IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi Dawn,
Thanks for your reply. For KK,is the waiting time long. I mean waiting time to see doctor. What about the queue for SO-IUI treatment? Do we have to wait months ahead?
I had a bad experience at KK. My appointment is 9am plus. And i waited for more than 1hr for doc and at the pharmacy another 1hr. So ended up leave hospital at 12+....

maple babies,

IUI is still consider cheap compare to SO IUI, normally gynea will advise you to take clomid and monitor the growth of your egg.

SO IUI then needs the injections to help the growth of the eggs, think the ex part will be the injections, if you ovulate early then will not spend so much on the injections.

O i see. Thanks very much for the advises, gals. I didnt even know untill i see all your posts. I was so ignorant. Ok. Ya, better leave medisave for IVF in case SO IUI dont succeed.

So ideally should go for IUI first, if response not good (eg. egg not growing etc) then means gotta use injections and hence SO-IUI rite?

Hi Pantone - I did SO-IUI under the doctor you mentioned but did not succeed. Total cost of meds plus treatment was closer to 4K - it is more expensive than KKH - I would prefer to do at KKH but all the scanning at KKH is done in the morning and it would mean that I would be late for work. At the private clinic, the schedule is more flexi. I can schedule during my lunch time.

pantone, yes the downside of KKH is the wait time is very long and not flexible. They do all ultra scannings early morning from 7.30am to 9am only. That is because they handling quite large volume of SO-IUI and IVF daily.

yes, should try iui first then so-iui then finally ivf. unless HB's soldiers are less than3%, then they will recommend you go straight to IVF.

Hi Priscillia,
Thanks for your reply? How's your exp with the Dr? He was quite stern when I visited him last week. I saw him 3yrs ago and I underwent blood test, HSG etc. My results show no problem so I decided to try on my own. After that I was pregnant and did not go back to him. Dont know if he is unhappy because of this. My current gynae is not a fertility expert. So no choice got to go back to him. Had already spent $450 last week. Only consultation + 3 bottles of vitamin + my blood test before and after menses. This is not inclusive of my hubby and my full blood count. Pocket really empty liaoooo. Maybe will consider KKH but their appointment not so flexi, hubby might have a problem with it....sigh...

Hi Pantone - have you had a first kid and have difficulties trying for a second?

My experience with dr has been excellent - he has explained the treatment process thoroughly and he never pushed me to any undergo any form of treatment. His bedside manners are also quite good. But there again, I have seen him for quite a while. I will probably cycle again soon, depending on my travel schedule. Am due to travel again in Jan so I might not be able to cycle in Jan.

Actually if it is your H has a problem with scheduling, and you don't need him to be around except at crucial points, you can considering seeing any of the REs at the TPS at KKH (eg Dr Loh SF) - he has clinic hrs in the evenings so you and your H can see him. Recalled first consultation is $85 (or around there)? Still cheaper than the pte REs. My problem is that the scanning for the SOIUI is in the morning and I need to be at work early.

After a 3 failed IUI then a laparoscopy(found out I have mild endo and no blocked tubes) then 4th failed IUI, both hubby and I decided that he should go ahead with the varicocele surgery as he has it on both sides. His doctor also strongly recommends that.

My gynae did ask us to proceed on to SO-IUI if the 4th IUI failed...I'm apprenhensive because of the cost...Also, his count has been low (1%, ave 3mil).

And Atlas, will TCM help in his situation? I mean, improve his sperm quality? His count is quite alright but the quality is rather bad...

Any advice is appreciated. HB is schedule to do the surgery next friday...

phy, why don't you try SO-IUI first, or TCM like what atlas says? IUI has low success rate, even for SO-IUI it only has success rate of about 20% if your hubby sperm is above 5million.

Surgery is very invasive...that is what i feel lor....unless, i have tried TCM, or herbal remedies, then i will resort to surgery. juz my 2 pence.

Hi Dawn,

Thanks for your advice. Right now we're both tired and wish to move on to looking more closely at his condition...

Ya, I'm afraid that the SO-IUI may also fail as his healthy count is too low... I know surgery is invasive but his doc recommends it to boost his healthy sperm count. A high % of his sperm could be damaged by his varicoceles condition.

I don't know how TCM can help? Apparently his count is alright but only 1% normal sperm.

SO-IUI is rather costly and success rate is not high if sperm count is low...

*sigh* I also don't wish for him to go through invasive surgery. He told me that his friends/colleagues have been teasing/laughing at him that he "cannot make it" at having children...

Anyway, happy 2007 to all! May all of us who are TTCing get our wishes this year!

phy, whta kind of frens he has.....how can they joke about this kind of things! It is not within our control!!! I have heard of TCM helping on the male side, u check some of the threads here, the gals got give feedback. don't give up ok!

dawn..

check with u... on the 1st day of AF must call up KKIVF to make appt for the start of the treatment/cycle is it..?

hopes, i can't remember first or 2nd day. no harm calling on the first day. hmmm.....now to think of it i think they want u to call on 2nd day cos they always ask qn as they want to make sure it is full flow (red) continously for 1st day to ensure the AF have really started. you going to start your SO-IUI this cycle? good luck!

it has been a long time since i log on. to be honest, i was avoiding this forum after my failed SO-IUI. Was very depressed and also decided to stop attempting SO-IUI for the next one yr.
Currently my husband and i are seeing TCM and hopefully i can share my joy with all of you

But i do have something to share which happened to my HB. His count was low at 4% when he did his SA in late 2005. But after taking pine bark daily for the past few months, it went up to 5%. Not sure whether was it due to the pine bark or b'cos the ejection was done at the centre for his second SA one year later. maybe those HB with low count may want to try it out. But this is not a guarantee method, worth a try if you want.

Hi Dawn

Can I check whether at KKH, you can choose the doctor to do the SO-IUI for you (I am referring to the actual insemination) or is a case where the doctor who does the insemination is the one on duty? Many thanks!

Priscilla, i think can't choose the doc doing SO-IUI. It is usually one of the more junior doctors who are doing the procedure. The 3rd time i did SO-IUI, it was even a doc who is performing under the guidance of another experienced. though was scared at first, but ok lah. u r selecting where to do your SO-IUI?

Hi Dawn, thanks for your quick reply. yes, I am thinking of doing at KKH because of the cost factor. Only issue is I am figuring out how to do the scans in the morning at KKH and getting to work by 8.30 a.m. - I can't be late at where I am. How long do you normally spend for the scans at KKH in the morning?

Priscilla, they start scanning earliest at 8am. Think you have to arrive the earlier (7.45am?) to make sure you go in first cos if long queue, you may have to wait up to 1/2 hour for ur turn. After the scan, you still have to wait to see the doctor on duty to access if u should continue with the same dosage of puregon. I always arrive around 830....quite long queue, so i have to wait quite a while. I think u have to spend at least 30min there.... your office allows u to come slightly later?

Hi Dawn, thanks for the reply. Nope, I have to be at the office at 830 am (am in the service industry) - only way out is to take leave but I need at least 1 week's notice for leave unless it is urgent and I can't always take urgent leave. On average, how many times do they require the scan? 2 or 3 times?

Priscilla, Depending on how fast your follicles grow.... if very fast reach the ideal size maybe just need to scan 2 or 3 times....if not....can be up to 5 or 6 times! Average is 3 times, usu alternate days.

hi Priscilla, Dawn,

I just started on my Puregon jab today too..

Not as painful as i tot...

hmm..dawn.. the scanning part...it's average 3 times per cycle..? and per cycle is abt a mth average..?

Hi hopes

Injections for the stims are quite alright because the needle is quite fine. For my last cycle at a pte clinic, the scanning only happens before the HCG jab is given and I had to go back about 3 times over 2 weeks while on the injectible drugs. Once hte HCG jab is given, IUI takes place 36 hrs later and progesterone supplements would be taken during the 2 week wait. There may be some blood work
that needs to be done to check the progesterone level but scanning is not required during the 2 week wait. Beta test takes place 14 days after the IUI. Was told that at KKH, beta test takes place 17 days after the IUI.

Are you doing the IUI at KKH?

i'm new to this forum. Did my 1st IUI and failed. Wonder how many IUIs will u all try b4 switching to IVF ?

priscilla, my doc did not give me any HCG jab nor progesterone supplements to be taken. was it one of the reason y my IUI failed?>

btw wats beta??

Depends on whether you are doing IUI or SO-IUI. HCG jab is not given for IUI. For SO-IUI, the HCG jab is given to trigger ovulation. However, if the LH surge occurs early, the IUI will be performed after the LH surge is detected (which signals that ovulation is imminent); in such a case, there is no need to obtain the HCG jab in order to trigger ovulation.

Cant really answer the reason for failure. Even my RE can't explain why my last cycle failed other than to quote me the stats - which is less than 20% per cycle.

Was told that if one should move on to ivf if there is failure after 3 cycles of SO-IUI. The success for SO-IUI is very low anyway but it is still less expensive than IVF. Beta is the blood test for pregnancy.

hi priscilla,

yes, i'm doing so-iui at KKH.

how about urself?

how many times have u tried for so-iui ?

Priscilla..

Just wondering...do u feel more emotional when on the medication..?

I feel like i worry more and emotionally more unstable since i started the jabs..

hmm...

can't help but feel that god is testing me .. and this is only the beginning... gosh..

pris..

u mean two week's wait after the spearm inserted?

problem with KKH is ...each time , each appt is such a rush.. wasn't given in dept explanation abt each procedure... *sigh*

Yes, after the IUI (when sperm is inserted), 2 ww starts. You do the beta test (for pregnancy) 14 to 17 days after the IUI. The clinic that I did the IUI wanted me to do teh test 17 days post-IUI.

Pls feel free to ask any questions and I am happy to help! I have learnt a lot from these forums as well

i just did my 2nd rd of IUI yesterday...theres spotting and doc did gave me some medication. But this afternmoon when i go to the toilet, i realised theres quite a big lump discharge and its like plastic like redish in colour.

anyone who has the same experience? or is it anything serious?

Hi Toy, i am and going to do IUI in 2 days time. Have read your posts in the infertility thread and understand perfectly how you felt cos i feel the same too!

Hi Maplebabies,

U upgraded to do IUI this round? I m oso contemplating to do it if this cycle of Clomid fail also.

Can check with you roughly hw much does Dr Fong charge? I m doing my estimates but that Dr FCW didn answer me how much it wud cost for IUI or SO IUI. Need to know for budgeting purposes, tink Dr FCW charges shdnt deviate much from yr dr.

Hi Tweetie

Ya lor, upgrade, cos cant leave myself to time leh, anxious already. IUI consist of a few procedures and its all these procedures that make up the final cost so if can save on the procedures, can save abit of cost.

For mine, its around $500, $300 goes to scanning ( i have 2 scans as my first one last sat show eggs still small so gotta scan again tml) Then $100 + for the sperm washing and another $100+ for the actual IUI procedure. So total around $500 +/-

If i can do just 1 scan, i probably save $150.

Hi Maple,

So phew, i tot its gg to costs me like 3-4k. If $500 +/-, still not too bad. Scan is so exp ah? Dr FCW charge me $100 for a V-scan. Like I said earlier, I tink i will consider IUI for my nxt option if this cycle fails. I oso cant leave it to time coz it makes me even more stressed to wait for time.

Tink be4 I proceed anything further, must send HB for another SA, then decide.

pris/dawn,

Doc has advised me to convert for SO-IUI to IVF. Too many follicles..high chance of multiples if IUI succeeds.. so, either i abort this cycle of convert to IVF, i guess i have no choice coz if i were to abort this cycle, subsequent cycle will be similar.. so..i will be converting to IVF which supposedly has more control over the fertilisation part.. hope i am making the right decision.. wish me luck..!

Could anyone advise me which dr is good at infertility- Dr. Caroline Khi (TMC), Dr. Shiela Loh (KKH) or Dr. PC Wong (NUH)...thinking of trying SO-IUI or IUI....any bad experiences with them....?

ttc_5yrs

I am currently seeing Prof PC Wong (NUH). You can PM me if you want to know about my experience with him. In short, no bad experience lah.

i have been reading all your inputs and feel i can relate..even when i am clomid...i am like on the emotional coaster...i really dunno what it will be like when i go iui next wk...

i dunno how it will be like after iui...just imagine i will know the outcome on CNY eve. ...

hi ttc_5yrs,

I was with Dr Shiela Loh for my initial SO-IUI attempt.. she will only go thru the procedure with you on the 1st session and thereafter, the other Docs on duty and nurses will follow thru with you... even the actual SO-IUI might not be even be done by her personally.. But..nevertheless..she is a nice lady..very patient and very detailed when I met her for the first time..

Hi Hopes,

How are you? I am glad to hear that you have converted from SO-IUI to IVF due to many follicles. Actually my case is the same like you previously. I will be likely to give birth to a baby girl next week.

I have faith in you. Do you see any TCM before you embark IUI?

Good Luck!

hi Kimly..!

Wow... it's great to hear ur success story!!

I hope to deliver good news to you too!
I'm going for my eggs retrival this Thursday.. hmm.. a little scared.. :p

I didn't see any TCM before I go for IUI.. was thinking.. aiyah..1st time sure cannot make it one...so.. I was actually planning to go if the 1st attempt failed.

Were u seeing one while on IVF..? does it help..?