IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

kittykatty, from my understanding from my gynae and those friend who BFP, HPT can pick it up after 2 weeks have passed e conception (14days), ideally is 14 days passed ovulation day. if e IUI day was actually ur ovulation day then u will be able to know e result by now. could it be ovulation happened after IUI then u might need to wait few more days..

lol i need to work of coourse only that i want to rest a while before finding my next job.. i asked some question in IVF/ICSI support thread before regarding Ms Ho at CARE and Dr Loh at TMC, but all the ladies there going through IVF so abit hard to blend in.. lol

e reason why i asked that, i thinking to seek 2nd opinion, both with high success rate. e differences is that CARE has no doctor, there have affiliates with other gynae. but i heard from other sisters here succeed under CARE that MOH has statistics that are not made known to public that CARE has the highest hit rate for twins/triplets among all the fertility centre in sg including public hospital. in 2010 alone, there were 10 sets of triplets born in sg, 5 of them are from CARE. however, Dr Loh is well known with his magic hands too.. and Dr Loh's lab still WIP so temporary he use Ms Ho lab for embryo cultivation, ER and ET. so i thought i can see both together will be good. so greedy! lol

peggy.. no need to thanks.. we share anything here!

Hi Peggy, welcome!
I guess we are in the same boat. My DH's soldier also not that good. Hence, our gynae advice us to try IUI at least twice before embarking to IVF. IUI is way much cheaper than IVF and is a much simpler procedure compared to IVF. I have just done my first IUI and hope to have good news soon. If age is not a concern than you can still take your time. For me, I am already 34 this years, cannot afford to wait anymore. The chances of success with IUI & IVF is also better for younger ladies, 35 years and below. Talk to your hubby, let him know IUI is a very common procedures these days and really worth to give it a try. Many ladies here have succeeded with IUI.

I prefer to take conceive well after lunch. If I take it after dinner, it will make my reflux to be worse.

Good luck and don't give up without a good fight to reach your goal!

Hi Claris,
My IUI was done 1 day after Ovulation. May be I can test today or tomorrow (pray hard my AF don't come). I am super kan cheong now :eek:)

Same thought too. I am considering to switch to Dr Loh if this IUI fails (touch wood!). Just a back up plan as I have a friend who succeeded with twins through Dr Loh. Her twins is 1 boy & 1 girl. Super adorable and lucky. And, I am really crazy about twins. Hehe...

kittykatty,

i think yes u can do HPT today or tomorrow, if AF dont report, maybe e HPT still cant pick up HCG so test again.. keep u in my prayers..
this month i super relax.. lol hahaha

me too super kiasu do alots of homework as a back up just like u.. 1 of e reason im looking forward to IVF (if i have to) because i love to have twins too despite multiple pregnancies risk. lol hahaha

Kittykatty, thanks! And good luck for ur IUI.

For now, me and DH still contemplating of going for IUI. For me, I have no reservation at all becos having a baby is really really what I want! Even if tomorrow go and do IVF, I am ready! LOL..ha..ha... It's DH that is holding me back and I am patiently waiting for him.... waiting until he is ready... plus a bit of nagging here and there. :p

Hi ladies, haven't been to the forum for some time. Have been battling with MS for the past weeks.

Kittykatty: How was your HPT ? Hope to hear good news from you!

Claris: Glad to see that you're putting lots of effort. I am sure these efforts will increase the chances of success for you! Stay healthy and positive!

Peggy: Welcome to the forum! If your DH is holding you back, I believe it will be good to discuss with him and consent on a timeline. Every cycle requires significant amount of time and setting a timeline will help to move you on when the existing method fails. After all, time is one of the important factors when it comes to ttc.

*baby dust* to all.

Sob Sob....I think my AF just reported

Now I am thinking what to do next. SO-IUI or jump straight to IVF? I have just called Dr Loh to make appointment for tomorrow and consult him for advice. According to the nurse, it will be a long wait. This is my first time seeing him

Sigh..

Hi everyone, this is my first post and nice to meet ladies whom are of the same boat. I had been a silent reader and is comforting to know that the encouragements here had given one another strength to jiayou.

I have PCOS, is with gynae Dr Fong Yang and TTC close to a year. My DH's swimmers are with poor motility and we just had our 1st SO-IUI a week+ back. My 2ww will hit real soon but we are not putting high hopes coz we understand the low success rate in IUI.

kittykatty - Pls do not be despair!~~! Do let me know your feedback towards Dr Loh on your 1st visit ya (heard raves about him)..

And everyone whom are waiting for their bundle of joy, plenty of baby dust!!

kittykatty, dont upset okay.. we are always here to support u! stay strong and work hard for ur next cycle..
maybe u can give injection a try, it will definitely increase e no of follicles which stand a higher chance if u do IUI? anyway just my 2 cents worth, talk to Dr Loh for his advice. but u r lucky for appointment 1 day in advance. dont lose hope okay! jiayou!

Hi ladies, stumbled upon this post and wanted to cheer you people on.

I myself conceived both my kids thru IUI. I did 7 cycle of clomid and non succeed. I have PCOS.. The egg did not reach the correct size.

I used Gonalf and it work miricle! I succeed on the first attempt. Think positive and all things can happen.

After my first one, I did IUI again with gonalf. It did not succeed. Tried again and had my second one. Hence IUI does have good success rate. A few attempt on IUI if not successful, try other method cos i read somewhere every IUI cycle has a decreasing probability.

All the best ladies! I did mine at NUH with Dr Anu. She is really good and patience.

Hi lynda,may I know how many eggs u hv when during the III with gonalf?

Was supposed to do ivf but just went for scan, and I have too little eggs to do ivf. Dr suggested switching to iui.

Kittykatty: Hope you will fight on and eventually reach your goal! So, how was your appointment with Dr Loh ? What were his recommendations ?

AB: Welcome to the forum! We had the same gynae. Try to stay positive and healthy. CJ and I got BFP on our 1st IUI by Dr Fong. Hope that will bring you more positive thoughts!

Thanks Claris, AB & Ganbatte, for your your kind support
With your encouragement, I m back stronger this time.
Ya! Let's fight this together.

I have seen Dr Loh, this afternoon. Oh Boy... Is a long 2 hours wait and the clinic is pack. I think he came in slightly late today at TMC as he was busy with IVF patient at Novena Fertility Centre. Anyway, my first visit, I find that he is a nice & funny doctor...he make me laugh.....hehe. And, he apologize many times for the long wait. Both me & hubby is quite comfortable with him. Now, here is the dilemma, he said i can consider SO-IUI or IVF. My tube is not block and the problem is my DH motility is on the low side. I m going to be 35 this Aug. But, I think he is more pro to IVF for my case.

Anyone knows what is the total cost for IVF with Dr Loh? And how long do we need to rest at home after IVF? Need to plan the timing so that it doesn t interfere with my work.

Hi I am new to the thread.
I had my 2nd IUI at kkh and it failed.

Now we are thinking if we should do the 3rd round of IUI or IVF.

Kittykatty: Can't help you on the IVF stuff, but hope to share my views on this. Clomid+IUI usually gives you 1 mature follicle. FSH injections usually gives you multiple follicles (CJ and I both had 3 for our injection+IUI). The cost and efforts required for IVF is much more compared to SOIUI. Time and financials are both important factors to consider. If you have the money to spare, its good to go for IVF and save the time. You can consider looking at the govt grants available if you are looking at IVF. All the best and lots of baby dust!

Diantang: Welcome to the forum! The usual path is to try 3 rounds of IUI before considering IVF (unless you have other factors like blocked tubes, poor SA,etc). What kind of treatment have you gone through for your IUI ? Oral medications or injections ?

claris & Ganbatte - Thanks for your warm welcome.. Really hope Dr Fong's magic hands work on my first IUI too.. Tmr be my 2weeks.. but I am experiencing light cramps already. :\

On my SO-IUI, I was on Puregon jabs 100ml for a week but eggs were too small, Dr up the dose to 150ml for another 3days before I go for my HCG jab. Only 1 egg made the cut.. So I guess chances are pretty slim..

Nevertheless, strive on my next cycle for a dragon baby! Jiayou everyone too

kittykatty, happy to see u here again! be strong okay, lets fight this battle together!

if fallopian tube is fine, sperms are okay, do have concern over e age, maybe u can go for just 1 try of SO IUI. then consider IVF. maybe u will strike 1st try SO IUI since many sisters here done that, who knows. my personal view, 1 month doesnt make a difference, no harm trying. if u succeed u will be glad that u no need to go through IVF..

jiayou~ update us again..
if u moving to other thread, dont forget to inform me ya.. hehe

AB-Since you mentioned that your hubby's swimmers r poor motility, did Dr Fong prescribe supplements for yr hubby before u embark on IUI?
I went to see Dr Fong for 1st time last week. Actually plan to do SO IUI but my hubby has same problem as yr hubby, so Dr Fong prescribed supplements for himt o take for abt 2 mths & told us to see him again 2 mths later. so what i can do now is wait & hope things will improve in 2 mths time.

Hi Rainy - Yes, Dr Fong did prescribed supplements for my hubby and he had been faithfully taking them since. During the same visit, I was prescribed with Norethisterone due to my irregular menses. Afterwhich, when my menses came, I took Clomid from D2 onwards. Unfortunately, I had 3 failed rounds of Clomid. There was an egg for 1st round and me & hubby tried naturally but failed (think supplements not taking effect yet..). Then subsequent 2 rounds, no eggs.

So meanwhile, for these 2 months, stay healthy and hopeful.. Time will pass very fast

AB, i have PCOS too.. 1st few round response was good, some cycles got 2 eggs just didnt reach e ideal size. afterwhich, no response at all. so moving to SO IUI too. DH got poor motility too..

Hi Claris - seems like we are in a very similar situation - PCOS, DH poor motility and not ovulating every month. Since young I had irregular menses too and didn't bother about it coz I thought it will regulate itself when I get older... but.... ahyo! became a problem when TTC.

You are younger than me thou.. so maybe your chances of conceiving be higher? All the best ya~!

What is your status now? Are you waiting for the next cycle of SO-IUI via Puregon Jabs?

lets work hard and be hopeful :D

Hi all. I was reading all the successful stories on IUI. To be frank, I am not putting high hopes on IUI cos the success rate is only 10-15%. Escpecially if DH's lazy swimmers are disoriented all the time. :p Btw, when is the 'deadline' for a dragon baby? I was thinking of doing IUI before the chance of having dragon baby ends.

AB. ya we are in e same boat. hugs~

since 20 i had irregular menses le, already 6 going to 7 years le.. i did see doc before but because is hormone problem really nothing much they can do and doc told me that when i want to get pregnant then have to go through treatment, and i see TCM too but nothing helps. immediately after my marriage, i went to see gynae le. my TCM doc told me PCOS patient cant ovulate regularly but one thing good it can ovulate very very well even better than normal ppl, just that we need to catch e right time, but few times in a year. some her serious PCOS patient strike naturally by tracking BBT and ovulation kit. lol but because DH sperm problem i tried naturally when it can ovulate by itself but also failed.

now clomid also cant help so waiting for AF to report to start SO IUI. how i wish i can start earlier just that last menses delayed 3 weeks! no choice have to wait.. i schedule for D2 injection and scanning D12, doc didnt tell me i going for puregon or gonal f. lol haha i thinking to see Dr Loh for 2nd opinion, somehow i feel that my current gynae didnt put much effort in my case, i feel being neglected. lol haha maybe he has got too many patient..

let fight PCOS together!

peggy, if i remember correctly, in chinese calendar 9 Feb 2013 will be last day of dragon year. so if u work backwards, conceived before 9 May will still be dragon baby (if count by 36 weeks will be before 2 Jun). not sure which way is correct..

wow... we have still 2 more months to go... Jiayou! :D

Peggy - Like what Lynda & Gambatte says.. lets stay positive and we will get lucky :D

Anyway, just to check. For DH with poor motility, does your DH sleep late/have restless nights/do not sleep well?
My DH went to this TCM and he mentioned that good sleep is important for the swimmers. So my DH had been trying to sleep early, cut caffeine, exercise and eat healthy. Well, it's always good to have a healthy lifestyle. haha!

AB, maybe yes! my DH always sleep few hours everyday. he loves to drink coffee too.. haiz all his habits prompt to poor sperm quality..

My first IUI was with clomid and injections of Puregon,it failed.
2nd IUI done with almost 6-7 days of 75 ul of puregon with 2 eggs , but also fail.
Think of doing 3rd round of IUI cos not so invasive as IVF.
Went to c TCM few months ago. TCM said hubby shd cut down on coffee, shower with cold water, sleep early.

Ladies, my DH also has sleeping issues. Cannot sleep well at nite, affecting his concentration during day time. Guess due to his work stress n this leads to poor sperm quality too. He used to see tcm but it takes time. So I'm praying that Dr Fong's supplements can help him.

AB-did yr DH take a sperm test few mths after taking e supplements? Any improvement?

Peggy: Initial EDD is estimated based on 280 days + 1st day of menstrual cycle.

AB: For the caffeine part, there are different views on this. There are studies which proved that coffee can boost male fertility. However, it is definitely not good for female fertility.

Diantang: I beg to differ on the TCM's advise. As mentioned, there are studies which proved that coffee boosts male fertility. However, it should still be taken in moderation. As for cold water, it is not that necessary. Sperm lives well at around 35 degrees celsius. Anything too high or too low (+2/-2) will cause them to die. Usually we don't bath in water hotter than our body temperature. So it is quite safe to bath as normal. Multi-vits definitely can help boost male fertility. It takes 3 months for sperm to grow from scratch. So, ask your DH to start taking asap!

Rainy: If you are doing IUI, you will get another report similar to SA for sperm washing. You can compare the results instead of going for another SA.

*baby dust* to all. More Dragon babies on the way!

AB - I think my DH likes to sleep late. Tried "forcing" him to sleep early, but in the end, he couldnt sleep and ended up sleeping later than usual. Sigh.... So I just let him be.

For me, I have no trouble sleeping at all. The moment I rest on the mattress, I immediately... ZZzzzzzzz...............

Ganbatte-Dr Fong wan my DH to take a SA test 2 mths later cos wan to see any improvements after taking the supplements. if improve, maybe can do IUI. otherwise, no point wasting $ on IUI if quality is not gd. i like Dr Fong's approach that he's not pushy & won't 'force' us into any treatments unneccesary.

Peggy-my DH has same prob as yr hubby. i guess this is their habit so many yrs liao & it's difficult to change. I heard TCM acupuncture may help them to sleep better.

looks like in today society, infertility issues attribute more to male problems unlike olden days whereby they always put the blame on ladies...haha

I m comtemplating of doing IVF. My chances with SO-IUI will not be that great as my DH soldier is not a very good swimmer + morphology is also a problem. Even Dr Loh recommended IVF with ICSI.

Dian Tang: Are you considering another round of SO-IUI or moving to IVF? What's your stories? Mine is more of male factor issue. Motility + Morphology quite weak.

Claris: I won't forget you, sweetie :eek:) I am still checking this tread and also the IVF/ICSI support thread. Couldn't sleep well this 2 days thinking about all this. Worrying about how am I suppose to take so many leave if I do go for IVF or should I try one more time SO-IUI. My chance are pretty slim with SO-IUI.

Rainy : Ya. Boy. Same mine also male factor problem. Sigh!

kittykatty, about to knock on u liao.. lol u still got a month to consider before next AF right? by when u have to decide? how's ur hubby think about it SO IUI or IVF? give both of u some time to consider before making decision. most importantly reach an mutual agreement which both of u are happy with.

either way SO IUI or IVF, i will support u!
i would suggest 1 round of SO IUI but if i put myself in ur shoes, maybe i will jump straight to IVF too if my DH agree. do u have any other concern, like IVF cost with Dr Loh? according to e spreadsheet i shared, is it about 15k?

Claris / peggy - My DH was sad to hear about his swimmers result and that kind of hurt his ego abit. Therefore, whatever the TCM said, he kept those in mind and work doubly hard to keep a healthier lifestyle.
With the supplements, hope the swimmers will improve~

Rainy - Ganbatte is right. During the IUI sperm wash, there will be another result. Because my IUI was during lunch time, it was abit rush and the result was not communicated to us. Will check it out during our next visit to Dr Fong.

Dian tang - Thanks for your luck and lets strive together. Do not give up and all the very best~
Anyway, I'm just curious.. your DH can stand showering in cold water? *brrr. Previously, my DH had always love showering in steamy hot bath (online research says thats a no-no), but since the research is on to have healthier swimmers, he had since changed the habit to lukewarm water.

Ganbatte - Thanks for your valuable advise. I do not take caffeine. To play safe, my DH heeds the TCM's advise and had stopped caffeine too.

May I asked how do you feel during your 2ww? I am experiencing light cramps now but my menses have yet to report.

AB, same. My DH too was sad and actually, he wanted me to be happy. That's why he recently agreed to do IUI.

Can anyone share the cost of IUI and SO-IUI in NUH? Or in private hospital? (I could not find IUI from the link that Claris kindly shared above)

The doctor suggested that we try natural IUI first, but I was thinking that if SO-IUI is of better chance, might as well go there straight. But of course, cost is another consideration.

Sigh... also, next cycle during fertile time, I might be out of singapore and bought the ticket oredi.
Will most likely cancel the trip if necessary.

Hi Claris, yup I have saved that document in the PC and poured through it like a bible.. ha..ha.ha..
But I could find info about IUI or SO-IUI. I was hoping anyone could share the cost of IUI vs SO-IUI in govt hospital vs private hospital.

peggy, dont think this google sheet include e cost of IUI and SO IUI. only IVF cost. if u read e above post by CJ Junior and Ganbatte, they shared e info on IUI with Dr Fong on 15 Feb. u can also refer to achieve through Jan 17, post by serene on 6 Jan. e cost should be within 2k.

peggy, u r most welcome!
u havent done it before? same same here.. i only tried clomid and natural BD. and straight jump to SO IUI waiting for AF to report then can start le..

did u on clomid previous cycle? how was it?

Hi ladies, for so iui, do I need to be on full bladder like ivf? Also, wat type of support do clinics give?

R there any ladies here who has done iui under dr loh?

Havent been in the forum for a while.

White Tiger: I have seen Dr Loh but was told that he is doing the SO IUI in his clinic. Hubby has to bring his soldiers to Novena Hospital and bring bk to his clinic, this make me change my mind. So i think i better stick with KKH.

dian_tang: I have done two SO-IUI with KKH. My first IUI was with clomid and injections of Puregon,it failed. 2nd IUI done with almost 9 days of 75 ul of puregon with 4 eggs , but also fail. 4 eggs also unsuccessful. This is really discouraging.

I am not sure whether to proceed with 3rd IUI or IVF too.

My menses is irregular, i am still waiting to my menses to come so that i can start the process soon. Really annoying..

Claris, knock me please. Let me wake up with 2 babies on hand....hehe.
Dr Loh said CD 21 (March 15) have to go down to TFC for Blood Test and start the lucrin jab already if I decided to start IVF on this coming cycle. My hubby is fine with both SO-IUI / IVF. He feels bad so he will go along with what's my preference. Yes. and the cost is between $12k to $16k. We really have to cut down on our major expenses if not will go broke doing IVF. Thanks for your support and encouragement! You too rest well and relax more and be ready for your next cycle and get a BFP.

Rainy: My hubby is on vigor-ace multivitamin. How about your hubby?

Peggy: IF IUI is about less than $600 at TMC. I just did mine recently and unfortunately it failed. If I am not wrong kk or nuh charge between S$1500 to S$2000 for SO-IUI and for TFC (private) is between S$2000 to $3000. It really depends on the dosage of the jab. Go for SO-IUI, better chances. My 2 cents.

Ganbatte: Thanks for your advice. I am seriously considering IVF. I know its a huge gamble. But, would like to give it a try.
You take good care of yourself. Eat healthy and rest well

Hi Claris, I havent done IUI before. Last cycle was on clomid and gonal F (75 IU for 5 times) and normal BD. Failed. Got two eggs though.

The cycle previous to that only have one egg and trigger shot plus normal BD. Failed.

That's why I am considering IUI now.

Kittykatty, wah... SO-IUI quite expensive hor... sigh... I think my dream of resigning and becoming a SAHM is a bit difficult after spending huge amount of money ttc.