IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Saralyn,

Don't worry too much abt that.. U can make up to the team later after bb comes along
Can send them thank you messages now and then..

I understand that chances for iui are not very high but I'll stay relaxed (can't complain since i'm not working
) and will be positive.. Thanks!!

saralyn> good to work from home, n glad u have good boss! i heard the scrapping of lining done, but i din know they do in s'pore too..
i agree to start at tmc too, but my mense came at end dec, near the xmas hol or by 31 Dec.. his clinic closed till jan. u used puregon?

dream> when do u expect yr mense to come for jan cycle?

MIn81, ha ha! Be careful what you wish for, you'll get it soon!! Wish you all the best in iui! Hope your egg and DH sperm happily unite and find a soft comfortable home in your womb. After that you can get all the morning sickness you want!!

Saralyn, you have a good supportive company. Right now, my whole team is traveling and I'm all alone in the office. Quite shiok!!

duffy bear> i think govt co funding is only 3K. and 6K u are allowed to use yr own or hubby medisave to pay

ponyo> ya so shiok to be alone in office haha

Lil ponyo,

I promise not to complain when the time comes!! Really!! Haha.. Wah so nice ah, alone in the office.. You're the boss for now!! Keke.. Clinic called earlier to check if i can go for my scan at 7.30am instead of at 8.20 tmr.. Gotta wake up very early, but still so excited.. Haha.. Wondering how much will the follicles grow, only a diff of 2 days..

Min81: dun be confused. I heard that It is a must that prof will c the patient before the IVF . Only one time that I was seen by him . Feel so nice to go to woman clinic at kent ridge , so class

Lin,

I stay on the opp side in the east! Haha.. But it's ok, my hubby and i prefer early.. Even if appt at 9 plus we also leave hse at 6 plus cos less traffic and we reach by 20 min.. Cos i'm so early, doc just see me 1st and i'll be out of clinic by 8.30
Thanks for the gd wishes! To be honest, i don't think i'm at my best these past wk cos started a bit of a dry cough and i've been trying to suppress it by taking loads of water, i don't wish to take med.. So will just see how it goes

min> wah can wake up so early!! haha, recently v nice to slp..zzz. i also, running nose for 3wks liao.. dunno wat happen

min81, actually im from Tfc jumped to Care then see dr loh for lap then try my luck with prof on iui..
so i will practise the dos & don't from care... may i check with u what time shld i arrive at the clinic if i wanna be out of the clinic by 8.30?

Min: have a feeling you will have a quite high success rate! Jiayous!

All the best to your scan tomorrow!

Lin: why don't you go see dr loh first and discuss the plan? Yes I used puregon.. I only went to tfc after the suppression stage and 9 days of stimulation.

Lil ponyo: ya.. Am grateful to be in this team and my boss. I "sold" my youth to this team. Haha.. Actually your team and my team is somehow the same. My whole team is traveling all the time. I won't get to see them unless we fly to the same country to work. Haha. I don't want to go office coz no one in my team is around.. There are other team people but nope.. Go office and will get other work to do..

Dian tang,

Oh i see.. Ya women's clinic look like hotel lobby.. But i was thinking, since still seeing the same 3 doctors, actually pte and subsidised also no diff.. My hubby ask so how do we go backwards and become subsidised patient.. Hehe.. But i said don't think of this for nw, if iui successful, we can start paying subsidised rate cos civil servant

Lin,

Haha.. Ya it's ok for me cos used to wake up at 5.30 when i was wking..

bb,

Ohh.. So is there any other instructions from care for 2ww?
I normally get to the clinic abt 7.45.. If i'm not wrong, i think prof will be there from ard 7.30.. It's very nice and peaceful at that time cos nobody ard.. The other gynaes only come in at 8.30..

min81, from the 1st consultation, they told us to sleep early, eat home cooked food & exercise..if lazy, can do brisk walking.. out of the 3, i only eat home cooked food & brisk walk occassionally.. trying hard to slp early esp this cycle.. ;)

ok noted.. i oso thinkg of going early so that i could go bck work early though i have requested for time off...

Saralyn> i discussed with him le, but he din mention if he is ard earlier cos i suddenly thot what if my mense came early.. he only told me to go tfc if on 31 dec. but ev time aft seeing him will have some more Q to ask one leh

bb> so u did ivf at CARE? nt tfc?

Min81: ya so nice . But I heard kkh private have milo and other drinks . Btw, can convert from private patient to subsidized patient? The waiting time to c doc for subsidized patient is quite long . I once waited for 2 hrs to c the doc . If u can stand the long waiting time

Lin: are you on long or short protocol? personally I feel if it is the start, it is still ok he is not around coz you won't be going back to scan that fast.. I think he will be still around at tfc.. Maybe his clinic is closed only.

You can actually email him if you have questions..

Saralyn, yup I'm doing medicated FET bt don't knw y lei. Last x af is regular n doc say do natural bt bcoz of dis cycle, it take 42 days to come so doc sort of take it as irregular af n gve me medicated FET. I wnt b doing d scrapping of d lining dis x, I juz proceed w d regulated FET n c hw it goes.

Bb, thks. Hw hve u b doin nw

Min81, i oso prefer to b d first patient coz wnt hve to wait v long. All d best for ur scan 2ml.

Min81, wah 7.30am is early!! But good la, don't need to wait and doctor is fresh and attentive. After that, you and DH can still go for breakfast
all the best and hope your follicles are big and your lining is thick!

Have a great weekend ladies!!

lin, i did 1st ivf at Tfc by dr Cheng (chemical preg) then transfer embryos to Care to do fet & subsquent 2nd fresh & fet oso at Care.. fruitless... so do lap... then now proceed iui... funny hor? coz i took the reverse steps...

Laki gal, im doing fine.. waiting for my turn to do iui.. same same as min81..

min81, good luck on ur 2nd scan!! ur follicles will b swee swee

bb,

Wah i reach clinic 7.30 already got 5 couples.. Think cos today sat.. For the brisk walking, u mean it's during 2ww?? I always tot gotta exercise before 2ww, but during must not exert..

Dian tang,

Ohh.. No i don't usually have to wait too long.. Guess that's the diff.. Also not sure whether can go from pte to subsidised.. That time too kan cheong, just called straight as pte patient..

Laki gal, lil ponyo, bb,

Thank you gals!!!

Min81 wow tat v early n already so many couple. all d best for ur scan. jy, ur body will nw b Swee Swee for u n soon ur egg n ur dh troops will meet up tog

min81, gosh... thanks for letting me noe.. coz i think next wk my 3rd scan might fall on sat due to ph on next fri... prof so hardworking start work so early than other gynaes.. all 3 things have to do before 2ww.. even go see dr jin, she oso asked me to do brisk walking...

Laki gal,

Today doc say left ovary follicle pretty small, so we'll just focus on the one on right ovary.. It's 14 mm today so gotta go back n scan again on mon morning.. What can i eat to help speed up follicle growth ah? This time like quite slow..

bb,

Oh okie.. Have been doing brisk walk past few wks but not really home cooked food.. Will try to do that.. Ya prof start wk very early.. During the time i was in hosp, he was on leave and dr chew in charge, but he still drop in most of the days before 7 am to check on me.. Btw, prof will only be back next sat, so ur scan on wed shld be by dr chew.. Pretty fast, was out of clinic by 8.15 just nw.. Now just hoping the follicle wil be ready by mon.. All the best for ur scan!

Min81, u wanna try taking egg whites to help in d growth of ur follicles? I happened to read at somewhere tat ew can help w it. Think no harm for u to gve it a try.

Splw18,

Yup doing natural iui.. Today is day 13, had my 2nd scan.. Are u doing iui too?

Laki gal,

Okie thanks babe!
Later i go and buy a tray of eggs.. Hehe.. Morning had 2 half boiled eggs already.. Currently i take ensure and anlene alternately, my hubby say why not for now take 1 anlene plus 1 ensure daily see can 'bu' more and boost the growth..

min81, that's pretty fast! how is ur lining? D13 for 14mm is pretty good.. u got how many cd usually? i normally O on d19 so i'm pretty sure mine will take longer... surprising prof never ask abt my cd.. is dat normal?

I've written the following letter, to be sent to the Population Committee. Appreciate if you can give me your feedback. I wrote this on behalf of all of us girls

Dear Committee

We are a group of married women without kids who have struggled and suffered in silence for a long time. We don't have kids not because we don't want kids, but because conception has proved elusive.

The government is constantly advocating and imploring women to start families earlier. Implicit in their statements is the assumption that women can just get pregnant at the snap of the fingers. As soon as you stop worrying about your career, and make that decision, you'll have that baby!

Unfortunately, it doesn't quite work that way, especially for women (and men) with fertility issues and women above the age of thirty. Statistics in developed countries put this proportion at over 10% of couples trying to conceive.

Current government assistance for fertility treatments is extremely restrictive, with a cap at three treatments. Any fertility doctor would be able to tell you that it takes more than three treatments to get pregnant. For IUI (intra-uterine insemination) for example, the success rate for women above the age of 35 is 15% (25% for women below 30). This success rate is NOT cumulative.

Fertility treatment doesn't come cheap, and it often requires a prolonged course. Ovulation stimulants can retail for as much as $15 per pill (that's $150 per cycle), IUI costs $1,500, and IVF runs into the tens of thousands. That's not including consultation fees, ultrasound scans, additional hormonal injections like HSG, progesterone and FSH to support the uterine environment, TCM, and many other expensive treatments that we pay on our own tab, because we all want our little piece of happiness. I have many female friends who have spent tens of thousands on their fertility treatments, cycle after cycle, even though they have to break the bank. None of them are receiving any governmental assistance.

Please re-examine current policies towards fertility treatments. Speak to any of us, or any women undergoing fertility treatment. You will realise how little the current policies help. There is so much more the government can aid women like us and achieve its goal of higher birth rates. The current gap between what is needed and what the co-funding scheme provides for is huge.

We would like to advocate the following:

- Extend fertility coverage to first-step procedures such as super-ovulation induction and IUI
- Provide fertility coverage for men too, because half of fertility problems come from male infertility
- Remove the cap on number of fertility treatments eligible for co-funding
- Instead of co-funding, have full funding for fertility treatments
- Cover fertility treatments at private hospitals, with a cap pegged to rates at public hospitals if necessary

Too generous? Worried some women will take advantage of this? Please reconsider your assumption. Do you think we see our gynaecologist every month because we are addicted to the drugs or getting scanned? Who wants to face the risk of disappointment and heartbreak every cycle, unless you truly, desperately want that baby?

Are these not the women you should be helping?

Laki, bb and Egg factory, thank you very much for your support. Someone told me I should mention those with secondary infertility as well (as in got one/two kids and trying for more), so I will add that in.

Anything else I got wrong or missed out? Please let me know

Hi Jen,

I think you did a great job and your writing is good. I just want to make a few corrections and some suggestions. I hope you don't mind.

-If I'm not wrong, there is no govt subsidy for IUI, only IVF. So the "cap of 3 treatments" refers to IVF, I think.

-You may want to mention that doctors recommend 3 IUI attempts before going on to IVF, which means that the couple must pay for 3 IUIs out of pocket

-A round of IVF at a private hospital can cost up to $20000

-The "additional hormone injections" is HCG, not HSG. FSH is used for the stimulating stage.

-Other things to pay for are blood tests and additional investigations like HSG, embryo freezing and insurance.

-You may want to mention that the IVF success rate for IVF for couples aged 30-35 is about 40% but the live birth rate is lower. Many clinics only report the clinical pregnancy rate but not the live birth rate.

Just my 2-cents. Thanks!

Hi jen, well written! Showed it to my hubby and he says thanks for writing this on our behalf
If u need more people to sign off on the letter, please let me know

bb,

The doc did not mention my lining and i forgot to ask but i hope it's fine since nothing was said.. As for the follicle, cos i'm comparing with the previous cycle where i had only 1 scan on day 12 and could proceed with iui, so now a little burdened by the cost of more scans.. My cycle is abt 32 days.. This is ur first time doing a cycle under prof? Maybe he's observing ur cycle.. He does ask and check on my cycles from time to time..

min81, is it oso natural iui last cycle? if it was, its really great! ya agreed dat its quite ex for a scan.. that time i did my 1st scan, there wasn't any screen for me to see & didn't explain wat he see.. until my hb asked him.. if cd 32, means u will O on D18.. my cd is 33 after doing lap but anyway my cycle is ard 30-33 de... hope ur lining is on par growing with your follicles..

Did u guys do the abdominal or vaginal scans for iui?
I am afraid of vaginal scans, so weird.

My doc recommends vaginal scans but I not v comfortable. Doc asks me try 4months of natural trying before go see her for iui but I want to try iui in dec.

Guys, u said must eat egg white. When? Raw? What else to eat? What supplements are good for men? P

Thanks dears.

Splw18, vagina scan is frequently used in fertility treatments, can see more clearer.. juz relax.. not pain at all.. eat soft boiled eggs best.. multivits, coq10, fish oil,chix essence & ensure life... can take gnc men multivits...which doc r u seeing for your iui?

bb> u have not tried iui before? surprise why tfc nv ask u to try iui first if ur dh sa is ok.. gd luck to u!

min> ya i think bb is right, cos yr cycle is longer, so O is aft D14, so yr eggs are still growing. eat more protein will aid in growth. maybe this period u can drink ensure evday instead of alt days, skip the anlene first.

sarlyn> i email him sometimes he doesnt reply lor.. oh, act cos i want to save some money by going tmc instead of tfc, diff of 100plus.. gd luck for yr coming scan!

laki> good luck to yr FET too!

splw18> ya v scan can see more accurately. dun worry, we all go for numerous v scan liao haha.. somemore some of us are guy gynaes.. yrs is female right?

EW hard boil or soft boil.

men supplements - u can ask yr gynae. but generally its vit A, C, E, zinc, selenium, DHA, royal jelly, coq10. if u search the web its usu these. tomatoes is rich in vit A n C. brazil nuts (2-5 per day) for selenium.

bb,

Yup was also natural iui, but already 19mm on day 12 so iui done on day 14.. Maybe it was just a cycle that was out of the usual pattern.. Mm prof doesn't show me the screen too, just tells me..

Splw18,

Ya docs have to use vaginal scan to see clearly.. Don't worry k,just try to relax.. The more u tense up, the more u might feel discomfort.. Sometimes i just hum a tune in my head to distract myself.. There was once i was so engrossed in my own little music i didn't even realise doc asking me a question! Keke

Lin,

Thanks! Okie i'll drink ensure daily for now.. Hope u get ur answer soon from dr loh on all ur queries

Splw18: just take a deep breath before they poke the probe. After a few more rounds, u get used to it. Even early pregnancy, v scan is use . Most imp is stay relax .

Egg Factory and Jelly, thank you for your very useful comments. I incorporated all of your suggestions. Just sent in the letter via population.sg.

Min, thanks for your offer! If they contact us for more info/feedback, I will need your help! Do you mind if I add you to this little TTC Facebook group that I just started? Just PM me your e-mail.

In other news, I think I may be having implantation bleeding???!!!??? On my second cycle of Femara, roughly 6-8DPO, and started having on and off light spotting last night. OMGOMGOMG
Praying very hard now, please pray for me too! Fingers and toes xxxxxxxxxx

bb,

Just had my scan earlier.. 18.5 mm so iui will be on wed at 10.30.. Going back nuh later at 5 plus for ovidrel jab.. Think for u no need to go back there for jab cos u can self-jab.. I have not done it before and don't have the confidence and i prefer the experienced nurses there do it than gp..

Jen,

Good luck good luck!!
I'll pm you my email..

Good morning ladies, sorry I've been MIA for a while. Was and still am feeling so ill since Saturday. Feel like puking every waking moment. Arghh...

Min81 and bb, good luck in your IUI this week!! Let me shower you with baby dusts again for good luck!! Baby dust! Baby dust! Baby dust!

Jen, wow your letter is great! You write really well. Thank you so much for doing this. Your spotting sounds promising! Fingers and toes crossed for you too!! And also baby dusts to you too!! Sprinkle sprinkle sprinkle

Thanks lin

min81, wow ur follicle grow v fast! wat did u eat past few day? last mth when i see dr loh for my final review, it was only 14mm on D14 leh... coz my O is on D19... can share tips? did u managed to ask for lining? hee hee...

Thanks Lil ponyo I needed your sticky bbdusts!!! Already swallow it in to my tummy... haha.... ;)

bb, with Femara and Gonal F, my follies grow super fast! like 3+mm per day. I ovulated both cycles by like CD12-14!

Lil Ponyo, thanks! Just super cheesed off by current policies.