IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

New in this thread.I just done my IUI last wk. 1st timer. Read up that the success rate is very low and very disheartening.

In my 2ww now and it terrible. Time clicking so slowly. Hope to get some support from all of you here.

hi hokkaidolavender, a veri warm welcome : ) I did my IUI last monday. So u are not alone in ur 2ww. Where did u do ur IUI? Mine is NUH with Prof Wong. This is my 2nd IUI with clomid. If this round not success, my next step is IVF.

Hi Serene,

Nice of you to welcome me here. I'm very blessed!

I did it on thurs, 3 days after you. I did mine at TMC. Pro wang seem famous with the girls here. Did you had any injection? Mine was with clomid too...wondering if clomid alone really works?

I also giving myself another IUI before considering IVF. IVF like very scary to me....

hi babybun, u are going back for follicle scanning tomolo? hopefully ur smaller follicle will catch up by then. Like wat bluenosebear said, all we need is just one egg and one sperm meet, fertilise n proper implantation to take place. All the best : )

bluenose, take care... tink antibiotics should be ok. If u r not well, chances are even harder. I remember I took antibiotics when I was trying for no. 1, also think no hope but then striked.

Serene, all the best to you! So now DPO??

Hokkaido, welcome to this thread!!! How long have you been TTCing? Dun despair, coz there's always miracle. I am not sure what your prob is but for me, we had both factor and both were equally bad. HB SA only showed 1% morphology and count is super below avg but we had a no. 1 and then now, a much await no. 2 that took us pains and aches to achieve also.

Sometimes my only encouragement is to look at me as a real life example. Nothing is impossible, you just have to preservere.

Tweetie, nice to meet you here. I have been TTC for 2 1/2 yrs already...did HSG, laparoscopic, go TCM also useless. HB SA also not very good he got 2% morphology and good mobilty sperms only 30%. So resort to do IUI.

Good to hear that at least u got No.1. I'm still struggling for No.1.

Ya, my frd also try for 3 years but there are some of my frds who try 3-6 mth and bingo. Can't help to be despair....just have to press on with encouraging from the girls in the forum.

hi tweetie, glad to see u here : ) me now dpiui10, dpo11. Can i check with you did u hav implanation bleeding or other syptopms before u tested hpt+? i remembered u were saying u feel bloated right. mi as usual got white discharge and sore boobs. These few days been feeling cold due to rainy season. bbt rover at 36.7 - 36.8.

hi hokkaidolavender, i tried on clomids alone for 4 cycle last year but didnt work for me even though i ovulated. I did not have any injection except for the hcg jab to ensure ovulation take place before the iui procedure. Actually i m looking for public hospital so tat if need to do ivf, can get govt grant beside using the medisave. The more popular fertility doc (public hospital) in this forum are Dr Loh from KKH and Prof Wong from NUH. I choose NUH coz nearer to my workplace.

Serene-Yes, going back for scan tmr. Hopefully, we can see the results we want to see.

Hokkaidolover- True that it takes only 1 sperm and 1 egg to make a baby, but how come we are not that lucky. Tried for more than a year, went through all the tests, no problem with both of us at all. Really duno what's wrong. Really fustrating

Tweetie- whenever u come in, it always warm my heart. I called Emerald after serene suggestion. Prof nurse, say is ok to take the med, also told her the med name, she give green light. Tink last week I too Kian Ho, maybe overdo with theme drinking of red dates+longan+wolfberries. But I also like the taste, hehe. Now dare not drink, too heaty, maybe till I recover ba.
Babybun- wish you tons of luck, hope everytings turn up smoothly.
Hokkaido- welcome. Do come in more often, that is wat tis forum is for.
Now I wonder how is Liyan??
Serene- bbt quite high, don forget yr nuts & protein intake hor.

hey ....
I am fine ... now having holidays... but still as busy planning for next year... i hv not called prof and arrange for meeting yet maybe wait for after we come back from holidays.... relax first will do the body good.... anyway babydust to all... huat ar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bluenosebear, take care and drink more water.

liyan, where are u going for holiday? u teach pri or secondary sch? yesterday the PSLE result was released. Rosyth school come in first.

bluenose: dun wanna scare u but my relative had a cold n she din know she was pregnant.... she had an antibiotics jab n baby stopped growing in a few weeks... so better be safe..

hi Hokkaido, i had a failed iui 2 months back... forum was what kept me going... i tested every other day... till af came... then i cried my eyes out... sigh
i;m in my 2ww now... today is dpo10.. v v nervous.. this round on puregon n clomid with intercourse :D

Hi Serene, i used to tried clomid with natural intercourse but it doesn't work out too. Wonder if it my problem or with HB. To use govt grant and medisave for ivf, must it b done at govt hospital?

Babybun, we are in the same boat. Duno what really went wrong with us. I'm equally frustrated too

Thanks Bluenosebear for the warm welcome.

BeFabulouslyPositive, your nick is so cute. Heard that IUI success rate pretty low huh, wonder can I Bingo during the first round. Wow you very hardworking wor, test every other day. I feel it such a waste to test so often. Might as well test when af dun report. I'm dpo9 today. we are very close!

I do see a lot of injection that all of you mentioned...hcg, puregon, pregnyl...what are the differences? Prior to my IUI. my gyane wanna me to inject with pregnyl. But after I detected LH surge, he ask me not to go.

hokkaido, we can use both govt grant and medisave for ivf 3 times in govt hospital. we can only use medisave for 3 times in private hospital.

sometimes i also dunno what went wrong wif my hub and i. we ttc 1 mth to strike with my no.1. But ttc for no.2 seems to take veri veri long. nearly 2 years liao : (

if i m not wrong, hcg and pregnyl are the same. they are injected to ensure one will ovulate within 36hrs. As for puregon, it work the same as clomid with help our follicles to grow and mature. But puregon is in the form of injection and it help more follicles to mature. therefore SO-IUI always have more mature follicles in a cycle.

An update for those currently in 2ww:
serene: dpiui11
bfp: dpo10
hokkaido: dpo9
mel123: dpiui3

So far bfp and hokkaido any symptoms to share?

Hokkaidolavender, let's try to be positive and pray that our babies will come to us soon.

Just went for my scan during lunch. To my surprise, there are 3 follicles! Dr Cheng wants to bring forward my IUI to tmr instead of Monday, tmr is my cd13. He's worried that if we wait any longer, there'll be more than 5 follicles! He was quite impressed that I managed to grow 3 follicles with only 75iu of gonal-f a day. Hubby and I were exhilarated. Hope everything will go well. Will update on the IUI procedure tmr! Baby dust to all!!!

Thanks Serene for the clear explanation!

BTW, I no symptoms at all...
oh realised that you put dpiui. Any difference btw dpo and dpiui? I tout ovulation is normally the next day after you test the LH surge?

Sorry for asking questions after questions :p

Hok: Pregnyl is a form of hcg - its forces ovulation. since u already have LH surge, means ur ovulating already, so no need that extra help.

Puregon/gonal f is to help push follicles to grow and mature into eggs :D

serene, I didn't have any special symptoms, not even sore boobs. Sore boobs only came in much later when i tested BFP. I was feeling slightly bloated, that's all. No implantation bleeding also, everything same as normal except I used OPK to test, was strong positive, use HPT was faint positive until DPO22. Oh another thing is my temp is like yours, nvr went up past 37 deg, always 36.8, sometimes even 36.4, that was y I also tot no hope.

Hokkaido, my no. 1 was lucky, I striked before I went for my IVF since I made appt to go for it before gg for my trip. Prior to the trip, my hubby SA was worse that your hubby's, that's y my gynae shake head and move us to IVF. He say my hubby case is hopeless, even IVF, chance also extremely low. So we were wondering how we striked also.

Bluenose, thanks... told u its ok to take... the more sick u get, the worse it gets. Take a good rest and lucks for u.

just saw the doctor and am supposed to ovulate tom and do IUI. is there any special diet that i shd follow or my husband? my nurse said to eat eggs every day.

Thanks tweetie, drank almost 2L of water liao, felt much better.
Whitetiger, after IUI k try taking brazil nuts, heard it helps implantation & also eggwhites

babybun, glad to know tat u hav 3 follicles. 3 follicles mean 3 chances, 3 hope. All the best for tomolo. are u given the hcg jab just now?

whitetiger, welcome here : ) All the best to u too for ur IUI. If possible can try brazil nuts from those nuts stall. Suppose to help to hav good lining if pregnancy take place.

Whitetiger, so coincidental! Same day, same doc!

Serene, I was given a jab just now but I duno what is it. Where can I get brazil nuts? I dun even know how it looks like. And how much brazil nuts and egg white to take a day?

babybun, guess shld be the hcg jab. normally will be given pior to IUI. You can get the brazil nuts at amk hub ntuc. There is a stall selling all kinds of nuts near the bread section. There is also a nuts stall at united sq. It selling a dollar cheaper than amk hub. These r the only 2 places I bought my nuts from. You just need to take 4 to 5 nuts per day.

hokkiado, i remembered tis round i ovulated on Sun. During my IUI on Mon morning, Prof did the scan and confirmed I have Oed. So Monday is my dpo1 but Tue will be my dpiui1. Keke.. tis is how i calculate.

i have no symptoms at all. trying to keep postive even though i have a sinking feeling nothing will happen.

not sure if it's a result of the medications, but somehow i feel my immune system has gone down. e.g. asthma has come back, more prone to mouth ulcer etc. very suay..

whitetiger, the ladies in tis forum suggest to eat raw. Normally they will pour the egg white into hot milo and drink so tat the taste wont be so yucky.

mel123, dun read too much on the symptoms. U are only dpiui4. Still early. Remember to drink more water.

I bought e brazil nuts at ntuc finest, there is this brand origins healthcare that sell all types of nuts. Just saw the dr earlier and iui postponed till mon. Is it normal to hv 1 follicle after all the injections?

whitetiger, when u went for follicle scan yesterday, did ur doc tell u how many follicles u hav n e size of e follicles? if e follicles not at least 18mm n above, shld not do iui. y ur doc told u can proceed wif iui but today told u to postpone? did he give u hcg jab today to make sure u will ovulate on monday?

Serene , suppose to go in later tonight for the jab for the mon iui. Is it alright to eat seafood today? E.g. Mussels, crabs ..family going for the ellenborough cafe buffet today and i m wondering I I need to abstain

hopefully u have more than one mature follicles by monday to increase ur chances. for normal iui with or without clomid, only 1 follicle or 2 follicles which is quite rare will b matured in a cycle. for soiui wif e correct amt of puregon or gonal f, there will b more than 1 follicles mature around ovulation period. so-iui will increase ur chances of pregnancy. but cons is might end up pregnant wif multiples. if more than 3 matured follicles, doc might suggest to abort e cycle or convert to ivf.

whitetiger, think shld b ok bah but dun eat too much. ask ur hub to eat osyter suppose to help his soldierto gear up on monday. enjoy u dinner feast tonite : )

Just did my IUI. Quite ok except for the slight cramp when the catheter is inside. Although I have 3 eggs. Hubby onli has 0.3million normal motile sperm. Trying to be positive. Keep reminding myself that we onli need 1 egg and 1 sperm for successful conception.

Babybun- don tink too much, at least got 3 chance.
Whitetiger-Enjoy yr dinner.
I was so busy at work today, now then get to come in. Just now went to expo for IT exhibit, so many pple. Saw many preg or with kids pple, tink got some parenthood fair. So envy them, sob sob, fon have the courage to go near there

Had my hcg jab yesterday night and those morning my ovulation test kit turned positive. Am scheduled to do iui on mon. Am so worried that it will be too late.....anyone knows what is the timeframe after the jab that the follicle will mature?

babybun, welcome to e 2ww

bluenosebear, i was at e it fair yesterday. bought a notebook for home use. it was so crowded.
whitetiger, e hcg shot will give u opk+ for few days. therefore opk no longer accurate. normally after e hcg shot one will ovulate within 36-42hrs. trust ur doc : ) dun worry. my tis iui i also hav hcg shot on sat evening. then iui on mon morning.

babybun, is the bleeding alot and fresh red? Or just some brownish discharge? Might b some abrasion when the catheter was inserted in. If bleed alot, i suggest u call ur doc to check with him.

Serene, it's not alot but more than spotting, and it's bight red. I feel bloated the whole of today with slight cramping. It stained the beige shorts im wearing today. Have to cut short my shopping to go home to change. Msged Dr Cheng's emergency number but no reply yet. Hopefully the bleeding will stop soon.

Babybun - i did iui with natural ovulation 3 times and all 3 times , same thing happened to me. Bleeding stopped only second day. But the cramping feeling lasted quite long.