IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi girls! It's been a while since I last posted. I started seeing Dr Lim a few weeks back, as I wasn't comfortable with my gynae who just prescribed me Clomid and told me to come back when I get my BFP. Experience so far is good except he doesn't seem to like it when I ask too detailed questions (I like to ask 'why' :p)

Anyway I just started round #2 clomid (and first cycle with Dr Lim). CD1 on 29 March. Anyone else with me?

I will also be going in for my first Gonal F shot later this week. Kinda terrified of having to inject myself. Girls who've done it, any advice?? Also, did you have any side effects with the Gonal F? Do you recommend taking a day off? Thanks in advance for any advice!!

Peggy, read up there that you don't like Clomid. Any reason why?

dear ladies
Did Clomid last august with natural BD, not sucessful. Stopped gynae visit due to work and resumed in Feb after reading this forum and realising what is IUI.

So I was on Clomid and did IUI on 17 Mar. It was amazing to see DH troops blinking on the screen and moving around the ovum. I totally agree the 2WW was so long! I read of all the symptoms everyone else had and was very obsessed. I had flu like symptoms immed after IUI i think due to reaction to the medication and had severe headaches in the 1st few days. I had very light twitching occassionally and I burp/fart ALOT. Other than that there was no other symptoms at all. No spotting, backache, fatique or contispation.

Nurse said to test on 31/3 but the suspense was killing me so I tested on 30/3. There was a very very faint line so faint I was doubtful if it was there. Tested again 30/3, line was darker....needed affirmation so I bought the digital clearblue which states after 3 long minutes "Pregnant 2-3 weeks"!!! going for BT tmr, fingers crossed everything will be well :/

DH and I are keeping this quiet until the BT confirmation and baby heart beat scan. But I want to share here to encourage those who has not much symptoms during 2ww too
baby dust to all!

I still cannot believe it as I do not feel differently at all.

Jen: I am with Dr Lim too.. Gonal F jab is quite easy. First time the nurse will show you how to mix the mixture and jab.. The first time I did it myself was abit scare. But the 2nd time it seem easy. So, don't worry.. It will be OK. For side effect, the first round I took it, I was OK, not much effect. But the second round when I took it, I was very bloated. Can't take my full meal and if can, I will puke out later. Guess it depends on how your body will react?? I took both round and reacted so differently.. Good Luck to you!!! Hope you have alot of folliciles growing well!

Lil olive: WOAH.. Congrats on your BFP on your first try on IUI! Thanks for coming in to share your story..

Am very curious.. Did you do abdominal scan to see your DH troops blinking and moving around the ovum? When I did mine, I can only see the troops were inserted in. I didn't see any ovum or them moving around..

Lil Olive: Thanks for sharing!!! I really feel encouraged now.... Hopefully all of us can follow your foot step and BFP the first time doing IUI.
May I know if there is your DH's troops are okay? My DH's troops are not good, i.e. zero m o r p h o l o g y.

Also, same question as Saralyn, how did you see the sperm moving around the ovum?

Jen, I dont like clomid because it increases the risk of ovarian cancer. I am quite scared of cancer... because a friend of mine got cancer and it's pretty scary...

Congrats Lil olive,

Wow, you get to see your hb troop blinking inside? That's amazing. Mine didn't let me see the screen at all.

Saralyn,

You saw too? hmm... Maybe should request Doc to show me next round. keke....

Saralyn: Thanks! I was always reading this thread and told myself I must post if I get a BFP so as to share the babydust. Hmmm I saw the womb with a round darker spot which looked like the egg and when the gynae started injecting the troops there were like lighted "blinks" moving in on top of the egg. They were blinking and moving around.

Peggy: DH's troop was not that good in Aug when we did the sperm test, quantity a little low and shape not very nice. sorry i dunno the right terms. He ate Immune Vita for a month, Blackmore's Men Performance for a month and brazil nuts like occassionally. I believe the IUI with the washed sperm increased the chances overall. I was also very discipline, stayed in bed most of the time after IUI and the day after.

By the way, my gynae said ovarian cancer risk was present in the 60s, since then Clomid has been improved and there is no risk of cancer now. He told me to spread in the forum haha. I do hear pple say it may thin the uterus though.

Dragon, thanks! The screen was more for the doc to see his placement but the screen was tilted enough for me to see and doc was was giving a commentary that "those are your husband's troops"

I am really nervous though about the blood test and the next 2 mths....hope every goes smoothly. Apparently when we BFP 2 weeks after IUI we are considered 4 weeks pregnant. Read so many MC cases I am a little freaked out.

Dragon: the nurse was scanning to see my uterus was down or not.. I casually asked why need to have full bladder.. So uncomfortable.. And she showed me the screen and explained the screen to me.. I can't figure out anything she said.. I can never understand the black and white picture... Then while doing the iui, I was starring at the screen too.. But I see nothing till they said is done I was like huh? So fast.. And the nurse pointed an area that was blinking and told me this is it... But I did not see them swimming around coz the nurse stopped scanning once the doc is done.

Lil olive: ok ok.. Maybe next time I ask the nurse to scan longer.. Haha.. So happy for you!!! Pls take good care of yourself k..

Lil Olive,

When doc doing the placement, the scanner still inside? Or scan from tummy? Did you experience any pain when he insert in?

keke... I did not stay in bed for long. After IUI, I went to run some errands, then nap awhile and off to a relative's party.

This round, I will be good. keke...

Dragon: I thought they need to scan to let the doc see.. Ensure they have place the "tube" into the uterus before they "inject" the washed sperms in..

Mine also no scan after iui.. Just went to see doc and he showed us the before and after washed.. U can really see the different.. Haha.. Before only one of few swimming around.. After with all busy swimming around!

Saralyn, ya la the blinking dots are the troops!

Dragon, the scan was from the tummy held on by the nurse. The gynae refers to the monitor to see where to insert I suppose as he was looking at the monitor most of the time. No pain at all just feel the equipment sliding in.

Olive: ok ok.. Haha.. I can never understand that kind of image.. But I did not see any ovum like you describe.. I just saw a line "blinking" when the doc was counting from one to five..

Do you have any issue on your side? And how long have you all ttc and why decided to go for iui?

Lil Olive, thanks for sharing your story! Quite encouraging to hear you strike your rainbow
Good luck and take good care of yourself this period.

Saralyn, good to know. I will take a day off for the injection (Thursday). So I get a looong Easter weekend
How many times did you go in for scanning before ovulation?

Jen: I would suggest you save the day off after iui.. Rest more after your iui.. The jab is really nothing.. Not much pain.. Only a slight pain when they inject the mixture in..

I went in on CD 7, 10 and 12. CD 14 I went in for my iui.

Lil Olive... congrats!!!!
Thanks for sharing here. It really encourages me to be positive.
You take care and eat healthily okay!
Btw, which doctor did you go to?

Saralyn: I've been married abt 3 yrs, 34 this yr. Actively trying since last yr, bff suggested I go see a gynae so I went last Aug. I always have super regular menses, no cramps etc but just cannot conceive. Started on clomid after checking tubes not blocked and ovary no issues. This is my 2nd clomid and 1st IUI cycle. I read only 1/3 of the pple have spotting so please still becareful if you have no symptoms during 2ww like me. Do not carry heavy stuff, stand or walk too much.

i also recommend everyone to watch the implantation and 1st week video on babycenter.com very good, made me think IUI is nec cos the sperm has to pass so many hurdles to reach the ovum haha.

Thanks Saralyn and Peggy. I'm not doing IUI (yet) , just the jabs and then natural BD. But then again we also receive DH's SA report on Thursday when I go in for my jab, so hmmm....fingers crossed!

Good to know the jab should be over and done quickly, thanks

Hi Ladiers,
Been sometime tht i came here to write. After my first unsuccessful IUI, i've been having all the symptoms of PMS. I should be getting my menses soon. Can't wait for it, so tht i can start my next cycle of iui. This time i am gonna make sure they monitor me more frequently. Im so afraid that the same thing might happen again and everything goes down the drain again.

Olive, are you with KKH?

Saralyn & Peggy, I have a rather silly question. Do you think it's okay to exercise after the Gonal F jab?

I scheduled a Pilates class an hour after my injection...

Olive: thanks for the info and coming in to encourage us..

Hope: I still remember you!! All the best to your coming cycle and yes, get them to monitor you closely this time round!

Jen: ok ok.. Good luck on thursday k.. Hope you respond well to clomid and so less jab. Do you have any issue like pco?

I do exe as per normal.. Even when I was on plan a, I did not take any precaution after the bd dates. it was only after iui, dr lim recommended no swimming and bd on the day itself. Other than that, I can continue with my daily routine.

I was watching a tv show.. She had 2 ivfs.. First one was successful but lost the bb at 8 weeks. She went on for her 2nd ivf, her lining was perfect for the transfer, embryo was good too. But they failed.. Somehow, it hit me during that time that making bb is also all about timing.. Even though you have the perfect egg, sperm, lining etc you might not be able to get it too... So ladies, our timing has yet to come but I believe it will come soon and we will all be able to have our dream comes true soon.. Is a matter of time!

Jiayou!

Saralyn: Ya lor, so sian rite my case. Are you intending to go for 2nd iui in this cycle or are you taking a break?

Thanks Saralyn. Yeap, I'm "thin PCOS" - irregular periods since young and polycystic ovaries, but no other symptoms. Was diagnosed in 2008 but didn't connect it with our problems ttc until CNY this year.

My earlier gynae started me on Clomid in Feb, but because of PCO none of the OPKs picked up my ovulation. I was so upset thinking I didn't ovulate and went to see Dr Lim around CD 30, and he told me I ovulated more than a week ago!

Are you taking Metformin with Clomid as well? Did you have any reactions?

Hope: haha.. Ok la.. At least you know you respond well to those drugs and good thing is you don't need so much medicine in the next round. Too much of such thing in our body is not good.. I am taking a break. Intending to try again for may but seems like I hve to give that a miss too coz I have a family trip coming and will coincide with my ovulation period..

Jen: I did not have pcos.. I got endometriosis.. Went for ops to remove the cyst and those adhesion.. But have no result since then.. Went to dr lim in dec.. Planning to do iui but he suggested me to try plan a first coz he said my dh result is not that bad.. He has seem worst but still succed in plan a. Well, we failed plan a.. And rested for 2 months coz my dh doesn't like the idea of me going under clomid and jabs.. Went for iui for my mar cycle and failed too.
now taking a break too..

Can someone explain, when we use a OTK and it shows positive means we are going to ovulate or are we ovulating as in the eggs travelling to the tubes?

Saralyn: Good to take a break and rest. Relax and strengthen ur body.

Jen, I think can exercise per normal after injection. Dr Lim said that I have PCO, not PCOS. He also give me metformin to eat every day. But i dont like to take medication (except for vitamins). So I have been naughty lho... :p

Saralyn, jia you okay? Try again after ur trip.

Hey Peggy, if it helps my uncle who is a doctor says Metformin doesn't really have any long term side effects or negative consequences, in fact it's good for you and in some studies apparently helps fight cancer. The only downside is the nausea (yuck) and effect on the digestion system. I've read up a lot on the net and US forums, and came across quite a few PCO cases who conceived naturally with just Met alone.

Actually, I think Chinese medicine also works in a similar way in readjusting our body 'balance', but it is not as 'sharp' an instrument as Western medicine which goes straight to the identified root of the problem (insulin).

Ladies, can I check the cost of doing IUI? I am thinking of doing it this month. Currently now on clomid.

Hope: you are referring to opk right? If it is, the line must be as dark or darker than the control line then it is considered as positive. Any thing that is lighter than the control line then is not positive. If you got a positive on opk, it means you are going to ovulate in the next 24-48 hours.

Jen: there is no cure for endo.. Doc suggested to get pregnant as fast as possible.. But it seems like it is not that easy after all.. Hm..

Ann: cost of iui varies from doc to doc and also whether you going for so-iui or iui itself.

Thanks ladies! Yes.. Will rest well for these few months and try again!!!

Anyway, checking with you all.. Any one of you taking Blackmore conceive well gold? How is it?

Jen, thanks a lot! Now at least I am at peace... he.he.. can start eating Metformin again. :p Otherwise, every time I pop the pill, I feel uncomfortable of the possible side effect.

Hi Ann, I have not done IUI yet... but from what I read, it depends on several factors:
1. What pills are you eating.
2. Any injections?
3. Private doctor? Government hospital? Subsidised?

You can budget $500-$800 for normal IUI in govt hospital (subsidised). Injections are quite expensive and it also depends on the dosage.

Worst case scenario is to budget $2K if you go to private hospital and you are on medications, injectables and scans visits.

Saralyn, I bought so many supplements in the last six months! Blackmore, ginseng, primrose oil...in the end it's really very difficult to remember to take every day, add on to that now there is Clomid, Metformin...

So now I just take my Clomid and Met, and when I remember, I take my multivits in the day...keep it at the office (yes, I can still forget to take even tho the box is in my drawer, haha)

Jen: hahaha! Same as me! I have so many bottles but I just keep forgetting to take..

For the conceive well gold, a friend gave it to me.. Thinking should I eat it or not because I already takin so many now.

Thanks, Saralyn. Enjoy your break and recharge

Today is day 12 after my IUI and I suddenly feel so bloated. I think it's my AF coming. If this cycle fails, I will be taking a break in April too as I will be traveling.

Hi Lil Olive, thanks for sharing your story. It's always happy and heart-warming to hear a success story. Take care and take it easy.

Hi ladies, let us try again next month... I think my af coming soon either tomorrow or wed. Bloated and sore boobs. Take a rest and see what happens.

Lil olive u mentioned your doc did a scan when performing iui? Sounds good. Mine didn't

Btw ladies did your doc do a scan to see if egg released before iui? Can I request?

Hi ann,

Iui is about $500 for procedure plus 2 week supply of pills
Preparation of semen is $200
Scan and consolation is about $200
I did 3 scans
Jab before iui + consultation $190

Charges are different. Private docs also charge differently. Popular docs r exp and long waiting time

Hope this helps. All the best.

Thanks Lil Ponyo & Dragon Chew for your encouragements. I am seeing tcm now after the mc to "diao" my body.

Really happy for lil olive! Good to know there are successful iui.

Can I check when the gynae inject the DH troops into us, will u experience any flow after that while still resting on the bed?

Hi all, so meaning that we can request for a scan to see how many eggs have been released before IUI? Is that true?

Lil Olive, really wonder if we can see the ovum. Cos the ovum should be in the fallopian tubes right?

Good morning ladies, going for BT at lunch to confirm the BFP...nervous.

Just before the IUI, the nurse apply the gel thing on the belly and scan to see if your bladder is full enough so the womb/uterus (?! i am clueless in biology) is sagged downwards. There I see the round dark shape that looks like the egg leh...i always thought the HCG jab was to release the egg into the uterus so I thought it is the egg? I am not sure but that was also where the troops were injected, right on the dark round "egg/ovum". anybody has a better idea before I confuse everyone further? LOL

BTW, i only had 1 egg....

Hi ladies, haven't been here for some time. Hope everyone is doing well!

Olive: Congrats on your BFP! Don't think the dark shape that you saw in the womb is the egg, since the fertilization takes place in the fallopian tubes and not the uterus.

Jessica: I don't think the scan is to check that the egg has been released, as the egg will definitely release with the hcg shot. The scan is probably to check on the cervix. My IUI was not carried out with a scan, so, don't worry too much ya.

Peggy: I have taken metformin+clomid for 2 cycles, but didn't help with the follicles. Previously, I have checked that the norm is to start with clomid, increased dosage of clomid, followed by clomid+metformin. If all these doesn't work, you probably have to move on to injections *touch wood*.

*Baby dust to all*

Lil Ponyo & Jesscia: Bloated and sore boobs are good sign.. Don't worry. Be positive.. Never see red mean still got chance to spread bb dusts to all of us here!!!

Olive: All the best to your BT!

All: You mean the doc can see the egg is released or not? My doc did not do any scan on the day of IUI.. But I was having spotting the night before and in dull pain till next day morning.. I would think that was my ovulation...

Hey Ganbatte, I thought the norm should be start Met first, try naturally, if not successful, add Clomid. That's what I learnt from the US PCOS boards.

Olive, good luck!!