IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Ashly

Don't forget our date .. he he..will sms you wat I am wearing. So excited to see you.

Ashly,
I don't know how to receive PM but i finally managed contacted her and she told me to call her again on Saturday.
Thanks for your help and concern again. Last time, she said she will let me have some herbs to stabilise the embryos and when I am successful, I will still have to take her herbs till 9 weeks as this will build up the baby's health. She will also teach me what to eat during that period.
I would seek Dr Loh's advice on this.

Dawn and Koala,
my close colleague who sat behind me is pregnant and my neighbour who lives opposite me is pregnant too... I was so sad at that time although I am really happy for them ... that's y i decided to embark on IVF/ICSI asap.... hazi...

Hey Jeni
Gd to hear u managed to contact Dr toh... yah... her practice is that she gives the medicine after your ET to drink continuously. Its something like "an tai yiao" and its impt cos' it nurishes the foetus and your womb.
but problem is that I heard b4 the taste is even more yucky that the normal medicine... but for the sake of your beloved(s)... u've to be brave yah?! Pls update us... we are so excited...

Actually, the herbs that you talked about is much better in taste than the rest of the herbs. Both Dr Toh and I agreed on that so you don't have to worry, ok?
I am just concerned that Dr Loh advises against it as my colleague's gynae advised against chinese medicine in the 1st trimester.
So, I am confused as to whether to take it or not.

Koala, pai sei, I drop by everyday and read the thread. SOmetimes have the strong urge to kpo and reply some of the questions. But I scared I already finish the cycle then still act smart here like that.
kao_embarrassed.gif

WanBB,
Welcome.I dun mind you coming back and share with us since you are more experience. To me, act smart type of KPO is those who never gone thru all these and want to talk alot. How's your journey 2wards motherhood?

Hi Hi WanBB

Hey, you are back....

Agreed with stacy, don't say that lah, u can always drop by to give us support mah. Your advice is greatly appreciated.

I agree too.
Since you have gone through the process,
your views and opinions will more or less help to soothe our anxiety of the unknowm.
So, pls share.

Stacy, the journey is much harder than I thought. But I'm the lucky few with little MS. Always thought everything will end if I suceed this IVF but little do I know it's just the beginning of another new difficult journey. Alot of worries for the growth of bb and what if it's not normal... what if this and that. endless things. And imagine already spend alot of cash on IVF, successful still need to spend another huge amount of money on pregnancy support injections, medication, scan and consultation.

Koala, You starting your cycle in Jan right? Have to avoid eating chicken, bean products by the start of your IVF. You bought HPT? Actually it's better not to test it until your actual test date or a few days before it. It will increase stress during your 2 weeks wait. And with HCG injections, it won't be accurate until a week from your last jab.

WanBB,
How many months are you in now? Maybe you would like to share why to avoid eating chicken, bean products. Need to eat what more?

Stacy, me only 6 weeks 2 days. Still very young.

Chicken- It will affect your blood test result cos chicken nowaday have those hormones jabs to make them grow fat and big.
Bean products- It will affect the quality of the eggs. I only stop taking them during stimulation period. But it's best to avoid them asap.

I drink alot of hot milo during my 2 weeks wait. I think it helps to warm the womb. I think as long as it's hot drinks will do, not definately must be milo. I also drink alot of ginger water cos I bloated 11 inches due to OHSS. I don't know if it helps the baby but it helps me get rid of wind.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Hi Koala, Ashly, Stacy, Jeni & Dawn,
Yap, I think I shd let Dr Loh & the nurses fr KKIVF to plan.
What I can do now is try to relax as much as possible.

Hi Koala, Dawn,
I oso hav a close friend who just give birth recently.
When she just found out she was pregnant with her 3rd child, she called me.
Then she told me she did not plan for this baby, is accident.
Somemore she said "Aiyah, everything is fated one"
Sigh...

WanBB,
Thanks!My senior.You have any idea can start taking bean and soya products after ET. I'm now on Lucrin , need to drink lots of water?

Stacy, don't call senior leh.. very weird.
ya ya.. forgot abt adding the soya products into my list. Avoid soya bean curd, tou kwa, tou poh and etc. Fresh veg can take, soya bean milk can take. Cos those processed soya and bean product got 'si gao'. Better to avoid.
During stimulation I drink lots of water cos I'm scared of OHSS but in the end also kanna. Suay.

Synergy,
Ya. Just relax. Some of the things beyond our control and it is fated, need to let GO. For things under our control, MUST do our best and so have no regrets in future. If you see my last posting with Jeni, then you will realise that in the past we were also quite bothered about our timing, afraid it will clash with Dr's leaves. Look at the bright side, our timing are all around festive seasons, it also helps to make us more Happy and maybe forget abt the pains we are going thru. Good Luck

WanBB, You see hor I've full list of questions for you. Hope don't scare you off..HAHA

What happen when kanna OHSS? What's the symptom? Need hospitalisation?

WanBB
Pls "kpo" here as often as u can okay... i'm sure all of us buddies here will hv many questions to seek your advice...

Oh yah... must try and "talk" to your little one inside so that he/she/they can be "guai guai" and don't give you bad MS.. heh... heh...

Hi Stacy,
Regarding the OHSS things, one of the lady from this thread was hospitalisation for few days.
No trying to scare you, but try to drink more water as you can since all the senior oso said so.

Jeni
yah... pls check with SF Loh on the chinese mediciation 1st, just in case he says "no no" then don't need to call dr toh already lor... heh... heh... but what i've seen, there are "seniors" who do IVF (not all at KKIVF) who still took her medicine after ET all the way to end of 1st trimester.

Lucrin is for suppression ,I also must start drinking lots of water from now on till puregon stimulation?
Anyone?Please advise.

Stacy

My first reading of beta is 1413. Quite a high side. When I called sara thru the phone to check on my pregancy blood test, she sounded very excited and told me my beta was on the high side and high expectancy of getting twins.

During my 2ww, I ate as normal. All types of beans - soya bean, soya bean curd, tofu, chicken etc. The nurses even told me to eat lots of fish and meat.

Whether the food should be eaten or anot, i suppose it depends on individual health and beliefs. It's good for you to check with the internet information on the food part. I also check on and off now. That's my comments only.

Stacy, no problem with all your questions.
kao_welcome.gif

OHSS is worst than anything! my 2ww pass very fast cos I feel terrible everyday and nv even got time to think abt the results for my IVF. I gain 10kg in weight and 11 inches on my waist. My skin is stretch so much, I can't really feel anything when I touch my tummy. I got bloated, backache (extreme), diarrhea and vomit a few times. Hardly sleep cos of the backache. Cannot sit, stand or lay down for too long. My 'meimei' also very swollen and sore cos my tummy no place to bloat so my below bloated up.
My dr advice me to drink protein drink whose can be bought from GNC. It helps to retain water and reduce bloating. Everytime after drinking it, I fart and fart. Wahaha! Also must take small meals and moniter your urine colour. If it gets dark, you must drink alot of water.
Hospitalise is when you get too dehydrated and have to be put on protein drip.

I nv drink lots of water during my supression period. But stimulation period must drink alot of water cos they say can prevent OHSS.

Ashly, hee hee.. me abit free recently cos no need to do housework or cook dinner anymore. so got lots of time to kpo here and there.

WanBB,
So scary to hear that you gain 10kg in weight & 11 inches on ur waist, if all these things happen to me, think I will bcome a ballon cos my weight now alr 55kg.*touch wood*
R u working during that period?If yes, how u cover ur stomach?

Dilemmagal,
So for the beta test, need to repeat 1 more time a few days late to monitor the progress or just take one is enough? How many weeks/months are you now?Please take Care hor.

WanBB,
WOW! You no need to do housework or cooking. So Good!

WanBB,
so it is natural to have bloatedness during the stimulation period?
I have been feeling bloated and there's lots of wind inside my tummy... quite uncomfortable...

Other than that, I don't have any other sympton... does it mean that I may not be responding well enough to Puregon???
Haiz.... frustrated with all these worries...

Syenergy, I'm luck I nv work during this period of time. Now already 6 weeks and I'm still a little bloated. Scan shows water still inside my stomach. I feel like freak during that time. Imagine my neighbours saw my tummy grew into a 6 month pregnant size in just days! My next door neighbour thought I'm very sick and dying, even ask me to take care of myself. Kaoz! Other than that, I nv meet any friends at all. I think I lost all of them due to IVF.
My dr says cos I have PCOS, 'short', small size, young therefore will be prone to OHSS. Not everyone will have these symptoms but if you have it, you feel like commiting sucide to end all your misery. But during that period, you won't have the strength to die.

Stacy, depends on dr. Some wanna ensure that the baby is growing so they will request for another blood test in 2 days. Beta will double by then.
For my case, I request to do it a second time to reconfirm my results. Kia su me.

Jeni, Mostly OHSS will start abt 3 days to 1 week after your ER. But bloating is very common during stimulation. It's still bearable right? You can take ginger water to get rid of the wind if you feel uncomfortable. It's best if you boil the ginger water yourself and not drink those ready made. I find the natural ones more effective. Puregon won't have much symptoms after a few days from your first jab cos your body already adapt to it. I also nv feel anything before ER but to my surprise I retrieve 24 eggs. So you can rest assure that you are fine.

Hi Wan

Good morning to you, glad to have u here.

Now no need to do hsework and prepare dineer, just like a queen. When is your EDD? Sorry huh, I forgot, u transfer 2 embroys? How many forzen do you have?

Koala, Morning!
Not really like a queen leh... I still have to take care of my dog. I think she is the queen since she got a full time slave now. Dr nv tell me my EDD but calculated for the net it's abt 21 july next year. Still a long way to go.

I transfer 2 embryos (14 cells and 10 cells). 8 out of 24 didn't manage to survive so only 14 frozen and they are all 9 cells and below. Lucky only got one implanted. Or else I don't think I can handle.

Wan
Really "xian mu" leh... no need to do any housework... and is QUEEN of the house... heh... heh... how i wish i can "upgrade" my status when i'm successful like u

Eh... u also have doggie at home har?! Me too... thats why my mum always say "have dog then no need to have kids already lah"... but u plan to keep your doggie after your baby(ies) born?? You know lah, those "elderly" folks will sure add "salt+pepper" to psycho u to dump the doggie... i told myself, no matter what... i won't do that lor...

Ashly, Is packing shit and urine consider housework?
Actually all along I also nv do housework. So nothing much change. Only don't have to cook.
My dog is also a baby leh.. Just like my baby sister of cos cannot abandon her. I still love her as much and I doubt she will change her feelings for me also. My parents also love my dog alot so I don't think they will ask me to dump her. But some people situation different cos they live alone with their hubby then after childbirth, they will tend to neglect their dog. Cos baby already a handful and dogs still need alot of attention. How to cope? Lucky I stay with my parents so they can take care of the baby or the dog for me. My hubby always say I'm like a kid giving birth to another kid. I'm just too dependent on others.
Sometimes I think how come ang mo kids can live with dogs from young and chinese kids cannot. Will have breathing problems and etc. All myths only. For me, kids growing up with pets in the family will grow to be more loving and understanding.

Hi Wan,
Really hope that will be like you soon.Still working now but if I really "kena" next year, thinking to resign...
Cos this comapny full of evil, I dunt wan my baby(ies) to develop under this kind of situation...

Hi Wan

Wah, u still have so many frozen.

Ya, I was just telling Ashly don't know how many I want to put in, if put 3, all 3 kena, I die flat. But if I don't put 3 and fail, I will regret for the rest of my life.

Remember Chloe? just woner how is she now, I am quite worry for her and her 3 bbs... Hope all of them are alright.

Hi Ashly,
No leh, I still waiting for my mensus to start microgyon...
Still a long way for me to go...
Ha ha, that is the nick name my DH call me... cos I fat mah...

synergy
Oh i c... but why u hv to take microgyon?
R u working now or FT IVF-er? Me working leh... "sian" leh...
Y your DH so "bad" call u fat har??! He hasn't seen FAT yet okay... cos' i'm the FAT type u know...

Ashly,
I dunt know leh, in my protocol, after my mensus start 2nd, I got to take microgyon for 21 days...
R u doing in KKIVF, protocol not same with me?
Me working lah, cannot stop working cos got commitment...
Me also very sian working here...
I also consider ur type, now alr like dat, if pregnant how ah?

Synergy
Me also in KK but my protocol like never "include" this microgyon leh... or maybe i "deaf" cannot register... i thot when AF is here, can start Lucrin?!
YAh lor... i also got alot of commitment thats why have to "tahan" and work... are u working in town areas??
Wah leow... me dare not think how my shape will balloon to XXXXXL when i'm preggy... i even thot if i "scarly" cannot find XXXXL maternity clothes how har??

Ashly,
I think for IVF got long / short protocol. Normally KK one shd b long protocol.
Me working in serangoon area.
Now my worry is whether can pregnant or not, if our size really like ballon after pregnancy, then we go tailor made maternity clothes... ha ha...

Hi Synergy
U are right... now most impt for us is to achieve our "goal" and get preggy... after that whatever shape i turn into, i don't care anymore...
so u waiting for your AF to report then start the microgyon is it?
btw, this is your 1st fresh cycle?
jia you!!

Synergy, you have to reconsider leh.. unless got lots of saving or else quiting is not a good option. Childbearing = lots of money. Moreover if quit already no maternity leave. Very wasted leh. Or you take finish your maternity leave then quit lor.

Koala, Chloe should be okay. she should be having bedrest so cannot online and chat with us.. Very soon she will be very busy with 3 babies. I think her EDD in Jan. So fast hor.
If your embryos are good, you don't have to put in so many. Having too much will be dangerous... Cos our body cannot get used to it and womb might not take so much weight in the pregnancy. Bad things might happen.

Wan, bcos of money, I alr struggle in this company for so many years...No choice leh, cos I dunt hav a wealthy dad. What you said is true, hav to reconsider.This is so called life...

Hi Synergy,
I also got irregular menses and for the past few months i was given clomid to regulate.Like to know what's the use of microgyon as I was not given. When do you start to take and for how long?

Synergy,
You are on short protocol so does it means you can start puregon on day 21 and skip Lucrin injection? Bcos I wasn not brief on the short protocol and like to know more from you.So envy of you