IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Ya. I seen Caroline yesterday. Before the session, i told my hb it must be very boring and just part of the program requisite. After seeing her, we both find it fruitful and enjoying. She did IVF B4 and keeps on sharing with us her own experience,quite a long session(2hrs plus). At the end of the session, she commented that it is good and supportive to join the forum group here as we share info. and meet pple going thru the same process.

Well! Did Dr Zou give any medicine? How much the consultation fees like? I quite interested. Today my menses come and start as early as 22rd this month.

Take care. When's your test date?

Stacy, my session with Caroline was almost 2 hours too! It was so easy to talk to her and we just went on talking and sharing.

I am not taking any TCM cos' Dr Zou said I don't need to. Each acupunture session is $25 for 40 min (20min each for front and back). If you want to start now, you have to wait for your menses to finish first, sometime around day 8 or 9 then you can do acupunture otherwise it will cause you to have heavier flow.

En Hui,
May i know why some ladies have to jab pregnyl daily and some not need to?i mean what determine the frequency? So envy of you as you only require once every three days.
Besides, how frequent is your acupuncture session? Need booking?

Stacy, the frequency of the jabs depend on the no. of eggs retrieved and if there are OHSS symptoms, the daily ones are progestorone which functions the same way as pregnyl.

I started off by going for acupuncture twice a week then after that once a week nearing to my treatment.

Hi En hui, ondine,

enjoy your 2ww and hope you'll succeed! wishing you gals all the very best and stay positive always! If you have been to the 2ww thread to have a look, you will know my status... sad to say, i did not succeed. well, this is my first try at IVF and was very hopeful initially cos i know of a friend who succeeded at first try... haha... anyway, reality hits hard really, cos not everyone is as lucky la...

well, i have gotten over it and will move on to 'tiao' my body and prepare for the next FET, likely in Jan 07.

jia you to all on 2ww and all aspiring mums! i am sure we will all make it one day!

Hi everybody,
just an update...
I am going to KKIVF tomorrow to learn to inject myself. My hubby will go with me. He said he will learn to do it for me. He is scared but he said he will steel himeself...hahaha...
How many ladies here actually inject all by herself without their hubbies'help? I think i may have to do that and I am really scared. Any suggestion or advice to overcome the fear and do it?
Btw, what is 2ww? Is it 2 weeks' wait?

Appreciate if someone can response to this as I have to do it tomorrow!!!
I am excited as I have progressed but I dread it too as I am scared...Help!!

Hi Dodo

glad to know that you have got it over and plan for your next move.

A few sisters succeeded with their FET and some of them got twins leh... you will make it for the coming FET.

I will be starting my fresh cycle in Jan too, so let jia yu together, ok?

Hi Jeni

You are starting in Dec? I will be doing mine in Jan with Dr Loh too.

I get my HB to jab for me always, but also learn to jab myself, just in case when he is not around.

No worries, it is pretty simple and fast once you know the "technique" for injection. Last time when I was started with superfect (same as Lucrin) at Glenegles, I also feel very nervous, but after a few jabs, you will know how to handle it, what I did was I pinch tight on my flesh of my tummy and jab it, slowly push the liquid in and release the flesh and before pulling out the jab. So far, no blue black for me.

but I don't know how is the needle in KK, should be the same, right?

Is good to get HB to jab for us, as he will feel "invloving" in the program and will understand and "feel" the pain we have gone through. So I always get him to do it... he he...

Yes, 2WW is 2 weeks to wait (after ET and before the 1st beta test)

hi jeni,

just to share, i injected myself.. well, it is really a matter of overcoming the first self-injection. it's really not so bad cos the needle is very thin. haha... i have never thought of asking my hubby to do it for me la... i felt its more convenient to do it myself. well, its just my individual preference.. ;)

btw, yes 2ww stands for 2 weeks' wait..

koala,
yes, we will jia you together for our coming cycle! take care there!

It has been a while not been here. I hope that everyone is doing fine :)

Jeni,

I did all the injection by myself. Due to the fact, i dont want to wait for my hubby. Once time up and i will just gave myself a shot..that's it! Dont need to bother him.

You just need to follow the nurse instruction on the injection. I dont feel much pain. Just alittle ant bite feeling...if you really afraid of pain. Just pitch your tummy fat alittle more and poke the needle in, inject it and release it and press the alchol swip hard on to the injection site to avoid bruise. Dont worry...it actually quite fun!

koala...how are you doing? en_hui...wow 2ww already har...Jia You!!!

Hi Bodhi

Nice to hear from you again. Me ok, now waiting for Jan to come then can proceed with IVF. At least i can relax for this two months.. Dr SF Loh is nice, but I think he is a bit busy due to his popularity.

How is your progress? Which TCM you have choosen?

Enhui

When is your test date? Jia Yu.

Dodo, Bodhi, Koala,

thanks for the encouragement. My test date is this Fri and I have been refraining myself from testing with the evil pee stick hehehe
Telling myself not to think so much....

Jeni, like the other sisters have said, it is really your personal preference on whether to inject yourself or get your hubby to do it. I wanted my hubby to be more involved in the whole process so I insisted that he jab for me although there were days where I had to do it myself. Ultimately its what you feel most comfortable. I have also heard of some hubbies who are so nervous that they ended up causing bruises or "blue-black". So it's best to talk to your hubby and work out the best arrangment. Good luck to you

En hui

All the best ya.. Don't think so much just "dong" until Friday, dun stress yourself by doing the evil stick lah, U must believe the little two are there to wait for you..

wait for your good news, sister..

Ondine,

In KKIVF, we practise 17 days after ET, so should be accurate.

En Hui,
Can test using pee stick meh? I thought the jab will cause error in reading.I not too sure of it. Anyway, all the best to you.

En Hui

I think will hear good news from you. You have done good homework, going for acu frequently....

For me, I jab myself all the while, as my hubby is afraid of needles, and his schedule is very busy. The needle is superfine, no pain at all. There will be no blue black as long as you don't rub the injection spot.

Jo, thanks. I also don't want to be overly confident cos' there is also a possibility of failing even if I have gotten everything right. So now telling myself that I have already done my best. Everything else is in God's hands now.

I am also on 2ww ending this fri. I got no symtoms at all n I think this cycle has failed.
En hui
Hope u succeed.

1st of all, thanks for all the encouragement and advices.
I went this morning for my very 1st jab. It is quite painless, so that eases my mind.

Today, I thought I would have to spend a lot of money but i only spent $103 on lucrin and the extra needles and alcohol wipes.

When do I start to pay big money?
Just want to have some mental preparation...

En Hui,
the excitement and anticipation going through u must be tough to endure but perservere...
Friday will come soon...

Micky,
keep your fingers cross.
I have a colleague who was first pregnant in Mar/Apr, did not have any sympton until 6 weeks into her pregnancy, so there's still hope, ok?

Hi Micky

Please stay positive, no sympton doesn't mean no hope as long as AF is not here, still got chance. Take care, ok?

Jeni & Koala
Thanks for the encouragement. This is in fact my 3rd attempt. I got lucky In 2004 n had a boy who is now 2 years old. Frozen cycle this year resulted in chemical pregnancy. This cycle is a fresh ne and doc replaced 3 embryos.I am with GlenE.
Keeping my fingers crossed, but really hopes not high.
You ladies jia you also!
The path is not easy.
Jeni
The bulk expense will come from stumulation medicine.

Micky, don't worry too much about symptoms yet. I read that different people will have different symptoms. In fact some people have lots of symptoms but yet fail. Good luck to you too

En hui
Thanks. Hopefully all of us succeed.

Huangling
I am with Prof Ng at GlenE. This cycle spent close to 13k including insurance n freezing of excess embryos.

I think I am having tender breast but dun wan to think too much. If fail just not fated to be. You must jia you ok?

When do u think to start again?
When I first do my cycle in 2004 doc retrieved 26 eggs, 2 yrs later on same stimulation drug dosage retrieved 19. So it is really true that age plays a part. My gynae said some of his patients at aged of 40 only got 2 to 3 eggs on max stimulation drug dosage. By the way I will be 30 next year.

Hi Micky,
We go to the same clinic I think. I see Dr Foong. Heard Prof Ng is very nice.

I'm due to test at the end of this week too and am terrified. Everyone says the bloating and stuff will get worse, but mine's just stayed the same so I don't dare to think anything.

Hi Ondine and Micky

Don't worry, really, my personal experience, I have been bloated and vomiting since day 6 of
my last so-iui date, and the symptoms getting more and more serious at the end of 2WW... until to the extend that I have to put axe oil when I was in the train, if not I would throw out everything.. (even more than 1 week after my last HCG jab)

Even d nurse said I have very very high chance... esp for so-iui, normally won't have all these symptoms.... But I still failed to conceive and af reported 1 day before of the blood test date..

So pls don't bother by all these symptoms things... not realiable. Just take care and stay cool, ok?

Wait for your good news.

Micky

Looking at your experience,I am regreting as I have been delaying my IVF since 3 years ago.. I think my eggs are lesser now and the quality are dropping compared to 3 years ago. This lah, that lah... Sigh...

Ondine
Yes we are at the same clinic. I heard ur doc is super nice! My actual test date will be this thurs but hesistant abt going since my doc will be outstation. The nurse will call to tell me result. But still need to face it sooner or later so will still go. At most fail sad for a few days and thats it.try again lor.
My doc said bloating is a gd sign but I am not.
When is ur exact test date and how many embryos did u transfer?

Koala
Yes age really plays a part. Just tiao your body like some of the ladies her going for tcm. Shld help
I am sure all of u here will be proud parents one day, but let me tell u. Enjoy ur couple time now coz taking care of a child is no joke but it really brings lot of joy n I thank god for giving me a son. He is one funny boy that will auto put his hands together n do the "pai pai" sign whenever we bypass temples n will kneel down in front of gods with hands together n say "ow mi touw fou"!

Micky,
I've got bloating, but then it's not getting worse. I read many forum threads about how it's supposed to get worse if it's positive.

Glad you had one success already with your son.
I transferred two embryos and test date's on Saturday. Scared.

Micky, I will definately jia you....I also regret like koala....should go earlier cos age really plays a part......sighs........I think since you had succeed before...you will stand very high chance.....good luck!!!

Ondine
Gd that u hv bloating. Think u stand good chance. Jia you!

Huangling
Succed once does not mean will succeed again, can only pray hard. Thanks for your wishes.
2 more days to go...

Dear ladies,

can totally understand your concerns about symptoms and signs and I too was trying very hard in the past week not to over-analyze each and every symptom.

Out of interest, I've done quite a bit of reading on related forums and bulletin boards and realise that there is really no "confirmed" symptom that indicates pregnancy. It really varies from person to person. So you really can't confirm until the beta test.

Anyway, here a piece of light-hearted article which I've found. http://embryomotel.blogspot.com/2006/09/for-desperate-and-imaginative.html
Again, suggest that we that it with a pinch of salt. Have fun reading

Hi Micky

Your boy so cute, yes, whether we have a child, I think is fated.. No point of worrying, but practically I know is very difficult.

When I have make up my mind to do IVF beginning of the year, I have started the suprefect for 7 days, after that discovered that I was pregnant...but I can't keep it cos of low beta of HCG. I was so despair and think that been "played out" and told my HB I will not go into IVF again. As all the while I thought the jabs have been killed my bb and can't stop blaming myself in making the decision of doing IVF. (after that a few months later I went for another fertility specilist, he has confirmed nothing to do with the jabs.)

Lukily with my Hb support, I have the courage to give it a try again.

Ondine

At least got bloatedness, should be a good sign. Jia Yu.

Ondine, yup, feeling exactly the same but trying hard not to think too much. So looks like Micky, You and I will get our results one after another. Really hope all 3 of us succeed.

I cannot withstand the waiting n the fact that it will be the nurse to tell me the results so I went n bought the pee stick.

Result - very faint positive

I am pretty worried that the hcg is so low given that I already due for blood test (14 days) tomorrow.

I think if successful is a singleton pregnancy.

Hi Micky

BIG Congrats, You make it liao.

If you are worried, you may want to go to your doctor to do blood test today?

They will give you some medication to support preganancy. Then you can have a relief and don't need to wait for tomorrow?

Don't worry, the beta will be doubled up every two days.

I am really worried abt he low hcg but once confirm hcg tomorrow nurse will ask me to do preg support jab, that will really hurts.
I kept telling myself that that is not the first urine of the day hence not so concentrated.
Pray pray everything will be alright n I think all of u will succeed.
Keep u ladies updated

Ondine, Micky,
Hope you 2 will be fine. Dun worry too much and put too much stress on yourself. Your mental well-being is important in aiding successful conception. Take Care

Micky,
Please click the link below
http://www.ivf-treatment.com/faq.htm
for "When is the earliest time to do a urine test for pregnancy" and as according to the Dr 16 days after ET is preferred .

Blood test result confirmed that I am pregnant. The Beta was 181 shld be fine. But most likely a singleton preg.

Baby Dust to all.
Ondine and En Hui, JIA YOU! Waiting for your good news.