IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Lil ponyo: I am worried abt everybody would know lo then they will start talking behind..different company culture ba... I am fine if the procedure succeed n tell ppl it's assisted.. But telling when trying will give me a lot of stress I think... Ha....

Baby, ya different culture la
For me, I really 'bo chap' if everyone knows. It makes taking leave much simpler, especially for all my blood test, scans and acupuncture. I just go to work later or leave early for all my appointments. Please don't stress and hope you are able to find a happy solution with your boss. Take care!

Ponyo, im getting better but can feel giddy sometimes .... Feeling tired easily too... Back to work for a mth liao...

Btw, anyone would know if i go to Prof Wong as private patient, would i still be entitle for the gov grant for IVF???

Im thinking whether seeing Prof Wong or Dr Chew?? Heard both are nice doc....

Any diff in the charges for the testings as a private patient or subsized patient @ NUH??

Duffy bear,

Sorry, in the end i didn't go tcm cos my spotting didn't stop till AF came few days back.. Since doing iui this mth, think i'll skip tcm for now..

Don't worry, pte patient in nuh also eligible for ivf 3k grant cos still govt hosp..i believe there's definitely a price diff for pte and subsidised patient, i think it's best to tok directly to nuh or send them an email to ask so can find out what is the diff roughly..

If u go to prof, he's on leave quite a lot cos of things like seminars and other commitments.. Dr chew covers for him when he's not ard.. U might also wanna check with women's clinic if their consultation fee is diff.. Both are nice and caring doctors.. Prof is a little more stern at times though

ponyo> i talked to my boss, she was not supportive. so i decided to leave.. she gave me restrictions as to when i shld do my cycle, and working from home etc not neg.

nitro> sometimes ivf also have cases where there is no fertilization due to egg and sperm quality..

Min81, is oki... Tot u already went to see Dr Su .. I might be gg to see end nov or dec...

I still have a check up and doc review in next mth... So most likely to fix appt with NUH after KKH closed my case... But if go NUH as subsizdy patient, I cannot choose doc, right?? Then wat abt scanning??? Guess it will be on doc on duty to do scanning each time visit then...

Lin, sorry to hear that. Sometimes I do think male boss is more easy going than female boss. Anyway, it's over ;) now you just relax and focus on yourself and ttc, ya! Don't stress ;)

Duffy bear: scanning dur IVF is done by the doc on duty , either dr chew or dr Anu . They tell u the results after scanning. No waiting ..

hi gals.. any idea wat i shld expect when i go for my 1st iui consultation at nuh? Going to start iui this cycle...

Duffy bear,

Like wat dian tang said, the scanning is not done by junior doctors.. It's either by dr chew or dr anupriya and i feel they're both very experienced doctors too..

Laki gal,

Have u already had an AF after your ER? Or you're waiting for the first?

bb,

Is it natural iui? Probably doc will just do confirmation with u and explain roughly the timeline if u've not done before.. Then will make appt for u to go down on day 12 for 1st scan

Min81, af ER I hve my af within 5 days n now waiting for d 2nd 1 but already been 36 days n no news as my cycle always v regular. Thou I hve gd news but juz tested n feel so disappointed. So nw only hve to look fwd for my FET n hope will succeed.

Lin, I faced same situation as u.. No supportive from lady boss & quit ... Infact I m willing to stay if there is good arrangement & reduce my stress , workload, but too bad...

Hi laki_gal, when will start FET ? I also decided to do FET ,maybe ard early next yr.. But hav no idea how it works.....

Lil, u have good boss.... Now everyday I pray will meet this kind of good co & boss ....

Laki, I'm waiting for the chemo medicine to be cleared out from my body.... Doc say at least need 3 mths but to be on the safe side, to give it 6 mths... Dec gg to see Dr Su to tiao my body... Next June gg to start ivf if everything's are oki...

Snoopy, I will b starting my FET once af is here. FET ther r 2 types; natural n medication. I will b doin d natural type so no medication is given, I will b gg for scan frequently to monitor ovulation. Once ovulation is detect, my embryos will b put into my body. Did ur doc told u which program u will b starting on? How many frozen do u hve? Now I only hope my embryos r strong n can withstand d thaw.

Duffybear, oh y need 6 mths so long? But in d meanwhile u try naturally n miracle might happen to u.

Laki, errr... Wat is FET?? How to do this procedure???

I got the ectopic pregnancy after my SO IUI and was given MTX injection .. I think it was a type of chemo medicine for treating cancer patient... Doc suggested 6 mths to be on the safe side... I had ectopic twice and hence, doc suggested IVF as my risk of recurring ectopic is high...

Duffybear, FET is frozen embryo transfer. During my ivf cycle I only manage to proceed w egg retrieval n didn't put in any embryos coz of safety issue. Tat y all my embryos r all freeze n waiting to reunite w me. So now I hve to wait for af to come n then proceed w my FET. But don't knw y dis cycle seem so long n gve me fake hope.

Laki, can I ask y ur embryos can't be put inside after ur egg retrieval???

Dun worry sooo much... Ur AF will be delayed if u r tooo stress out ... Keep a positive mind and cheerful mood ... Ur AF will come sooner then ...

Btw, u doing FET with which doc???

during IUI cycle, noticed missus's follicles are growing slow, hence need puregon to boost up hormones, in addition fertilization didn't take place.

from now till IVF, there is still 3 months away, just wondering is it still worth trying natural ways based on the results of IUI

@lin,

you have a lousy boss, are you working in a SME? if yes, nothing much to fight?

if you are working in MNC, GLC, you can easily lodge a complaint o HR, of course be prepared to have a sour working relationship.

if I m in your shoes, I will just go according to my planned ivf, and throw the MC at her face. if boss sacks employee for going to ivf, has good chance to sue or maybe wait for handshake package?

best is to make a big hooha and show to PAP, how to make babies when there is this type of employer mindset?

Laki_gal, I dont know yet which type of FET will suit me cos no discussion with doc yet....
But think for both type still need to go back to see dr frequently for monitor the ovulation , this is costly....

Btw, I don't understand why need to hav ovulation then can do the transfer?
I hav 5 frozen..

Snoopy, think medicated FET will hve a better control of d ovulation rather than natural FET. Think ovulation is needed for keeping track of d
LH n ensure ur body is suitable for d transfer. Ya all dis monitoring need to go bk clinic often n sure cost a bomb. But i feel tat once we have our little one(s) carry in our arms, all will b worth it n $ can earn bk. But our biological clock cant earn bk n once gone is gone. Let all jy tog n i hope my af will come visit me soon.

Haha feel myself so funny...last time wish af dont come find me but now wish so badly tat af hurry come find me...dilemna lolz

Laki_gal,thanks for the infor !
Yalor, I oredi quit my job & spent so much $ to concentrate on ivf,but... Still fail...now, I wish my FET will succeed...
pray hard....

Haha...Now wish af won't come ,this mean I might strike naturally !!! ;)

Dear ladies... As you all know, I have been recently diagnosed with hyperthyroid. But I wasn’t really under tremendous stress… and I try to think what could have triggered it. I think back... and what I did differently in the past few months... BODY SHOP came into the picture. I have nothing against Body Shop and I love their products. But…
I read somewhere that excessive IODINE could lead to over-active thyroid a.k.a. hyperthyroidism. I have not been taking excessive iodine-salt. Or seaweed… except for the occasional sushi meals. SEAWEED Yes! I have been taking seaweed facial products for the past 2-3 months before I started losing weight – one of hyperthyroidism symptoms. That is the Body Shop's seaweed series, especially the serum and moisturizer, on a daily basis. Then I started having bad heart palpitations….

So I did some reading on the internet. Basically, this is what I got.

“Seaweed is rich in iodine, essential for a healthy thyroid. Iodine is 100% transdermal, meaning it has the ability to be absorbed through the skin. Our skin absorbs the iodine and minerals in seaweed and stores them in the lower skin layers, then releases them into the bloodstream.”

A paragraph about seaweed soap “Some manufacturers claim their seaweed soap can also detoxify the body, increase metabolism, reduce cellulite and even have a slimming effect by stimulating the thyroid with the iodine seaweed contains. Research has not been done to prove or disprove these claims, but many users report success with certain soaps for these purposes."
And from Body Shop: Our wild–harvested seaweed comes from our fantastic Community Trade partner in Ireland, the Roaring Water Bay Seaweed Co–operative. Bladderwack is a type of brown seaweed that grows on the northern Atlantic and Baltic coasts of Europe. It has the largest trace mineral content of any known single source of seaweed and contains high levels of iodine , antioxidants and vitamins….

Needless to say, my conclusion is… <u> it is highly possible that Body Shop’s seaweed products have caused my hyperthyroidism – to a large extent. </u> That is what I believe. While I have no scientific data/research to prove that, I would prefer to err on the side of caution. I would stop using Body Shop’s seaweed products and see how it goes. If you pour over the internet, there are many “hate Body Shop” websites. The reason I’m sharing here is not to bad mouth Body Shop, but to share to all the ladies who are ttc-ing that this could hamper your ttc journey, just like it did mine. Better be safe than sorry.

Cheeka, sorry to hear that! My best friend was diagnosed with hyperthyroid a few months ago so I'm familiar with this. Have you seen the doctor for medication? You also need to check with your doctor because it may not be advisable to ttc while on medication. You will also need to be very strict with your diet from now on. Absolutely no egg, seafood, chocolate, caffeine and alcohol. Anything that contains iodine.

Perhaps to cheer you up, my best friend looked on the bright side and was so happy she lost all her baby fat with hyperthyroid that she took a lot of photos of herself in bikini and got herself new sexy clothes that she could not wear before.

Take care and hope you will be better in no time!

nitro> i was in GLC. but nope, i dont want to make things ugly... the moment she said i can only do in dec, i already made up my mind to leave. i know her pattern, she can do whatever means to protect herself and her position, i dont want to "fight" with her. the boss above her employed another staff to help our team, but she still gave me all the shit work as i was senior. i asked her why dont give the new staff who transferred from another team, she said cos he wont work long in our team. but why we dont work long under her is cos of her management! and true enuf he resigned to another co nt long after me. i worked under her for 6yrs, its enuf.

for yr case, does dr rec any supplement for yr wife? cud improve egg quality n quantity. my dr said we only have 1% chance of conceiving naturally, but we still try while waiting for ivf in 3mths time. i'm taking COQ10 n DHEA to boost egg quality n quantity, my hubby taking supplements prescribed by dr..

cheeka> u went for a normal thyroid blood test? do u need medication?

snoopy> how are u? actually i pm u few days ago

Cheeka,

Sorry to hear about that.. So will you be getting the hyperthyroid treated first? Take care and get well soon!

Nitro,

No harm trying naturally
Good luck k!!

Lil ponyo,

How are you? You mentioned ur hubby ate tomatoes and brazil nuts rite? Can i check wat's the quantity? Now he's taking 8 cherry tomatoes and 4 brazil nuts a day.. He's also drinking ensure milk.. Actually, i had him stop most of his supplements cos i had this fear of him overdosing and i'm worried for him.. Think natural food better.. He's so cute also, one morning woke up tell me he wants to start on ensure milk.. Cos he dreamt abt it! Haha..

Hi Min81,tumour DH is so funny
the cherry tomatoes wasn't me. But my DH took the following daily:
5-6 brazil nuts (sometimes mix in almonds)
a glass of ensure milk
Zinc supplement
Vitamin E

He also figured out through trial and error with all our iui sperm results and other sperm analyses that he gets the best quality sperm when he abstain for only 2 days before the sample is needed. 3 days is too long and the quality decreases. Doctor did confirm that it is good to 'renew' the sperm a few days before sample collection date. Hope this helps!

Lil ponyo,

Thanks for the useful info!
Sorry, tot ur dh was the one taking tomatoes.. Hehe.. Okie hubby now taking same stuff and also vit c.. Hope it helps!

Lil ponyo, OkiDoki, Min81: I am reading the internet and found conflicting info. Some said that it's good to eat chocolate cos of the copper content for hyperthyroid, some say cannot. SOme say can eat soya beans, some say cannot. Im very confused. I'll just eat whatever it is in moderation.

Im eating medicine from my tcm now. I kinda dowan to give up ttc. If i eat western medicine, i cant ttc. Btw, AF just came.

Ladies 2day is D40 of my cycle but AF still not here. Getting v worry, shall i go c doc to induce it or still wait for it to come naturally? 1st time my cycle is so long, d longest i have is only 33 days n i always hve af on d dot. Feeling lost now

Hi Laki, are you able to call your doctor and see what his advice is? Think that will be the best.

Cheeka, yes moderation is good. My best friend kept an eye on her condition by weighing herself and monitoring her blood pressure daily. If your weight drops a lot suddenly with high blood pressure &amp; high heart rate, it's best to see a doctor. Take care!

hello hello!
Havnt been dropping in and took me some time to catch up on the threads...

Laki: I wanted to ask if u cld possibly be preg? but i am not sure since you mention about freezing ur embroyos...how abt calling ur doc to understand from him?? it may be better this way then worrying about it on ur own and doesnt help when u are trying to do ivf...

Cheeka: thks for sharing the info..i will take note of it too...pls take care of urself and hope that u can recover fast...

By the way, i finally made dropped by to see Dr Loh last Sat to ask him about ivf...he mentions i will do short protocol for ICSI...but he doesnt require me to take any hormone tests or DH to take semen tests before that....is it the same for u ladies?? i jsut feel insecure...cos doesnt seem much preparation required other than dropping by on the 1st day of the af...
i am now torn between doing in Dec vs Jan..his clinic is closed during the xmas wk and that happens to eb within my 2ww...is it impt to hav the doc around during the 2ww in case there's anything??

Dream, i oso wished im preg but i tested w hpt n its negative

I guess ur doc didnt ask u to do d hormone tests coz d results fm ur previous tests r still valid. I think it b better if ur doc is around during ur 2ww at least if anything (touch wood), ur doc is still contactable.

Cheeka,

Sent u a PM

Laki gal,

Think it's best to call up and ask your doc.. Don't get too stressed k..

cheeka> so dr said its nt nec to eat medication to control yr thyroid? what did yr tcm said?

min> my hubby also taking cherry tomatoes, 5 per day, but nt ev day, maybe 3-4 days a week

laki> have u called ur dr?

dream> dr loh's clinic is close from 24-28 dec? i am deciding btw dec vs jan too. do u know if their clinic is open 31 dec, 2nd jan?? my dates also clash, forgot to ask them.. i also think 2ww with dr ard is better.. and i think yr previous results are within 6mths so no need do any tests..

lin, yup i already called up d clinic. Need to go down to c doc on dis coming fri as doc will wan to change my program. Doc say dont wan to wait for it to come liao n she expected my af will b delayed. Haiz tat day when i go c her, wonder y she didnt tell me tat my af will b delayed. Now dont knw how my program gg to b, starting to worry n somehow feel my ivf journey like many downs

Laki, maybe she forget to tell u abt the delay of the AF... Dont worry tooo much... At least u r close to your goal... I still have to endure till next June ...

Wonder if I shld start my ivf in feb but gg holiday in may .... I calculated and estimated the chemo medicine shld be dispersed out of my body by nov (3 mths) and if I start seeing sinseh in dec, perhaps I can start the ivf in feb??? Haiz.... I'm stressing myself again

Lin: yah...he asked me to go down on 1st day..actually, i feel a bit insecure abt Dr Loh cos he's always so distracted n busy...i came prepared with some questions n just keep shooting him with them...then i pester him if i need counselling...then he says no need...if wan, he gave me one immediately by going thru the steps and risks with me....faint...
actually, my hormones test is like in Feb...i am not sure how my hormones hav chnaged after taking so much nijections...i am keen to do it but he says he doesnt believe in wasting money on such test...
is there any way i can take hormones test on my own??
i rem seeing the calendar at the recep...it is marked the xmas week...but not sure abt subseuqent wk...

I will prob go for Jan n hol in Dec then...was hoping Dec cos that's when everyone is away...i dun wan anyone in office to know..

Laki: dun worry too much...at least, the doc has been expecting that n that means normal??dun think too much n just leave it to her...u shd try to relax now...n think abt nothing!

duffybear:when ur ivf is successful in feb, u will still go for hol in may??

Dream.... I oso dunno know... I wanted to go but if pregnant, cannot go , right??? Hai... In worst case, I got to delay my ivf in June Liao

Btw, who is seeing DR Zhou for accupture???painful??

Duffy: accupuncture is usually not painful, if it is, u can tell d Sinseh .. Also another reason for pain is if got blockage so accupuncture helps to improve blood circulation. Take care.

Duffy Bear: Actually, my bro has been talking abt bringing our parents to China in May..they do not know abt my ivf plan and i am in a dilemna too..i am more pessimistic...i am contemplating not to delay further...cos (touch wood)....wat if i need more than 1 trial...

are u referring to Dr Zou Yumin? yah...i am seeing her..personally, i find her rougher than Dr TKS...but the slight pain/ sore is only when she "throw" the needle in...thereafter, is fine...dun worry too mcuh...is a matter of getting used to it..i usually play with my iphone when she is getting the needles in so that i get distracted. mayb u can do that too..

Duffy bear,

Planning for holiday is a happy thing.. Don't get too stressed by it k.. How about u plan it earlier instead of may then? Can go enjoy urself and relax before starting ivf

Laki gal,

Don't worry, it's just 2 more days to ur appt, coming soon!
Maybe she didn't tell u cos didn't wanna worry u since it's just a possibility that cycle might be longer..

Dream,

When will be ur ivf? Maybe can ask ur bro if can go earlier?

dream> ic, i nv look at the calender.. i think i will call alice up and confirm the dates the clinic is closed. but i am nt sure if TFC is open tho? did u chk? cos if u plan to do in dec, maybe tfc is open on that wk on mornings. is it yr first time seeing dr loh, yr first gynae? ya sometimes he get distracted in tmc, cos he always handling his computer.. counselling he said can do when start ivf at tfc. hormone bt i also not doing, but ivf bt test will be (test for rubella, hiv etc). the weird thing is, i asked him if i need to go on D1, he said no. he asked me go D2/D3.