IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Jamp & rainy- pm means personal message, I think.
Rainy, open up the email that u register for when u open the account for motherhood. Then u able to read what jamp write to u.

Hi Mel_mel & rainy

I am with kkh. I am working in heatlh care line so My co cannot reject HL. My HL is due to my IVF cycles and m/c after that. The best thingy is that those who feedback to my boss is not my covering colleagues.

I just seen Prof just now. No patients surprising lor.
He is in good mood today, k ask me abt my work. Haha.
Has to see him in 6 weeks time, also to discuss what is the next step.
Anyway going Dr Zou tis sat? I make appt at 11am.
I'm at Starbucks now, waiting for my friend to eat.
Gd life hor, but later go back to work

Haze- yah 2ww is tough... Try to think positive, find someth to keep urself occupied. Its easier said than done but just try. Rest well and all the BEST!

Piglet- didn't know u are in healthcare line.
I also.
That is good in the sense that boss would understand.
Ignore those that won't understand our situation

Blue- Wah today Prof stark different from yday when I saw him. Hee hee...
So u decided where to go for ur short vacation yet?

Blue, I tried to PM you once, did you receive?

Rainy, let me know if you receive the msg in your registered email account, like what blue said.

Mel, I did just that and also 'Send a copy of this message to myself' but I didnt receive copy of msg i sent to Rainy leh...let's see whether Rainy can receive mine

Mel- that is another headache.
I told hubby is very last min, I only left like 5 days leave, incase, touch wood I need to use becos of mc then need to leave. As all HL & mc are used up.
So likely not going & postpone to new year time.
Or maybe really short trip to KL & genting.
Don feel like cracking me head now.
Haha, trying to be more relax

Piglet- since they are not ur covering cols then why need to tell them to seek their understanding?? Ur boss understands can liao. Ur co is statutory board?
Last time my job requires me to fly occasionally cos my boss is not based here. I'm always worried I'll have last min meetings that clashed with my scans since scans we won't know when it will happen. Anyway I'm going to NUH later to confirm the estimated dates for my next cycle D21 jab. Maybe I will go help out at friend's shop to earn pocket money. Hee hee... Inspired by Rainy part time jobs.

Jamp- I received yr pm after reading my email.
I rarely read this email, maybe when u send pm, just tell me here, then I will go in to read.
But I can't reply u via yr email, it show server can't go through leh.
Don know why

But mel thought u need at least need yr menses date before u k estimate mah.
Mel, mind sharing why u don't want to continue to start yr net fresh with Prof Ng?

Blue, are u claiming d&c exp from insurance? I'm trying to claim from company's hospitalisatoin policy which covers m/c.

But i'm afraid when they see 'Dr PC Wong', insurance company will probe more since prof is a renowned dr in ivf. Worse still on the discharge summary, those smart alec ward dr indicated diagnosis as ivf pregnancy and secondary infertility.

Can any sista enlighten me on this?

thks sistas but i still can't view the PM sent by jamp leh. i know how to send PM but duno hw to view my PM msgs. i didn't receive any email notifications in my registered email inbox.

jamp-u mind giving me yr email address? then i drop u an email. sori not convenient to disclose my email here cos afraid someone else will recognise my identity :p

piglet - is kkh considered as stat board? ever since i grad, i'm always working in stat board. this is the 1st time i'm working in pte after i switch to part-time jobs. think i'm too used to stat board life as they hv procedures, fair treatments to every1. in my current co which is very small, i can c unfair treatment by the boss. no proper guidelines. i don't think i can switch bk to govt jobs for the time being if i wan to go for any treatments. still hv to hold on to my PT jobs. more flexible in a way

mel-i strongly encourage u to take up the PT job. can occupy yr time & earn some extra income
for my profession (accounting), quite easy for me to find freelance or PT jobs but come to think of it, there r pros n cons to PT jobs. i need to answer to many employers and sometimes, they can be more stressful than one full-time job. i find myself busier than b4 cos i need to work on wkends too, regardless of @ hm or at co. but the pro is time flexibility lor.

I also going claim under company. Don care I will try my luck, if can't go through then I use medishield
They write as subfertility on my.

Blue- in that case, nearby is good. Go kl can shop, genting can cold cold. Msia nearby beaches think this period monsoon not suitable.

Rainy- I hv the statistics for NUH. I happened to have it fm my visit to NUH yday. I'll post later the day cos I need to go NUH soon now.
Also my personal opinion, I think tho success rate is impt, I think our bodies is another critical factor too. KK is popular cos it's maternal hospital so definitely has high patient load. But Dr Loh is leaving so if I were to stay nearer to NUH I will choose NUH. If Dr loh still ard I feel it's fair to choose kk even if stay further. That's how I will choose. Btw I choose NUH cos I stay v nearby.

Blue, ok, I'll try to do so, tks.

Rainy, i'm afraid to receive spam mails leh...now everyday hv to clear junk emails, sianz

I'll try to PM you again my email add.

mel-i agree. our bodies' condition & reaction to the jabs, med is impt also for success. also depends on the one up there. god's will

hw did u manage to get the statistics from nuh ytd?

jamp-hv u received my PM? i still hv not reced yrs. starnge lor. i could receive PM from sistas from kkh forum previously but duno y i can't receive yrs this time. or should i change any options in my Profile to receive PM?

jamp, do u hv personal insurance? if u hv prob claiming from yr co., can try to claim from yr personal but may increase the premium following yr?

blue buddy, i m sorry to hear abt ur loss. But glad to see you are moving forward. now u need to tio ur body and try again next year.

As for me, after my 2nd failure, i have no courage to try ivf again. Since both my ivf went smoothly but no implantation occured, Prof suggested me to do a hysterscopy to check for fibroid in my uterine before i embak in my 3rd ivf. I think i will try naturally for the time-being till i decide wat to do.

serene - isn't hysterscopy done b4 the actual ivf process? is this simlar to HSG? i'm new to all these terms.

sistas, will yeast infection affect chances of getting preganat?

Rainy, still cannot receive leh

I checked liao, my healthshield doesnt cover m/c.

But should be the same, most insurance doesnt cover fertility treatment, dunno why the ward drs so brainless - pls pardon me for using this word - really upset with them

Serene- how do we know whether there was any implantation? What makes him suspect fibroid?

I have my own gynae for my endo check up. I see him regularly cos he knows I'm paranoid and will not discharge me else I 'keep worrying'.

Rainy- I happened to see it in one of the consent forms we have to sign. I took a picture of it cos I saw ur earlier post but haven't got time to post it.

Clinical pregnancy rate per embryo transfer based on Year 2000 - 2009: (dunno why no 2010)
Age below 30 42.1
30-34 yrs. 38.5
35-39 28.8
Above 40 10.8
Average 31.7

Rainy- I think normal yeast infection doesn't but chlamydia or other pelvic infections if untreated can cause sterility. U need not worry. When u decided to embark on ivf the dr will do the screening tests. It'll take a while for all the tests before can start ivf.

jamp-hw abt this? since u can receive PM from blue, i will PM blue and ask blue to PM u. no choice.
blue-can help?

mel-u r bk from nuh so fast? i already started on a few tests like HSG & blood tests. meeting prof 2 wks later to hear his reviw & recommendations.

Yes I'm back. 
HSG is to check the tubes if blocked. Last time I checked in NUH all ok. But after my first fresh failure, I checked in KK and SGH I got endo cyst and in SGH (my current gynae) I had lap and gynae said I got one tube blocked?! It cannot be unblocked cos it will cause ectopic preg or worse damaged the tubes.
I think best u prep any questions to ask Prof cos if u dun ask, Prof usu doesn't give suggestions one. He wants patients to decide themselves I feel.

mel-i'm also unsure wat qns to ask prof as i'm new to all these ivf n fertility treatments. i did my HSG @ NUH last wk n my tubes r not blocked. however, who knows i may be like u. having other probs n evenutually finding that the tubes r blocked. I'm clueless as to wat is endo cyst & lap. shld i ask prof in my next review?

Rainy- ask him as many qns that u have. Write on paper first else will forget. U can ask him for eg

1) from the blood tests etc, which protocol he will put u on?
2) what to be expected...
3) what happens if got cysts?
4) what ur AMH, FSH results are?

Just examples.

AMH is to see ur ovarian reserves. Usu v high means polycystic (too many small follicles), v low means not much reserves le, may not respond as well so need higher dose of stimu. FSH is follicle stimulating hormone which stimulates our ovarian follicles. If too high not gd, too low oso cannot. High is menopause, too low is pcos I think. Usu they test on our day 2-3 of menses. I'm retesting next cycle cos nurse said good to have 2 Amenorrhea test results and 2 AMH results.

Blue, received your PM liao, tks

Rainy, when we asked prof how he determined long/short protocol, his reply was that the long protocol is the one that they've been using for the longest time and that they're very confident in administering it.

Mel - High AMH means PCOS and Low AMH means ur egg reserves are lower than what you're supposed to have according to your age.

I remembered mine was 57.

Blue,happy to see you are ok now. Take time to heal n do consider another try if you can.

it's a cool afternoon, nice to zzzzzz...

hi rainy, nornmally ppl do hsg to ensure no blockage of fallopian tube. If there are blockage in both tube, the only way to get preggy is ivf. If no blockage, can ovulate regularly, no male factor issue, can try naturally or iui. Hysterscopy test is more for multiple ivf failure. This test is to check whether there are fibroid or other things grow on our uterine wall. Fibroid will cause the embbies unable to implant into the uterine lining. No implantation mean no pregnancy can take place.

hi mel, both my ivf procedure went smoothly (good grade embbies, good lining thickness, easy transfer to uterus) yet bfn.

2 possibilities:
1) embbies stop growing inside my uterus
2) embbies fail to implant into my uterine lining

prof rule out the 1st option as low probability to happen twice for all 4 embbies to stop growing.
Now left with 2nd option. A hysterscopy test will show whether there are fibroid or other things grow on my uterine wall tat cause my embbies to fail to implant.

I am still deciding whether to go for the test as i m not planning to go for my last try in near future. Dun hav the courage as it will b my last chance : (

Just saw prof just now and had blood tested for both me and hub. Will see him again on cd 11, next thurs to review. He said Ivf likely to be in dec. I guess he's putting me on thanking protocol then.

Btw, when do we take the egg whited and the immunocal? Where can we buy the immunocal? Thks.

Tub, I got my immunocal from OG Albert, displayed at cashiers near health products. I got these details from Blue also
A few weeks back, I saw them having promotion on the selling floor. Think all OGs that have health product dept carry immunocal.

Tub, I asked prof b4 if necessary to go on high protein diet during stim, he said I do not need but no harm if I want to.

CHR nurses said it's prob becos I started high protein diet early that's why I dun feel the bloatedness

I listened to Blue & other sista's advice, start immunocal from 1st day of stim, in the morning, + 4 egg whites, that's all.

Protein is mainly for prevention of OHSS and symptoms, I heard from CHR nurses.

serene-i know ivf is very long & tiring process. perhaps u could take a short break first, discuss with yr hubby, then decide wat to do. i am hesitant in doing ivf cos mentally & emotionally, i may not be able to take it. physically, not sure whether my health could take it also.
best that u consider carefully and u r happy in whatever decision u made

mel-r yr probs like endo cyst, lap resolved now? my friend told me one of her gf also had blocked tubes. went for surgery at a pte hospital & just got pregnant recently. so yr blocked tubes issue still cannot be resolved?

Hi Ladies!

I have a question... For those who have gone through Down Syndrome test during the first trimester, may I know how much did the test cost?