Eczema

Thank you very much, Kook car.

Jamie,
I use normal shampoo, but making sure that the shampoo does not get into the bathtub of water.

Hi kook car

My girl is 8 mths old now, few mths ago i placed her at my in law hse for few days, then these patches started. I suspect is their dog, but till now it had not gone away even she is now at my own hse. That time when it started, she is only taking Friso milk and I haven't start solid food. And she is on Friso since full month. Any clues ? The patches now still appear on and off... sigh...

hi: anybody can PM me with a good skin specialist doctor for my daughter?

my daughter has scaly/dry/bumpy skin since birth, and only now (my daugther 6 mths now) do i realize it is not heat rash or simple rash, but most likely eczema...haizz...i'm really disappointed that my PD (whom quite expensive and we see almost every month for injection and to get rash medication which is neoderm and has steriod) did not tell me it could be eczema...only when i read the thread here i think i can quite confirm it is eczema...my poor gal patchy face and body right now and i think itchy as well as she rubs her eyes area frequently...

plus i totally b/f her since birth and has not restricted my diet (milk, soya bean, bean curd, sea food - i eat alot!)...! haizz....

i use lactacyd to bathe my gal, is that OK? also use the "jin ying hua"...not sure if it works.
i tot calamine lotion may help but think that is too drying for the skin?

suelee,

our family GP is a certified n trained dermatologist who lectures at NUS also. His clinic is located at Redhill Blk 75D (i think), just opp the Redhill MRT stn.
The nbr there is 6476 7333 (best to call 1st to cut waiting time).
His rates are reasonably priced, n if i am not wrong, half his patients are kids.
hth

<font color="0000ff">Hi Suelee & Kick-Knack</font>

Usually there are many causes to eczema. It could be external or internal. External allergens such as dust, dustmites, chemical, detergent, softener, etc etc. dog hair & skin shedded. Internal - diet & indigestion of certain protein chain. So caretaker really got to pay attention & try to eliminate one by one. Or you can take allergy test @ medical centres/clinics.

Usually GP/PD will prescribe external lotion/cream (many of which contains steriods) & antihistamine drugs to "dumb" the allergy reaction. They might even advise to take over extended period of time. It is effective in solving the symptoms but I doubt it is a longterm solution.

If it is an internal digestive problem, you might wish to try giving Probiotics to your kid. Probiotics is used very commonly in US & Japan, as many times digestive problems will lead to skin problems.You could check with GP if you are unsure. There is 2-page article on ST this Wed 18 Jul on probiotics. Did you read that?

You can get very high potency/strength Probiotics from The Diet Centre @ 62 Cecil St TPI Building. I doing practical lesson there once a week, so if you tell them recommended by Andreae, they'll give 10% discount.

Calamine Lotion is definately too strong for 6 mth old infant. "Jing Ying Hua" is to cool down the body. No harm trying. My MIL even tried using beer to bath my boy b4.

currently i used th bb detergent (e.g. purity brand which i buy from ntuc) to wash my bb gal's clothes....is this mild enough or do i need to change to something huh?

yah, i will give probiotics a try...

hi kook-kar, is this what u suggesting?
910098.jpg

the pills very big or not? my son 2 yrs old how to swollow? erm, can ask how much in the first place?

ima,
from some mommies' recommendation i got the (Babylife) probiotics from GNC...it is in powder form and you need to store it in the fridge. just 1 tiny scoop for the young ones (add in their milk or juice)...i think it cost $40+ per bottle (can't really remember now)

Hello, my son oso having this eczema problem since born. No medication really can cure. Would like to try the leave which had recommended here. Any mummy hav any sparse wan and willing to pass some for me to try on my son? I'm so heartache to c him scratching his face with marking. Bcos of eczema, he having white spot all over his neck and face.

can i know...for rashes around the mouth, what should u apply that is effective? as it is at the mouth area, not sure if safe to apply the moisturizer-eczema cream...?

suelee,
A mth ago i gave you our GP cum Dermatologist contact as i understood u were looking for one
Since u are still here today in this thread, i assumed you either hv not visited him, or have decided not to due to some reasons/circumstances?

chitan,
was told that shouldn't use cream that has fragrance (which CB pdts have)? in any case,seem the CB calendular/aloe dun really work on my gal's eczema (so just save the cream for my son and my own face lor), but the physigel AI cream does (though bloody ex at $35 for a 50ml tube!)...will try the Dr Lily Aloe Vero gel and see how...

miracle bebe,
i continue to bring my gal to her usual PD nearby my house la....since she has records of my boy and gal since birth, abit too lazy to go anywhere else, also i feel in the end they will all give around the same kind of pdts leh....anyway since last visit when my PD has introduced the physiogel pdts to us, plus with some care, my gal's eczema has cleared up quite abit, but still gotta take constant care cos her rashes flare up pretty easy (if more serious, e.g. see rings = fungal growth, then gotta apply a bit of the neoderm lor)...plus start giving her probiotics in her cereal feed per some mommies recommendation here

Ic...suelee

Then you might wanna try the food elimination method, and let your kids have more raw fruits and vegetables instead.

sue.. not CB aloe vera leh.. u ask angelin.. she use some kind of aloe vera.. pretty good leh.

sue.. might wanna give her some nordic natural - Omega 369?? add the oil and probiotics to the yogurt?

For Flare up.. u can use QV flave up oil leh.. pretty good

O ya! watch out for your diet! u know hor.. my both boys is allergy to Chicken! hahaha.. as long as i dun eat chicken .. then okie liao

my little gal still 90% on my breast milk leh, only feed a little cereal in morning (with probiotics) and afternoon. recently trid giving her puree pumpkin but her mouth area got a little red so decided to stop

What else can i try giving her that is "safe"?

wah liao, how i know what food she is allergic to? i live to eat variety....already tried to cut down on eggs, milk and soya bean cos heard these are more allergic...

what is the temp of your cereal when u put in the probiotics har? if it is too hot then it will kill all of them leh.. food have to be at room temperature..

erm... normally chicken and egg .. cow's milk.. even fish! or any shellfish.

soya milk .. dun think is allergic leh..

Talk about pumpkin.. my elder boy is allergic to that leh..

Sue, try organic food on her.. u will know the different..

also dun let her eat those baby biscuits or bites that u buy from outside cos she cant take wheat ..

My DD got a flare up again(sometimes few times a week), can someone advise me on where to get the leaves in singapore?

I have an ecezma kid too. Thought of trying freederm product after a fren intro to me. Look gd. Anyone wan to share the freederm HC Cream? USD$23.40 per tube and shipping is USD$2 per tube.

Check out.. http://www.freederm.com/index.php?cPath=22 and www.freederm.com

May order other products if u r interested but note the shipping cost may be higher.. unless soemone wan to buy the moisturiser as well to work together. For moisturiser is USD$13 per tube and shipping USD$1.50 per tube

Interested to try
1. abcdisney - 2 tube of HC cream and 2 moisturiser
2. chitan - 1 HC cream

gal,
Me and hb have eczema. I had it since primary school. We tried Jing Ying Hua before.. ehem.. not much effects. Doesnt actually cure for me.. very minimal effects.

For me, chinese medicine with dried fish grills and seahorses (chinese medicine) works very well for me.. in fact the area where is wet and sticky will dry up after I have the chinese medicine. But perhaps not quite suitables for babies.

Other thing that I have to take note, buy anti-dust mites mattress, pillow and quilt. No carpet, fury soft toys, curtains have to be wash every mth, bedsheets have to be wash every 2 weeks.

Hi, i m new to this thread. my 5 month old son has mild (i think) eczema. i've just put him to formula milk, using s26, and he is allergy to it. rashes came out at his jaw and behind his ear. any recommendation on any formula suitable for baby with eczema skin?

wounwoudbee,
Is your baby allergy to cow's milk? If yes, then best to see PD and they might advice you to try soy milk or even goat's milk or hydroallergic milk(alfare, neocate)... Where are your baby's eczema area?

I'm new to this tread too. my 5 month plus baby girl has eczema too. Around her neck, beside her mouth and behind her ears. She scretch the neck part. Dunno is due to wat? When doc yday, he ask me to try aqueous cream. Will c how is goes. will it be due to Formula milk ? She is on Dumex.

Hi cassey,
Beside the mouth - are they caused by baby playing with salvia? My bb is also 5 months plus and have it beside the mouth. I use aqueous cream all over her body and also face. Seems the rashes beside the mouth is still there

my girl out on aqueous cream worst. her skin turn so red. she scretch and scretch. So poor thing. i bought a cooling watery medicine from chinese medical hall, she got improvement. very jia6, the area of her skin so rough.

is eczema and heat rash looks the same?

My girl also has eczema n PD gave us QV lotion to apply... but my girl now has this yellowish pus or discharge on her forehead and ears... is it normal? or the lotion not suitable? My friend says is infection... i'm worried...

Anyone can advise?

have an 8mth old bb boy and we've been battling with his eczema for close to six months already. quite happy to chance upon this thread to read about everyone else's battle with eczema. i was so depressed with it last night actually, cos my BB scratched till there was a deep bleeding gash on his neck. i've very very bad eczema myself, so it's vey hard not to feel guilty and blame myself whenever such incidents happen.

alternative mom,
visited your blog. carrot juice should be prepared with raw or pre-boiled carrot?

miracle bebe
called dr steven ang's clinic today, thanks for the contact. hope he's good.

mummies who are feeding FM
anyone using Bellamy's organic step 2 FM? i'm fully breastfeeding now, but am planning to start him on one FM feed per day in Jan when i'm away for 10 days. i dunno whether he'll be allergic to milk proteins (his patch test is actually scheduled in Jan), but i definately know that he can't tolerate the artificial flavourings found in nestle, dumex and gerber baby products.

1106323.jpg

sandwich,
generally, I dunno how one defines 'good', but Dr Ang is good enuff for us and for our ds

one thing's for sure, Dr Ang is a doctor who will listen to his patient. Meaning, you can ask him anything you want, and he will ans or adv you if he can.
He is open to alternative therapy/treatment, tcm etc

Since you are aware that your dear boy cannot tolerate artificial flavours, it's best you infm Dr Ang. Talk to him about your concerns etc

I strongly agree w what alternative-mom has shared in her blog. Most importantly..
quote:

"I strongly discourage the use of steroids (sensibly) and would encourage parents to read, read and read labels and question doctors and discuss with doctors when prescribed such creams or even medication. It is very important to be an informed parent when it comes to medication. My encounter with a pediatrician in Singapore (almost two hours waiting time and less than five minutes of brisk consultation) left me wondering if doctors prescribe just quick-fixes.

By trying to be as organic as possible, I think we can save some problems later on in life from side effects or unknown effects." unquote

I must say it was thru our dear son being sick and all that i discovered the beauty and benefits of raw juices.
It is tough giving it to him becoz he does not take his vegetables at all. For fruits, he only takes watermelon, green apple, pineapple n orange. Bananas are his fav of all, but rarely take them as that might be one cause of his allergy.
Going back to raw juices..in order for me to get ds to drink his juice, i mix orange with green apple n quietly n quickly drop in a carrot (shh! when he's not looking..)

Well, it's probably not as effective as a whole glass of pure raw carrot juice, but it's good enuff for a start. At one time he was happily and willingly taking carrot w green apple juice. We hope he will get into the habit of having a desire to drink juices made by mommy only.

mommy.. have to let your know.. at time some very basic things like Carrot can also cos allegy le

must always test it out first.

my boy is allegy to "orange" colour vegie or fruits.. like carrot, pumkin, oranges, sweet potato..

miracle bebe
thanks so much for the contact. really glad to have visited dr ang on thursday. he advised us to take a "drug holiday" from our usual hydrocort. tried elomet on my baby and you can see from the pics below that on thursday the eczema was still red and wet. by sunday everything was clear. was glad that the cream was so effective that i could stop it on saturday totally.

dr ang also recommended us to bathe the baby with "softminus touch". never heard of the brand before i visited the clinic, but according to him, it's milder than the usual cetaphil and lactacyd that we're using.

1115196.jpg

mngo,
yah he sees adult patients too. so after he's seen my baby, he saw me. if your eczema is red, wet, and full of pus, then its quite hard to avoid steriods. steriods are just to keep it under control and once it gets to a dry and flaky state, you can stop the steriods and switch to a good moisturizer immediately.