IVF at NUH--feedback pls

ladies, may i know over at CHR dept, is appt on 1st come 1st serve basis? i was given an appt to go for scan this wk. the nurse gave me 9plus am but i told CHR i need to go early as need to rush bk to office. CHR nurse told me that i could come ard 8am and if i'm the 1st patient, they can let me go in. is this true?

i've seen Dr Anu who coveres for Prof Wong and must comment that she's definitely more approachable & friendly. wondering whether i can request to change doc to Dr Anu. any idea?

Hi jamp_jamp, thanks, yup jia you, doing your fresh cycle or FET?

Hi Bluenosebear, oic, thanks for the info

Hi soulasylum, congrats and thanks for your sharing

Thank you Looking Forward
. All the best to you and your hubby
!

Andreanie and soul, enjoy the pregnancy! This is the most exciting time when u r starting to feel the babies in you! Have they started punching u yet? ;)

Btw, what's the name of the nurse fr china? I find her professional and v efficient! Asked her to find out when I should do my ivig ystd and she called me early this morning to confirm!

Tub, from CHR? I think her name is Zhou Jing. I find it all CHR nurses are very efficient and professional. I have been with CHR since 2008 Nov.

Andreanie, I mean procedures like hysteroscopy n laproscopy

Time really flies, so happy for u n Soul, hope all of us here can catch yr nv dust soon.

Looking forward, I dun hv any frozen

tub - yes started to punch, kick, nudge me already hehe... I think the china nurse is called Jing/Jane, the one with long curly hair rite?

jamp - oh i will try to ask him yah but i think he does cos he specialize in laproscopy studies.
Baby dust to you jamp! On another note, I too dont have any frozen.

@Andreanie: Hi there!
Time does fly fast! At first, trying to pass the first trimester felt like such a drag... But now, I feel like, "Uh-oh! My baby's coming and I have not prepared a single thing!!!" LOL So you finally gave in and bought the doppler eh?? Haha! Good for you! Have fun listening to your baby's heartbeat! I know I do!

@Su: Hi there Su!
Yes, I'm with Dr Su now but I haven't seen her yet. My first appointment with her will be on December 6. Thanks again for the recommendation!

@Tub: Hi Tub!
I have already started to feel flutters in my tummy. But I'm not really sure if it's the baby or... ehem.... gas. LOL That is Nurse Jane whom you talked about. And yes, she is very efficient and professional indeed! She was one of the lovely people that helped me make my IVF journey more pleasant.

@Jamp: Thank you Jamp!
Yes, time does fly yeah? I'm already sending my baby dust your way
. I really hope you catch it!

Hi ladies...nice to read all ur comments here. Btw I'm frm Indonesia who want to try IUI first with Prof.Wong, my appt for scan is on 2nd dec. Anyone here that success for IUI? Or you all have tried IUI first before jump to IVF? How many times you all tried IUI before IVF?
Nice to meet you all ladies.....

Nilla, welcome to the thread. My friend tried IUI with Prof Wong and she succeeded in her first try. But for me, I tried 4 times and not succeed. Prof usually recommands to try 3 IUIs first before embarking on IVF.

Soul, u will know it when it's a punch or a kick. Can't miss it. I also mistook gas for my girl's movement... But when it comes, you'll know it for sure!

Nilla, welcome! It depends... I conceived on my first iui attempt at Mt e and gave birth to a bb girl in 2007. Then, I was successful in a subsequent iui in 2010 but lost the bb. In 2011, I had two more unsuccessful iuis and now going onto Ivf. So it depends on u. Theoretically, try 2 to 3 iuis first before going for Ivf. Good luck!

Nilla - Hi Nilla! I did IUI first with Dr Chew but was unsuccessful. So since I don't want to waste more money and wait any longer, I told him I wanted to go straight to IVF instead of trying for another IUI. Its actually your preference, if you are ready for IVF, you can just tell Prof that you wish to skip IUI.

Soul - yes, been listening to heartbeats twice a day hehe.. now heartbeat getting louder and stronger, hehe.
Since you're in your 15th week, I guess you should be feeling bits of flutters or bubbles at the end of this week or early next week. Anything before that is gas, especially for first time mummies. Cos according to Dr Chew, you will only feel the real kicks after 18th weeks or even more. I felt my real kicks at the end of 18th week.

@Jamp: Yeah Jamp!! Grab em all!!

@Tub: I'm just going to go ahead and take those flutters as my baby kicking me then... hehehe!

@Andreanie: Isn't it amazing?? My baby's heartbeat sounds so loud like a galloping horse! I just can't wait to know my baby's gender! Have you known yours??

Soul - Not yet know the gender, will know next week during detailed scan! Cant wait, been counting down everyday cos my last checkup was when im in my 14th week!

Andreannie, flutter and dub dub sound. Miss those times

But now of course I am happier to see my darling right in front of me.
I am excited for you too...
Where did u get the doppler?

@ cool : wow ur friend must be so happy only tried 1 time n succeed....what is the recipe for them to succeed for 1 time? Is it true that we have to bedrest about couple days?
N how about you now? Tryimg IVF already?

@tub : wow you too so lucky then when you succeed for 1st time of IUI. Who was ur doctor there? Perhaps age also could be a factor. N how about ur IVF? Already succeas?

@ Andreanie : yeah thats I been scared, to waste money to repeat the process. May I know how many times you tried IVF already? Is it only 1 time and success?

Nilla, I think hers is female problem (ovulation). So once ovulation was controlled, it was successful. I don't think you need bed rest for IUI. For me, I did my first IVF in June and pregnant. But miscarried at 11 weeks. After D&C, and on medication for 2 months, I had FET (Frozen Embryo Transfer) on 18 Nov. I am now in 2ww and counting down the days for blood test which is on 29 Nov.

Nilla, mine is an auto immune problem. I've got lupus and thyroid antibodies that may be preventing conception and causing all my past 2 miscarriages. Oh well... Perhaps age is a factor too. I conceived my girl when I was 30/31. But now I'm 35.

I had my iui with dr Charles lim in Mt e. Now I'm in Nuh. I'm only in stage 1 of Ivf so dunno if successful yet.

How old r u and what r your issues?

U see, the first time my body didn't recognize the fetus as a foreign body so the pregnancy was successful. it got smarter for my subsequent pregnancies and attacked the fetus once I got pregnant. Just like when u get flu. The first time round the flu will make u ill but subsequently as the body recognizes the flu strain, it will be automatically immuned to that particular strain.

tub-i read somewhere in the forum that Dr Charles Lim is specialist in IUI/IVF. he has a high success rate?
i shld be switching to pte hosp for IUI if i fail my current cycle in NUH

hi cool, all the best to ur bhcg next tuesday : ) wish u bfp and spread bb dust to some of us who need it : )

hi blue buddy, how are u recently? Never see pink here anymore. I wonder how is she doing now.

hi jamp, hav u book for ur hysteroscopy yet? Which doc in NUH can do hystercoscopy for us?

soul - yes will update everyone on the gender next week! hhee.. so excited!

su_yana - i bought the doppler from US Ebay hurhurh.. only US$30 and its brand new. Work wonders!

Nilla - I only tried IVF once and was fortunate enough to get a positive and successful pregnancy. I don't have any frozen embies. The best 2 was placed inside me and I'm now 20 weeks preggy with a singleton. Anyway whether its IUI or IVF, bedrest is really important. For IUI at least rest for 2-3 days. But IVF, I rested for the whole 2 weeks, I didnt even go out except once on the last few days to my bloodtest. All I did was laze around at home, watch tv, walk ard my house or just lie down on my bed.

only US$30 - great! how long did it take to arrive and when can we start heaing hb? hmmm... E bay is it reliable?

soulasylm : galloping horse? wow, im so tempted to purchase it too.

coolcool : good luck for your beta! jiayou!

I'm so tempted to try for fresh cycle again, but dreading the going to NUH for the scanning especially my boss may not go for it.

tanny - yes, Ebay is reliable, I have been shopping with Ebay US for so long

It takes around 2 weeks to reach me. I used VPost service. You can start to hear heartbeat using the doppler after 12-14 weeks.

Rainy, yes dr Charles is an excellent fertility specialist. I do my Ivf at Nuh because me auto immune dr and miscarriage specialist R there. U can try dr Charles lim, not sure about his success rate though...

Serene, long time no 'see'...prof says best to do 2 menses after d & c. He's getting dr fong to do it for me. But I'm afraid their perspective different, thought it best to be done by the fertility specialist himself? Sigh...that's why i'm asking Andreanie to help me ask whether dr chew does all those scopy thingy.

Andreanie, if dr chew says he does all those procedures, you ask for me any problem if prof's patient transfer to him, can? sorry to trouble you :p

sistas, guess what? Blue and I met at dr zou's clinic on Mon. I was feeling very very down that day, the meeting really brightened my day. It's like 'oh my, finally met somebody who can truly understand what i've gone through' Hubby was surprised how on earth we could recognise each other instantaneously

thks tub. i plan to see dr charles if i fail this time @ nuh. at most only do IUI with him. IVF at pte is too expensive. i'm not advocate of IVF also and no time for it as well. so the most i will go is IUI

Serene, thanks. I'd very much like to spread baby dust to all. But still no symptoms yet. sigh..

Tanny, thanks. Congrats to you. Wish you have a smooth 9 months ahead. I still have no symptoms yet.

Vi, please go for it. You can go early to have scan. For my scan before ET, I reached there around 8+ and no patients there and Prof was talking with someone outside. I did not need to wait at all and all were done within 5 min.

Jamp- just tell yr hubby we are fated to meet up one. Haha
My hubby also surprise how we able to recognize each other.
Serene- Hi.
I also miss pink, don't know is she back in Sing or not.
How are U?
Andreanie- so excited to know yr precious gender.
Time flies fast.
Now is my turn to feel down.
Think is PMS bah, it seems like I would bite pple if anyone step onto my tail.

Blue, yah lor, i also told hubby it's yuan(2) fen(4)
...u very scary leh, wanna bite pple, luckily today i won't meet u :p

Rainy, my mt e gynae says can try iui 3~6 times, if age not a factor, that is. I think for you ok. But do consider IVF early if need to (touch wood!), cos I remember you mentioned your hubby is only son, rite? Perhaps a grandchild will be the bridge between u and mil. Sincerely hope you'll strike with IUI!

Cool, did u wait for 3 mense cycles b4 yr ET?

Jamp, yes. There were 3 cycles before I start ET. One is natural (one month after D&C), one is by Duphaston and another is by birth control pill.

jamp-yes,my hubby is only child somemore. i agree. maybe a child will improve the r/ship b/w me & my mil. but as u said, ivf is very invasive. sometimes, i feel may affect the body in some way or another, with so many mediations n injections to take during the process. my health has always not been very gd n i'm allergic to many medications. perhaps i'm selfish but i wont want to get my health affected further juz fr the sake of hving a child

Vi, go for it if you feel you want to give a try for fresh cycle.
It can be dready to do injection, scan etc.
But you will never know.

My 3rd attempt, I as very strong will to go for it although initially hubby was not keen. I did not regret my decision.