IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

min81, may i check with u..are u taking any supplements or any food to prepare for this cycle.. its natural iui right.. and do u noe if there's any medical support after dat? sorry dat i forgot.. good luck to your scan tmr.. do update us ya ;)

bb,

Thanks! Have you had your scan too?

I wasn't given any support for my natural iui the last time leh.. But i went straight to the gynae after i tested positive and was given duphaston.. Dunno whether prof will give me support after iui this time..

Actually, i've been taking folic acid, ensure milk and coq10 in preparation for ivf couple of mths back.. So i just continued with it till now.. Also take LRD and chicken essence alternate days.. Recently started a couple of brazil nuts a day.. Keke.. Dunno got over eat anot.. But i lost 2-3 kg after lap, hubby say need to 'bu' back.. Haha.. How abt u?

min81, I visited prof wong few days bck & he did a scan on me.. everything is fine.. i think i heard him told his nurse (do u noe wat is her name? she is ard 50+ yo) right - 20+ & left - 14+.. i guessed he is talking abt my ovary?? coz its my D3.. next wed will b my D12 scan.. so u r doing natural iui rite? I hope to have some supports after the iui... thanks for sharing...
im taking multi-vits, coq10 & fish oil.. I bought chicken essence le but will start next wk... got any promo for chix essence?
ohh.. did u do any bt before this iui? I only do the test for chlamydia & hb do SA...

bb,

I didn't do bt cos prof say not necessary, my previous results still valid.. Ya last time i also heard him saying these numbers to his nurse (alice), also dunno wat it means.. Haha.. Yup mine is natural iui.. I've also been taking omega 3 fish oil for few yrs.. I always show him what i'm taking and will check if there's anything i need to stop.. I also hope for support but dunno he wanna give anot.. Do u know is there anything wrong if take the supports if not pregnant? Will it affect anything?

I have a contact for brand's chicken essence, i buy direct from cerebos which is much cheaper.. If u're interested, let me know and i can pm u the contact and catalog

Going for day 11 scan tmr.. Kinda nervous cos prof did mention i might not ovulate.. Will just see how it goes.. Good luck for ur scan next wk!

He told me if not doing fet, no need to do bt first... wat did he say when u told him wat u r taking as supplements? wat i personally think it shld be no prob to take supports but I dun dare take it without doc's instruction...
yes could u pm me the contact for the chix essence?
crossing fingers & praying hard for u.. u might wanna take red bean soup...

bb,

Thank you!!
Ya natural iui is much simpler, no frequent blood tests like ivf.. It's basically just tracking ur ovulation and injecting the washed sperms in.. The last time he said i can continue with my vit c, vit e and omega 3.. Reminded me to take folic acid.. So this time i'll check about the coq10.. Okie i pm you the contacts for chix essence later..

Just had my scan.. R ovary 11mm, L ovary 8mm.. Seems to be growing slower than last time when i had 19mm on day 12.. But relieved that there are follicles growing! Doc was initially concerned won't have cos of recent lap so i was kinda nervous.. Hope they grow well by sat scan..

bb,

Prof said coq10 is ok to continue, although not really proven whether it will do any help, but it won't harm.. He will also be giving me duphaston to start the day after iui.. So u must ask him for the support k

min81, glad everything is smooth smooth... i guessed natural will take a while for follicles to grow.. relax & stress free ya..
noted.. i will ask for support too thanks for ur tipping.. hee
felt excited for u... how long does it take for the scan & consultation? the cost for both muz be closed to $200...

do they do sat scan? i tot prof not working on sat de...

Min81: actually, i was thinking of doing ivf in Jan...dun wan to drag any furhter and the more i drag, the busier hubby will be n so will be the quality of his troops...

Min81 & BB: both of u doing natural IUI?? good luck! and keeps us updated. hope ur lining will be thick and follicles will grow big...

sigh...tat day, i almost flipped when i ask hubby if he wan to go ahead with ivf...he says actually, why not follow tcm plans and continue for a few mths...but i am so impatient n dun feel liek wasting time...cos age is catching up...i am already 34 next yr...

Lin: i didnt check abt TFC...cos the sisters here mention that better to have doc around the 2ww, so guess i will hav to do it in Jan then..
i went for the ivf test...but dunno abt the results...looks like i hav to call the clinic to follow up...hubby was saying dr loh must hav done millions of ivf such that it is nothing to him...but he forgot that it costs a lot and is a big deal to us...so we tend to be more nervous but doesnt help that he's always so distracted by his computer

i am not really a med person...in fact, getting a bit sick of the chinese med...i am taking conceive well gold...is it ok just to hav that n skip folic acid & coq10?? cos i read the ingredients n the conceive well gold tablet seems to hav them...

bb,

Thanks! I will try to stay zen.. Haha.. Don't worry, when going back for scan no need to pay for consultation.. Only pay for scan which is $90.95.. Collate any questions u have and take the chance to ask prof wong at the same time.. He'll tend to u like normal consult so no worries.. Prof works on sat too, just that priority for his sat appts are for new patients.. Btw, dr chew will be the one doing the scan this sat cos prof on leave..

Dian tang did ivf a couple of mths back

Dream,

Thanks for the gd wishes! Don't fret k.. Maybe u just make up an excuse to ur bro and ask to bring forward the holiday with ur mum..

I think it's ur choice to skip coq10.. But for folic acid, i think the dosage in conceive well is pretty low at 400 mcg.. I think most ladies here are taking the 5mg folic acid tablet.. Jia you k!!

Thanks dream! we sure hopping everything are nice nice for us..

Min81, i duno y am i having crampy feeling..slight bloating yst & today... today is more mild... do u have this feeling after lap? may i noe where u do the lap?

bb,

Did my lap at nuh too, prof referred me to dr fong.. How long ago was ur lap? I was very bloated 2 wks after lap.. Took longan red date drink with ginger daily, was better after 2 days.. Are u still hsving AF? My 1st AF after lap was very painful and bloated.. I took the same thing minus longan (taught by another lady's tcm).. Cramps cleared by day 3.. Use red dates, wolfberries, ginger and black sugar.. If u want, can try and see if it helps.. Have u checked with ur laparoscopy dr abt the pain?

Min81& bb: all the best to your natural iui!!

Laki gal: yay!! You can start your FET soon. Drink some red dates and ginger drinks.. Can help to reduce your cramp.

Thks saralyn, juz nice 2ml gg dwn to c my doc. If everythin ok can juz proceed w my FET. Juz dis time d af v crampy. Sit oso cant, stand oso cant n hving backache.

laki> glad it finally came!

min> haha, the chix esscence is from brands? its cheaper than outside? can u pm me the px and contact?? i want to compare.. TIA!!!

bb> me also still feel cramp on the second mense. this shld be yr 3rd? dr said he also dun underst why i still cramp haha.. gd luck to yr iui too..

dream> actually no hurry. i mean better to get yr body prepared for ivf, as u said it costs alot. i'm a yr older than u. actually u dont have to bother abt him looking at his pc, just bomb him with Q u want to asked, like if u are concerned abt those BT, u can just ask him to write in the form for u. i think he's also trying to save some money for us, if tests nt nec, he dont want to waste money to do. after a while u will get used to him looking into the pc, n sometimes mumbling.. :p if conceive well has at least 500mcg of folic acid and 50mg of COQ10, then its fine. do u know that for ivf u will be also going to tfc? so if that xmas wk he is still at tfc in the morning it will be ok if u start in dec..

Laki, so wonderful to hear that!!! Now your AF come with a vengeance after so long
never mind, you must be so happy that you can 'tahan' the cramp! Keep us posted on your FET ya! Very soon now!

Saralyn, I've been thinking of you lately. How are you doing?

Bb and min81, all the best in your iui next week!

I went for my first scan today. Actually, it should be next week but we kan cheong and asked doctor to bring it forward. It turns out that I had twins but lost one around last week. So that was why my OHSS symptoms left suddenly last week and I felt much better. There are 2 sacs in my uterus - a small one that didn't make it and a much bigger one with a heartbeat. Now doctor says, he need to monitor me very closely to make sure that the small one doesn't affect the one that survived. Though, I can't help feeling a small sense of loss, I'm very grateful for one miracle baby.

Lil, ya v happy at least my af come naturally n i didnt use any medication to induce it. I'm so sorry to hear tat. Did d doc explain y will lost d small one? I believe now it is at the heaven looking n bless his/her mummy (tat u) n his/her sibling (ur miracle baby). When is ur nxt scan?

Lil ponyo: so sorry to hear that.. I'm sure the little one is doing very well and growing strong and healthy inside you!
how many weeks you are now?

I'm doing fine. My nausea and tiredness improved tremendously over the weekend. Only had very bad nausea on Tuesday which might be because of me having fried carrot cake for my tea.. Was abit too much and oily for tea.. Haha. Greedy me!

I also alittle worry coz my symptoms suddenly disappeared since the weekend..

Dian tang,

Thank you thank you!! Grabbing bb dust from all of you!

Laki gal,

Yeah! Just nice leh, tmr day 2 scan
Maybe can try taking the red date with ginger and add some black sugar.. Hope u feel better soon..

Lil ponyo,

Thank you! Sorry to hear that u lost one of the twin.. Like wat laki gal said, i'm sure he/she will be watching over u and the bb now.. Think now it's better to request for weekly scans cos need to monitor the other sac.. Did the doc say how the sac will be dispelled from the womb?

Jia you k! Wishing u a safe and smooth pregnancy..

Min: I read before and it will be absorb into the uterus/part of the placenta.. Have to monitor any spotting or pain for the time being just in case the body is expelling it out which is dangerous for the other one..

All the best to your iui! Baby dusts are with you and laki gal now!! We will all graduate together!

Thanks Laki, Saralyn and min81, thanks for your well wishes! I'm okay and thankful for one healthy baby
my next scan is next week! My DH told me not to focus on the negative but to focus on that one big strong sac with the beating heartbeat! I totally agree
yes, Saralyn is right, the uterus will absorb the sac naturally.

Saralyn, no no, I'm sorry I didn't mean to make you worry. Please don't think too much and continue to relax. Doctor today reminded me not to worry about symptoms or lack of. Just stay relax and continue your support medicine. Take care!

Min81, now feeling much better.. my doc told me to ignore the pain if it's bearable...I hope it's the follicle growing.. Is he Dr Fong Yang? How much is the lap?

Thanks Lin.. are you waiting to do in Dec/Jan?

Tq Dian Tang..

Saralyn & Lil Ponyo, tq & grabbing sticky bbdusts!!

Saralyn: the nausea and vomit will come and go and come again . Just keep positive !! Maybe ur babies dun like carrot cake .

Lil ponyo: no no. Is not you. I always think of silly thing.. In the first place, I didn't have much symptoms after my ET.. Even if I have any, it only lasted for 1-2 days and then I was back to normal. Except this nausea and vomiting thing started during week 5 till now which is on off like what Dian tang said.. I just thinking too much. Haha. But one thing for sure is I still have food aversion..

Lin: my next scan is next tues. can't wait!!!

Dian tang: haha! Ya.. Why I never thought of that? I don't dare to take anymore carrot cake now.. Quite scare of it..

Saralyn
hee hee. Don't think too much my dear. Try and nibble on something when nausea hits. For me, dried organic apricots, digestive biscuits and ritz crackers helps. Me too, I still can't stand fish! Take good care okay and keep us posted!

Lil Ponyo and saralyn : my fav used to be 五香和虾dumpling, now I can't take the smell . I also cant stand fish but I can est fillet o fish burger .. Ha ha

Ponyo... Sorry to hear abt ur loss... But do not be too sad and please take good care of urself...think of the current bb inside yr stomach now

Lil: Hope you are now feeling better after the loss...but let it pass and just focus on the baby who is growing strong in you... must take care and rest well..

Lin: actually, i dunno if i am going to tfc for the ivf...he didnt say and i didnt think of asking..but i assume so?? dun think the clinic has the equipment...yah...that's right..i shd check with tfc if dr loh will be there for the xmas week...though jan will prob be a better mth n i can at least squeeze in a trip in dec..
so looks like both of us can be ivf buddies...of course, hoping that we will graduate before that...jia you!

must grab more bb dusts from Saralyn & Ponyo...

Lil ponyo & Dian tang: I can't take fish, vege and soup.. I eat alot of meats now. So unhealthy..

Dream: if you want to do ivf with dr loh, I would suggest you start at his clinic first coz is cheaper over there. Scanning at tfc is 100 per scan. For the clinic, I paid 30 for now. Consultation is abit more exp at his clinic but overall you will still save some. And if I am not wrong the drugs used for ivf are cheaper at the clinic too. When you are about time for ER, he will send you to tfc to do all the registration and counselling. But his clinic only has puregon and tfc uses gonal f. So if you have a preference you have to go to either one.

Thanks, bb, Duffy, Snoopy and Dream, it's okay. I'm feeling okay now
This is due to the embryo wasn't that good and has chromosome/genetic abnormality. Nature and our body have a way of stopping the growth if they detect that it's no good. One at a time for me

Saralyn, ya everyday meal time is a big headache. Don't know what to eat. I walk round and round the foodcourt to see what makes me the least nauseous and eat it.

Saralyn,

I see.. I didn't know that the sac will be absorbed back into placenta.. So are u back at wk now? Don't worry about the lack of symptoms
It's an on-off thing like dian tang said..

Lil ponyo, saralyn, dian tang,

Sounds weird but i'm hoping to feel all that morning sickness too again like u gals are having now.. Haha

bb,

Glad you're feeling better now.. Ya i guess really nothing to do abt the pain and we have to tahan and wait for it to pass.. My doc for lap was dr fong yoke fai.. Total bill came up to 6200 in single ward..

Not sure if u've seen this list for foods to avoid during 2ww shared by a lady on ivf thread.. Think it was given by CARE.. I was kiasu and copied it down.. Haha.. Thinking of following it for 2ww.. How abt u?

Ponyo, glad that you are doing fine... (*-*)

Min81, i had discussed with HB and he said that since the chances of recurring of ectopic pregnancy is high for me and somemore, doc at KKH had suggested me to go for ivf, i should go straight to IVF at NUH if im switching over...

Yesterday i called NUH and nurse say that either i can get a referral letter from the doc at KKH or Polyclinic to get a appointment to see medical officer to assess my case and from there to see if any further test is needed??

But i feel that is a waste of time to see the medical officer all over again...

Since doc at KKH had already advised me to go for IVF, i wonder if they can write a letter for me to IVF straight at NUH??

The nurse at IVF told me that once i embark on IVF, the scanning fee, blood test , medicine, doc consultant fee will be covered under medisave and the govt co-funding amounting to $9,000/- fopr 1st timer. Any excess of $9,000/- will be forked out in cash....

I wonder who should i go for?? Prof Wong or Dr Chew?? Heard both are not bad but Prof Wong schedule is v busy ...

I checked out their consultant fee and is only less than $20/- .... HB ask me to go for Prof since the consultant fee is less than $20/- and somemore, is included in the IVF package....

But i prefer a doc who is not soooo busy with a tight schedule .... Any advise from whose who had seen both doc at NUH??

Duffy bear,

If you're going to ivf as a subsidised patient, u won't get to choose your doc.. There are only 3 ivf docs, prof wong, dr chew and dr anupriya.. Prof wong sees only pte patients.. So actually as subsidised patient, the gd thing is u'll still end up with either dr chew or dr anu..

If u're going as a pte patient, u won't need any form of referral and can call straight to nuh to see either of the 3 docs asap.. They will be able to see the tests u've done at kkh as i think they're shared records.. Based on that, they'll see whether any other tests are necessary.. Although i'm prof's patient, when he is not ard for impt procedures like iui, er or et which has to be done on specific days and can't wait, either dr chew or dr anu will take over.. But my consultation, things that require major decisions etc will still be with prof wong as these can wait till he's ard.. I'm ok with this arrangement but some pple might not like that.. I'm still comfortable staying prof's patient as i find him very systematic, organised and clear in his explanations.. Dr chew is also very experienced and competent but i guess i'm just used to prof wong..

So i guess it's really up to u.. I hope this helps and that i didn't confuse you further!

Duffy bear,

Sorry, forgot something impt.. Prof doesn't do delivery anymore.. If successful, he will see u thru to abt 20 wks where u gotta change to another gynae.. U can change to dr chew, so in the end still with dr chew

Laki gal,

Glad to hear u've started ur FET.. We're cycle buddies!
Here's the list!

Don't eat:

Pineapple
Watermelon
Papaya
Banana green skin
Coconut
Oysters
Sashimi
Rojak
Bittergourd
Brown cucumber
Spicy food

Cold, gassy drinks
Coffee
Cocoa
Herbal tea/soup

min81, thks for d list. However I think I might not b ur cycle buddy

Im on regulated cycle n will take about 40 days for d entire program. Actually 2day hving a tough decision coz my doc wan me to wait till dec where i will go for a program which is to scrap d lining (can't really rem what is d name of d program). This will increase d chance of pregnancy up to 50%. But bcoz got to wait till dec, my dh n i decide to proceed w ET for dis cycle n then c it goes from there. Hopefully dis cycle will b successful for us.

All d best for ur iui, u hve a high chance of success

Duffy bear: although prof is busy, he will read your records in details . So dun worry abt it. Imp thing doc read our records before seeing us . Maybe there is a group of test which Nuh may ask u to do which cost 100 plus .

Min: I'm still working from home. Not much works assigned to me.. Just a few emails here and there. Feel so bad to take the salary every month and never contribute much to the team.

Don't worry girl.. You will have the feeling soon. Baby dusts baby dusts to your iui this cycle!

Laki: all the best to your fet. You doing medicated? I think the scraping of the lining is called D&C right? I read from an article not long ago saying a fertility center does d&c to all their ivf patients and indeed the no of success case increases! But there is a risk too, if this is not performed well, it will make your lining very thin. There was one scan I went and my lining was very thin. It was only 5mm at day 21. Dr actually asked me did I do d&c before and he explained to me if the dr uses abit more strength and scrap deeper it will damage the lining and that's explain the super thin lining.

Lil ponyo: ya.. I pack food from the coffee shop till I don't know what to eat everyday. Think I always pack the same old food. Haha

Dian tang,

Oh so prof wong sees subsidised patients also huh? Tot i heard from someone he doesn't.. Confused.. Oops duffy bear, sorry wrong info..

Laki gal,

Since u and dh have decided to go ahead with this cycle, stay positive k! Wish u all the best!!