IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

new comer here too. Its is very encouraging to see this thread for people who are TTC. I have gone through 4 rounds of clomid (different dosages) with poor response and is moving on to SOIUI. Currently on CD5, doing the puregon injection every morning. Will be going for scan on CD9. Same gynae as CJ.

Hope: How many cycles of clomid have you taken ? It is not recommended to go beyond 6 cycles as clomid has unwanted side effects. Moreover, if you had 6 unsuccessful cycles, you should move on and try other methods, since ttc is like a 'trial-on-error' process, where no one knows which method works best for each person.

Various factors contribute to which method should be taken. The sequence is usually oral medications (e.g. clomid), followed by FSH injections+IUI and lastly IVF. Reason for this is probably due to the costs and efforts involved. I feel that financial, time (i.e. age) and efforts required are three of the most important factors when it comes to deciding the paths for ttc. If you decide on IVF, do read up more on it before jumping onboard, as it involves several steps and gynae visits.

You should get some advise from you gynae, to see what he/she recommends or seek 2nd opinion if necessary. From what I read previously, every method requires consecutive tries in order to achieve a high success rate.

Hi Ladies, its almost 2 weeks since i did my iui (24th Dec). No sign of AF but very worried since im having cramp like feeling this morning. The only other sympton I have is sore boobs. Other than that nothing else. Im so afraid to test. Maybe I will wait till Monday. *fingers cross and praying*

Morning everyone!

Ganbatte: How you feeling with the daily jab? 100IU too? You seeing Dr Fong from Paragon too or Tiong Bahru? Good luck on your scan next week.

BabyGalore, why scare to test? Test liao know result better than pondering about it whole day right? Today you dpo13? Good luck ya.

In fact today is my dpo8 only and I already did a trial HPT test haha trial becos I know wont be accurate today but wanted see if the trigger shot HCG is still in my body anot.. if today -ve means few days later IF I test a +ve I dont need to stress if that +ve is real or fake hahahhaa Actually dont have high hope too. No mucus.. body not hot..breast not sore.. sigh nothing at all..but nvm still have 6days to go.. I shall just stay hopeful til then

Thanks for the advice ladies. I was on 7 cycles of clomid. I guess its best to go for IUI first instead of jumping straight to IVF. I will be having my first consultation on SO-IUI on the 25 Jan. What is so frustrating is that i have no clue whats wrong within me. Im glad we cld share here openly. Thanks ladies and all the best.

Hi hope, I think many of us here are under the 'unexplained infertility'. Checked everything n seem to be fine. So can only say is not our time yet lo. A lot of why when we see red n fail each cycle. But we are really lucky to have this forum to learn n encourage each other
let's not give up n jiayou jiayou

CJ: So far, don't have any side effects from the daily jabs. Yup, 100IU too. Currently seeing him at Paragon, but sometimes at TB as AF is unpredictable. Is this your first IUI ? Best of luck for your IUI!

Hope: Glad you got it sorted out. Since we are facing alot of unknowns in the process of ttc, the only way we can overcome is to persist. So, press on!! For SO-IUI, you may want to call your gynae to see if it is necessary to see him/her. For me, I got the medication from the nurse (she performed the 1st injection as demo), without seeing the doc. Saved some consultation fees there.

Haiz.. I think im gg down to depression eh.

Just now during my lunch time, went with colleagues (close ones). 2 ladies and 1 guy. 2 ladies are preg and the guy's wife is preg too. So, the lunch topic was preg and babies stuffs.
I felt super felt-out and awkward. Dunno how to blend into their conversation. So i kept quiet thru-out the lunch. *sigh*

At that moment, how i wish i can disappear at a instance. Im actually holding back my tears and try hard not to show my true feelings. Cry Cry Cry!!!

Sorry for long post, need to talk to someone badly who can understand how i feel now~~~ =(

Ladies, miracle do happen. I hv been feeling af n cramp during my 2ww after ivf. I thought I hv no chance but I got BFP . I burst to tears when the nurse called. Is unbelievable but happy

Congrats, Cherrie

I'm not as lucky. Mine is BFN (Blood test). I will be going for IVF next. And I was hoping that my menses can come early, so that I can start the IVF early.

Hope my IVF journey will be smooth...

Cherrie, congrats!
Take care ya.. please spread babydust to all of us!

serene, sorry to hear that. Take care and all the best for your IVF ya..

codomo, dpo is day past ovulation or in our case is dpiui haha no idea on Dr Tseng, maybe you check out if there is any thread on him in this forum lor. Think quite many of the gals here are under Dr SF Loh from KKH.

Btw I am wondering if it is convenient for any of you who undergo IUI, SO IUI or IVF to indicate individual cost and procedure like, to benefit others who are considering the course or a switch. Thank you

CJ, normally dpo14 can start to test?
Ya, initially SF Loh was my first choice, however - he is no longer in KKH.
That's why Paul Tseng is my 2nd choice. I tried to search thread under him, but not much though on IUI though.

Cherrie, Congrats! Ya.. spread MORE babydust to us ya! =)

Codomo, I saw from another thread that he open a new clinic? If not you try his new clinic lor. Heard many many successful cases from his hands.. Since there isn't much info on Dr Tseng...

Ganbatte, sorry missed your earlier post. Yes this is my 1st SO IUI and hope that this will be my last too haha so you been with Dr Fong all this while? You are in safe hands
update us again on your scan..

Serene, any reason why AF delay til now? Could it be miscalculating the O? Or really becos of the progesterone pills? Anyway don't be too sad k, enjoy your CNY 1st than start on your new IVF cycle.

It's ok.. I expected it.. though, yes.. hard to accept, as I thought menses not here so there could be a chance. I ask the nurse, she says will not be so soon. Then I ask it is due to the progesterone, she say could be... so dun know yet. Anyway, I will go for the IVF briefing next week, so hopefully by then my menses will come. Think will start IVF in Feb...

Anyway, as requested, my SO-IUI @ KKH:

Puregon 300IU (contain 400IU actually) = $221
Puregon Pen = Free
Scanning and Consultation = $306
Injection - Pregnyl 5000 (to induce ovulation) = $15
Sperm Wash and IUI Procedure = $301
Medication - Progesterone (Cyclogest 400mg) = $163 (17 days, twice per day)
Medication - Azithromycin (to prevent infection after IUI) = $25 (250mg x 4)
Any injection done by nurses = $8

In total, I spend about $1.2k in SO-IUI, as I need to buy 2 set of Puregon 300IU.

Cj, I spent about 1.5-2k for so-iui. For ivf, you can use medisave n gov funding. If is your first time, it will be total of 9k funded. The whole procedure for ivf abt 8-11k, I think for me i only need to fork out 1k plus cash for ivf.

Cherrie: Congrats ! It is great to constantly hear good news in the forum. Law of attraction applies ! Hope we will all 'graduate' soon!

Codomo: I guess we just need more avenues to let go for the frustrations of ttc, which sometimes are hard to find, since it is a 'taboo' topic to openly discuss with people around you. It is ok to cry, drop by the forum to complaint, read about complaints, etc. It recharges and prepares us to fight on for the next cycle.

CJ: Yup, have been with Dr Fong since the start. Indeed, DH and I are comfortable with him and should stick with him till we reach our goal...

Congrats to you Cherrie.

Serene: Dont give up, Jia You

I had my IUI on 29 Dec, waiting to do my test next week but i dont have any symptoms, guess no hope.....

I have been following this thread and its really good to know that we have friends here to support us through this tough journey together. I will be going for my first IUI + clomid early February after CNY. My gynae advice me to try IUI 2 times first; if all fails then move on to IVF. No choice as age is catching up. I am also hypothyroid and currently on medication. My biggest obstacle is my hubby’s soldiers. The count & motility are not so good.

Cherrie: Congrats to you :eek:) Happy for you. Hopefully, it will be any of our turn soon….

Codomo: I know how you feel; my colleagues are like that too. Sometimes they are just so insensitive. Don’t be discouraged. It will be your turn soon. This is what I keep telling myself. Dr Loh is with TMC now.

There is a seminar this Saturday, 1pm organize by by Cordlife & Thomson Hospital – “Pregnancy Made Easy” at Hotel Intercontinental, Bugis. And, Dr Loh is one of the 6 speakers from TMC. He will share about IVF. Feel like attending to understand more about IVF and to check out Dr Loh. Who knows I might need to go for IVF if my IUI fail. My current gynae don’t do IVF.

For all the wonderful & courageous ladies here,
Something to brighten up your day. It makes me happy so I am sharing with you gals. They are so pretty, so I couldn’t resist buying it :eek:)
6558117.jpg
6558118.jpg

See the darker pink garberra, there's a twin there. One stalk, 2 flowers combine together. Can't believe it. Hardly comes across twins for flower.

CJ Junior

When are u due for the blood test? I think we fall on the same day since we have our IUI on the same day too....

So far any symptoms?

ladies, thanks for the blessing. Hope everything will be smooth for me

Please do not give up. If miracle happen to me, it will happen to you too. I ttc for 3 years plus, try all my ways and means (TCM, accupunture, eat all supplements, go temple,clomid, SO-IUI, etc etc), i am devasted whenever i fail. But with the encouragement from all of you here, i pick myself up and do not give up. So it will be your turn soon de. Jia you jia you

psp, today DPO11 and just now AF came liao. Kinda expected cos last night having af cramps.. so today is also my CD1 and starting my round #2 SO IUI jabs tmr.. hope will have better luck next round

Actually in a dilemma shld I skip this cycle anot.. but I do heard that back to back cycles are more effective but this mth CNY.. and I estimate (based on 1st IUI schedule) I shld be doing my 2nd IUI on 19th but if sway sway by then eggs not ideal size yet.. clinic close from 21-26th.. I wont be in time to do IUI and after spending $$ and time on the jabs end up I have to bd myself.. abit stupid hor. What you gals advises?

I think you should let your body rest for a month. My TCM doc told me today that all these drugs on our body will 'stress' us, and it is not so good to put treatments so near each other.

But it still depends on yourself. I believe when you say back-to-back treatments are more effective is due to the fact that our body could be more reactive to the injections (perhaps there is still left over effects from the 1st cycle). So in this case, most probably the eggs will grow faster, and not slower. This is my pure guess only

Oh, according to my TCM doc, she says when on progesterone pills, menses will not come. After you are off this pill, menses will only come 3-5 days later. I am still waiting for my menses. Sian Big Time lor.

CJ Junior, I remember my doctor says has to rest for a week before the next round.

But you are right lah, if the clinic close from 21 to 26th then no point doing the IUI this round.

The decision is yours but i wld advise u to do next month lor...

kittykatty: Ya, i shdnt be too affected by what my colleagues say.. But, its always easier to say that done. They even share with me the gender of their baby~ *faint*
How long have you been trying?

CJ Junior; i agree with psp, to skip this month. Coz if the clinic are close, are you are paying money for the scan and injection, also cannot do IUI. But of course, its up to you ya. =)

Codomo: I have been ttc for about 1 1/2 year. I thought my hypothyroid caused infertility until we went for some tests in Dec n realized that our main problem is my hubby's soldiers. Poor hubby, it's quite a blow to him. He didn't say anything about it but I know deep down he is upset. Luckily he is cooperative, every day he takes his vitamin disciplinary. So, we are praying & hoping for the best when we try our first IUI in Feb. Definately, won't give up without a fight.
You too don't give up without a fight!

Hi gals, thanks for the advises , think I wont need them liao. I have shocking news to update, how does a 'I am pregnant but could be having a miscarraige too' sound to you?

Had a very eventful day.. anyway dpo11 (yest) i started spotting so i tot AF coming and make arrangement for gynae visit today. However by morning still have spotting only so cannot really counted as CD1 thus gynae suggest a blood test for pregnancy, while waiting for result, AF came in flow so i decided to do jab tmr. Happily went Chinatown shopping and did a 1.5hr body massage and while having early dinner, clinic col say blood test shows I am pregnant. Shocked man. I even asked 3 times if they check correctly or call the right person anot. Went immediately to Mt A A&E for a jab to try to stable the pregnancy.. thur go blood test again see got double up anot..

Although all my previous pregnancies all ended in m/c but they never started so badly b4. DH say hopefully 2-3 eggs strike so now only m/c 1 away.. inside still got another healthy baby

Did my scan for CD9 today, had 3 follies @ 12.5mm, 10mm, 10mm. Was told to do 4 more jabs (including today) and scan again on CD13. Anyway, DH and I brought along our last 100IU of Puregon along as told, and gynae mentioned that we can 'lent the room' from the nurse to do injection after consultation. Told the nurse at the counter that we need to inject the last dose, and was 'offered' by them to do the injection. Made the payment, did the jab and on our way back home, we looked at the receipt and found a charge of $15 under 'Nurse Fees' added in. Another $2 added in for the alcohol swabs. (We actually brought our own alcohol swabs, but it was not used.
) Anyway, just wanted to highlight this so that you all will be more cautious about asking for help'.

CJ: Was quite puzzled when you mentioned that your AF came, since it was really early on DPO11. Hope your pregnancy will stablize soon. Rest well and take good care!

Morning gals, dont have to congrats me cos I alrdy lost the baby hahaaha this morning took BBT and temp was 36.13 which is normal AF temp. My gut feeling is I have totally lost the baby, not that I can helped it also. Luckily come and go very fast.. wasnt feeling too sad over it haha only prob now is after the jab last night, my AF stop liao. sian lor.. now got to wait again for AF start.. hopefully can wash out naturally instead of going d&c..

Cherrie, if having spotting or bleeding requires a jab. Actually this jab also machiam like progesterone jab. Cos my body hormones level low, so every pregnancy I will need to go gynae jab every alternate days and took the oral prpgesterone pills daily.

Cj junior, you not going to gaynae to confirm it? Perhaps not as what you think? I have got friend who is pregnant n menses still here as normal flow for few months.

Take care

CJ: Agree with Cherrie, you might want to check out with the clinic, or probably wait for a few more days before concluding. I have read in your previous threads regarding pineapple core. I did some search on this, but found that most are cases on the consumption are from ang mo countries. Since our 'body type' is different from theirs, it may not be suitable. Just highlighting this in case you missed it out.

Cherrie: Its quite puzzling to have conceived and still have AF, since AF is the shedding of the linning. Your friend may want to see the doc to check out, since it might be a signal that the pregnancy is unstable.

Hi ganbatte, my friend have given birth to a boy already
actually I believe some thing cannot be explained using scientific reasons. Just like no matter how good is the statistis, it doesn't mean success. So I believe is hope n miracle, and a lot is happening ard us. Perhaps we dunno only.

Hi girls, spotting the whole morning .. Af not in full flow. Feeling very down. But somehow I'm still holding onto some faith that a miracle would happen. It's already 18 days since iui

My blood test is on Fri but Im v curious and nervous. I feel
Like buying a pregnancy kit to test.. How? What shld I do?

Hi gals, thanks for the advises, gynae wanted to be safe so tmr will do another blood test to see if got dbl up anot, hope I wont have to do a d&c.

BabyGalore, how is your result?

psp, why not? Just go buy and test tmr morning lor
who knows its +ve and you can even save on your blood test cost heehee, good luck and keep us updated ya

Ganbatte, sorry missed your post earlier and thanks for highlighting, not sure if you did read thru this thread but one of e gals Fluffy (posted 1st dec 2011) who shld be crossing over to 2nd tri now, she too ate pineapple core after her IUI and succeed. And if you do a search in this forum 'pineapple core' you will be able to see those successful stories too
of cos I dun guarantee it confirm works hahaha

But I do believe miscarriages have nothing to do with the food we ate, the drinks we drank or the things we do. The baby was just not meant to be in the 1st place.

CJ: Hmm, I am more prone towards the 'we are what we eat' theory. The newer generations of people seem to have more health problem, with cases of collapsing/dying without any medical conditions/explanations. Anyway, for the pineapple core, there are no scientific studies/evidences on this so far, thus, do proceed with caution and consume moderately. After all, we are all on the 'trial-and-error' mode, trying our best to reach our goals...

psp: It would be good to just test it out early or do it every morning. That should help keep the ponderings away for the day...

Ganbatte...everyone.