamin C today. I will go down for my scan 2mollow morning.... hopefully I also do my ER early next week! will update u all.

Jeni, one more day to your test date!!!! How do u feel? Yes, we are always envious of preggy women....but soon it will be our turns yah? BFP BFP BFP BFP BFP BFP BFP....

Stacy,
well done with the follies, 14 is a good number! Hopefully they grow and grow and you have alot to choose from for your ER. Good luck for next week. As for me, my menses hasnt arrived yet today is my 8th day of lucrin so i am still waiting!

Jeni,
its normal for us to envy pg women but dont worry our time will come. All the best for tomorrow, hope to hear a BFP from you. Good luck!

Bodhi,
thanks for the info on AF, i usually never been late on my menses always on time or a few days earlier and now its a bit late so i am a bit concern. Anyway i'll wait a few more days then i'll let the nurses know.

Dawn,
I know Dr shiela is very busy. Good idea to bring your work with you hehe, at least you are doing something productive while waiting. Last appt we waited for almost 2 hours because she had to go back to the ward and do c-section to a patient! But you're right she is kind and thorough. Hope you will get better soon, vitamin c always do the trick for me so you're in good hands

Thanks for your encouragement. I'm a bit worried about the size of my follicles. Just pray hard another 2 days of Puregon will improve the size make them GROW than to increase the no. Quality is more impt than quantity. I agreed 14 is a good no.

Jeni,
Your Beta test is on Sat. You must be bery excited rite. We will cheer for you JIAYOU!!JIAYOu!!!
623379.gif
Maybe I will see you tomorrow when I go for my 2nd scanning.How do you look like? BTW, did you do a repeat scanning for puregon?

Yvonne

I don't want to think abt this now, very headache.... let me enjoy first. Like you say no use to plan so much, I use to argue with hb on ttc stuff, but after that i realise it doesn't help but will sour our relationship. So now have learn to stay relax.

Stacy,

Dun worry, the eggs will grow very fast at the later stage, they sure will catch up. When I was on so-iui, my eggs grow from 14 to 20mm on the last day. so scary. so u just relax. All the best to your ER and ET.

ok, every body, I will be flying off today,

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year and a lot of baby dust to everybody here... yeah!!!

Best Regards
Koala

Koala,
Bon voyage!
Are you going on holiday? Enjoy your holiday and stay safe. Talk to you when you get back.

Stacy,
agree with everyone. The eggs can be late growers. They will catch up soon, dont worry. Good luck i am sure you'll have some good news tomorrow.

Jeni,
good luck for your test tomorrow!!!

Rose

Hi Koala, have a romantic xmas overseas!!!

Hi Stacy, went for scanning in the morning, the whole KKIVF was packed with pple, prob cos of the xmas weekend coming. Many of them are doing their ER next week too, cos i overhear stuff like asking them to stop lucrin jabs, coming for the pregnyl jobs on saturday nite....so KKIVF indeed having a very busy month. For the scanning, as expected...cos i have pcos, I have about 28 follicles (think they should have given me a lower dosage of puregon) but sizes are still not big enough yet. 10 are between 11 and 14mm , the rest are around 9mm or 10mm. So have to take the Puregon jab today and go down and scan tomolo, so maybe i will see u there?
The docs are conerned that I will have OHSS...but i feel fine up to now...slightly bloated. Maybe i drank lots and lots of water and also took 2 eggs everyday? Afraid them may cancel the cycle due to OHSS...

To: Stacy & Dawn
JIA YOU

Stacy
Congrats on your "bountiful" harvest of eggs! Try and relax yah... cos your "eggies" trying to make u "kan cheong" abit... Don't worry, they'll develop further

Dawn
Thanks for the listening ear! Good to hear u r feeling okay so far... Don't worry, must have faith in dr loh...

To all the cycle BUDDIES
Merry X'mas!!

Hi Dawn,
What time is your scanning tomolo? Mine is 8.45am appt. Well! For those whom going for the pregnyl jab on Sat will be ER on Xmas. This month is really peak and the staff need to be back even on PH. But how come only 2 of us cycling in this period.So you are worried abt OHSS and I so worried of the side effect of Puregon that cause me vomitting. Let's cross finger and see how after the next scanning. Hope we can overcome the obstacles by then.

Ashly,
Thanks.My DEar friend. At this stage, I'm too focus in the process, really no festive mood. How I wish can be like you, can put aside this matter first and enjoy Xmas.
623781.gif

Dear Stacy
I guess i might be like u when its my turn... what to do... my cycle date is so behind

Try and think +ve okie?! No worries... your "cartoon" friend here will try and cheer u on... JIA YOU!!