IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi Gillian,

yup.. in fact, my day 14 is tomorrow. thus will be doing U/S to check on the size of the egg. So, which gynae are you seeing now? This is my 2nd gynae as i oso feels that my first gynae has wasted 2 yrs! and which stage are you in now? on clomid?

Hi Sophia,

Good luck to you.. May I ask what CD are u in for the eggs to be on correct size? and what are the sizes of the eggs? Read that u have jabs after clomid. do u do it everyday? Sorry for asking so many questions..

Hi Gillian,

yup.. in fact, my day 14 is tomorrow. thus will be doing U/S to check on the size of the egg. So, which gynae are you seeing now? This is my 2nd gynae as i oso feels that my first gynae has wasted 2 yrs! and which stage are you in now? on clomid?

Hi Sophia,

Good luck to you.. May I ask what CD are u in for the eggs to be on correct size? and what are the sizes of the eggs? Read that u have jabs after clomid. do u do it everyday? Sorry for asking so many questions..

Hi Gillian,

Hi Sophia,

Hi Gillian,

Hi Sophia,

hi zenia, i am with dr adrian. nope, i'm not on clomid as i can ovulate on my own. now ar.. he asked me to continue to try and see him again in sep. most likely by then i should be seeing another gynae liao. i am now with tcm. just started in May

So if i can ovulate on my own, i will be going for IUI instead of SO-IUI right?

hi zenia, i am with dr adrian. nope, i'm not on clomid as i can ovulate on my own. now ar.. he asked me to continue to try and see him again in sep. most likely by then i should be seeing another gynae liao. i am now with tcm. just started in May

Hi Gillian,

Yup. u can proceed to IUI if you are eager to concieve asap. But doesn't mean that IUI confirm pregancy.. it only gives u higher chances of concieving. I was told that by natural = 1% and IUI is 10% where IVF is 50%.

are u using any OPK? adn how often did u "try" per cycle?

Hi Gillian,

Yup. u can proceed to IUI if you are eager to concieve asap. But doesn't mean that IUI confirm pregancy.. it only gives u higher chances of concieving. I was told that by natural = 1% and IUI is 10% where IVF is 50%.

Hi Gillian,

Hi Gillian,

i see. now i have a better understanding of the chance of conceive.

Yes, i'm using the OPK and BBT. In the past cycles we did not try really hard but its only recent that my hubby is really serious. most important is my hubby must be agreeable for the IUI

ya.. my DH oso strongly against the idea of iui but gynae jus felt that we should go for it since we have already try for 2years.

Yah, think my hubby still wants to try further. Somehow i feel even if we give each other half a year more, the result will still be the same.

Is the IUI process done by your gynae? which hospital did you go for the IUI? I also understand that each IUI cost about $500+. I was at another baby forum and read that a lady went for about 10 IUI then succeed, but she changed to a specialist gynae on her 7th IUI and strike on the 10th. Good gynae must have played a part to the succeed

Yah, think my hubby still wants to try further. Somehow i feel even if we give each other half a year more, the result will still be the same.

Is the IUI process done by your gynae? which hospital did you go for the IUI? I also understand that each IUI cost about $500+. I was at another baby forum and read that a lady went for about 10 IUI then succeed, but she changed to a specialist gynae on her 7th IUI and strike on the 10th. Good gynae must have played a part to the succeed

Gillian - RE = reproductive endocronologist - or gynae.
if you can ovuluate, you should be taking iui then.

zenia, for iui, you need a size of 18 - 20 mm. how many iu is your jab?

Hi Thistle,

Each jab is 150iu. (is it the average dosage? - my 1st attempt)and on my day 10, i had one 15mm eggie and four 9mm eggies. (On 100mg clomid daily) so gynae put me on jab for 2 alternate days..

Hi Thistle,

Each jab is 150iu. (is it the average dosage? - my 1st attempt)and on my day 10, i had one 15mm eggie and four 9mm eggies. (On 100mg clomid daily) so gynae put me on jab for 2 alternate days..

Hi Thistle,

Hi Thistle,

Gillian / Zenia - i have unexplained infertility confirmed by Dr SF Loh, so far nothing wrong with both of us. He suggested SO-IUI but i am not prepared to do it, while DH is keen. I had an IUI done but not successful, was very depressed after that thus don dare to try another round scared of failure. I most likely continue on TCM.

Zenia

My jab is 150 iu for 6 days, then up to 225 iu for another 7 days. The last round, i was on 75 iu for 6 days, then up to 150 iu for another 5 days. think it varies for diff person.

Today I am in D14Piui. Itchy fingers, did a hpt - negative. bit upset... pray it few days later, it will be positive.

Zenia

My jab is 150 iu for 6 days, then up to 225 iu for another 7 days. The last round, i was on 75 iu for 6 days, then up to 150 iu for another 5 days. think it varies for diff person.

Today I am in D14Piui. Itchy fingers, did a hpt - negative. bit upset... pray it few days later, it will be positive.

Zenia

Zenia

it seemed to me most of you had quite high dosage of clomid or more jabs than me.

my first attempt at iui, i was only on 50mg clomid from day 2 - day 6. then jab on day 14, day 16 went iui and another jab. my left follicle grew as big as 23mm but it failed.

now on my second attempt. just went for scan yesterday and only 2 follicles on the right measuring 9.8 and 7.7. gynae asked me to go back this friday to scan again. i supposed i will be doing the procedure on monday.

yah, i was also wondering if the doc will give me MC on the day of the procedure.

it seemed to me most of you had quite high dosage of clomid or more jabs than me.

my first attempt at iui, i was only on 50mg clomid from day 2 - day 6. then jab on day 14, day 16 went iui and another jab. my left follicle grew as big as 23mm but it failed.

now on my second attempt. just went for scan yesterday and only 2 follicles on the right measuring 9.8 and 7.7. gynae asked me to go back this friday to scan again. i supposed i will be doing the procedure on monday.

yah, i was also wondering if the doc will give me MC on the day of the procedure.

Hi Koori,

I was on TCM before. Went to eu yan sen clinic. but din continue the medication after one month. so now concentrating/depending only on western medication and procedures.

Hi Thistle,

em.. your dosage are quite high ya.. I was actually worried that about the timing of the injection. cos it requires jabs to be approximatly the same timing. So, as for me, I have my 2 jabs around the same timing but consultation n U/S is arrange at a different timing.. so, kinda worry about the growth of the follical lor.. (keeping my fingers cross for today's U/S)

Hi helpme,

acutally during my 1st to 3rd cycle, I only had 50mg of clomid. I did respone well in the first cycle but as for the subsequent cycles, all my follicles are not growing.

gal, did u went for U/S during your day 10 of your 1st cycle of IUI? How many and how big are your follical at that time? And for your 2nd cycle, will u still be taking the jab on alternate days?

Hi Koori,

I was on TCM before. Went to eu yan sen clinic. but din continue the medication after one month. so now concentrating/depending only on western medication and procedures.

Hi Thistle,

em.. your dosage are quite high ya.. I was actually worried that about the timing of the injection. cos it requires jabs to be approximatly the same timing. So, as for me, I have my 2 jabs around the same timing but consultation n U/S is arrange at a different timing.. so, kinda worry about the growth of the follical lor.. (keeping my fingers cross for today's U/S)

Hi helpme,

acutally during my 1st to 3rd cycle, I only had 50mg of clomid. I did respone well in the first cycle but as for the subsequent cycles, all my follicles are not growing.

gal, did u went for U/S during your day 10 of your 1st cycle of IUI? How many and how big are your follical at that time? And for your 2nd cycle, will u still be taking the jab on alternate days?

Hi Koori,

Hi Thistle,

Hi helpme,

Hi Koori,

Hi Thistle,

Hi helpme,

hi zenia
so u already went fo 3 cycles of IUI?
is it true that the more cycles u go through, the success rate decreases?

i went for the scan on day 12 of my first cycle.
that time, the follicles are not very big...about 10mm - 12mm and I had 3 on my left.
but it grew to 23mm when it's very near my IUI date.

for my current 2nd cycle, gynae didnt ask me to do any jabs on alternate day, have to wait till this friday before seeing him again.

hi zenia
so u already went fo 3 cycles of IUI?
is it true that the more cycles u go through, the success rate decreases?

i went for the scan on day 12 of my first cycle.
that time, the follicles are not very big...about 10mm - 12mm and I had 3 on my left.
but it grew to 23mm when it's very near my IUI date.

for my current 2nd cycle, gynae didnt ask me to do any jabs on alternate day, have to wait till this friday before seeing him again.