IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

I'm with KKH. Started consultation in Aug this yr with Dr Loh, then since he is leaving, he recommend me Dr Matthew Lau. Haven't see Dr Lau yet... scheduled in Feb 2012. If this round (my 2nd IUI) not successful, will start IVF with KKH in Jan-Feb 2012.

Hi serene all the best to your IUI . I also just did my IUI at KKH early dec. have some faith..

Hi cherrie do not be despair please rest well.

Baby dust to everybody

Completed my SO-IUI liao, this morning washed sperm and result not bad according to the staff at the Lab, 66 Millions and 60% Mobility. Went clinic and scan my womb lining is 12mm (which is a big achievement as last time my lining was only 4-6mm consider very thin) I believed its all thanks to the Pruegon jabs.

IUI was fast and painless. Not at all discomfort and gynae did tell me see the screen for the sperms, cant really see them swimming in lah but can see they are inside. After IUI done, was told to rest 15mins and nurses very nice, adjusted my seat for butt face upwards. However after 5mins I couldnt tahan and needed to pee urgently, so nurse tel me after pee go back lie down again for 10mins. (based on my experience and some of you gals' complaint, somehow I felt private gynae's staffs are much better and patient) I am given Utrogestan (progesterone pills) to eat for the next 2 weeks.

A summary for newcomers and others who are considering SO-IUI:

based on Private specialist Dr Fong Yang @ Paragon

CD2-CD8 - 100IU jabs daily
CD9 - 1st scan and 3 eggs are ready, night went GP for HCG jab to induce Ovulation
CD11 - washed sperm and done IUI (39hrs later after jab)

8days supply of Pruegon jabs and Pen - $900
1st scan and HCG jab - $229
Washed sperm - $192
IUI done at gynae's clinic - $214
2 weeks supply of Utrogestan pills - $47

Total cost for my SO-IUI $1582

Nothing is guarantee in life so I am going to take it easy and rest well for the coming 2WW.

Cherrie, how have you been?

serene, good luck ya and keep us updated.

You gals have a good day too ya!

Btw anyone doing these procedures should keep all the receipts cos in case you pregnant can backclaim them from your medisave. We can only claim 3 times from medisave mah so normally would leave it for IVF which is more costy.

Hi cj junior, the statics look good for you
just rest well n relax for the 2 week.

I m still feeling pms as of today
I know my chance is very slim but still hoping for miracle

Hi gals, advance Happy 2012 to you! May this New Year bring us new luck ya, let's all have a 2012 baby

Liang, serene: how have you been? Should be able to test today Liao right? Update us ya.. Good luck!

BabyGalore, Diana : 1 week after your IUI, how you coping? Any signs?

Cherrie, how are you Liao? AF not here yet right? If so, got chance, update us ya.

Koala, Chris, rainy, how have you been? This thread so quiet lately...

Today is my DPO2 and very tiring to be on bed rest. Like I said although not necessary but I just wanna bed rest and hope for the best
luckily I brought a lot of Korean drama and now busy watching DVD daily so no time to brood.

After IUI did you all bd? Gynae did advise me to bd but we din heed his advise. I just wanted to rely on the IUI and leave everything to luck and fate... Foolish hor?

Have a good weekend everyone and all the best to all of us for the coming NEW YEAR! HUAT ah!!!

Happy new year to all!
CJ- just relax n be positive .. Continue to eat well n rest well during my 2ww I just do per normal things just don't do rigorous exercises. I also walk slowly n no jumping around . Hope to hear good news soon
Cherrie- don't give up
Baby dust to everybody

It's my DPO11 today... And... I have no courage to test... Haha.... Think I will test on Monday, that's DPO13.

Will update you all once tested... Happy New Year 2012 everyone :D

Hi ladies, advance happy new year to u too. Af not here yet but pms grow stronger each day. Just hoping for miracle now. All the best to you all too
good luck n hope we all can be mummy in 2012

Morning gals!

Everyone back to work today? Any good news from Liang, serene and cherrie?

why this thread so quiet lately.. where everyone gone to? haha

Good day everyone!

hi all..

i've been a silent reader, starting my IUI soon, having some questions unclear, any one can answer me?

i was on clomid 3 months early 2011. afterwards rested for 6 months because hubby was out of town. and have clomid 2 cycles started Nov 2011. the recent cycle doc scan and no eggs at all and lining become very thin as compared to last time before clomid lining was still good. according to my TCM its side effects of clomid. so i talk to my gynae and insisted i want to stop clomid and start on injection. so then my gynae ask me for HCG test and hubby sperm test. my gynae told me if tube is block and hubby sperm not good no point wasting money on IUI and SO IUI, straight away go for IVF. is it true? any of ur gynae said so? im 26 this year i dont know why my response to clomid can be so bad, my friend around the same age as me can take for 9 months then got pregnant naturally. im so depressed after knowing the clomid doesnt work on me anymore. any one here encountered the same condition as me? or is it common that different people have different response to clomid. i just recover from fever too, not sure is it because of clomid then it make me doesnt ovulate at all this cycle.

anyone please enlighten me?

btw, happy new year to all and have a good year ahead! baby dust to all!

hi, no good news from me
now i can feel af cramp though the flow not here yet. But i know no see red no give up, still hoping for miracle...haha...like deceiving myself...haha....

ya..so quiet recently

Up to now still no good news from me, i'm trying naturally , try to relax..

mrswee,
i had tried 4 cycle of clomid too, got big follicle but still not conceive, so i decided not to continue as i have side effect of blur vision, i also scare will damage my ovaries too.
It is right to check ur tube n sperm test before throwing money in IUI or IVF. I did HSG but no sperm test, because doctor did mention that my husband sperm quality is ok during my IUI sperm wash process.., may i know how long u have ttc?
Dont despair, we are here to support each other, Jia you!

mrswee, why not you heed gynae's advise and do the tests 1st? Check if your tubes are blocked, if result is normal you can also convince your Gynae to try SO IUI 1st mah, anyway differ cycle differ de. For normal healthy woman also might not ovulate every month.

Cherrie, today is your dpo13 after ET right? I think got high chance, ESP if you can managed to pass tmr w/o AF reporting. You never test pregnancy kit ? Might be able to get a +ve result today also lor. Good luck!

hi BB2012,
i married end 2010 and tried for few months stopped because hubby was away. actually stopped for about half a year. yup, we will jiayou together!

CJ Junior,
ya, i will do e tests. anyone here know anyway to increase e lining? im so terrified after gynae told me my lining is very thin, must be e clomid. :p

mrswee, yes clomid will make your womb lining thinner. But the pros is it is cheaper compared to jabs. Jabs are more effective and at e same time thicken your lining. But differ abt $1k. My lining used to be average 4-6mm but after e jabs now it improved to 12mm.. Hope that you have no prob and able to join us on iui soon.

BB2012, good luck to you too. May the new year bring us new hope and a baby!

mrswee, just completed my 1st round of SO IUI last thur.. now on 2WW
I had repeated miscarriages so each d&c will result in my womb lining getting thinner also..plus e fact my AF only come 1-2days max.. so gynae strongly advise against clomid. Thats y I know their differ

CJ Junior,

oh i see, wish u best of luck and alots of baby dust!

mine is super super light one but last for 5 days. but is more on brown discharge which i know is super unhealthy. when i did e 1st scan with e gynae he already knew that but he still prescribe me with clomid leh.. omg..

im going for HCG this week and hubby going for SA test next week. hope everything is fine.

hi, have done HPT on Sun, and it's neg
Now, dun dare to test already... Blood test due on Friday... Dun know when menses will come... Still hoping for miracle... Perhaps tomorrow will test again, if I have the courage.

As for lining, I found that I react well to TCM medicine and acupuncture. I was on Clomid for 7 or 8 times, so my lining is thin as well. Think there are some food you can take to help the lining.

Actually, lining needs not to be very thick... as long as you have the 'triple line' just before your ovulation day, they will be happy to do the IUI for you. This 'triple line' is seen when you go for scanning.

I have already make arrangement for IVF already... Going to attend the briefing in KKH soon. Really hope I will not need to attend though...

mrswee, d&c is a procedure to remove fetus after miscarriage machiam like abortion.

Below is an article I found, FYI serene is right on e acupuncture

In inducing ovulation, a fertility drug such as clomiphene is given to stimulate the ovary to produce an egg. If the egg is fertilised, it begins to divide, grow and travel down the fallopian tube into the womb (uterus). Finally, it attaches itself to the endometrial lining.

The endometrial lining undergoes cyclical changes under the influence of the ovarian hormones, oestrogen and progesterone. Soon after menstruation, it becomes thick due to the effect of oestrogen. Once ovulation occurs, progesterone gradually changes it into a spongy layer in preparation for the fertilised egg to implant. Thus, if the endometrial lining is insufficiently prepared, implantation will fail and pregnancy will not ensue.

The endometrial lining is measured by vaginal ultrasound. It is a biological indicator of how ready the uterus is to receive the fertilised egg. Medical studies have yet to define what the optimal thickness of the lining is for a successful pregnancy. In general, 8-13mm is good, less than six is potentially a problem, and greater than 14 could also reduce chances for pregnancy. Pregnancies, however, do occur when the thickness is less than 6mm, but not as often.

Besides endometrial thickness, fertility specialists also look at the endometrial pattern. A triple-layer or trilaminar pattern for the endometrium would be optimal for implantation. Nonetheless, pregnancies could still occur when there is a non-trilaminar pattern.

Methods that might help to improve endometrial thickness include:

>>Adding oral oestrogen after taking fertility pills

>>Using different ways of stimulating the ovary to increase the blood level of oestrogen.

>>Taking low-dose aspirin or Viagra or undergoing acupuncture, which may improve blood flow to the lining. However, data on these modes of treatment is limited.

DR PETER CHEW, CONSULTANT OBSTETRICIAN AND GYNAECOLOGIST, GLENEAGLES HOSPITAL

Serene, today dpo what Liao? Dun give up hope ya no AF still got chance. Friday do bloodtest check for pregnancy? Good luck and update us ... Need hear some +ve news to start a brand new year haha

Serene, ur bloodtest is instructed by Gynae? Done at dpo what? I asked if need to go back do bloodtest but Gynae laughed and say dun need. But I wanna leh.. Can know result earlier..read forum Carol did bloodtest on dpo10 and +ve.. Duno my dpo10 can k siao walk into clinic and request do test anot hahaha I think I too free Liao and the wait is killing me ^_^

thanks BB2012 & CJ Junior! ever since TTC journey, have been increasingly taking supplements to 'pu' body. now adding read bean soup to my list. sometimes really blur like dont know when to take what. lol

Thanks for your positiveness
Still hoping for good news... Today is my DPO14, and my blood test is scheduled on my DPO17 (a standard date for KKH). I tested on Sun, that is DPO12, which I thought is already late enough for at least a thin faint double line, since the HPT I used is of 10IU/ml (normal is 20IU/ml).

And I am still on Progesterone. So, dun know when it will delay my menses till. I was hoping if really neg, let my menses come then I need not do blood test and waste money, haha.

Anyway, I already learn to take things easy... If really dun have this time, try again lah!

CJ, you can use HPT to test first at home. Or just go to any clinic and ask for blood test on pregnancy lah!

Serene, test again. If today AF no come can be +ve otherwise tmr morning you do a BBT.. It's confirm accurate. Your temp shld be on the high side approx 36.8-37+ if pregnant. Any signs so far? Excited for you.. May your dream come true

You not bad can tahan so long. I usually start testing from dpo10 test daily and BBT from dpo13. I am those impatient type but like you, it's ok to fail, just try again lor !

Ladies I failed my iui
menses came right on new yr day... Will be trying for another round.. Jiayou n good luck to those on 2ww...

Mine came on dpo 15... Will be trying for 2nd round... By the way I just checked with my doc he says can't backdate n claim medisave if successful.. Yours can??

Usually I cannot tahan so long then test.. but actually this cycle really feel different. And could be due to the progesterone effect. From DPO9 onwards, I have all the symptoms. Sore Breast, Cramps, nauseous, discharge.. but now, all these are gone
Though my body temp stay around 37.0-37.3 for these few days, I dun know if this is becos my body temp usually hovers at this range, since I only start tested now.

Anyway, think I have to test tmr, else my mind will keep hoping, and my menses will not come. Hopefully I am courageous enough, or I will just wait for the blood test.

Just pray for the best!

If failed, we just got to keep trying. We should be thankful, that we are in this generation where we can have these treatments. 10-20 yrs ago, there is no medical treatment for infertility. Everyone Jiayou! One day we will have our dream come true

Gd morn ladies! Happy new yr to all & babydust to all ladies in the new year

Busy busy enjoying myself the past 2 wks during the xmas & enw yr seasons so no time to log in haha Back to work today. 1st working day of the new yr & gg to be busy again.

Hope everyone is fine. For thsoe who didn't succeed. Don't depsiar. Try again in nx attempt & jia you. For those in 2ww, gd luck & all the best!

Liang, let me double check with my gynae again. Cos in the past e gynaes I went to always advise us keep the receipts, like when I did my D&C for 3 times, I was able to submit them and claimed from Medisave at their capped amount. I think it is $1250 each time if I am not wrong. And I do recalled another lady from this forum way back mentioned she was able to claim upon pregnancy.

serene, tested? I do think you have very high chance of +ve, anyway today alrdy dpo15 liao, ur AF confirm wont drag til friday thn come de. When you O alrdy determine when your AF will report liao. Ur BBT is very good too. if AF coming would have drop to approx 36.1-36.3 bah. So excited for u.. hope you strike! Update us ya

Good day to everyone !

i am new to the forum.

I just completed my 2nd SO-IUI on the same day at CJ-Junior. But accordingly to the staff, the sperm result is only 12 Millions.

I have 4 eggs at 16, 17, 19 and 21mm. But looking at the low sperm count, i guess my chances are slim.

I'm getting v worried that i might not be able to take the disappointment again.

Does anyone know how is the successful rate for IVF?

hi mrs wee, from what my gynae told me we can claim as govt allow us to claim for such purpose up to 3 times but the claimable amount will decrease each time. so usually for iui they wont encourage to claim because u can leave the 1st chance(highest claim amount) to claim when u are doing IVF as the cost for IVF is higher. however if u still insist on claiming for IUI it is also possible but u have to decide early once u decided to do IUI because my gynae told me we cannot backdate & claim.

Hi Everyone, happy new year! I have been quiet because reading forum daily makes me a bit kan cheong so I am relaxing a bit.

Thanks for those who are concerned about me, I am doing well.

Junior, yes, after you ovulate, still should have eggs inside. I didn't know this too! Haha :D As mentioned, I had the scan on 27 Dec and labtician said both sides had 10mm eggs, about 3-4 each side. And I said I had ovulated because I used O kit while I was on holiday. And my double lines disappeared on 25 Dec.

And what surprised me further was...I went to the famous Clementi sinseh on 29 Dec. He said I should have another ovulation! And asked me to catch this one. He calculated for me and predicted that one egg will mature on 31 Dec, told me to try O Kit again.

Best part was I tried on 31 Dec and 1st Jan, true enough...I had two lines. I believe in him because after I failed my first IUI in Nov 2011, I went back for a scan on my D2 of AF. There was a 22mm egg which wasn't that big when I got the egg release jab. Labtician said weird. Sinseh's view was that, due to the puregon jabs, the eggs continued to grow. So 10mm or 13mm ones will grow to 20mm.

Hope my information is useful to all. I will be logging in lesser, somehow reading the forum makes me kan cheong as said.

Hi Cherrie, never see red, never say die! HUGS... It will be positive.

Hi Liang, sorry to hear that... Big HUGS to you.

Tested neg today
Menses still not here yet... I even use 2 different kits.... Sian Big Time...

Anyway, I'm still on progesterone, so perhaps all the 'good' signs are showing on my case. Heard that this progesterone will delay menses, so it is not surprising for my menses to be late.

And, actually, my chance is very low, cos I only have 1 egg, and the post-wash sperms is 6mil. Anyway, just pray for the best!

So, PSP, your statistics are actually very good already. And you need to relax and be happy... As they say it takes only 1 good sperm n egg to meet

The last IUI that i did in August, i have 3 eggs ready and the sperm counts was double than current one. Unfortunately still no result.

Serene, when did you have ur IUI?

Koala, when you mention about Clementi sinseh. Are you referring to Tan Kian Sing?

PSP: Give me five! We can count down together haha today just nice 1 week after IUI.. any symptoms? I think you hsve a good chance too, although sperm count to you might be low but you have 4 eggs to break even the chance. Pregnant this kind of thing hor.. need luck and fate also de. Perhaps #1 IUI not meant to be..

Koala, so nice to see your post! Was wondering where you MIA to.. Y check forum will make you kan cheong leh? Join us for daily small chats lah, we are all here to encourage one another mah. You seeing Dr Tan right? I used to go to him too, his hands very powerful de, able to touch and tel you the matured egg from which side of ovary and his estimated O also very accurate - I totally agreed! But I was not very comnfortable with him pulling down my panties and touch for e egg hahahhaha so you are now in your 2WW?

Im new here. I have been trying for a baby for almost 3 years now. Tried taking clomid for almost a year but unsuccessful so next step is IUI/SO-IUI. But hubby wants to go straight to IVF.
Please advice what should i do.

Hi hope, actually is really different for individual. Iui consider simple n cheaper than ivf n some ppl really do succeed from iui. But some ppl don't n need to proceed to ivf. It depend u n your hubby mentally n finacially ready aso? Iui is injection to simulate your egg n inject your husband sperm to your utereus for them to meet n implant. Ivf is aso injection to simulate your folicle, but one more step will be withdraw your follicles, then fertilize your folicle with the sperm in lab, afterthat put the fertilized folicle n sperm back to your womb. Iui success rate is say to be abt 20% but ivf abt 50%. but again is really depend on individual.