IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Lil_Pony, i can understand all your agonies esp the "unexplained fertility".. Which dr are u with?

I was so stupid n ignorant last time keep hopping from doc to doc until no-one has full records of what we did and all the $$$ spend goes down the drain.. I cant blame others but myself.. Recently i went to Dr Sadhana and she say that my egg reserve is low. What a BIG BLOW for me.. i really don't know what i can do. I have been seeing Dr zou since last year but still no news no sound. So Dr zou encourage me to go for 1 SO-IUI before embarking the route to IVF.

Duffy, i know you are under KKH. Do you think you can offer your advices?

Ponyo, Heard alot about him as well. One of my TTC mates see him & try without doing IUI. Lucky gal.

One of my friend is also seeing him now... Hope u have the best of luck as well..

The thread seems quiet today..

Wave ladies, having a crazy day haha. Preparing for 2ml audit n guess will b a bz week for me. Tired tired tired

Duffy bear, u should go for ur HCG test coz it b more accurate. U sound positive coz u r already 17dpiui. Do update us on ur result n gd luck to u

HSNg, welcome to the thread

For me, 2ml will b my 3rd yr of marriage n had been TTC since then. Haiz but no result so now gg for IVF like Lil n im one of her buddies. Me currently is seeing Dr Yu at SGH n now waiting for my af before i can start my injection. I had went thru 2x of natural IUI but no results n tat y i moved into ivf journey.

Hi Laki_gal, *hugs hugs* I didnt really read the thread v v up in the archive.. Did the doc say y failed? i guess more or less my cycle will be aborted too... haiz..

HSNg, I was refered by Clinic D to KKIVF afer Dr Jerry saw my HSG report and said that my right fallopian tube was blocked.

He suggested IVF but i still decided to go ahead with SO IUI to see how i reacted to puregon injection.

I was on 75 unit of self puregon self injection for 7 days and 100unit of puregon self injection for 2 days .... it might seems scary and painful to inject yourself but it turned out to be bearable.

Every 2 to 3 days, you will need to go for the scanning for the eggs... As for me, only 1 out of 8 eggs had grown to the ideal size for IUI.

The gynea decided to proceed ahead with the IUI and i was given the tigger shot on the night...

After 2 days, HB need to give his sperm personally and on the same day, i was scheduled for IUI. It was a little uncomfortable but not painful...

After which, i was given progesterone tablets to be inserted at the rear for 17 days...

The whole precedures takes 2 weeks++ .... and i spend about $1.5K++ ...

Laki gal & Ponyo, i am scared of the result...Giving myself another 3 days to see how it goes ... I scared of disappointment ....

Hi everyone!!

I'm back.. Back to reality..
but looking forward to my ivf. Hopefully everything is fine and I can proceed with the procedure and the whole process is smooth.

Can I check with you all.. I am sick now.. Do you all think I should cancel my ivf for this cycle? I never thought of this till my husband asked me just now.

Duffy bear: 17dpiui!!! That's a good sign!! Waiting for your good news k.

Saralyn, welcome back... You are sick with what?? Understand that IVF is a very tidious journal, you might want to check with your gynea is it advisable to proceed ahead with IVF?

I just check again and it turn out negative ... Wonder what is wrong with me??? How soon can I know if I am pregnant is period havnt come after 17 days since my IUI???

Saralyn wher hve u been? Welcome bk
Wat illness u got? Perhaps when u go for scan cn ask d dr bout it. Is better to hve a healthy body when doin ivf. If minor illness, think u might recover b4 ur cycle start. Drink more water n tk care.

Duffy bear, perhaps u shld go for bt to knw d result. Gd luck

Hi Laki Gal, Ponyo, HS Ng,

It's great to find this thread when I search for SO IUI. I am seeing Dr SF Loh who advise me to do SO IUI. Today is my first day of menses, I was told to start taking letrozole on day 2-3, then injection on day 4-5. I am afraid of injection since young, so I hope I can ready for this. Will go see Dr Loh on Day 5 to seek his help for the first injection. I sound like a useless person, so afraid of jabs. But thanks for reading my message as it really helps to pen it down to destress

Hi everyone, I have start the IVF treatment today . Did a quick scan by doc and a blood test . Did the injection with the coaching of nurse . My next scan is 5 days later . Feeling bloated today and hot in the office , dunno if is the side effect of the drug . So much for all for my update .
Saralyn: welcome back. Maybe u can call up the clinic and check with them.
Nicxl: dun worry . We believe u can overcome the fear of jab as I was also afraid of jab . Now I can do it ya! JIA you !

Duffy bear,

Many women test positive much later.. A blood test will be more accurate for early pregnancy.. Maybe u wanna go for your blood test? If positive, can get support for your pregnancy earlier too.. Best of luck k!!

Saralyn,

Are you having flu? Is it something that'll just go off with some rest? If you need to take medicine, maybe need to check if the medication will clash with the injections.. Best to consult your doc.. Hope you get well soon k!

Hi nicxl,

Don't worry k, i'm also terrified of injections! Always looked away when nurses do injections for me.. But i'm going for ivf.. I believe we'll all be brave so that we can hold our bundle of joy in our arms

Beside feeling bloated, I also have headache and fatigue too . But in the evening I was feeling ok .

Every night busy watching olympic to distract myself

Dian_tang,

Glad to hear all went well today and you've started the injections.. Was it prof wong who scanned for you? I heard in kkh it's the nurses that do the scanning..

Did it take long for you to learn how to administer the injections?

Thanks dian tang and min for the encouragement. :)

Did you administer the jab yourself, or ask hubby to help? He is out of town for the week, so i am not sure if I will faint when I jab myself...hahah!

I have been doing acupuncture before this (nv got use to it after so many sessions), I also look away or closed my eyes when the physician poked the fine needles into my tummy/legs.

Ponyo, I was considering switching to Dr LC Foong in view of the short waiting time, and he seemed to be patient and elaborate on the procedure. Dr SF Loh waiting is veeeery long....but is it ok to switch, will the new Dr have to do all the testing again?

Hi morning !! Having my morning coffee with my HD in hawker centre

Min81: the scanning was done by doc , the doc was Dr Anu. I was started with gonal f , pen type injection . The injection part was ok but I just feel headache and bloated in the afternoon. I start to eat 4 egg white today .

Nicxl : I did the injections myself as my DH also scared of jab .. No choice la .

nicxl, dont worry. I'm oso afraid of injection but when u think of d final result (bfp), u will b sure to overcome it. Let jiayou tog

wow dian tang u fast. Do keep us update on ur progress

Guess d nxt 1 will b saralyn turn n then mine. Really getting nervous now. Lil when will b ur D21?

Good morning girls,

I went to see doctor last night. He said is just nose inflammation due to my sensitive nose and change in temperature with all my constant blowing of my nose. Having some medication for the inflammation and congested nose. Hm.. Don't think it will affect my ivf outcome right?

Laki gal: I just came back from Australia. Went for a short trip. It is winter there now and maybe too cold and caused my nose to react badly.

Dian_tang: oh.. So fast!!! Jiayou! Tomorrow is my turn to go down for the scan, HIV test etc. hopefully the scan is clear and can proceed. Have a bad feeling I can't proceed because of cysts. Anyway, how much is your dosage for gonal f? I think I am using this too. I used this for my last so-iui. It was those needle kind where you need to take the medication out from bottle and inject in. I heard pen type is easier to handle.

Duffy_bear: is better to go for blood test to confirm. If it is really positive, you can get support earlier.

Morning, ladies!
Wow! this forum is so active...i havnt logged in for a while and it is so active with many new names...

how's everyone doing?? for those who are onto ivf, all the best! Jia you! the long wait is finally going to be over for u...

i went for a session with Dr Tan See Buoy at NTU once last Friday but after which, i decide to give up adn stick to AMK TCM. NTU is just too far away and the next visit which she can schedule me wld be after my ovulation...so i thought i just stick to AMK TCM ...at least her schedule isnt that crowded and i can still squeeze in accupuncture before ovulation..

What's the overall process for IVF like??

Nicxl,

I did natural iui last time, so no injections.. For my ivf, my hubby will follow me to first scanning so can learn how to do the injections in case i can't.. Hehe.. You are braver than me! I really don't dare to go for acupuncture..

Dian_tang,

Dr Anupriya is good too
That time i bfp-ed, the iui was done by her cos prof on leave.. Just to check, errr.. so wat did you do with egg yolks? Did the doc ask you to take the egg whites?

Saralyn,

I think sensitive nose is fine.. I have allergy rhinitis and i get all these nose problems all the time.. Drink more water k

Must stay positive! You haven't gone for the scan, how will you know you have cysts.. Now everyday i visualise my cysts getting smaller and eventually disappearing.. Haha..

Min81: thanks for the info. Feeling better after reading your post.. All the while I have this sensitive nose problem.. Didn't know it can turn out so bad.

Regarding the cysts, I was having pain at the side which is not a good sign..
anyway, tomorrow I will know. Hopefully everything is normal.

How are you doing? Remember to control your diet by cutting down soy and chicken..

Dian Tian, All The Best To You... Jia You...
Btw, what is gonal f?? Is it the same as Puregon?? Is the pen injection same as puregon pen too?? Keep us posted of the IVF progress...

Saralyn, Take care and drink more warm water... I also have sensitive nose...Btw, what support do you mean for early pregnancy?? WIll i know the blood test on the spot??

Min 81, May i know Dr Anupriya is with which hospital??

Saralyn,

I went to see ear nose throat specialist a number of yrs back.. I normally get the sensitive nose in the middle of the nite.. Sneeze like crazy, mucus flowing, throat and ears all pain and itchy.. I'll end up not being able to sleep whole nite.. It'll clear by 9 or 10 in the morning, but will be very tired at wk cos din sleep.. Was diagnosed with allergy rhinitis, no cure but can learn to manage it.. Anything can trigger it, dust mites, stress, etc.. Don't worry, it'll clear soon with rest and lots of water

I'm doing ok i guess.. I can't complain cos not wking.. Hehe.. I don't take much soy stuff except for maybe those small pieces of 'tau kua' that the tingkat caterer cook with vege.. Have stopped taking chicken wings too.. Do i have to avoid eating the other parts of the chicken? Eating lots more fish now..

Duffy bear,

Dr Anupriya is with NUH

Blood test can detect pregnancy earlier than urine test.. You should be able to get the results a few hours after blood test, nurse will call.. Normally, once you bfp, doc will give you some pills to up your progesterone level to help support pregnancy, kinda like 'an tai yao'.. So better to get it early if preggy

Saralyn,

Did your doc give you med like loratadine, cetrizine or zyrtec for the nose? Think u bring the med to ask your gynae if ok take together with injections.. Cos these meds are anti-histamines and i think they contain a small amt of steroids..

Dream: hello!!! How are you doing? Nature this cycle?

Ivf depends on you going for which protocol. Long is 6 weeks long where you will inject yourself with some stuff that will suppress your hormones for 2 weeks. After that, continue the jab together with the stimulation jab.. When your follicles are of the right size, the doc will take out your eggs and put them together with your husband specimen. After a few days, they will transfer the fertilized egg to your womb. Those extra will freeze it for your next use. For short, is 4 weeks long. I don't really know how the jabs work for short..

Min81: yup.. He gave me 3 types of medicines.. I will definitely bring it along tomorrow when I go see my gynea.. Hopefully they are okay to consume while doing ivf..

Envy you that you can rest at home.. Take good care of your body and rest well..

I was told to avoid all chicken.. I still take chicken because I love them but I avoid eating the wing most of the time..

Duffy: min81 is right.. Hopefully is a bfp for you.

Min81, oops... then in this case, i go for the blood test tml or this friday... Btw, so envy of you... dont need to work....

Saralyn, i normally take zyrtec for my sensitive nose and nasal spray for my sensitive nose too...Btw, why you need to avoid chicken?? I love chicken too and i cook chicken essence with chicken today for my lunch... heheheee....

Duffy bear: you also don't have to work? Can cook lunch for yourself.

Reason why we (girls with endo cysts) should avoid chicken is chickens are injected with alot of hormones for them to grow faster. Endo cysts will grow faster if there are more estrogen hormone. So chicken is best to avoid. Whereas for soy, it will promote the generation of more estrogen in our body if we consume them.. So is best to avoid too.

Anyway, this is what I read from Internet and hear from people. My gynea told me eat everything in moderation is the right and best one. He did told me don't take herbal stuff like dang gui..

Saralyn,

OIC.... My sinseh also told me not to take dang gui too...

i am working but wake up early to cook my lunch to office

How do you know if you have endo cysts? HSG Test or scanning?? What are the side effect of endo cysts?? I am very blur... so many questions

Duffy bear,

Just stopped work in july.. Guess it's nice to have a break.. It's really much more relaxing now with less worries..

My doc has been giving me loratadine for my sensitive nose.. Cos from few yrs back, whenever i see dr, i tell them i trying to conceive so will ask for pregnancy-safe meds.. You might wanna check for zyrtec too..

Saralyn,

Oh i also take essence of chicken on alternate days leh.. Is it ok?

I was reading on another thread that tcm dr say drinking ba zhen soup is good so i just bought a packet a few days ago, planning to boil and drink tmr.. I just checked and saw that it includes dang gui.. How ah.. Do you drink ba zhen soup?

Wow the thread move so fast
Sorry that my reply is slow .
The gonal f needle is quite similar to purgeon needle and the instruction to use is also quite similar . The dosage that I inject is 225 iu subject to my reaction to the medicine .
Dr Anu is with NUH .

I feel a bit hot in the office dunno is due to the injection . I only eat egg white for higher protein .

Dian Tang, oic... wow... 225 iu mean heavy dosage...U Jia You...

i oso eat egg white now... but not every day...

Btw, i just called KKH and they urged me to go down for the blood test asap...

Dian Tang, Yes Mdm... I will go for the blood test tml morning bcos the nurse also sound very anxious than me... She wanted me to go down on this afternoon but i told her i am working and hence, she told me that i must come down early morning on tml.... *Keeping my finger cross TIGHT TIGHT*

Duffy Bear: u really sound very very positive...i havnt heard anyone not having af after so many days post iui...good luck & keep us updated!

By the way, where did you have your IUI? i had mine twice with Dr SF Loh and i am still contemplating to try again this month and whether to switch...

Dream & Dian Tang, seriously i really have no idea when af should come afer iui?? I thought my af should follow my normal cycle of 32days++ if i dont strike it?? Correct me if i am wrong cos this is my first time doing SO IUI... :p

My IUI was done on 20 July 12 and nurse told me to come back on 6 Aug for blood test if AF didnt come... So today should be the 18 days ba....

i had my SO IUI done at KKHIVF and i didnt choose any preference gynea yet...

Wahh...this thread so active! I've been so busy at work and have not had the chance to drop by the thread!

I went for my 2nd acupuncture session this morning. The doctor commented on my liver again (I had no idea my liver was less than ideal) and gave me more medicine for 5 days. I took it at lunch time and it taste so bad! How to take twice a day?! LOL!

Saralyn, welcome back! Ya, asking your doctor about your medicine is best. Mostly likely it will be okay. In the meantime, remember to drink more water. All the best in your scan tomorrow! Hey, are you used to the taste of immunocal by now?

Dian_tang, congratulations on the start of your IVF journey. Jia you! Jia you! Wish you all the very best. So all your jabs are using the pen type? I hear that it is easier but more expensive. Very excited for all of you on short protocol. My long protocol seems to be taking so long! Oh yes, did you feel any different or improvement after taking the TCM medicine?

Laki Gal, my D21 will be on 18 Aug. After that is 2 weeks of suppression like what Saralyn said. Don't be nervous about your turn soon. It will be fine and we are doing a big step towards baby!

HSNg and Nicxl, yes Dr Foong is very nice and patient. There is hardly any waiting time for IUI/IVF or even during the normal consultation visits. I think at most, I will wait for 10-15mins max. For IUI, your DH can provide his specimen at home and bring to the clinic and that's it. You just turn up a few hours later and the IUI procedure is done in the doctor's office. The thing is that we cannot claim any grant as it's private clinic.

Duffybear, GOOD LUCK for tomorrow morning! Whatever the outcome is, please take care ya!

Ponyo, I think you just have to swallow down the medicines quickly ... Tat time I was given an awfully powdery by the sin seh ...
I just closed my eye and drink it down quickly ...

Actually I am afraid of the blood test result... Worry that it turn out another ectopic pregnancy for me... I had a very bad experience last year after my ectopic surgery ..
hopefully every things turn out well for me... Praying vvv hard ...

Duffy Bear: i heard that with SO-IUI, AF will come more punctually. For me, my AF is usually 36-38 days..but during the last 2 trials, my AF came around 28-30 days..
but stay optimistic and try not to think too much...have a good sleep and wake up fresh for your blood test tomorrow!..all the best adn keep us updated!

Baby Dusts!!

Duffy bear,

Regardless of our cycle length, ovulation is always about 14 days before our next cycle.. Cos we did the iui procedure on ovulation day, our next menses should come around day 14 past iui if not pregnant.. If today is day 17 past iui, you're already 3 days late.. Best of luck for your BT!!

Thank you all for your encouragement!! I will jia you and you all must jia you too!!

min81: u can't drink dang gui? it is include in ba zhen soup. I drank ba zhen soup after period.
Anyway, dur my last experience with kk, a person (think not nurse)will do the scanning. She will only do scanning. So we have to wait to c the doc.

Saralyn: I will use gonal f for abt 12 days. On day 6, i have to inject another drug call cetrotide til day 12-14.On the 5th day, Ultrasound and blood will be done again.Frequency visit to the clinic will increase as Ooctye Retrievel get nearer.

min81: i missed your questions that you ask me abt the injections. Meanwhile i am doing fine with the gonal f injection, but not sure abt the other 2 types.Hope it will be ok too. Gonal f is pen type injection with the drug pre-set in the pen and injection was done between 6-9 pm.
As for the egg white, it is recommended by my fren and a lady i met in the ivf seminar. It help to increase the protein levels.

Hihi Min,

Actually Acupunture is quite bearable, I am with Seah Ai Wei from Thomson TCM. But if you are doing IVF now, I am sure Acupuncture is nothing compare to IVF.

Ponyo, Thanks for your info on Dr Foong, I may consider going to him if I need to do the 2nd SOIUI. The reason why I am doing with Dr Loh for this cycle coz I dont want to miss another cycle (Hope I am not too implusive). If the waiting time at Dr Loh's clinic is really very unbearable, I may seriously consider switching.

Btw, is SO IUI needle pen type as well? Am totally clueless about the process, just blindy requested for Dr Loh to help me with SO IUI. hahah!

If anyone can give me tips and advice for a first timer, would deeply appreciate it. =)

Nicxl, SO IUI is the needle pen type... Needles are v fine hence no very painful when you spoke it in....

Min81, Thks for your clarification ... I think I am late for the period... On my way out to KKH for the blood test now...

Dear ladies, finished my blood test and on my way to work...

Thanks for all the well wishes too ....

*crossing my fingers and toes tight*

Gd morning ladies!!

Jusdt nvr come in for 2 days and the thread is running so fast..

Duffy, Good luck to you and hope u can spread some bb dusts to us..

As for the ladies here, lets work hard together!!

Good morning girls! =)

Duffy Bear: Corssing my fingers and toes tight for you too!! Excited for you..

Regarding your question on how we know we have endo cysts.. You can see cysts through scan.. endo cysts are filled with blood.. So during scan, the gynea can see the content.. I also don't know how..

Side effect.. Hm.. I think when you got cysts, your ovaries are bigger and ovulation might not happened or not good? Some girls will feel pain at the sides especially when your period comes..

min81: I don't know about chicken essence.. I guess just take them in moderation?

For the ba zhen, I never take them before.. My mum and inlaw never prepared for me. They did use dang gui to prepare soup.. After my gynea told me to stop dang gui, I totally stop taking dang gui and they never prepared such soup for me anymore.. Infact, I am very careful with herbal soup.. I seldom take them now.

Lil Ponyo: thank you... flooding myself with water now.. Hopefully I will get well in the next few days.. For immunacol, I still haven't get used to it! Haha.. It smells like conceive well gold pill right? I hate that smell.. Anyway, I did not drink it everyday.. every few days then I will make one. Maybe when I start the stimulation then i will drink everyday.

Ask you.. how you mix it with your drinks? It is so hard to dissolve them in the small amount of water..

dian_tang: Jiayou jiayou!!!! guess those symptoms you facing now is the side effect from gonal f.. I only used 75ui for my SO-IUI.. And I think I will be using 300ui for this IVF.. Oh man.. I can't imagine the kind of side effects I'm got to face..

nicxl and HSNg: Welcome to this thread.. I know I am abit late.. heehee.

Nicxl: I guess the injection type for SO-IUI depends on where you going.. I did mine with a gynea at Mt E and i was using the traditional syringe and needle kind.. Is not that hard to inject yourself.. Infact, I think pushing the medicine in is more painful than poking yourself with the needle. But the pain is still bearable.

saralyn, thanks for the warm welcome...

As for ba zhen,i know that is only after af clears then can drink but not suitable during 2ww.....

Y dang gui is not good for us? is it ok to drink after af n before 2ww?