IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

hi ladies, mi done my iui around noon time. now resting at home.

liyan, if u wanna to bedrest, u hav to request else they will ask u to go as there r still other patients. tats y i opt to b e last one. so tat i can rest awhile. from wat i hv read up, injection u need to pay urself. the ivf process itself cost 10+k. so if u claim medisave 6k n govt sub 3k for 1st timer, u oni need to fork out 1k plus. mayb another few hundreds for e injection.

hi tweetie, its great to hear from u. *pat pat* dun worry as long as ur bb is growing n gaining weight shld b okay. i know is tough on u handling wif ms n work n also ur gal. tats we women r more capable than men. hopefully ur ms will minise since u r nw in2nd trimester. feel free to come here n grumble. we can lend u our listening ear. think u b able to know ur baby gender in a mth time: ) u must b looking forward to it.

Tweetie, great to hear from u. At least with the MS I'd being assured that hormones high to hold baby. Fast lor, 1st tri over, must update is boy or girl, so excited for u.
Serene hope tis would be last IUI becos after tis will be BFP. Rest well wor, u on mc tomorrow also?
Liyan, jiayou, hope everyting goes well for u

Serene, baby dust to you!!!! (*_*) When I had my IUI, I try to have plenty of bed rest and took leave for the following 2 days after IUI. I remember I BD the 2nd day after IUI. Then left everything to fate already. Hope you can catch some of my dust. ;)

bluenose, liyan, yup... i m enduring everyday and just hoping everything will go well. Going for my NT scan this thurs, hopefully, will be able to tell, if not, have to wait for prob next month.

Keep you updated soon!

Meantime, jia you okie!!!

bluenosebear, i only take mc yesterday. today i m bk to work : ( rushing for a project to be finished by end dec. I am praying veri hard to bfp also..

tweetie, thanks for ur babydust. I desperately need them : )

Tweetie-must update us wor after Thurs scan.
Serene-careful in whatever U do hor, now officially 2ww le.
I keeping my finger cross, hopefully is my turn to spread babydust to yr ;)

bluenosebear, i will try to rest as much as possible. tomolo holiday can rest at home. hopefully u bfp then dun need to go iui : ) u r currently how many dpo?
i wonder who else in their 2ww?
bfp, r u in 2ww now?

Serene- I done opk at 4/11 and was +ve, is it count from there? I confuse how to count dpo. Menses suppose to report on 19/11, becos last month was delayed like 4 days. Cycle normally from 28-30 days, last mth is goes haywire, came on 33rd day.
But I not very hopeful abt my bfp la

Serene-thanks. AF report liao. Check with U, normally AF come as like spotting today as 1st day, so I should start Clomid tomorrow or start on Sat? Then my LMP 1st day count as today or tomorrow? Suddenly abit confuse.
Now I worry becos need to attend a course on my 12th day scan, confuse of counting from today or tomorrow as 1st day of LMP.
Pls advise ;(

bluenosebear, if ur AF is just spotting on the 1st day, u can count the next day as 1st day. Then take clomid on the 2nd day, which is Sat for u. You can call the nurse to book appointment for u on 30th Nov (cd12). Book ur appointment timing early so tat u will not miss ur course.

Thanks Serene for the advise.
I had booked appt on 1/12 instead, wa U very gd le, still count the date for me, thank U, bear hug to U. Becos even early appt, I also cant reach the venue as very far from NUH. So I do a day 13 scan instead lor. Hope everything goes well. I sure got alot of questions,de, so bear with me hor.
Don know how is Liyan & BFP.
Here like so quiet le, hope more pple k join us.

bluenosebear, you are most welcome. We are here to support and help one another : ) This cycle i also scan at cd13 as i normally wont ovulate so early. But to my surprise, my follicle grow faster this cycle.

Yup veri quiet nowsaday. think they are in other thread. BFP shld b in 2ww now.

BFP don tink so much of symptoms la, just as per normal lor. I know is easier than say hor, hehe.
Serene, normally after IUI need to go for BT if 2 weeks later no menses? If menses come then c dr & discuss next step?

hi bluenosebear, prof wong asked to see him in 3 weeks time if no af come. Mayb will do BT or Urine test. If af come, one can continue with the IUI for the next cycle. Just need to call the clinic that menes is here and need to book for egg scanning. Continue to take clomid from day 2 till day 6. So on ur IUI tat day, the clinic will ask you to buy the clomid for the next cycle. You can choose not to buy until af come, then go down to buy.

Thanks U again, Serene. Got a much clearer picture liao. I always like to plan ahead, thinking incase it don work out then wat is the next step. I plan to only do IUI 2 times, instead of his suggestion of 3 times. Anyway if there is a need to do 2nd time, would be done by other Dr, becos prof on leave.
C how it goes. Today started my Clomid, hopes everything goes siew siew.
Enjoy yr weekend, am working now............

hi bluenosebear, tis will b my last iui (2nd try). i also informed prof wong tat i will go ivf if tis round not success. when will prof wong on lve till when? ur company still need to work on sat? which line r u in?

oh prof will be on leave ar.... then i think i have to give up this cycle...
hey girls maybe u all want to visit thong ji hospital and "tiao" the body.... i gg there when my hubby is back and after i take my report from NUH.... no harm trying

Liyan-maybe k tiao while waiting for Prof to be back, ba.
Good to hear that u didn't fan qi. So u plan to do SO IUI?
I already on TCM since last year, started accupuncture since Aug, but not in Tiong Ji la

I think me and my husband will go and talk to Prof about doing IVF straight cos my case not very good.... so see how ba....

bluenosebear, hmm.. let me guess.. u working in service line?

Liyan, think u faster book an appointment wif prof wong. Before i embark in IVF, think will need to attend some counselling. IVF normally need 2mths. So if u start the IVF procedure on Dec, must start to do injection from your cd21, i think so. Then Jan will do the ER and ET.

i am also seeing pc wong. 2nd time IUI today (2ww begins..) and it is very depressing to keep going in everyweek for scan every 2 days. Am not optimistic but do not want to do ivf. I noticed that the IUI sperm results do not include detailed analysis (unlike Thomson medical). Does anybody noe why?

oh, just to add - i am new to this forum. Was looking for support group as I find this experience very traumatising and sometimes want to give up. Have been ttc for past 2 yrs, tried chinese herbs, etc. no success. hubby not the very supportive type so i always go for appointments alone and hope i dun bump into anyone i noe there. How do you gals manage to juggle the treament wif yr jobs?

Liyan, ya agreed u should quick quick book appt & discuss with Prof.
Serene- u are some sort of correct la, me a nurse la. U done IVF before??
Mel123- welcome, another Prof pt. Starting IUI tis mth, so no experience la, u must ask the da Jie here, hehe.... Do come in here to vent out, I find that it helps alot, becos hubby won't understand much of how we feel sometimes.

Dun despair ok! TTCing for us is really part and parcel of our lives. We are not like those who can strike easily but I always believe in things that are hard to get, u learn to cherish them more. ;)

For those who are into IUI, wish you tonnes of baby dust! I know 2WW is not easy as I have been thru it myself, I can only say 90% is luck, 10% is hard work. So once done, just have a relaxed 2WW and dun push your body too hard. Dun ask me how I strike too coz I dunno. I only know I didn't pin very high hopes and was determined to quit to have a break before moving off to IVF.

For those are comtemplating or trying to do IUI, its a very tedious process and interferes with daily work. But really hv no choice, just try to get time off or take the earliest slot only.

Mel123, yes... NUH detailed analysis is not that detailed afterall coz I remember Prof just briefly told me overall is ok, that's it. Those we did at Parkway Holdings were more detailed. But at the end of the day, it doesn't matter. What matters during IUI is to make sure 1 sperm meets 1 egg, tat's all. Isn't it? The results if poor, won't change overnight, it will be there with slight improvement. My hubby and I had been taking TCM for the past few years but end result is his SA never improve ultimately. But we still had a beautiful no. 1 and no.2 is half made, now in the process of growing, and I hope it's going to be as beautiful as no. 1 too. ;) To give u some encouragement, those nice gynaes whom I saw always tells me the theory of 1 egg & 1 sperm. So its nvr impossible but u hv to be hopeful for a miracle to happen.

Haha, time to update abt my no. 2. PC Wong has officially transferred me back to Biswas. Little one had a NT scan last week and is looking good. Can really see the bb dancing and moving with motion now. Last measured was abt 6.5cm already and size is just nice. ;) It's so touching to see it in the scan and everyday I am just hoping it will grow well w/o any complications and my MS will slowly subside so that I have appetite for foods to allow my baby to grow. ;)

Bluenose, Liyan, Serene, u must jia you! I will share as much as possible abt NUH but I guess I am not tat experienced too since it was my 1st IUI.

Welcome mel123 : ) We are here to share experience and support one another. me also 2nd time IUI and currently in 2nd half of my 2ww.
As i did iui at nuh only so not veri sure abt other hospital. Did you check with nuh whether they did detailed analysis for IUI sperm? Mayb they did but never let us know. All they let us know is the sperm quantity before and after wash, the sperm mobility before and after wash.
Guess most of the men were like tat. I always go alone as the appointments are in the morning and hub needs to go to work. I will rush back to work after the appointment. I have informed my covering colleague tat i will come in 1hr late for work 3 days to 4 days every mth as I am doing IUI. He is quite understanding. Think will need to inform my boss if i were to do ivf next time. *Cross finger* hopefully I dun need to do ivf.

bluenosebear, me never done ivf before. The ivf procedures all read from tis forum. U are working in which hospital? Nuh?

Serene-previously in NUH before, but left about 4years back. Wa, so fast already 2nd week of yr 2ww hor. Me going for TOO on 1/12. Don think too much hor.
Tweetie-Though U only went through 1 IUI, but strike after that ma. So whenever U come in here, is really a big encouragement for us. Take care wor.

Thanks everyone, for the encouragement.
Serene - all the best with the 2ww. *cross fingers*

At Thomson, there was actually more detailed sperm test result and sperm morphology was the problem. At NUH, yah they only look at mobility and quantity. tat's why i was worried im wasting my time with IUI if they are not diagnosing the problem correctly. This is 3rd time cycle already (2nd for SO-IUI). But like tweetie said, guess we just have to wait for miracle to happen....am trying not to think too much abt it and mentally prepare myself to go for another round.

sorry ah, but what does "AF" and "cd" stand for? New to all the acronmyns

Also, does anybody know if NUH is charging private rates, or is slightly cheaper than most of the private hospitals? Sometimes cannot tell what they are billing me for in the receipt!

Mel123-Af is menses, not sure wat is cd. Prof is considered as private rate, if u seeing dr in emerald or ruby clinic all is consider as private rates. Not sure abt private gyn charges

I'm going through SO-IUI with Dr Cheng now. I have 2 follicles growing. I wonder what's the success rate with 2 follicles. Any advice on what I should take note of, what to do and not to do, to eat or not to eat during this treatment? Should be doing the IUI this friday or Saturday. Wish me luck!

hi mel123, we only did the detailed SA once. Tot shld be enough if hub result is alright. Unless there are issue like low sperm count, poor mobility and poor morphology, then mayb need to take more tonic and the doc will suggest ivf.

regarding the rate, Prof is considered as private and as he is senior doc, his charges are higher also. For one cycle, 1st consultation with ultra-scan will be 90+, 2nd consultation with ultra-scan will be 80+, 3rd will be 70+. So far never hit 4th visit yet.

hi baby bun, welcome here: ) U are from TMC with Dr LC Cheng? Read from this forum that you can take chicken essense, royal jelly to aid the growth of the follicles. Then after iui, take brazil nuts and egg white to maintain the thickness of the lining to support the pregnancy.

Halo, everyone. How is yr day? I very busy today, now then have the time to come in. Some more sick with flu & cough......................
So Serene, U go guai guai eat brazil nuts & egg whites?

bluenosebear, take care. drink more water. i been faithfully taking royal jelly and brazil few mths back. but the last 2 cycles i stop taking coz finished with the supply and never buy liao. keke..

Yup, I'm with Dr LC Cheng. Just went for a scan today. 2 days ago, there were 2 follicles at 10mm. Today, only 1 went up to 14mm, the other one is only 11mm. Worried that in the end there's only 1 egg, then what's the point of Superovulation?

Babybun-anyway no matter how many follicles, agar has one that sperm k meet up & implant, then success. Don tink so much, too stress later not gd for the growth wor
Serene- Aiyoh, hope tis round u had started, BFP
I right now doing accupuncture, don know why is so pain & suan when he prick me, sign......

hi bluenosebear, thanks for ur blessing
yup i remembered my accupunture also suan suan when e electric current is turn on. there was once my left kneecap were shaking violently tat i had to ask e tcm sinseh to lower e current for my left leg. if u feel too umcomfortable, u must leh e sinseh know.

Hi bluebear and serene..i am also doing acupuncture....
I must say that it does have a relaxing effect, although i really hate being pricked. According to my physician, it is good to feel "sore" when pricked because otherwise, it means the acupuncture has no effect..Also, it will be more sore when your hormone levels change.

My TCM physician also recommends carrot juice for healthy epithelial lining. Also for the guys, to have lots of Vitamin C and E.

Need to ask yr, will it be ok that if I on antibiotic & do IUI? Next week going for scan, if everyting goes well, will proceed to IUI. But I cough non stop since yesterday, later be seeing dr. Will also inform them that going for IUI.

hi bluenosebear, i like the accupuncture on the back. It feel like massaging. Veri comfortable. Anyway i m lazy, only went 3 times for 1 cycle during july. I have an appointment with Prof on 6th Dec. If af mia, then will do blood test or urine test on tat day. I am looking forward to receive bfp present before my bday : )

bluenosebear, hmm.. i dunno whether antibiotic will affect the growth of the follicle. y dun u call up Emerald clinic to ask the nurse there. think they can advise better.

I will try not to take the antibiotic, & drink more water, will rest more also since on mc.
Don tink too much, let nature take it's course. Waiting for u to spread tons & tons of babydust