IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Liang, rest well and continue your folic acid, update us again after your scan ya.

Cherrie, the link is http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5453919/6592709.html?1327712323

Claris, yah just go test lor. I think HPT alone will do, if +ve by now alrdy dark 2nd line. And if it is -ve shld be really -ve bah. This cycle you mentioned your Gynae said there is no way you can get pregnant as your egg din grow or something right ? So did you BD on your own? Anyway just test lor, if not keep thinking also xin ku

Cherrie, erm i think i have to test anyway.. best to test in e morning 1st urine? Btw, u conceived through IVF? U tried SO IUI before?

CJ Junior, ya gynae told me that because e eggs didnt grow. And had unprotected BD. Now i had another problem, i didnt track BD date, so have to take e precaution of doing e urine test 2 weeks later.. ><

Dear Ladies

Juz an update... Luck is not on my side neither is bb dust... My AF reported today... Gynae had asked me to test tmr... Positive thinking is : I save my test kit. Negative is : I don even get to test on the advised date... ;(

CJ Junior: Ya...I will monitor a couple a days and see how. Will tolerate the side effect of clomid. Thanks!

Claris: I feel heaty too when on clomid. No wonder I keep on drinking a lot of water this few days.
Since your AF late for 13 days, you have high chance of BFP. Test la &amp; update us....Good Luck!

Kittykatty,

e last cycle i on clomid i even had fever, maybe e fever pills made my ovulation worse, before that my response to clomid was good. sigh dont think will have high chance because of e poor ovulation, so also dont bother to do HPT. haha

u just finish ur clomid for this cycle? today is day what le?

12bhappy, cheer up k. New cycle new hope. What is your plan this time?

Claris, before induce AF Gynae will ask for blood test to make sure. That is what happened to me also, I thought my IUI failed when AF reported, wanted start 2nd round of SO IUI Liao but must take blood test to confirm, luckily test lor if not also won't know I am pregnant. So do not anyhow eat medicine to induce your AF until you are very sure you are not pregnant k.

CJ_Junior- Thank u n no worries, nuting beats e heartache last yr. I'll go bak to Care-Novena for sum advise whether to go for fet ~ IVF using my last embryo or gv IUI 1 more shot...
How are u my dear? Must be all good yeah ;)

Hi everyone! Actually planned to do HPT on DPO14 but ended up doing on DPO15 instead. Procastinated a little, hoping that I can reduce the number of tests/disappointments. Got a faint line this morning on HPT! Decided to go for blood test in the afternoon and got a BFP confirmation at around 5pm! Baby dust to all!

12bhappy: Hope you can stay strong and press on. Btw, are you taking any medication or injections for this IUI ?

Claris: What is your current CD? If your current CD is already quite far from your normal cycle, you might want to just wait, since inducing AF will also need around 1 week of medication. Agree with CJ, most importantly, need to confirm there is no pregnancy before induction is applied.

12bhappy, thank you, I am doing good so far. Good luck on your next cycle ya

Ganbatte, congrats! Must be overjoyed ya
succeed on your 1st round of IUI too? Must take good care ah, rest well. So when Gynae appt?

Ganbatte, congrats to u! happy for u!

today is CD48 le. if on clomid average cycle is 33days. now has delayed more than 2 weeks le. i did HPT morning, it is negative.. gonna call up my gynae le..

for e injections for so iui, what are e different type of injections will normally be used? puregon or gonal f? anyone knows e cost? and all these are self injections?

ganbatte: congrats!!! i think we are around the same timing, i did SO-IUI on 13th Jan.

claris: both puregon n gonal F works the same it depends on yr gynae actually. I'm using gonal F, the injection pen (around 300 iu) costs me around $300+ at TMC, the cost will depend largely on the dosage that you are prescribed. if higher dosage means u need to buy more pens thus higher costs. yes these are self injections, nurse will show u for the first time &amp; u need to do it on yourself. dun worry they are very simple n effortless jabs, not painful too...

Liang, thanks for ur info! i heard these injections will cause over stimulation and there is risk associated with multiples pregnancy? btw u tested BFP? 1st round of so iui?

claris, u need to go back to the gynae for scanning every 2-3 days to ensure u don't over stimulate. i think the max is 4 growing size follicles, so for the start i think doc will give u a normal dosage to see how your body react to the jabs. as for risk wise usually its is within the gynae's control so dun worry too much. i used HPT to test only &amp; nurse says no need to do any blood test to confirm. i succeed on 2nd round of so-iui. going for my first scan in 2 weeks time.

congrats liang! glad to hear that many of u have succeeded!
wish everything goes smoothly for u!

erm have u heard of any case that some ppl only take injections and BD on their own and no need sperm injections into vagina? provided e sperms are good? i know there is a girl conceived through injections of puregon only and because of over stimulation she got triplets. so hubby and i are worried..

usually doc wont encourage that. unless your ovulation period coincide with long PH like the CNY then u got no choice but to BD on your own instead of the sperm injection. the sperm injection will ensure that the sperms are placed closer to the cervix to ensure higher chance of pregnancy whereas if u BD the sperms needs to swim up on its own. the injections are quite expensive so usually ppl will go for the sperm injection to increase the chances. triplets is a possibility too depending on how many follicles are reacting. for me the first round the follicles are not really reacting well so i only got 1 growing size follicle for the iui whereas the 2nd round my doc increased the dosage so i have 2 follicles growing meaning i might have chance ending up a twins. so it depends on individual body's response.

Claris, don't worry too much. Initially I also worry above 3 eggs have to convert to IVF etc . During my IUI I had 3 ideal eggs and after IUI I choose not to BD to lower the chance of multiples too. luckily It works and now I am carrying a singleton only. You cannot control nor predict the outcome so just take a step at a time and try your best.

Liang, how have you been feeling so far?

Thanks everyone, for the well wishes! Will take good care and stay healthy!

12bhappy: 2.5weeks @ 75iu ? I thought injections are usually carried out from day 2 onwards. 2.5 weeks is more than 15 days ? Anyway, it will be good to discuss with your gynae the recommended options. I read somewhere before that consecutive IUI has higher success rates.

CJ: Yup, first round of SOIUI. All my previous cycles where on clomid with various dosage and added in metformin, but all ended being anovulatory. So, how are you feeling now ? Any symptoms ? Take good care and stay healthy!

Claris: If its CD48, maybe you can just wait. My cycles are usually long (> 40 days). When DH and I discussed our options, we ruled out inducing for this IUI (AF reported on CD 47), as we feel that it is better for the body to be ready rather than inducing it to be ready for the cycle. So, think on the positive side that you are letting your body rest more before moving on.

Liang: Congrats to you too!! Missed out your thread previously. I did my SOIUI on 16th Jan, just a few days apart. Take care !

claris: When we discussed with gynae on FSH injections, my gynae naturally assumes that we will be doing IUI. When DH asked if we can do natural BD, he paused for a while before answer 'yes'. As liang mentioned, it is the cost of the injections which makes it a norm that IUI is performed. Relatively, IUI is a fraction of the costs of the FSH injections. Risks of multiple pregnancies increases when you choose to use medications to stimulate the follicles. Gynae can only try their best to reduce the risks through scans and dosage reduction. The rest, is heaven's will ya...

Ganbatte : yup was on total of 16 days of jab. Gynae advise on e minimal as i hv history of hyperstimulate from previous IVF so as to avoid he wan to go slow n monitor closely. Aniwae nt fated n believe God had made better plans for us. ;)

Ganbatte, CJ Junior, Liang: Congrats to you ladies :eek:) So good to hear so many success stories!

Claris: Don't worry. It be alright. Call your gynae if still have concern.
Ya. I finish my clomid yesterday. So today is CD7. And, seeing my gynae on CD12, this coming Mon for scan and decide when is the best time to go for IUI. This is my first IUI and the more I think about it I am getting more kan cheong.

CJ, im feeling nauseous n i vomitted out my lunch yesterday other than that is still ok... hopefully everything goes well...

Ganbatte, I am doing well, just very bloated. You and me have a lot similar, we both strike during 1st round of IUI and we have the same Gynae too! Maybe Dr Fong time the IUI right that's why
take good care of yourself ya. When you seeing Dr Fong?

Liang, xin ku is good. I am always very grateful for feeling any pregnancy symptoms hahahahahah your hormones must be strong that's why. Try not to eat too heavy meals lor and rest well ya

12bhappy: No wonder you had more injections at lower dosage. Do keep us in the loop when you have discussed the options with your gynae.

KittyKatty: Thanks! I had 4 cycles of clomid previously, no side effects, but also no response. Thus, having side effects may well be a signal that your body responses to it.
Hope your follies grows well and all the best for you scan.

Liang: Your pregnancy symptoms came rather early, as nausea usually comes in from 6th week onwards. If you really feel unwell, do seek doc's advice k ?

CJ: Glad to hear that you are doing well.
Yup, Dr Fong deserves credit on this, since it was 'two strikes in a row'...heh. The nurse asked us to see him on thurs, but DH and I are quite packed lately. Thinking of seeing him either on Fri or Mon. When is your next visit ? Scheduled already ?

Cherrie: Thanks! Hope you will enjoy your pregnancy journey too! All the best and stay healthy!

Ganbatte, I am seeing him every tueday at Paragon
think you should find time to see him lah, although now still early cannot see anything but he just wanna check the pregnancy is in the right place.

CJ: Oh, Dr Fong advised that you should see him every week ? Yup, would definitely see him to go through the hcg and progesterone levels. I think for his side, it is compulsory to do at least two hcg tests to check that the pregnancy is ok. Only frustrating thing is we have been switching between paragon and tb and kept being charged $5 for the admin fee to move the records.

Ganbatte, really? Although I am a paragon patient but there are a couple of times I went tiong bahru too but they never charge me leh. Tell you hor, blood tests at tiong bahru is more exp (maybe despatch travel further??) now I do my blood test at TMC instead and just inform Dr Fong the result. I save quite abit lor going direct heehee but you only testing 1-2 tests so ok lah for me, always testing makes a differ. Yup I been seeing him weekly, 2 more times then I can promo to fortnightly Liao.

CJ: Yup, there is a transfer fee if you switch from either clinic, but I am not really sure if it is charged every time. Ya, hopefully I only need to do 2 tests. Just went down today to do the 2nd test. Will give the clinic a call tomorrow to see if the level is ok. Dr Fong probably wants to be extra careful for your case.

CJ Junior, Ganbatte, thanks for e info on IUI.

my AF reported, going for HSG test this coming saturday. e nurse ask me to take panadol half an hour before e x-ray. is it painful? it is like a pap smear?

Kittykatty, update us on ur scanning hope u have good follicles to start with. all e best!

Hi Claris,
I have done HSG test in Dec. No pain at all. Its like pap smear. The duration is slightly longer as they need to inject some kind of liquid and then take an x-ray. I am more embarassed than pain cos I never like pap smear :eek:)

I have gone for my scan this morning. Have 1 big fat follicles :eek:) I was hoping for 2....haha...Greedy ya? So that my chances are higher and I don't mind having a twin.
Should be doing iui tomorrow or Wed depending on when I ovulate.

kittykatty, urs is done by gynae? i have to go e x-ray dept, not sure who will be doing e scan for me, if my gynae i dont mind, i thought should be painless but they ask me to take panadol made me a little gan jiong now. omg

u jiayou okie!
u are doing natural IUI or artificial insemination?

Claris,
Mine is not done by gynae too. Same, in x-ray dept and done by a doctor. But, they didn't ask me to take panadol. Don't worry about it. Me too worried so much the other time. Turn out it just like pap smear.

Thanks! Mine is Clomid + IUI

Hi Claris, just coming back from my HSG test @ NUH. It did not pain at all. yes there was a bit of discomfort but nothing unbearable. I was not advised any panadol for it and it was done by doctor at X ray dept. Just relax and be comfortable. I was also worried before but turned out very easy procedure. Less than IUI. Hope this helps.

Hi ladies! Did a scan at exactly 5 weeks today. Embryo is growing well, but too early to see the heart beat. Will be going for another scan in 2 weeks time.

Claris: Can't comment about whether HSG is painful as I didn't do it. However, I did read that some people experienced some form of pain. It would be good to just take the panadol as advised.

KittyKatty: Glad to hear that your follies are growing well. Single follicle is good too, since that would mean much lower risk of multiple pregnancy. What was the size ? Usually gynae will estimate based on 2mm per day growth to see when it would be suitable to do HCG jab.

kittykatty, siddhi, i feel better now, less worries.

ganbatte, thanks for ur advice!
glad to hear that ur embryo is growing well, stay healthy and look forward for ur scan. jiayou! update us ya!

Ganbatte,
Good that your bb is growing well. Take care and eat healthily :eek:)
My follicle measured yesterday was 18mm. OPK still show -tv this morning. So nurse advice most likely tomorrow IUI or next day.

kittykatty, ganbatte, is clomid based IUI, oral pills + artificial insemination? the only difference with SO IUI is that one is pills one is injection?

Kittykatty: Think on the positive side. Its better to take MCs when you really needed them at the later stage when you get BFP. *baby dust*

Claris: Both pills and injections, followed by IUI are considered SO-IUI. However, pills usually have lower risk of multiple follicles as it is 'tricking' the pituitary gland to release more FSH .

Ganbatte, ya you r right better keep the mc for later stage.

Glimmer, I guess depend on doc whether or not they give mc after IUI. I was surprise my gynae offered mc so that I can go back and rest. But, I turn it down as I still have to go back to work. And, I am not sure if my boss and HR will approve mc for IUI. Shy la.....to submit mc for iui, later the whole office knows I went for IUI.

Claris, I m still here :) You are going for your HSG tomorrow, right? Good luck! Take a deep breath &amp; relax. Nothing to worry about.

Hello ladies, do you mind if I'm asking those who succeed how old you all? Above 35 or below 35?
May I know dr Fong's full name?