IVF at NUH--feedback pls

jamp & rainy, I was a subsidized patient for my fresh cycle, so I did not have a fixed Dr. Either Dr Chew or Dr Anu saw me. I was BFP but misscarriaged at week 11. After that I upgraded to be a private patient. Now I am under Prof Wong and will be doing ET tomorrow (for FET).
I did 4 IUIs before IVF. Each cycle costs 410 (subsidised rate, including everything: scan, medicine, consultation and procedure) while private patient costs about 1k (everything includes). This is just FYI.

cool, sorry to hear abt yr loss. at least u succeeded b4. take care in the meantime & i'm sure u will succeed again
though u r a pte private now, y don't u stick to Dr Anu since you have gd reviews abt her? i was not aware that we could be subsidised patient for fertilty treatments. u walked in to polyclinic n got referral to NUH?

i'm now thinking whether i should switch to pte hosp to do IUI since the costs in NUH is similar to pte. esp after an unpleasant experience with nurse Sharon this afternoon. hubby will only say that since we r now at govt hosp, we have to contemplate with the service. but since i'm gg to pay abt the same rate as pte hosp, y don't i go to pte whereby i can get better service? this is not the 1st time that i'm getting poor service from nurse Sharon. not only this, my dad also went to NUH for his gastro prob & I was pissed off b4 by their service as well.

sorry ladies abt me ranting my unhappiness n frustration here. not saying that all govt hosp r the same but so far my experience in NUH has not been very pleasant

Rainy, I think at the end of the day, it's about which dr u want to stick to. I will analyze the dr's expertise and disregard the good or bad service by the rampant staff.

tub, dr's expertise is impt too, i agree. however most of time we also need to liaise freq with the staff, so c individual's priorities bah

Hi all, I m at day surgery waiting for my turn at 1 pm. Even though I chose open ward they gave me a one bed room without extra charge.  After ET, I need to laydown for 2h.

Gals, any idea why we dun take any medication or jabs before the suppression stage? Some gynaes prescribe oral contraceptives while others Take microgynon.

Hi all, thanks. It's done. It only took 5-10 min. I am now back to my room and resting. They thawed 2 and both survived and both were transferred. My BT will be on 30 Nov. Hoping for the best.
Su, Day surgery ward is quite empty and i can see many empty beds. Dun know why they gave me room.

Rainy, today I got offended by prof :p we were discussing abt timing to do hysteroscopy, told him tat I wld like to claim frm co ins, reminded him abt the discharge slip the other time for m/c ward dr wrote stuff like 'infertility/ivf pregnancy' He told me they were not wrong to include those words, if ins co decided to probe further, 'we will not lie, we hv to tell them the truth' I'm offended as I'm not trying to ask them to lie. He was the one who told me m/c has nothing to do w fertility treatment, thus can claim from ins.

So dun take it to heart abt nurse Sharon, she's straight fwd type. I feel since u've done all tests in Nuh, go ahead w proposed iui. U'll need to repeat certain tests eg. HIV if u were to cross ov to other clinic/hosp. This is from my own experience.

Cool, maybe one of the reason they give you the single bed is because, the bed in those room can be used to tilt you like rocket launching position...hehehe..no offend yeah

Is the single room those with lcd type of tv?
I got that, i think it is the suite.
WHen i was there for my d&c, i was given a single bedder as i had requested but it seems to be the older room. I thikn that is realy single bedder/

Blue, the embryologist told me the embryos are good grades. I did not ask further.
Su, possible. But this time they did not tilt the bed. They said Prof Wong do not ask to do that anymore. So I was just comfortablily lying down for 2 hrs. The room is older room. For my ER, I got the suite room with a nice view. So I asked single bed room again for my fresh ET. But I only got older room.

Cool - Rest well and hope to hear good news from you at the end of 2 weeks.

Whoever is not happy with the nurse that treated them at CHR, just inform one of them that you would like other nurses to take care of your case. Last time my case is normally taken care by Nurse Munshi, Mei Hong, Serena and Jane. Never kena Sharon before. But I know Sharon is most time very busy.

jamp, govt hosp docs tend to go by the books. i hv a fren's hubby who went for a surgery at pte hospital for fertility prob. by right, cannot claim from insurance but the doc wrote the report that the op was due to 'health issue', put dw some medical terms and they were able to claim 100% from their insurance. this is the difference b/w govt & pte hosp bah. we juz hv to bear with it
for yr case, wat did prof eventually say?

basically, i was unhappy wif nurse Sharon cos of her way in scheduling my appt. so far, she has been polite in toking to me. 2nd time that I hv seen prof but each time, she will mess up my appt time. as u all know, i'm doing PT jobs, so any changes will disrupt my work for that day. told her i wan an earlier time for my scan on Mon cos i need to go to work. she said ok & wrote on my appt card the time that i requested. only when i recd e reminder sms did i realise that my appt was @ a later timing and i was so angry wif her as it means that i need to cancel my work schedules n other appts that day. it'll cause so much inconvenience & disruption to me. anyway i voiced out my unhappiness to her and the prob was resolved. i don't know wat other 'nonsense' would i get from her next time. although she could be very busy, but they still hv to do their work properly. to me, busy is not an excuse for not doing the work well. so far i hv never been to CHR dept & only c Prof @ women's clinic so doubt i could change nurse since she's the staff nurse of Prof.

anyway i'm sticking to NUH for e moment since appt has been arranged for my scan next wk. keep fingers crossed that i will not hv any unhappy experience with nurse Sharon again.

Rainy, yes, better to stick to Nuh for now.
Prof told me may not be able to claim lor

U r rite abt pte gynae, they'll try to help as best they could. I consulted my regular gynae on this hysteroscopy n labroscopy thingy, the assistant suggested I claim from insurance straightaway without me asking. But my gynae said as I'm on fertility treatment, she's not the best person to do for me the procedures. She asked me to go bk to Nuh, that's how she gotten dr Anu's name for me.

Blue, I went for review ytd, the 6-wk-aft one. Waste of time for me, told me to call them to make appt for hysterocopy after I hv my 2nd menses post d&c. He shld hv told me that during the previous visit. If it was to make sure hsg falls bk to normal lvl, I can jux do the blood test at my own time. In end spent 1+ hr waiting for prof, another hour waiting for pmt, there goes me n hubby's precious leave :'(

Sianz now prob is discharge on n off, no menses flow

jamp, y don't u ask yr gyane to recommend another doc from mt e who specialise in the procedures to do the hysteroscopy & labroscopy thing for u? i feel since mt e could allow u to claim, then y not consider doing in mt e?

since we r now in govt hosp, we just hv to compromise on many things like waiting time, service etc. no choice

Rainy, yes she has a fertility specialist to recommend in Mt e but tat means I'll also hv to do ivf w him, but I need the govt grant, boh bian. Actually she also recommended dr loh sf. I chose Nuh cos it's near off and hm.

In the visit prior to ytd's prof also said those procedures shld be able to claim frm ins. I find tat it's only when I mentioned why on earth did the ward drs mentioned those infertility wordings then he became defensive. Same when hubby told him that i refused to go fetal care ctr for a last scan b4 he did D&C for me was due to their poor svc, he immediately became defensive, acceded to my request. B4 tat he was still trying to persuade me to go for scan. So remember, dun criticize anything abt Nuh to him nx time :p

U r rite, boh bian lor, bear w it.

My Mt e gynae said best to do all procedures in same place. She said she hasn't hear anything bad abt dr fong. She told me not to read too much of those comments on the net.

She said dr fong who belongs to the younger generation, is trained by area of specialization, which means he shld be good in hysterscopy etc. So I think no choice I'll hv to stick to prof's recommendation.

Jamp- would u be seeing Dr Fong before hysterscopy? If yes, maybe able to ask him not to write subfertility on discharge notes. Since he would be doing the procedure for u instead of Prof.
Anyway abt the negative feedback, I will tell prof abt fetal care when has chance. I can't stand their service, just find is a waste of resources & $ over at fetal care.
I actually felt like writing in to feedback

Blue-tks for advice, shall do jux tat, hope he is empathizing dr

Yes, I thot of writing in too. At first I thought prof is righteous type, will help feedback to ftc, but from the way he reacted, I doubt so.

Oh yes Blue, actually my Mt e gynae wants me to ask prof whether can do hysterocopy n kiv laproscopy if needed, which is normal for Pte She concern is also that age is catching up for me. But prof told me they are 2 separate procedures, 'dun mix them up, PLEASE' he told me sternly. This is another inflexible aspect of public Actually my other concern is leave issue, was on hosp leave for more than a mth already in Sep~Oct. Now another hurdle to cross, sigh...

Hysterocopy alone is done outpatient in the clinic, not o.t, therefore definitely unclaimable, but shld be quite cheap, I hope

I hv not gone to FCC yet so dunno abt their service. However I feel it's best that u ladies write in to feedback n hopefully they will improve their service in future
as for prof, maybe bcos of his status, I find that he doesn't like to be 'questioned' over things that he has advised. Wat to do? :p

Looking forward, dun be affected by my comments, jux to air some dissatisfaction, if not cannot take it liao! :p. I know only sistas here can understand what I'm saying, this is the only place to 'air', sorry if I've made u feel troubled.

Your experience may be a very pleasant one, dun worry

To me, traveling distance from HM to fertility centre is an Impt factor, where do u stay?

Andreanie, trust that u n bb r doing great!
so u still w dr chew? Is he a full time dr in Nuh? I read somewhere that says he is a 'visiting consultant'.

Looking forward- dont be affected by our comments.
I felt that u will feel a great difference between Nuh chr nurses & kkh ivf nurses.
U will feel that u are well look after by a team of efficient nurses.
As for rainy becos she is doing iui, so might not be in contact w the chr nurses.
Andreanie- think most of the time, u see Dr Chew in chr, so no chance to get in contact w Sharon, whom is Pc Wong nurse in emerald clinic.
I personally felt Sharon is efficient compare to others. Maybe I have gd relationship w her bah.

Jamp- I was thinking maybe u would like to see Dr Fong 1st before hysterscopy.
To discuss whether kiv laproscopy straight if need to.
I'm not sure is it possible or not.
I done hysterscopy, laproscopy, hsg all together by Prof Biswas.
It all becos x-ray dept unable to do hsg. So did all together 1 shot.

U want to check w Sharon, then ask her to make appt straight. Anyway Prof is on leave now also. If not call hr nurse to enquire.
Last resort is just make appt & see him.
I felt that u will be more reassured to see him 1st then do the procedure.

Hi Jamp, i understand but will worry because i am one of the straight forward kind person and if i have doubts i will keep asking, dont worries, i need to thank you at least i know what to say, i stay in Jurong West

Hi Bluenosebear, no lah, i worry about my character

Hi all, dont worry about air out your thoughts, i understand your experience as i encounter it myself also, i call NUH that day to speak to Sharon for 1st appt, the ivf clinic nurse told me to call again as she is busy with other patients and has no time to pick up my call, i immediately told her off, if Sharon has this kind of attitude, i guess NUH is a wrong chose for me, but lucky she return call within the day. So far my experience with her so far so good, she is friendly and helpful.

Looking Forward, 'so far so good', that's good enough! Furthermore yr hm nearer to Nuh than Kkh. Anyway I believe there are good drs in all the hosps lor, but drs are jux one impt aspect of e ivf process. After being thru the first cycle, I feel that God is the ultimate Decision Maker. No matter how good the dr is, if the timing is not ours, it'll not happen. What we can do on our part - prepare our body, do whatever that is necessary - exercise, eat healthily and PRAY hard. Easier said than done, I'm trying to convince myself not to worry too. Me trying to cut out 'worrier' habit. Life is already sorrowful enough for me.

Let's jiayou 2gether,k?

looking forward-It should be the emerald clinic that U called & is the clerks that answered. It is in level 3, once U seen Prof, confirmed doing IVF, Prof would instruct U to go t o level 4, which is the CHR clinic( IVF centre).
Sharon is assisting Prof in level 3, but for IVF issues, all are handle by CHR nurses (whom would also communicate with Sharon in level 3)

jamp - hi babe! baby is doing well, already in my 20th week hehe.. kicking here and there. Yes, still with Dr Chew, he is full time there as far as I know. Cos he is Prof's right hand man.

Blue - I think I have deal with nurse Sharon at Emerald clinic before. She last time was with Dr Chew also before he change to this new indian nurse. I see she's quite efficient.

It's a rainy late Monday afternoon, but I hope your moods are brighter than today's weather.

I'm here today to share my IVF experience with Prof Wong and his team of nurses. For those who have concerns over Prof PC Wong's ability as a IVF specialist, I would say not to. He might not talk as much, or be as friendly, but he's practical and gets the job done, in my humble opinion, beautifully. This is my first IVF cycle with the Prof, but with God's blessings, the Prof and his team's dedicated efforts, I am now in my 15th week
. I have passed the first trimester without much complications. My baby is healthy and very active, from what I saw on the sonogram last Friday
. As for Sharon, she had never caused any problems for me. She was nice and also caring. I also find her very efficient. All the CHR nurses are without doubt, the best team of nurses that I've ever encountered, so does Prof's nurses on Level 3, Sharon, Alice, Lala... Those are the only ones I know.

I've been shipped off to an OBGYN. I asked for Dr Su Lin Lin, based on Su_yana's experience, and other good comments that I have read on her.

So, I hope this would help to clear some doubts or to help you make the decision. Personally, I feel that the doctors and nurses can only help us as much. There are many other factors involved in the success of IVF. Some of them are unknown to anyone. But most importantly, listen to yourself. Prof Wong and his team worked for me, but maybe not for others. But that's okay. I can even say, that's just how life is. And have faith ladies, and stay positive. There's always light at the end of the tunnel. I wish you all the best and all the luck in the world
. Have a Happy Monday!!

Andreanie, wow so fast, 20 weeks already, happy for you

Would you be seeing dr chew soon? Can you help me ask if he does investigative procedures for his ivf patients? or he does only ivf like prof?