IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Oh and Ladies, if you feel unwell anytime during the 2WW, just take MC and stay home and rest k.. Don't rough it out at work, it's not worth it.. We've already put in so much effort in fertility treatments.. Important to have lots of rest after the procedure..

Jia you!!

Pandager: Really? For IUI, you need 18mm as the min size? Hm.. My gynea told me I might have mulitple too.. Best case is triplet.. Hm.. I was abit worry too initally.. But don't bother too much coz I don't think I am so lucky.. If God really want to give me triplets, I'm sure he will provide.

Hope: Since you have ovulated already, no point going for IUI now.. Just BD bah.. I hope you did not take any trigger shot right? If so, all 6 eggs will not come out.. Only those big enough one will.. And like what Pandager, only 3 will come out..

Saralyn, who are u seeing now and from where? Well like u said it's a gd thing tht I react well with the jabs.. So now jus have to hope tht menses come soon so that go start with 2nd try.. Sianz

Saralyn, I did not take any trigger jabs.. Shld I BD? Coz the doc said to avoid. So confuse.. One part of me feel like I shld BD tonight so tht I dun waste the eggs.. Another part is I'm worried for multiple pregnancy.. So confuse!!! What shld I do??

If i were to b u, i will ask d gynae who hv seen mi to get his mentor or snr gynae to confirm. Sorry, kk gave mi a vbad impression cos when i was in my teens, i went to see doc for my irregular mens. When was told that i will be given oral contraceptive pill, i decline to eat cos of side effect. Guess what d doc said: anything happen and i will not be liable!!!
Saralyn: yes, need min 18mm dan can do iui.

Hope,

I went to KKH for fertility check and found out I have cysts n endo. When I stepped into the doc room, I saw the nurse preparing alot of forms. When I sat down with my husband, he immediately said I need to go surgery. I was shocked and was stunned there. My husband was calm at the moment and asked the doc so what is endo and why cysts n why need surgery etc. The doc was so inpatient. He wrote on a paper, endometriosis, and gave us and asked us go back n read from internet. He just want me to sign all the papers immediately to go for the surgery and get me out of his room. I doesnt like it and decided to seek for 2nd opinion and went to another pte gynea.. I'm glad I did that. For now, I'm seeing Dr Charles Lim at Mt E.

Pandager: Oh no.. then I only got 1 egg that meet the mark!!! =(

Hope: Your husband has any issue with his troop? If no, then maybe I will not for now onwards since you did it last night already. If yes, then just do it.. This is what I will. Think carefully for yourself and prepare for the situation if you really have more than 1 egg fertilised..

Hi Saralyn,

Don't worry, I had only 1 egg.. All it takes is one egg and one sperm!

Hope and Saralyn,

Ya I know what it feels like to be with a doctor who doesn't seem to care that much.. I had only gone to Prof Wong in Dec.. I regretted not going to him sooner.. Was seeing another female gynae at her pte clinic in another hospital for several years.. She was very laidback, did not give much info or explain things clearly.. Just kept giving my hubby and me exp vitamins.. Never tok to us about ARTs too.. After 2 yrs of trying without success, decided to go to fertility specialist..

During my 2WW, I started reading forums and saw that most gynaes do not give Clomid for more than a few cycles cos it will thin the uterus lining and that affects implantation.. I was so upset cos before I went to Prof Wong, she had put me on Clomid for 12 mths straight without telling me the side effects.. I was a little depressed for a couple of days thinking my IUI would be a failure.. After that, I managed to push all those negative thoughts and told myself to think positive..

Min81.. Thanks! I am hoping it will be a success this time round.. Is kinda tough for me to stay put in SG for weeks just for iui or even ivf.. My work requires me to fly often..

Do you remember how thick is your lining for the iui? I suspect after taking clomid, my lining bcome so thin that my period is very light now after I stop them.. I only took 3 months of clomid and rest for 2 months. During those 2 months, my period was too light as compared to my last time.

Hi Min81,

Thanks for the bb dust.

Excited for you. You get to hear your bb heartbeat soon.

Hi Saralyn,

I've got endo too. In fact, I had an op 6 mths ago to remove a cyst.

I don't know how many egg I have cos Dr Chew didn't tell me and I forgot to ask too. But if not wrong, I think I saw 2 measurements on Day 12 scanning. And he asked if I'm on clomid but I'm not. On the day I do iui, he asked me same question again. Maybe really got 2 eggs.

I read from web for people with Endo, clomid is not advisable.

Dragon Chew: =) finally I found someone with the same problem as me.. =) Yes, my gynea mentioned before.. But I just go ahead. I thought more eggs the better chance..

I went for my ops one year back.. My cysts were really very big.. anyway, glad that all is back to normal.. and everytime I felt some pain, I was so worry it could be cysts growing back. sigh

My first cyst 8 yrs ago, 10cm. Had an open surgery to remove it. 3 yrs ago, had another abt 5cm, removed via keyhole. This round, 9cm, luckily still can keyhole.

Same as you, any pain, I will quickly go see my gynae. Really scary the op.

Do you have brown discharge?

My understanding is: each day ur follices will grow abt 2mm wif d help of gonal-F. So i wldnt say u only hv 1 egg cos i m not sure before u took ur ovidrel/pregnyl, how big was ur follices. Before ovidrel/pregnyl shot, d nurse will inject d remaining gonal-F which may assist in growing.

Hope: since u hv oulated and snr gynae had confirmed, try naturally, like what the others said: dont waste the eggs. Wishing you all d best !

Girls.. I read that you all did your IUI at 10:30am. WOAH.. What time did your DH submit his specimen for washing? My DH submitted at 9am and we can only collect it at 11:30am. Then go to my gynea clinic and gotta wait for my turn and by the time I did it, it was like 12pm...

hi Pandager, yes im thinking of jus doing it naturally. Will BD tonight and than wait and see what happens. Jus pray wont kena multiple pregnancy.

Hi Saralyn,

You might want to inform your boss if you're going thru such procedures cos I think it's not advisable to travel.. When I went to Prof Wong to confirm pregnancy, he immediately told me no plane flights.. If possible, inform boss early so they can make arrangements for someone else to go in ur place.. Even right now, Prof Wong put me on 2 weeks medical leave cos it's a very crucial period..

Prof Wong didn't make any special mention about my uterus lining, so I guess it's ok.. I didn't ask for thickness of the lining..

Hi dian tang,

So far, my personal experiences at NUH have been really good.. I get to see the dr ahead of my appt time as I always reach early.. The nurses who did blood tests and injection for me were very nice too.. They could see I have phobia of needles and were very assuring and kept chatting with me to distract me.. On the day of my IUI, it was Dr Anupriya who performed the procedure, Prof Wong informed me beforehand so it was fine with me.. She was very professional and made me feel comfortable too.. When I was with my previous gynae, I was very squirmish with pap smear and vaginal ultrasound scans as I found it really uncomfortable, but I was surprised that when Prof Wong and Dr Anupriya does it, it's pretty painless and I can relax too..

Hope: All the best.. This could be your month~~ Work hard!

min81: Ya.. I told my boss abt this cycle.. that's why i am staying put in sg for the past 2 weeks and the coming 2 weeks too.. Can see he is quite shorthanded.. Heehee..

Saralyn,

Nope, I mean during midcycle. I also very scared of op. The waking up part really scary too.

We were told to submit sperm at 8:30am. Only on the day then they told us they can only process the sperm 1 hour after collecting by my hubby. But luckily they still make it on time for my 10:30am apptment.

dragon chew: i do get brown discharge quite often.. like last month, my period was light.. after day 2, it became spotting.. and was spotting all the way till i ovulated. the spotting became red if i went exercise.. i was so scared i call for appt immediately.. Went in to scan and doc says everything look normal to him.. Hm.. he mentioned endo people have hormone imbalance and that's why will spot quite often during the cycle..

But ladies, im very worried for multiple pregnancy. out of the 6 eggs, 3 is from 14 to 14.5..the others are 21.5,17 and 18. The doc said need to be 16 and above for IUI but she said if 14.5 or 14 also got possibility thtz y they dun wan to go ahead with IUI ..

If i ovulated today, is it true that the eggs will be release thru the tubes either tmr or the next day?

Saralyn,

We were told to submit sperm at 8 am.. at NUH, the lab is rght beside the Clinic for Human Reproduction where the procedure is carried out.. at 10.30 am sharp, the processed sample was brought over and they immediately called the doctor to come down..

Saralyn, good to hear that you won't be travelling during this period.. Take good care, pamper yourself, and relax!!

My brown discharge also on off till ovulated. Before iui, Dr Chew still need to help me clear up the brown discharge. This mth I even got slight itchy but not constantly though.

Hope this mth we can strike!

Hope: from what i remember on the pic at my gynea table, when you ovulated, the egg will be at the tip of the tube.. and fertilisation will take place. it will take around 5 days for the fertilised egg to transform and travel down the tube and implant itself to the lining. This is what I see from the pic..

Min81: WOAH.. NUH is actually not bad.. i was wondering.. we submitted at 9am.. only 11:30am then can collect. by the time I do IUI, can they still swim.. Hm.. NUH is too far for me.. else I don't mind changing to there.

Saralyn,

Haha.. don't worry, I'm sure the clinic will not exceed the 'safe time-frame'.. Mine also 2.5 hrs between collection and IUI..

Actually I stay in the east.. It was a nerve racking morning trying to reach NUH at 8 am.. We couldn't leave too early too cos the sample cannot be collected too early also.. We were racing down ECP and AYE on a weekday morning at 7 plus.. haha..

Hey just to check, before they inject the sperm, they show us the little test tube with the sperm to check our names right.. Was it very little?? There was soooo little in the test tube.. I was thinking.. wah so little don't know enough or not.. haha..

min81: Woah.. weekday morning at ecp and aye.. must be heavy traffic too? haha.. can feel the gan jiongness from what you wrote. haha..

Yes.. I was wondering too! Hahaha.. am wondering how can soooo little has so many soliders in it.. At least afew millions..

Hehe.. ya, amazing right..

Ya we were definitely very gan jiong.. haha.. very heavy traffic.. but luckily reached there 5 min before 8 am.. After submitting, we found a place at the hospital and just sat there read our books, chit chat till time for IUI.. so at least I had time to relax before the procedure
.. oh and I didn't know about the full bladder thing until I read the postings here.. I actually emptied my bladder before the procedure.. don't think I can tahan full bladder..

I went for the scan today and got pregnyl jab. Doc said it would have been better if I can do iui on wed. Egg would be bigger. What size should the eggs be good for iui?

Start of a journey so hope everything can turn out fine.

min81: woah.. i stepped into the clinic and the nurse ask me got full bladder or not. go and drink if dont have.

jessica: we were talking abt this too.. min 18mm..

Hi Jessica,

Don't worry, positive thoughts from now.

Hi dian_tang,

I've checked regarding the subsidised patient thingy. Must go polyclinic get referral letter and you can't choose which gynae you want.

Hi sarahlyn

I took the trigger shot. Tmr is iui. Can the egg still grow? Doc said only got one egg? I didnt take clomid or jabs so natural iui

Jessica, i did not do any scan on my IUI day so I don't know whether they have grow or not. Anyway, no worry. Since you doc says can do then the egg must be of the right size.

It is normal to have one egg since you did not take clomid..

Jessica,

don't worry about the size and qty. As what Saralyn said, if your doc say can do means it's ok.

Have a smooth iui and join us in 2 weeks wait.

Good luck for your IUI tmr, Jessica!!

Don't worry, mine was natural IUI too, normal to have 1 egg.. If possible, take mc for the following day too so can rest n relax

Gut luck eeryone... I have been posting in this thread but have some errors.... My gynea suggest me to do iui last dec but i just decided to do it now... Anyone taking puregon? Do you feel bloated?

Hi dragon chew, thks! Thought of changing from Kk to Nuh

Only when I inject the cyclogest thru rectal , then I feel bloated and hot and always go pass motion