IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Claris, my stimulation is 12-14 days. Doctor don't want to rush (me neither) because we want the eggs to take time and grow properly and not overshoot.

Bloodtest is to know your FSH, LH and Estradiol levels. I do this bloodtest every 3-4 days to monitor. It's basically your hormone levels and how your eggs are responding. I don't know the exact details so can't help you there. You may need to google it. Based on your bloodtest results, doctor will adjust your dosage. That's what happen to me today. My dosage is reduced because I'm responding well.

Claris: Dr Loh gave you the letter to go TFC already? That's fast! You will learn alot tomorrow from the nurse.

For the BT, it might be the set of tests which are required by the Gov for all going through IVF, IUI etc to do. To make sure we are free from HIV, got the antibody for Hep C, Rubella etc..

Lil Ponyo: WOAH.. You have to do bloodtest every 3-4 days.. I never do that at all.. I only did one bloodtest throughout the jabs was to check my estradiol was suppressed. Your doc is very detailed...

Ponyo, may I know who is yr dOc??? Like saralyn mentioned, he soooo detailed...

Saralyn, 2ww will pass v fast... Have fun watching all the Korea show or relaxing reading yr story book...

Min81, how r you now???

Btw, I went bk for my BT and HCG drop to 129... So I think tat the injection is acting up.... But I'm down with flu and cough now... Argh... Cough quite badly ... I told the doc during my check up with her and she prescribed some medicine for me...

Saralyn: initially I experience the oily stuffs . Very smelly like oil smell . I suspect maybe u may want to insert some more in . Now I only get discharge.

Claris and Lil Ponyo: JIA you !! Lil, you have many eggs . Good start !! Hope they are grow to a good size !! Positive and positive thoughts!!

saralyn, today only my D4 he havent given me any letter yet.. but i just ask for counselling from TFC, both hb and I just want to understand more about the procedures.. omg do i need to present the letter in order to attend the counselling??!! ><

thanks dian tang, jiayou!!! ^^

Claris: I was given a letter by him to call this particular nurse to do the paperworks/counselling. I got it when I went to see him on my day 6 of stimulation. I was worried and asked him during the consultation and he was actually typing the letter out for me already.

Dear Duffy bear and Saralyn, my doctor is Dr L C Foong from Gleneagles. Actually, I went back to my calendar and calculated, it's more like every 4-5 days lah
Ha ha! Doctor keeps telling me that he needs to be careful that he wants my body to respond but very important is not to overshoot and respond too much. Hence he needs close monitoring. He does every scan personally and will call me within same day of my blood test to inform me of my results and instructs me to adjust my dosage accordingly. We really really like him.

Dian_tang, thank you! Yes, positive thoughts! I actually need to be very aware of my moods. I think the jabs are making me a little PMS and my poor DH even felt it. He says I'm easily irritable. Ha ha! Hope you are doing well

Duffy, take care ya. Drink lots of water and boost your immunity with vitamins.

Min81, hope you are recovering well from your lap!

morning ladies,

saralyn, i think im too gan jiong to go for counselling. but just call TFC they said can go for it without the letter from Dr Loh. :p going for scan today my D5, wish me luck! hehe

Hello ladies!

It's been a while since I posted, dunno why my seat in the office suddenly cannot get much reception, Web browser always don't load up properly. Hope everybody is doing well!

Lil Ponyo, I'm with Dr Foong too! Just did my IUI today. Went for my CD12 scan yesterday, I have a 22mm follicle on my left, n a 20mm n a 16mm follicle on my right. Lining was at 8.1mm. Dr said I'm likely to ovulate within 24 hrs, so he gave me the Pregynl shot on the spot at 2pm, n I went in for the IUI earlier today at 12.30pm. I'm resting in bed now, only 2 hrs n I'm super bored already. Roll here roll there play phone watch tv but still super restless. Think I'm a workaholic, don't work cannot. 苦命 ya. Hee hee.

Good luck to all the ladies here!

bbcripps, ur follicles size r gd. All d best to ur iui. Rem no strenous exercise k. Try to bd 2nite as will boost d chance oso.

min81, hw r u? Feeling better af ur lap?

dian_tang, Nice song!!! my hubby will love it too.. im listening to "I Love U" now.. where can we buy the CD? Popular or those music junctions.. can put in the car..

Laki gal, saralyn, lil ponyo, duffy bear, diamond,

Thank u ladies for your concern
I'm doing well, came home at lunchtime today.. Have 4 incisions, the most painful one is the one at the belly button.. The lap was very thorough.. The doc said they had a good look at the inside of the uterus and it was good so they didn't do anything, same for the tubes.. They only removed the cysts..

They were very thorough, right after the op, the doc called my hubby who had to rush back to work to explain how it went.. When i was more awake in the evening, the doc came by to check on me and showed me all the photos taken of my insides.. The old blood that came out of the cysts was eeeewww.. Oh and i didn't know my ovaries are so huge.. The doc said usually ovaries are much smaller than the uterus, but mine were like so big.. I think if i do ivf will be feeling pretty swollen down there.. Right now still feeling kinda bloated, it'll take a few days to go off..

Saralyn,

Hope you're enjoying your 2ww.. Laki gal is right.. Just relax and be queen
Hope to hear good news soon!

Duffy bear,

Good to hear your hcg going down.. Soon you'll be able to ttc.. Take care and drink more water.. Heard honey lemon drink is good too.. Can try if it helps..

Lil ponyo,

Good luck on the stimulation stage! Hope you have many well-grown eggies!!

Hi bbcripps,

Wow your follicles are at a really good size.. All the best!!

Min81: Glad that everything go well for you. have a good rest!!

Wondersss: the cd was released maybe quite long ago . Maybe you have to try the larger cd shop . meanwhile u can listen from you tube

Min81, good to hear that your lap went well and your cysts are now removed. Now you are all cleaned
Rest well and let your body recover to the fullest. Take care!

bbcripps, your follicles and lining sounds so good! Wish you all the best with this IUI. I know, 2ww is a killer. So long and time just crawls. Do positive visualisation. Imagine your egg meeting the sperm and finding a nice home in your womb! Take care, ya and hope to hear good news from you soon!

Dian_tang, I will go home and listen to the song tonight!

Thanks ladies for your words of encouragement. This is my 5th IUI, I do get decent sized follicles n ok lining but so far never succeed cos my DH's troops are the weak link, his morphology (normal forms) pre wash was only 1%, post wash 3%. A normal reading should be above 15%. Haiz. He takes some many vitamins n TCM still no improvement, really dunno what else we can do, short of IVF/ICSI. Oh well we have tried our best, it's up to God now. If this cycle does not work we will move on to IVF in Nov. But we r praying n hoping for the best!

Lil ponyo, how's everything now?

Today my d5 scan shows I have got around 20 eggs and doc have adjusted my dosage higher and add on another jab. He said my ER would probably on D11 next monday. Oh my god, everything happen so fast.. Went for counselling as well, the nurse said I got high chance of getting OHSS. got to drink 3L of water daily instead. So excited also getting nervous.. ><

Saralyn, how's ur day? Hope everything fine at ur side..

Claris,

Wow you are responding really well to the stimulation jabs.. So fast er, you must be so excited
All the best! Jia you!

Claris: for ur high risk of ohss, you need to take more proteins like 3-4 egg white, ensure milk , fish and tofu . All these may relieve the symptom of ohss and cannot prevent . Hope it helps. Take care and JIA you !!

Min81, glad tat d lap went smooth. Nw u got to take care of urself n esp ur wound k. Af u recover can try naturally n % of success will b high af lap coz nw u r totally 'cleaned'.

Claris, u r responding well. Beside wat Dian tang mention u can oso drink isotonic water to reduce ohss. V fast u b in ur 2ww. All d best

Min81, erm risk associated got to be extra careful.. Kinda of worried.. Anyway try to think for the best!
u too take good care of urself, hope u r one of the ladies who Bfp naturally after lap.. ^^

Thanks diantang, will up my protein diet. ;)

Claris, you are so fast! Ya, please take care with more water and protein. Hopefully, I will know my ER date when I see the doctor tomorrow.

I find myself getting thirsty more often so I'm drinking lots and lots of water. Last night I got a bit of sore throat and got worried so I went to bed early. Feel a bit better today.

bbcrips, don't think so much. All your conditions are favourable and after all, we only need 1 sperm. So all is good. Think of all these positives and take care in your 2ww.

Good afternoon ladies!

Claris: you are doing very good! Dr Loh must be very happy to see 20 follicles. He is expecting 15-20 when he did mine.

Min: glad you are back and your lap went well. Rest well now and bu your body to be ready for your iui!

Bbcrips: all the best. I got a buddy in 2ww now. Heehee.

Lil ponyo: jiayou! Soon your ER will be here and ET and I got another new buddy in 2ww!

I'm enjoying my life being a queen now.. Heehee. Become so lazy that I feel tired all the time..

I went for my progestrone bloodtest yesterday and glad my level is good and don't need jab!! Heehee.

Dian tang: did your doc requested for this bt for you? I thinking why need when we are inserting so much everyday

Diamond: how are you? Your 2ww is finishing right? Hope Yeo hear some good news from you soon.. I want some baby dusts! Baby dusts baby dusts!

Cheeka thanks for ur wishes.. Me too excited but hope everything will go smoothly..

Lil ponyo, everything happens so fast, I'm shocked when dr told me ER would be next week.. Update us again on ur ER.
take good care ya, we shall get though these and share our good news together soon! ^^

Saralyn, thanks dr Loh said I'm in good condition, hope so and no serious OHSS. When u done urs how many eggs retrieved during ur ER? And how many fertilized? Frozen embryos?

Today accompanied my missus back to KKH for 1st scan after injecting hormones for 7days and taking follices.

Today's scan showed 4 x eggs. Dr asked my missus to continue using 75iu puregon.

Couple of questions.
1.) Dr said ideally is to have 3 eggs for IUI to avoid mulitple pregnancies. If the 4 eggs continue to grow, he recommend us to switch to IVF.

2.) Both of us fell under the 'unexplained category' after all the diagnostic tests, but my missus does have an inverted womb, does this reduce the chances of TTC?

nitro, sorry cant help u w d inverted womb. Mayb u cn search for it.

Think most ladies hving 2-3 eggs for SO-IUI. Do u knw wat is d size for d follicles now? If some of d size is small then think shldnt b a problem. Ideal size for follicle to proceed w IUI will b 15mm n above

Saralyn, thanks! Good to hear that your progesterone level is good. Enjoy your break. How often do you need to go in for test during the 2ww?

Claris, yes good to have you, bbcripps and Saralyn as 2ww buddies!

Nitro, welcome to the forum. From my own experience, IUI success rate is generally low. IVF is much higher. Another factor to consider is the quality of your troops. For our case, my DH's troops not so good so IVF is the better option for us. I have a friend who has inverted womb and this condition actually makes the success rate of her IUI even lower. So after 1 failed IUI, she decided not to waste time and $ and went straight to IVF instead and has conceived with her first IVF. Perhaps you should google inverted womb as I know there are a lot of info out there regarding this.

@ Lil Ponyo,

Passed my Semen tests, Dr Sadana and Dr Tan Siew Bor (TCM) told us we fell into the 'unexplained category'.

We wanted to go IVF straight away after 5 years of TTC. Dr Sadana advised us to try IUI in the 1st attempt as it is less invasive (using cash), and save the CPF for IVFs.

I planned to try 1 x IUI and 1 x IVF under Dr Sadana, if still unsuccessful, will save the last 2 Medisave bullets and go to Dr SF Loh.

KKH nurse was joking with us - PAP encouraging SGs to give birth, but a small bottle of puregon costs $220+, and yet there is no subsidies!

Hi nitro,

I had looked up on inverted uterus as i was told by my previous gynae about it.. It is a very common thing.. Many women have that and don't even know about it until they give birth.. Sometimes, the uterus is tilted back into the correct position after a pregnancy.. From what i understand from my current doctor, an inverted uterus is not usually a concern..

Just to share with you, my hubby and i are also categorised as having unexplained infertility.. My hubby's troops are not so fantastic, but doc says it's still at an acceptable level.. I did a natural iui this feb and conceived.. Although i miscarried at 8 wks, it was considered as a usual risk of pregnancy and most probably cos of chromosomal abnormalities.. I feel there's no harm in doing a natural iui first since no medication needed if your wife can ovulate naturally.. If it really doesn't work out, you can move on straight to ivf the following mth..

Wishing you and your wife the best of luck! Jia you!

Hi hi ladies,

I got to starting injecting myself with another new jab today. Have tried to google about antagonist but couldn't understand.. Anyone know what is this drug for? Thanks.

Claris: just take more egg whites and drink more water.. I retrieved 12 eggs.. Transfer 2 and freeze 5.

Nitro: reason why with more than 3 follicles will be converted to ivf is because the doc does not want your wife to have multiple pregnancies.. 4 follicles can potentially mean 4 eggs and if all fertilized and implanted your wife will be in a lot risks and complications in her preg.

Lil ponyo: only have to do this test once.. The nurse was explaining to ensure we have enough progestrone if preg has occurred..

Nitro,

Oops sorry, didn't read the earlier post, didn't know your wife doing so iui.. Ya like wat saralyn mentioned, your wife might face complications if all 4 eggs fertilised, that's why doc suggest to convert to ivf..

Thanks laki_gal.

Saralyn, erm how much in total u spent for this ivf including the fees at dr Loh's clinic? R u able to give a breakdown?

Claris: I think I spent around 12k to 13k.. I included the first consultation which was to see him and see how he can help us and a couple after that to check my lining etc.. If you want breakdown I have to go get all the bills out..

Initially I thought I will hit below 12k but the nurse told me nope. The range at tfc is 12k-16k

By the way I was on long protocol.. Medicine is different.. Thus, cost will vary too

Saralyn, ooo so excited for you! hee hee...

Nitro, ya, my DH and I are also considered unexplained infertility. Sounds like you have a good action plan. All the best for this cycle and hopefully you don't need to go on to IVF!

Claris, I'm not familiar with this drug but it sounds like what Laki gal explained. You can check the leaflet that comes with the drug and see what the active ingredient is and google that.

Thank goodness for internet! Without it, I don't know how I will survive this ttc journey!

Saralyn, I think my costs will be comparable to yours. Mine is $16k considering that I have 1+ more week of jabs compared to yours. On top of that I also go for acupuncture so that's another $1k.

Lil ponyo: Thanks.. But getting abit sad as I losing all my symptoms now.. I am feeling good just like my normal days..

3k different is quite a lot.. I think generally doing anything at glen e is abit more exp than any hospital... I had my lap at glen e.. When I saw my bill after discharge, I got a shock.. Lucky I can claim back all from my insurance.

The lucrin is not that exp.. Are you still on the first bottle? Is the puregon that is exp.. If you need more and higher dosage then the cost higher..

Think I should sit down and document and file all the bills for this ivf...

Saralyn, oh i see the 1st time dr Loh told me mine would be 10K but the nurse told me TFC range at least 12K like u said. I refer to the guide the pricing should be meant for long protocol. If it's convenient for u, can I have the breakdown. Worried about the overshot as above 15eggs have to incurred extra cost and we intended to do all ICSI no conventional. Thanks ya!
pai sey have to trouble u.. :p

Lil ponyo, thanks thanks I roughly know what is that meant for..

Claris: ok ok let me go type out the list and send to you shortly..

I asked Dr Loh before.. He never give me any no.. He told me depends on dosage..

Anyway, I retrieved and performed icsi for less than 15 eggs soI did not have any extra charges..

Min: yes!! Not over yet.. As long as don't see red mean there is a chance.. I wonder will I get my period before bt? Hm...

Saralyn, don't be silly, your 2ww just started! Positive thoughts! Positive thoughts! Don't think so much about symptoms. All those girls on the "I didn't know I was pregnant" program, didn't notice any symptoms until their water broke! Ha ha!

Claris: OK.. just sent you an email on my ivf cost breakdown..

Lil Ponyo: yes.. positive thoughts positive thoughts..

I really hate the progesterone inserts... making me thinking too much. haha..

Claris and Lil Ponyo: You two must jiayou.. Waiting for you to join me in this 2ww..

Saralyn : the inserts are for pregnancy support . Mine was 3 kinds , tablet , ball type and gel type. So I was busy with my vagina everyday . :p