IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

morning!

koala, no prob....
maybe Ashly will pop up today? hee hee.....she extended her holiday ah?
don't know my dosage for puregon, but remembered the doc told me last time will be lower than normal as I have PCOS. going to KKH now....to get my puregon

Jeni, oh dear....then i must get somebody to drive me liow....

Hi Koala & Dawn
I'M BACK!

came back on wed and dragged myself back to work yesterday... but "sian" leh... came back to a mountain load of work to clear, so today me back in action... heh... heh...
Wah... the forum very active leh...
I can meet anytime from nxt mon... before Koala goes off on 21Dec... tonight i've got a company X'mas dinner so can't meet u ladies...
koala/dawn, what's your take?

Sorry for the late reply. I was oversea and just came back yesterday.

Stacy,
Yeah, I was prescribed with antibiotic and cough syrup.

Jeni,
I had some white discharge too, but very little only.

Jeni,
Dun feel depressed and upset that you have no discharge at this moment. REmemeber you always say to me "stay positive", now what you think will affect what you have. So relax and distract yourself by doing something that interest you. What's your hobby? Any great show you recommended to watch?

Stacy,
thanks for your encouragement... it is just that I am having this nausea feeling that I can't shake off and my tummy is on off bloated... It fustrated and depressed me

hehehe.... I haven't reboiled the heatpad leh as I did not need to use it again but I know that you definately will have to wrap it with a towel before you boil it or microwave it or else it will explode and the blue gluey stuff will be all over the place.

I found red dots like pimples all over my body just now.
I was shocked to see them.
Anyone experienced before and what should I do to deal with them?

jeni,

I saw somewhere in a foreign forum. A MTB has experienced pimples all over her body including her face during her 2ww. I think very likely you have achieved your objective already. In my opinion, usually if one has conceived, the body will start to get "heat". It could be the result that you have pimples all over. However, i suggest you better check with the medical professionals. They are the experts and able to advise your accordingly.

Stay happy! :)

so long didn't update the list, hope the new comer will update me:-

Jeni -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
(Promoted to 2WW).
Stacy - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
Dawn -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec 2006)
Moonfairy - ivf/icsi/TMC/Dr LC Cheng Dec06/Jan07)
Bodhi - ivf/CARE/Dr C.F Koh, (Mt.E) (Jan/Feb 2007)
Koala-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF LOH (Jan/Feb 2007)
Ashly -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Feb/Mar 2007)

who else huh? Yee, where is moonfairy? has been mia quite a while..

Hi Hi Koala and Ashly, Monday okay with me....what time? evening rite?
Any other gals want to join us?

Jeni, so far okay, oni inject 2nd day Puregon....looks abit bloated...dunno if it is my tummy fats or bloatedness. Was yours very bloated? Hmm....btw, i was also given same dosage 200iu Puregon, so worried i am going to have OHSS. Stacy, how u feeling now?

atlas, how's everything going on for you? started the lucrin?

Dawn

I will start on suprefact after X'mas.

Am I welcome to join if I am available on Monday? But can't confirm now, will confirm on Monday.

Dawn, Jeni
I feel a bit bloated and abdominal area very tigh, especially after food. Sometimes, can be very emotional and start weeping. Yesterday I received news of my cousin just got pregnant after married for 5 years. VEry happy for them as they 've been trying very hard for the past few years, seeking treatment. At the same time, feel very stressful as if CNY I've no result, how to face my relatives...All the married ones have kids already.
Aiyoh,I should stay postive
617156.gif

jeni,
Do you remember that after 7 days of Puregon jab, we need to go back for scanning and also to see DR? What is all this abt? Take how long?

atlas
I think should be fine.....the more the merrier rite? hee hee..... u PM us your hp number?

Stacy, must keep spirit high and stay positive....i know it is pressurizing. I think after 7 days of jabs of Puregon is to scan if the follicles have reached the mature size.

I think Jeni's was quite fast, after 8 or 10 days of jab you had your ER rite?

Paiseh....Can check with you gals, if it is okay to have normal sex during this period or must have safe sex? coz earlier when i was taking the OC, the nurse says must safe sex leh......

I was juz reading through my IVF forms and realize that one of the side effects of lucrin is joint aches....did any of you suffer this? I was wondering the aches that i suffered in shanghai and now...in my knee caps and akles may be due to lucrin instead of the cold weather?

Dawn,
At first I've also some minor joint aches and all these are temporary. No more pain now. Are you still having the pain?

Hi Koala and Ashly, can we meet Tues evening instead? I realised i have another dinner meetups....near xmas, lots of gathering.

Stacy, I still having the joint aches. It was very very bad in Shanghai, i think due to the cold wind. After come back to Singapore, better, not the sharp searing type of pain but still feel some pain.

I have been feeling extremely uncomfortable as the bloatedness caused bad gastric pain and at the the same time, I feel nausea as well as having craving for chilli and curry which is a no no for my condition... I really hope all these torture are worth it. My poor husband has been getting it from me as I feel very lousy and bad tempered when I don't feel well...

Stacy and Dawn,
the scan is to check the growth of your follicles so as to decide whether you need to carry on with the puregon for a few more days like me or you can go ahead with your ER. Yes, I have about 9 days of puregon.

Jeni, you poor gal, juz tahan a few more days can test liow. hope all these symptoms are cos u r preggie! I am sure your hubby will understand yor grouchiness....

ypmk
The meeting on 29/12 is confirmed. This is another separate one. I will join both if I can make it for this week's.

koala
Please let me know if I am incorrect.

Hi dawn,

When you are in Lucrin. The state of your body condition will be like menopause. Therefore, you will experience joint-ache. However, once you have over and done with Lucrin. You should be back to normal.

My Gynae did mentioned that couple can still continue with regular sex up to ER. However, is best that you check with your treatment centre again.

Hi Bodhi, oic....like menopause? that sounds scary...really hope all the aches disappear when i stop the lucrin.

Long time never log in and now I'm back to work, every things seems so busy.

Jeni,
Stay Positive. U might have got it. When ur big day?

Dawn,
I had very bad backache during my 2ww too, so don't worry too much.

Koala and atlas, meetup changed to this wed evening instead of mon, is it okay with you?

Catherine, ....backache i can understand as many pple do talk about it, juz never heard of pple mentioning joint aches....and mine was so bad that at one state i couldn't bend my knees cos of the pain.

Jeni,
I also feel lousy these few days. My mood is up and down. Dun know why weeping in silence leh. I can understand how you feel now, esp at your stage. So far, I've no symptom yet only abit of bloatedness. Dun feel any follicle inside. Just pray hard that no matter how tough the process is, we will get what we want one day. well!You've completed 3/4 of your journey, you will reach your finish line very soon and later embark on another new MTB journey.
618154.gif
Must Jiayou!!

Dawn,
If your pain persists, best to check with the nurses for reassurance. I have puregon at nite, what abt you? So far already 4 jabs. Hate the clicccc.... sound when injecting. So I always distract myself by switching on the radio loud enough to cover the sound.

Stacy,
don't worry about the follicles thingy as I didn't feel anything, worried that my follicles not growing at that time too but then it turned out to be not true!
My bloatedness got worse and my stomach felt like exploding every time I finished my meal. So, just now, I went down to the 24hr's clinic. Then the doc there wanted me to take a pregnancy test and the result is negative. I am so so sad...
Ladies, did this test actually mean something?
I am so scared to do the blood test on this coming Saturday now... got no confidence now.... all hopes dashed... dare not tell my hubby yet...

Jeni, it is still too early to test rite? This is oni your D11 or D12 after ET, don't despair...and at such early stage, the HCG maybe too low to be picked up by the test strip. Stay positive....will pray hard for you for a BFP.

Stacy, if still painful next few days, think I will call and check with the nurses at IVF. Anyway, i just checked the internet and they say one of the side effects of lucrin is "wandering athritis"! I have my puregon and lucrin jabs in the morning, so also just had 4 jabs...tomorrow morning will be the 5th jab....i also feel slight bloatedness...wonder if drinking ginger tea helps or not? mood still okay, maybe cos not working now? once start working, sure bad mood one!

Jeni,
You meant you went to KKH 24 hours clinic to do pregnancy test?? I thought it suppose to have your beta taken this Sat. Today only your day 12, result may not be accurate. Dun feel sad too early, it will affect your health.

Dawn,
I drink giner tea for my cough. Dun find it relieving bloatedness. So afraid I will get 100days cough, especially during this crucial period. I've recovered from my flu, but cough still there. Hope I can quickly recover b4 ER.

Stacy,
yah....better take care b4 ER!!! I may go and colour my hair tomorrow, lots of white hair popping out liow!

Your scan is this thursday morning rite?

Dawn,
ya this Thursday morning. The nurse asked me to bring all the balance lucrin and puregon for stock check to monitor whether I am injected with the correct amount. How? have to bring big piece of ice with it!

Yah, I was so sotong last friday when i brought my Puregon Pen that, i kept leaving it all over the place. Haha.....at the pharmacy....at IVF counter. Imagine the panic attack when i suddenly realise i was not holding anything twice! Daiso sells this small insulating bag (suppose to pack those jap lunch box) for $2, quite good lor, can keep it cold longer.

Stacy and Dawn,
I did not go there for a pregnancy test.... I went there to get somw relief for my bloatedness and then the dr there asked me to do the test.
I have emailed dr loh and he said the result may not be too good as by now, some should be able to get a positive result but he said anyway, it is still too early to tell.
Hope that the outcome on Saturday will be a good one...

Dawn

Please, no colouring...the chemical will leave in our body at least 6 months.. so please do not do colouring, esp you have started the lucrin.

Jeni,
I can sense your anxiety. Dun worry too much as it will addd more stress on your current health. How's your bloatedness? Drink more lukewarm water.

For the sacnning done after 7 days of Puregon, did the nurse advise not to do any more injection in the morning b4 scanning?

DAwn,
Is your scanning on Fri? Did the nurse ask you not to inject first b4 they scan you? I start to have a bit of whitish discharge. I think we ER very soon, this week or maybe early next week if everything turns out smoothly.

Hi Koala, hope you feeling better liow. har cannot colour hair? I tot as long as before ER, it will not affect the body as the embroys not in yet? aiyoh, then i will look like "bai fa mo nu" (white hair witch)! ok lah, i be good gal for the sake of bb.

Jeni, it is too early.....the doc shouldn't have asked u to do the test so early.... Can check with you for ER and ET, what time did you reach the hospital and what time you leave. I may ask my parents to come and fetch me since i cannot drive back on my own.

Stacy, yes the nurse did mention not to inject in the morning b4 scanning....she says juz bring the balance for her to check.In case our follicles are already ready, no need to inject that portion. If need, then they will inject for us that morning leh. Will we need to see the doctor that morning? Hmmmmmm...........u so fast got white discharge liow? I not yet leh.....maybe i react to Puregon slower. you let me know how it goes after your scanning on thurs ok?

Dawn,
We need to see Dr on that day. Okie i will update you after scanning. Maybe we do ER on the same day hor.Then i will have to look around is there any bai fa mo nu.haha...

Dawn/Stacy

I read from the thread that ivf patients got to avoid taking ginger. I don't know why. Have anyone else heard about this?

Atlas,
I only know ginger helps to expel wind from our stomach. Not sure of why cannot take during treatment.I took ginger drink for my prolong cough
620019.gif
, believe to be Fengke=wind cough.