IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

koori -how are you? I am just curious... did you gynae do a few scan like others before the IUI?

I will try for 3 times of IUI lor. Maybe do it on alternate cycle. Clomid is not so good for me leh.....

dishearted - Don't be so sad... try again next cycle?

How long have you been TTC? Can share with us why you go for SO-IUI?

For my case, I have unexplain infertility.... cos both me and my hubby has no problem lor. Just no BABY luck. Biological clock is catching up... hence plan to try IUI now....

aim 4 mousy,
I did a lap to remove my cysts 2yrs bk n did a SO-IUI immediately.And i hit the jackpot n conceive my first child.Ever since i did not take any precaution but no chance for a second bb.So i went back to my gyne again.And i did 2 times of IUI but did not succeed too.So i was advise to do SO-IUI again.Even the gyne also cant explain why as she said it will takes years for the cysts to come back.

huh... I don't understand lor. Your gynae never explain to you why IUI is required. Are you ovulating?

Well... at least you have a child.... my still struggling for first one.

koori - no, gynae din scan for me before IUI but my egg is usually good size at O period. I tested with OPK and did the IU but din succeed.

Hi Zenia,
Actually I'm not sure what the jab is for....Something about releasing the eggs. Aiyah the gynae explain so many things and when I look at the needle, I blank out liao. My husband is more attentive in absorbing the infor than me... After the IUI procedure on Wed, I went home and had a nap. THe next day, I drove out to get lunch and the following day I even went to the market. Really cannot stay in bed and do nothing. But it was a good two days as I did not have to go school and fill my head with stressful thoughts. This week have to do two more jabs. I think after the last one on Sat, doc will give me a pregnancy test kit. Really trying to think positive......

hi zenia,
im having IUI. btw, did the gynae check whether if you have any blocked fallopian tubes before starting IUI? Cos mine didn't check and Im wondering if i try again and didnt hit, i dun even know if its because of blocked fallopian tubes?

Am going to see the gynae today again and today is the D18 of my clomid cycle already.

yah, i went to a forum in KK hospital on fertility treatment on saturday and they also mentioned that even if there are eggs, if they are not matured properly, also cannot get fertilised.

hi dishearted,me too, my iui was on 040707. two matured eggs, had high hopes... but din succeed. i also conceived my no. 1 via soiui, and i hit the jackpot on my first try. so now, hopes quite high, and all dashed. will go for my nx cycle end Aug. this month will be rest month. when do you intend to go for your next cycle?

helpme, i wasn't aware that some eggs can be empty eggs. maybe the eggs were not matured at time of iui, given both were abt 18mm or bigger.

sophia... so excited for you. at least, you have hope... good luck to you!

helpme, my gynae did check my tubes before iui, else will be wasting time if real problem are the tubes. maybe you can ask about a Hsg? it is less intrusive compared to a lap.

hi thistle
just backed from the gynae. there is only one follicle which is about 15mm and and gynae said im quite late for my ovulation and asked me to do an ovulation test just now which shows no surge. He then asked me to do the ovulation tests these 2 days myself.

he also said that if its not growing too well, i might have to abort this cycle. sigh.oops. i forgot to ask about the fallopian tubes thing. i remembered they say will put dye into ur tubes to see if it flows out and if it doesn't means u have blocked tubes, is this what is known as HSG?

im not sure about the empty eggs but the talk mentioned that even if you have eggs but are not matured, they won't get fertilised.

i am thinking if I should just go for IVF.

aim 4 mousy - thanks for the good luck

dishearted - dun be discourage okie.. we are half way in the battle liao.. only lack of some baby luck.. sooner or later, our dreams will comes true! keep ur chin up okie..

sophia - oic.. i oso had that jab for releasing of the eggs.. iui was done 2 days later.. weired right.. gal, u were saying u will be testing hpk. when will u be testing? DPO?

helpme - i actually had my lap done last month and this isi my first iui procedure right after the op. gynae did mention that my tubes are clear. did some cleaning up oso.. so which gynae are u with now?

Hi zenia,

Really can't understand the terms you are using: What's hpk and DPO?

My previous gynae also did not send me to check my tubes. He did a bad job with the IUI. I was in pain and had quite a bit of bleeding. I was crying all the way home in the car. I'm glad I change gynae. This new one is very systematic.

Helpme: don't give up. how many times have you done iui? I have a friend who did 3x iui and 3x ivf. She is still trying..... I look up to her for inspiration.

hi sophia,

hpk = home pregnancy kit
dpo = days past Ovulation

cos in ur previous thread u mention that u will be using hpk.. so was wondering which dpo u intend to test..

am asking for a friend who is ttc for many many years....
i think her health etc is ok but is her husband having problem. think is sperms not healthly, diffcult to conviece.

What methods can they try ? They are not earning much then....
1) IUI ? Cost range ?
2) SIUI ? Cost range ?
3) IVF ? Cost range ?
4) chinese medicine ? Cost range ?

thanks ya!

Dear Zenia,
Haven't start the test yet. Will check with gynae. Still need to do two more hormonal jabs till the end of this wk.

Hi LIm,
I've done IUI two years ago and it cost me about $1k ( slightly less than)
Now I'm doing SOIUI and I paid $1500 without counting husband's procedure which is about $200.
I went to see TCM before and each time the herbs prescribed is not the same so the cost varies. Roughly about $50 for me and $50 for hubi. I went to see her about twice a month for 4 months. Hope this helps.

Ladies, if i opt for SOIUI even though i can ovulate on my own, and happen if too many follicles appear, is it that they will abandon the process? is anyone with Dr Fong Yang and has IUI or SOIUI done by him?

Gillian

recently did SOIUI with Dr Fong Yang, if there are too many follicles, I believe they will convert to IVF, the cost will be much cheaper compared to going IVF direct.

I had a dnc few months ago and since then AF is quite irregular. Also having bleeding since mid cycle till now which is about 10 days. This is my 4th cycle after dnc.

Am thinking of visiting a gynae to ask cause of bleeding (my current gynae cannot explain why) and also try IUI if possible. Any recommendations for a good gynae please? Thanks alot!!

hi kathy, i see.. oh dear, i am not prepared for IVF yet. Maybe i shall see Dr Fong Yang when i see red again and check what's his advice on my case. u went to paragon or tiong bahru? how much did u spend on SOIUI?

Thistle,
i m doing it again this mth.think will be ard nxt week ba.How abt u?

Zenia,
Thanks for the encouraging words.But sometimes i m so "pak chek".C other people can happily get pregnant as n when they like but for us,its like we have to put in double or mayb triple effort to do it

dishearted - can understand ur feelings. Everytime frenz or relatives reported good news, i damn PAK CHEK also. DOn understand why just don have the luck leh!

I'm on clomid. have 2 more cycles to go before I have to attempt SO-IUI. Anybody has any idea what is the cost like? Just like to find out. Btw, I'm with TMC

liz, u going for SOIUI? ur gynae suggest that?

im with TMC too. and drag hubby to go and he has to take herb too, keke. but for sure, my mense is now regulated. 30 or 31 days for the past 2 cycles. Now im waiting for ovulation which hopefully will occur in another 5 or 6 days later, then i would say my sinseh has did a good job because my previous cycle can range from 28 days to 38 days, very tough to pinpoint when my O.

I will be changing gynae soon. Has decided on Dr Fong Yang. Most likely will call him these few days to book a date as i wanted to show him my medical report and also get his advise what i should do next

Gillian
ya. will be going for that if the next 2 clomid cycle fails. What abt you? U going for SO-IUI too?

oic. I with TCM. just started. Dunno if have any effect or not. my DH also taking herb.

I'm confused. your current gynae is at Thomson medical?

zenia
im with Prog Ng in gleneagles.i asked him about blocked tubes and if i should check, he mentioned no need, it's rare among singaporeans.

sophia
it's going to be my 2nd IUI. and this time my ovulation is very very late, it's my D22 and I am still not ovulating although the follicle is growing in size.

dishearted
i share the same sentiments with you. even when i read the news saying this actree got preg etc, i wld tell my hubby, why these pple get preg so easily. it's really frustrating

dishearted, i am doing my soiui end Aug, after my AF report.

liz, i am with TMC, and my previous failed soiui cost $3.5K. high costs were due to the jabs.

liz, i will visit dr fong yang and see what's his advise. Yup, current gynae is from TMC but find that he's not a specialist on infertility and wanna change another gynae.

Liz, i read that medisave can use 3 times. $6k, $5K and lastly $4K. most likely im not using for SOIUI or IUI and would like to reserve for IVF as the last alternative...

I m new here and have been reading this thread as I m also TTC and have done IUI 2 times.

Prior to this, I was already on 5 cycles of clomid, and the last time I did IUI is actually the same timing as Zenia and Sophia. Guess it's the waiting time now to see if positive (really keeping fingers crossed).

My gynae told me that if this time not successful, she will want to check my tubes (on the 2nd day of my next cycle- but m wondering: would that not be during my mense). And if still not successful, i will need to go for IVF. I have read about IVF that it is very painful and complicated... really do not wish to go to that stage yet. In the meantime, i would like to find out if "checking tubes" is = to Laproscopy? and is it the same as HSG? HSG stands for??

Hi ladies, I've gone for my final hormonal jab this morning. It's down to the nail biting 1 week before my expected menses. Gynae tells me to go back to him next week to do a blood test for pregnancy. Keeping me fingers cross...... Good luck everyone.

Gillian,

my 2nd round of SOIUI costs me $1k+, if u take more jabs, it will be more expensive. Whether to take more jabs will depend on your follicle size.

Hi sophia,

do u experience any symptoms? i told my gynae about pain in my breast but he say mostly is because one hormone is on the high side which causes the pain.. anyway, I will oso be taking my blood test next week.. well.. Good luck to both of us!!!

Hi Trying,

Good luck to u too!!!

The past two days I do experience pain in my breasts too. Didn't have a chance to ask gynae about it. But mood swings also terrible. One minute laughing, next was snapping at my hubi just because he didn't bring the laundry out. THen was miserable because of the pain.... Do keep each other updated of the results zenia..

zenia, sophia, trying, all the best to your 2ww.

gals, why don't we list down the 2ww ladies, so we can keep each other posted?

1. zenia
2. sohpia
3. trying

who else?

Hi sophia,

ya.. normally i'm braless when i go to sleep.. but need the be on bra yesterday cos cannot get to sleep with pain in my breasts. anyway, gynae did mention tat this may oso due to my mense is coming.. so, lets keep our fingers and toes this week. gal, when will u be doing the blood test? as for me, gynae say if my mense dun come the next few days, gotta do the blood test on thursday. results will oso be out the same day.

i have to abort this round of IUI. It seems that I have ovulated when I go to the gynae on sat for review. The strange thing is I detect no surge at all in my urine but when the gynae look at the ultrasound, he said i have ovulated and asked me to try the next round. he said this cycle is very atypical as i have such a late ovulation...D23 of my cycle.

I juz started taking clomid this cycle, today is my CD20. I tot ovualtion take place abt 1 wk after the 5th clomid pill. But till now, I still have not detect any LH surge(OPK). Is this normal? or did i failed to ovulate this cycle?

My BBT shows tt my temp. has been flucuating up n down every alternate day, not sure whether is this the effect of clomid? any advise?

Jazz
my doc will scan for me and tells me if the follicle is big enough. I'm suppose to go back to him after 1 week (from the day he tells me to start testing) if I fail to see the +ve OPK. You should check with your gynae.

Clomid will not cause that. but it will cause higher BBT when you are taking it. Does your BBT show a rise? It should if you have ovulated. I'm on clomid too and i detect a rise in BBT after I ovulated.

zenia- i will be doing the blood test on Friday. Just praying that it will be good news.

helpme- are you ok? dont feel too sad, think positive and try again next round.

jazz- think you have to check with your doc. After all, they are the experts in this area. Don't worry too much.

sophia
all the best on your blood test.

i guess i have to try again. sigh.

Jazz
the ovulation test kit doesn't work for me as well, i tried everyday for a surge but no surge and when i went to the gynae, he said i have already ovulated.

dishearten - sorry for late reply. I am going to 34 liao.... still trying for no 1 leh. you say leh.... sigh... sometimes i am thinking... is it fated i have not child.

yesterday night was my most miserable moment. Found a bit of blood whilst cleaning myself in the loo. This morning, eventhough the panty liner was spotless, I don't have a good feeling. THe cramps come and go (just like what one will experience b4 period). I fear I don't even have to do the test on Friday....... Just wondering how many times should one try IUI before moving on to other procedures?