IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Lil, min81 n saralyn, do update us on ur process once u both started ivf ya. Relax k n dont worry bout d injection (alt i knw is ez to say than done coz i oso worry bout d injection =b)

min81, me too will skip acunpuncture.

Lil, thks for d info. It seem like there a lot we need to take? R u taking all those stated?

Saralyn: I have not tested it again this morning cause rushing out. But I can feel cramps now. Maybe menses is coming today or soon.

Lil: Thanks for the info! Very useful...looks like i will start on my folic acid and royal jelly...i hav a bottle of each at home but i never thought of starting on them..but it is strange that they ask us to avoid dang gui...i rem among the med given by Clementi tcm, i do see a packet of it...

Saralyn: Jia you! I am feeling excited on your behalf too! Must continue to keep us updated..

Actually, what's the injection u gers are taking? Is that similar to the puregon jab during IUI? to be honest, i think if u can be injecting urself, you shouldnt be scared of accupuncture...the little pain is only at the instant when the tcm put in the needles...and usually i only feel pain when he do it at my ears...if it is at my tummy or ankles or back, dun feel much...

Wonder shall i start getting royal jelly n immunocal now. But think immunocal dont seem to b cheap.

Dream i hve v bad experience w acunpunture tat y im actuali quite resist in it.

Oh...What happened, Laki?

That is such a long list of tonics...i cant be taking everything...Where can we get esstential fatty acids? from gnc? TCM was saying my ovulation isnt that great...cos usually, BBT will spike 0.3 to 0.5...but mine is only crawling..

No lah
I'm only taking multi-vitamin (which already has folic acid, Vit C and Zinc) and will start immunocal tomorrow morning. I will take logan red date too but have not bought the logans and red dates yet! For fish oil, I just try to eat Salmon 1-2 times a week.

I don't think we should go overboard and take everything. Remember, we should take everything in moderation!

I bought immunocal from Fung & Goh pharmaceutial (tel: 62818229). Just call them and they will deliver to your home/office the next day. Very convenient. It costs $106 per box including delivery. There are 30 packets in a box so that will last for 1 month.

Ponyo, wow your information is good!!! I gg to try out old ginger with black sugar... Any idea what is black sugar and where can I buy it???

As for me, I had started folic acid for 6 years and also started taking fish oil wit vitamin D in jan 2012... As for hb, he will only remember to take COQ10 when I bring it to him!!!

Dream coz last time when i went for acupunture, d dr poke in d needle all d way dwn to my spike n left only a little bit of d needle sticking out. I was terribly in pain tat y nw so afraid of it.

Lil, is ther any min order for immunocal for delivery?

Duffy bear, think u can get black sugar fm those medical hall like Hock Hua

Thks Lil for the info , it is really helpful to us .
I had tried to eat salmon fillet every weekend for the supplement of fish oil. As for the ginger tea, I bought the cube form with ginger , black sugar and longan and red dates from Taipei , just brew with hot water . I shd start to drink that more often .
Dream: you shd start on folic acid . The doc start me on that when I start family planning

Laki gal: that's indeed a teriible experience...i wld have a phobia too, if it were u... this is not the case for Clementi TCM and hopefully not for AMK TCM too...i will share my experience once i attend my first session this thurs..

I have been drinking red dates and longan...but is of "Super" brand and in packets which i will just mix with water..hope it is equally effective..

Laki gal: will do.. Hope to hear from min and lil ponyo since they are first.. Regarding the accupuncture, why insert the needle so deep? I can imagine the pain.. Sorry to hear about it..

Ann: maybe you can test tomorrow morning? Fingers crossed for you.

Dream: thanks! Haha.. We are the only batch who is so excited about ivf. Haha

I just bought immouncal from og.. 106 for 30 packs. Really expensive.. Since I'm travelling and can't make red date longan drink, I will drink this..

For the red date longan drink, my mil taught me to put old ginger slices in to boil.. So can get the warming effect from red date and longan and at the same time can remove wind with the ginger..

You are welcome, ladies
Glad that the info is helpful.

Hi Saralyn
Remember can only use room temperature water or colder for immunocal. The lady from Fung & Goh suggested mixing with fruit juice, yakult, water, ribena, etc. Good idea on the ginger with LRD. Kill 2 birds with 1 drink! Enjoy your holiday!

Dian_Tang, I'm also seeing Dr Zhao at Raffles Hospital for TCM. Okay will update all on Friday.

Hi Laki, I don't think there is a min order for delivery. They even have offer for Buy 10 get 1 free but I think that's too much. I started with 2 boxes first. Your acupuncture experience is scary. I would be so scared too! By the way, is black sugar the same as rock sugar?

HI Thiru, welcome to the thread. My IUI with Dr Foong costs on average $1k to 1.2k depending on how many injections and pills I needed.

Lil, hmm mayb we all can chup n share d order for immunocal. lolz, anw think i will drop by OG to get it. Btw which OG u all went to? Bugis or orchard outlet?

The black sugar (hei tang) is different from rock sugar (bing tang). Hmm normally the black sugar is like brownish in color n d rock sugar is those white crystal type.

Wow you girls are really active here today!
You're all so hardworking, think i'm kinda lazy.. I'm just relaxing everyday after i stopped work.. Looks like i gotta buck up!

Lil_ponyo,

Black sugar and rock sugar are different.. Black sugar looks like ordinary sugar but the colour is a very dark brown.. Like what laki_gal mentioned, can get at places like hock hwa or eu yan sang

Min81, I'm not so hardwking like d rest. I'm still doin d same like wat I did in d past. So no changes for me. Think is lil doin d most coz she oso gg for acupuncture soon
Relax is gd for ur body so think u r doing fine

Laki gal: I got immouncal from og orchard. Think member has 5% discount in the form of voucher..

Lets hope for the best for all of us and may we all get our bfp and we can create mummy group too. Heehee

Lil ponyo: thanks for the note. Have you try before? It says best mix with yakult.. Wonder one yakult so little how to dissolve the powder?

I try before acpuncture at my chest area , it is not painful . the needles were finer than the needle used for injection for iui. so dun worry, ladies

Lil ponyo - 1 aug (long protocol)
min81 - est 30 jul-2 aug (short protocol)
Dian_tang: est 8 aug ( short protocol)
Saralyn - 9 aug (long protocol)
Laki gal - est 17 aug (short protocol)

How to mix immouncal
A special shaker cup comes in your first box. You can put one ounce of your favorite beverage in the cup, cut open a pouch and drop it in, cover and shake vigorously for about 10 seconds. It turns to a creamy consistency, and you may add more liquid before drinking it down. Others prefer to stir it into their food, like oatmeal or cereal, which is fine. You can even stir it into instant pudding mix and have it in your pudding!

Here is a video that also shows you how to mix it with a small amount of liquid in a shaker cup:

http://www.immune-health-solutions-for-you.com/immunocal.htm

Charlotte, think it can only b purchased from OG or call them up for hm delivery
Here will b the contact given by one of d ladies here: Goh pharmaceutial (tel: 62818229).

ladies..morning..feeling moody..this is the month for me to try naturally with pills before probably hitting IUI again in Aug for the 3rd trial. but i am so upset and disappointment with DH.. AF came last Sun and today is probably the 11th day..but DH is forever so busy with work..even after he comes home, he will still continue to work till past midnight.. i hav told him last week that we should try to BD this week and over the weekend cos that's probably the criticla period..but that doesnt seem to be on his mind which is just about work.. i dun wan to be so thick skinned to keep reminding him cos it kills all the fun and joy out of it.. it becomes like a schedule and i feel so uncomfortable and do not enjoy it at all..
i am just so upset and cheezed that he is not putting in enough effort compared to me and i would have to go through needles again if we dont succeed naturally and he doesnt have much in stake since he doesnt have to do anything much..
All these thoughts made me moody and low..sometimes,i wonder if i am better off trying to keep myself happy and move on to ivf directly in Dec..let someone does the job of getting the troops into my body...

Dream, dont think in dis way. Ur dh is trying to work hard to let u hve a gd life. Dont b moody k, prehaps u can try to 'seduce' him instead of asking him to bd.

Actually me in d same boat as u, both dh n me fall sick during dis critical period n till now we both cant bd. So guess this natural mth dont work for me again. Tat y in d morning feel nervous

Saralyn: Tested this morning.. negative.. hai.. but menses still not coming. Dun tell me menses go haywire again. Sian!!

Dream: Don't be upset. Maybe he is also having low morale and that is why he keep working. Maybe you can try to seduce him like what LaKi_gal say. Might be better.

Good morning girls...

I tried immunocal this morning.. Er.. I think I'm not used to the taste and my stomach can't take it too.

Charlotte: think not all pharmacies can get. I don't see it at watson or guardian..

Dream: Your DH is working hard to give you a good life.. Heehee.. I had this problem with my DH too.. I guess as time passes, he started to realise that we have been trying for sometime already and I can't wait any longer (I might get cysts again), he started to play abit on his part by reading up etc.. Give your DH sometime? And, try to seduce him too.. Send sms to him during the day to get him interested to come home fast?? Heehee..

Laki gal: remember to take your vit c.. don't fall sick.. really hope you will not be our cycle buddy for next month.. Work hard k. =)

Ann: Did you test for your ovulation? From there count 14 days and see is it already over? Wait for afew more days to test or see your AF come or not..

Laki_gal,

Must take good care.. Are you working? If you are, get an mc and rest at home.. Lots of rest is very important to help our body recover.. No late nights..

min81, yup im working, trying to clear all works 1st so tat i can go in peace for my ivf. Now im just left w cough. Anything tat can help in cough? R we ok to take maukura honey?

Wow, this thread is really active

Thanks, Min81 and Lakigal on your explanation of Black Sugar vs Rock Sugar. Will try and get it this weekend. Ha ha, it's funny how you think I'm doing a lot. I suppose it is because I feel scared of failure and just wanted to make sure I've done everything that I can (within moderation). It's also because of my age. I turn 38 this year and I think my chances are on a downhill drop year by year. Hopefully all our efforts will pay off one day!

Laki Gal, take care, drink lots of water and rest. The most important is a good rest.

Saralyn, I also tried immunocal for the first time this morning. Yeah, the smell and taste is...different...ha ha! How to take this everyday?! LOL! Okay okay, will try to mix with all kinds of beverage until I can find a good taste. My stomach seems to churn a little but still okay. I read somewhere that your body will get used to it. Really really hope that one day we can all form a mummy group

Dream, don't feel down. Hugs! Perhaps, you can have a good talk with your husband so that he understand how you are feeling. This way, you won't feel like you are doing it alone. You can also try BD in the morning before he goes to work! This way there is no excuse about being tired from work in the evening. Most importantly, try and relax. TTC works in mysterious ways. Sometimes people who don't care or try too hard, are successful. So don't stress too much about it! Have a glass of wine, relax and let the magic happen

Saralyn: Nope, I did not test for my ovulation. Just wait for a while more and see how lo. Hopefully menses will come if really not preggy.

hi Ladies,

can explain more in details on the procedures of IUI in detail cos new here.....what to expect? what supplements to eat while preparing?

Good afternoon.. Was busy finishing up my work before I go on leave. =) happy!

charlotte: Depend on which IUI you are doing.. It can be based on natural ovulation, clomid, jabs, clomid + jabs etc... Normally, you will go scan quite often to check your follicle size. And if they are of the right size, you will have a HCG shot (trigger shot) for ovulation and 36 hours later, you will do IUI. On IUI day itself, your hubby has to produce his specimen for wash in the morning and 2 - 3 hours later, collect it and your gynea will insert the washed specimen into your uterus. It is a fast procedure. No pain.. Just discomfort. =)

morning, sisters...busy and rushing work after disappearing for close to 2hrs in the morning for TCM..

I went for the TCM accupuncture in AMK and thought i would share a little bit of it.. Unlike Clementi TCM, the whole sessions takes close to 45min as Dr Zou would do the accupuncture on the front (tummy & leg) and on the lower back, each for about 20min or so... a little pain is felt at that instant when she put the needles in but after which, is fine...
personally, i find that she is very fast in poking needles in and that makes me nervous...cos she will just poke and poke as though she is throwing darts..wheras in Clementi, Dr Tan would feel for the position before putting the needle in..so depends on ur individual preference and maybe also a matter of getting used to it..and today session costs me $30..No medicine req since i have already taken the medicine last sun...oh yah...i should ask her when should i stop the med..will ask her again tomorrow since i have another session with her tomorrow evening...

Hope it helps!

Hi charlotte,

It's ur hubby's choice to produce the sample at home or at the hospital.. But if at home, must reach the hospital to submit within 2 hours

Wow, d other thread seem to b hving fire around haha. Tat y i prefer this thread coz more warming n my cycle buddies r here too

Lil n min81, rem to keep us update ya

Lil ponyo - 1 aug (long protocol)
min81 - est 30 jul-2 aug (short protocol)
Dian_tang: est 8 aug ( short protocol)
Saralyn - 9 aug (long protocol)
Laki gal - est 17 aug (short protocol)

Ha ha, Laki Gal, ya I read the other thread too and agree I much prefer this thread and our buddies. Having said that I also feel kind of bad and wonder if the sisters who are doing IUI here will find our posts distracting because we are discussing about IVF and not IUI.

Me too.. Silent reader of that thread too.. I guess she must be too stressed over this ttc.. I do find is good that those bfp-Ed ladies are still around.. To make the thread more positive and guide and share with us their journey to bfp.

Lil ponyo, you are right about this thread..

Ladies, hope you all don't mind we still stay around here. Do feel free to ask about iui and we will reply if we know.

Laki_gal, lil-ponyo, saralyn,

Ya saw what was going on in the other thread too.. She's probably feeling too much pressure over the ttc journey.. Like what saralyn said, i would love for ladies who have conceived to stay on too.. Give us positivity and hope that we're all working hard towards the same success..

Ladies, so sorry we sidetracked to ivf related stuff.. Hope you guys don't mind us here.. We'd gladly share our iui experiences here

Just to share, previously i was with a private gynae at mt. Alvernia.. My husband did his first semen analysis there.. It was not a good experience as at the lab, he was shown into this room that was like a store room with a ladder and boxes stacked everywhere.. There was just a sink and this big fluorescent bulb shining down at him.. The worst thing was that there was a sliding door at a side with no lock! He was so stressed out cos anybody could step in anytime.. So subsequently, for the next few semen analysis and iui, even though we changed to nuh, my hubby insisted on doing it at home, which was also kinda stressful cos we really have to rush down to the hospital in peak traffic..

In june when we attended my doctor's seminar on ivf, he mentioned the husband can produce the semen sample at the 'spermatorium'.. We were like wwwwaaahhh.. Sound really fancy should look quite good.. So on our next visit, we asked the nurse if we could have a look at the room.. She was very surprised.. We must have been the first to make such a request! Hehe.. The room was really cosy with a couch and tv and attached toilet.. Glad that my hubby can be less stressed this time for the ivf.. We must remember not easy for our hubbies too

no problem for me....i certainly would wish that you gers stay around...doesnt matter if the topic is on IUI or IVF...at least, it is familiar pple and a source of support who understands what each of us is going through...

and who knows...i may need the ivf info too..(though of course i am hoping i wont...)

Sisters doing IUI, pls dont mind us discuss IVF here in this thread. For sure any quest ask bout IUI, we will guarantee reply n help u all de. hehe

Saralyn, yup i feel it b gd those bfp ladies remains there n help us coz they went thru wat we be gg thru n for sure wat they help us w will defintely help us alot.

min81, yup i agreed w u. For dh 1st semen analysis, he did it at hm n we were caught in d rain so bcm we were late for d 2hrs duration however d nurse still collect his semen n proceed w d testing. For both my IUI, dh did it at d hospital. But lucky for him, he did it at d toilet inside d clinic. I oso saw alot of other ladies dh do at d hospital instead of at hm coz at least wnt afraid to miss d 2hr duration.

All of us here no matter doing IUI or IVF, let jy tog n b here to help 1 another