IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Blue, jamp and tub.. thanks.. me so excited.. finally it's time for ET after waiting for 3 months after my D&C in Aug. I am not sure mine is blasto or not. I did ER on 1st June, then fresh cycle ET on 4th June. That means 4 days transfer? Now I don't know yet when they will thaw the embryos.

Jamp- for accupuncture at Dr Zuo, she do on tummy & back is it? Not on the legs right? Was thinking of wearing jeans there as go from work place

Blue, she does on the legs as well but u can roll up your jeans.

Hi, I read from the Ivf thread that dr Soh requested that his patients do the sis or saline sornograph before Ivf to determine any growths in the womb that may hinder implantation. Does prof do that? I m worried cos he has not scanned me so far. I had endo in the past but my last laproscopy was done in mar 06.

hello ladies, seem long time since I come in here. been quite busy lately with work n personal stuff.
jamp-sorry haven't replied yr email. busy plus lazy...keke will find some time to reply u ya

will be seeing Prof this week for review. keep fingers crossed on my test results

tub-HSG, PAP smear & blood tests on d3 & d20 of my menses. hubby oso gone for sperm test
from these tests, can i ask Prof whether i hv fibroids/cycts/endo/PCOS?
really dunno wat to ask during the review

Thanks, tub, tub or any ladies here, care to share more about him, are most of you in 1st cycle of FET, what is the success rate in NUH, etc. My apologies for so many question as i really dont know what to do as my failed IVF and gyne leaving KK in Jan

Looking forward, mine is a fresh cycle. Never done Ivf before so I'm really a blur sotong. Maybe the sisters here can help u better. Prof is a man if few words but he took the time to answer all my (silly) questions. I dunno about success wor... Think up to individual's body, health, and many other conditions ba...

lookingforward, u can scroll to previous threads whereby there were discussions abt Prof. i've not started any treatment so can't advis u much also. agree with tub that success depends on individual's body & luck.
good luck!

Hi rainy n tub, i agree that it depends on individual luck and again on their experience, i dont have normal tube like others which is easy to deal with, i need to source for a experience, patience and skillful doctor, i been have to NUH & SGH in YR 2008, at that point of time, the doctors are unable to deal with my scan due to body structure, they failed a few times

looking forward-mind sharing wat happen to yr tube? perhaps u can c Prof 1st then decide yrself whether u wan to consult him again. he will normally ask u abt yr medical history during 1st consultation.
were u seeing a senior consultant in 2008?

Looking forward, y dun u book am appointment with prof first? Get a sense of what he is like and see his recommendation for your condition.

Lookingforward, I used to be with prof for all my 3 attempts.
Really a man of few words but if you ask questions
he will be willing to help. At first I was not comfortable with him but then I got used to it.

hello ladies. anyone could advise me?
FSH 6.0
Luteinizing Hormone 6.1

so do I have PCOS? just went for review with Prof. he said i do not have PCOS & i'm ok in all my tests

Hi rainy, ya a senior consultant in YR 2008.

Hi tub, ya, already book an appt

Thanks, Su_yana, i heard NUH let patient rest after ET, truth?

jamp-read from the forum that for some ladies, gynae may say they don't hv any prob but when they seek 2nd opinion, they realise they hv some other probs which the 1st gyane may not be able to detect. so i just wan to make sure

Prof recommended us to go for the simpler process 1st which is IUI. however, the prob lies in my hubby. so i don't place high hopes on IUI. when i was with pte gyane previously, the gyane actually told us to go straight to IVF since my case here is male factor

anyone here has consulted Dr Anu from NUH b4? Prof will be on leave next week and his covering doc is Dr Anu. I was asked to go for scan next week which will be done by Dr Anu & if i'm gg to do IUI, shld be under him as well if Prof is not bk by then

Rainy-oh i c...but your previous gynae also didnt mention you hv PCOS rite? Think shld be ok lah, dun worry unnecessarily

you r still young, and hubby's sperm count shld be alrite, tat's why prof recommended iui, I supposed. Maybe shld try one round under prof. Many pple, including dr zou, feels that the best is to conceive naturally - iui to them also considered natural Reason being hormones produced by the body naturally would be able to support the pregnancy more adequately. Did your previous gynae trigger ovulation with ovidrel?

So in end did u choose iui or ivf?

jamp-thks for the advice & info

we chose IUI eventually cos hubby straight away agreed to it in front of Prof without consulting me. was a bit unhappy wif him initially cos i thot of gg bk home & discuss 1st. anyway since IUI is not so time consuming, we just try out bah. gg for my scans next wk n if everything goes well, shld be able to start real soon. the reason y i'm hesitant abt IUI is bcos I'm someone who can't really take failures. I used to take a very tough course but managed to pass all modules at 1st attempt within a short period as I've put in hard work. for IUI/IVF, no matter how much efforts, time & $ we put in, it still can result in failures in the end.
yes i oso wish to conceive naturally but i read from some forums that if we r hving male factor prob, then IVF is normally the preferred solution as IUI usually doesn't help much. for the previous gyane, i only went to him for consultations. didn't start any treatments as it was pte hospital n we were considering abt the costs. my test results taken over there 2 yrs was gd. no PCOS & everything was fine. this time in NUH, my test results are the same. no PCOS, good ovarian reserve, etc. now just leave to luck & god's will bah

Rainy, oh so u hvnt started any sort of treatment, then it's worth trying iui lor. It costs much lesser than ivf, about $550 from the website, if i'm not wrong.

If i'm your age, I'll try iui a few more times, my regular gynae said can try up to 6times, she is not an ivf advocate. She feels ivf is invasive.

Hope you can strike in yr first try
You can consult dr anu's opinion too when u see her nx wk, see wat's her take on your situation, but dun think she'll contradict prof :p

For me, pain of iui failures are definitely much more bearable than that of ivf's

thks jamp!
Prof was telling me that the IUI costs in NUH is about $1k. dunno y it's so different from the website. prof & the nurses didn't even brief me the IUI process and I also dunno wat to expect. it's a gd idea to get Dr Anu's opinion too when i c her nx wk. maybe she can give me more info on IUI.
jamp-i agree with u that IUI is not so invasive like IVF. afraid complications may arise from IVF. i won't wan to go for IVF unless it's a last resort. but spending $1K for each IUI is quite a sum too, esp when it may result in failure. i won't place high hopes in any treatment that I'm gg to as the higher hopes we hv, the greater disappointment we face if fail.

any ladies here hv done IUI in NUH?

Rainy, nope, she's from mt e, i asked her for another name other than prof in nuh for my fertility issues and other concerns, she found out from sources 'that other name' is dr anu. Read some +ve articles from the web about her too.

I agree that $1k for iui is quite ex lor, same as pte hosp.

Rainy, i'm also one who couldnt take failures well, the quest to conceive has humbled me a lot, failure after failure, hurdle after hurdle.

Sometimes I'll ask why some pple can conceive so easily, until they have to go for abortion!!! This happened to someone close to me.

But I guess this journey also make us stronger individuals

Dun worry, gal, since yr hubby has agreed to iui, go for it and hope for the best!

Rainy- I done twice iui w prof. Each iui only cost abt $500-$600, exclude the trigger jabs, scans & consultations.
For IUI, they will just scan to see when is the ovulation, the lining & growth size of follicles. When then know is the right time, then jab trigger jab to trigger ovulation. On the iui day morning, hubby need to provide the sperm. Lab would wash the sperm. Then at 11-12pm time, prof would put in transfer the sperm into u.
Hope tis helps

Rainy- I agreed w jamp.
Same here, I can't take failures. But w these ivf & ttc journey, it let me think that though w failures, life still has to go on.
I still have my love ones, friends that support me.
No harm try iui 1st, then u decide further wat is the next step if there is a need to.
Who knows......

blue-thks for e valuable info. I'm a bit puzzled. why do they need to jab the trigger shot for ovulation if the lady is tested to be ovulating on the day of scan?

yes gals, it's thru the journey that we hv gone thru which will make us stronger person. now tat i've decided to take the 1st step, i will hv to overcome the hurdles in front of me & hopefully i can become a stronger person too

all e best to u ladies too!

jamp-i tried to goole search for Dr Anu but couldn't find much reviews abt her. where r those +ve articles from that u hv read abt her?

cool, thks for the assurance. congrats to u. she's just covering prof's duties while he's away but think my IUI will be done by her bah.