IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi Claris,
Good to hear from you again. Good luck on your So-iui. Hope you have BFP so don t have to go through IVF and give us some baby dust!

Emily: i ve seen gynae and done ivf counselling. Was advice to call them straight away on CD 1 of menses and book appointment on CD21 which is Apr 9 to start of Lucrin jab for ivf. I m going down with hubby to do some blood test this sat. Can t remember what s the blood test for.......lol. Too much things to remember.

thanks peggy, ganbatte, dian tang, kittykatty, for all the advices and encouragement.
feel heart warming. hee how deep should e needle insert into e belly huh?

emily, me too experienced brown spotting few days before e menses. dont know what is e implications. as long as menses come im happy liao because of my PCOS. u may want to do HPT? brown spotting might be a sign of early pregnancy, since menses not reported yet too.. wish u best of luck!

kittykatty, is CD21 start injection e standard procedure for IVF? by right normal ovulation is 14-18 days, so IVF actually lengthen e ovulation process?

Hi Claris,

If I am not wrong, normally for IVF CD21 is the start of injection. Lucrin injection(14 -21 days), Stimulation injection (Gonal F) (10 days to 14 days). Stimulation injection will stimulate more eggs to be released instead of normally one egg for one cycle.

kittykatty, so u will start injection for gonal f end of this month ya? next week? cheer for u here! jia you together! lots of baby dusts!

Hi Beanie,

Welcome!

I think the cost of a laproscopy depends on the doc.. You have to check with your gynea to see how much he charges.

Thanks! ^_^

I been curious whether anyone having e same procedure like mine?
My gynae give me 3 ampoules of menogon from D3 to D7 den scan - very good reaction both ovaries with follicles.
Continue 3 ampoules of menogon for D8 to D10.
Rest 1 day den scan in D12 - left ovaries having 6 follicles and right having 5 follicles.
Gynae scare having multiples therefore Ovidrel on D13 ard 3pm.
D14 IUI at 1.20pm. (hear tat eggs O bet 24-48 after e shot)
That's y I m confused.
Currently on utrogestan 100mg 3 times daily and Progynova 2mg since D1.
I search online a lot saying that timing was very crucial for IUI. Hmmm.. Dunno my timing accurate anot!

emily, then have u decided to go for IUI or IVF? since IUI need start injections day 2.

shirley, welcome aboard!
may i know what is menogon? ovidrel? utrogestan? progynova? sorry dont know what are all these drugs.. is menogon for ovulation as well? is it very expensive? i only heard to puregon and gonal f so far.. just curious r u seeing Dr Foong from Gleneagles?

just a little update here, came back from gynae, did 1st jab of puregon with e pen and demo by nurse. need to do alternate day for total 5 days. scanning on D12. dosage is 50IU. e demo by nurse is relatively easy, but dont know whether i can handle or not. 1st time maybe juggle a bit. hee

Saralyn: yes all growing very well..

Claris: Menogon works by stimulating the ovaries to produce eggs per ampoule is $53.50.
As for Ovidrel® PreFilled Syringe is the first and only recombinant human chorionic gonadotropin (r-hCG) approved in the world. This jab costs $128.40 and is to help us ovulate.
Utrogenstan the nurse told me is 安胎药 which is Progesterone. Also Utrogestan acts on the uterus, the mammary glands and the brain. It is required in embryo implantation; pregnancy maintenance, and the development of mammary tissue for milk production.
As for Progynova its for thickening the lining..
nope i am seeing Dr Henry Cheng he used to be at Gleneagles too but now he is at Bishan.
Hmmm.. Today is my 2nd day of IUI.. Haiz.. counting down.
But currently i am having slight headache and a bit cramp at my abdomen.

thanks shirley for ur info!

menogon per ampoule contains how many ml? how long it can last? doctor prescribe me puregon 300IU cost me about $420. last me for 6 days only. today my 1st jab, also having slight cramp left abdomen where e jab was done just now.
is it a good or bad sign? :p

Claris, my doc gave me gonal f.. I did not try puregon before.. hm.. seem like puregon is more exp.. i know my dosage is 75ui.. and I paid 75 dollars for it..

saralyn, i read somewhere gonal f is more exp. so always thought is this way. :p now seems like puregon is more exp. 300IU $418. not sure whether e price is depending on the gynae as well? and e puregon pen is $50. injection of gonal f using pen as well?

Thanks Peggy
same to u, we jia you together..but sure feel a bit disappointment. So many mths been disappointed liao.

Claris, still thinking. Will have fix decision mid April. For the jab, believe in yourself, sure everyone of us here who wants baby at the end of the process can do it! Do you need to jab alternate side? the Puregon pen can be reused ? or u have to buy total 5 pen? wow.. that will be really costly.

Shirley, I heard about Dr Henry at Bishan also. Heard he quite good. Sound true.. coz he giving you so many drugs that helps

Saralyn, normaly injection means normal needle? emm.. scary, if like tat Puregon sound easier

emily, so u will be on clomid this cycle as well? maybe can give IUI a try who knows maybe it works?!

ya nurse taught me to do it alternate side, today started with left side. basically, need to buy e puregon cartridge, and just a pen that can be reuse. put e whole cartridge into e pen, adjust e dosage, put in e needle and jab. needles and alcohol pad is come with the cartridge. sound easy right, but i think when i do still 'ben shou ben jiao'.. lol

Emily.. Haha.. the needle is not that long. is quite short. so, the nurse told me just push the needle all in and push the medicine in.. not that hard..

Claris, Puregon sounds so easy.. No worry, soon you will know how to do it easily..

Claris: if not wrong per ampoule of menogon = 75IU. How long it last? hmm.. i have to inj 3 ampoule everyday from D3-D7 den D8-D10.

Saralyn: Thanks!

emily: Ya true he is really good!! Not too ex oso.

For Shirley, Menogon : 8days x $53.50 = $428 (600IU)
For Claris, Puregon : 5days = $418 (300IU)
wow.. Puregon really expensive hor.

After 2 iui , doc then suggest we check the percentage of sperm able to bind to egg . We asked him why he only mentioned it after second iui . He answered cos this test cannot do in his hosp he work in but another hosp . If low percentage of sperm can bind to egg, we can't do iui only can try IVF ,

Hi Claris , u using purgeon pen , the needle have to inject all the way . Anyway the needle is thin and short . Remember to hold for 5 s before u withdraw .

hmmm..

actually ttc for a few cycles already.

1st & 2nd cycle i tried taking norethisterone to force my menses to come den menogon jab, responsive very good den took e HCG jab to ovulate and try BD naturally but failed.
Gynae say cant be therefore suggest my hubby for sperm count test.
After test, shows that he is having low sperm count with a lot of defects sperm eg: no head, no tail etc.. Haiz... started tribestan for few months den go for sperm count test again but still about e same.
Therefore gynae suggest we do IUI.
For this IUI my hubby have to produce sample every 3days to freeze den on e IUI day he have to produce fresh 1 den mixed with e thaw 1 and to be washed.
Gynae says that i am very responsive to the drugs that y so many folicles. Now crucial part is my hubby's sperm Only 1 will do. Haiz.. really pray hard!!

Shirley: Woah.. I never heard of freeze the sample first.. hopefully with this method, you will have more good and strong swimmers..

Dian tang: Ok ok.. am quite curious too. We tried for so long already.. I had clomid, took bbt and all showed I ovulated but yet, we did not succeed.. Hm...

Hi Dian tang, for the test which you mentioned above, regarding the percentage of sperm to bind to eggs, is it called DNA fragmentation?

Hi all, can I ask your advice. Is 8 mm follicle on CD12 normal? Or is it on the small side?
We're thinking of proceeding with IUI this cycle if the egg size is good.
Any natural food to take to improve egg size?

peggy, it should be 18mm for IUI day. so ur gynae increase e dosage for u? so it will reach the ideal size on IUI day..

i dont know any food can increase e egg size from my understanding. but egg whites definitely can improve e egg quality or high protein like immunocal. acupunture do help.

Thanks Claris, I'm on clomid but no injections. seems like 8 mm is on small side. Actually, my chances of success in IUI is low. But we just go ahead. No choice. At this stage, we will try everything.

Saralyn, last month based on BBT, my ovulation date was on CD 16. I still have four days before CD 16. Hopefully follicle is growing big.

Hi Peggy as I know can take egg white to boost the egg, I did try during clomid cycle, I only take 2 egg daily, on cd14 I got 20mm follicle but still failed la, haa

Hi Saralyn, Dr Lim said that there is no point in doing IUI this cycle. But after discussion with DH, we decided to give clomid + IUI a try this cycle at NUH. If it fails, then probably next cycle, we will try SO-IUI with Dr Lim.

MoreBBs, wow! So egg white really helps the follicle? I would have to start eating egg white then. Thanks for the tips.

Dian, in this case, you have yet to decide for IUI / IVF right? waiting for the report before decide right?

Peggy, u are on which cycle for clomid? Heard that it is adviseable to try upto 6 cycles only.. as there is side effect, heard will thinning the lining, which cause implantation problem. Besides, do u use ovulation prediction kit? I think BBT wont let us know when we ovulate, we can only know after the ovulation coz temperature raise very high.

Claris, where can I get chicken essence?

Peggy: OK ok.. did the doc tell you when to go back for another scan? Ya.. I heard about eating egg, not just egg white.. Eat more egg now.. Dr Lim told me one day only can eat one yolk else I will get fat! Haha..

Hi emily,

If u wanna buy brand's essence of chicken, i can pass u contact cos i buy direct from brand's.. It's actually cheaper and saves u the trouble of lugging them home cos they do delivery
oh and sometimes u get free bottles hehe..

saralyn, e taste is so much better than e bottle one, very concentrated. no need to add herbs.

when i do worse i chop e chicken, smash e bones all by myself. i find it okay just have to see whether e water dries up every now n then. and just leave it boil for 3 hrs. i hate e last part which is washing e pots and bowl. haha