Eczema

sandwich...
oh thanks!!!

where do i buy good moisturizer?

by the way, can u also PM me Dr Ang's clinic details?

mngo,
the recommended brands for eczema are usually physiogel, cetaphil and qv. they're avail at pharmacies and watsons. you should be able to find a much wider range of moisturizer at watsons. moisturizer is quite personal, you've gotta buy and try it before you know which you like better =)

miracle bebe posted the contacts above ... Dr Steven Ang, Redhill Blk 75D (opposite Redhill MRT Station), Tel for appt: 64767333.

Hello sandwich,
sorry I never got to replying to your post as above

I'm very amazed on the improvement of your chd's skin. Truly it cleared very well after just a couple of days.
I've never heard of 'softminus touch' until you shared about it here with us.
You have not posted here since then, so I assumed all is doing well?

akhim,
as mentioned above, I think you might be able to buy 'softminus touch' only from the clinic.
sandwich did not mention it except it was introduced by Dr Ang.
I am not promoting this doctor for monetary gain, afterall i have no share in the company, but I can confidently recommend him to you if you, or your child has an eczema or skin problem.
As shared in an earlier post, at least half of his patients are children and he is certified and qualified in dermatology.
I suggest that you or your child see a medical professional trained in dermatology if the problem has something to do with the skin.
Yes, there are plenty of moisturizers out in the mkt, but you might have to spend lots of $ before you find a suitable one. That is time-consuming too.
When it comes to skin, don't play play!
JMHO

Hahaha... think I also going to become a eczema pro mama.

#1 got eczema since 8th mth old... now he is 3 yrs old liao. On and off will flare up. Brought him to 2 skin specialist. Same thing, bath, moisturize and moisturize.

Using DermaVeen bath oil, QV cream and Protopic as maintenance

Flare up, will use DermaVeen bath oil, QV cream and Eilomet

Tried many, so far I prefer QV cream than Physiogel. QV cream is as rich but cheap. Can last 3-4 hours moisture.

miracle bebe (miracle_bebe) ,
TODAY I WENT THERE liao ..hehe
wah the crowd is more lei..hehe

total i spend is $97 for the medical...

tml onward will use it !!

thks ~~~~~~

akhim,
apologies for overlooking your posted question.
ive been recommending that raw carrot juice is good for many ailments (read info from Internet and health books), so you might wanna try that.
let your chd try it 1st before you decide that the taste might be too awful

mix carrot with raw spinach or raw celery or raw beetroot also good.
can add some green apple to make the juice tastier, but the best is carrot alone.

if you need further info or wanna ask more, i'll be glad to share with you thru experiences via PM.

Blessings!

evon,
you sound like a German now
hehe..

it is a pleasure to be able to share with you and others good, responsive, reliable, patient doctors who are open to listen and adv
it is thru circumstances that my dh and i have had these opportunities

You sound happy with ur visit to Dr Ang's clinic, and I hope you will be satisfied with the improvement you are oh! so waiting to see on your dd's face

of course, must be patient hor!

catch you on chat wen ive more time

Yup i am happy..hehe
but coz i from sengkang to redhill...
then i ask the nurse can you spare me the extra room to change diaper then they say NO ask me to change infront of the seat over there...
THe doctor is nice ...

halloooo....the clinic not big le..where hv space for changing room? they have a toilet, but no changing table

Yes, Dr Ang is a very nice doctor..

The other day when i brot our ds to see him, he gave our ds a colouring book w box of small colour pencils pack. courtesy of Pfizer. Boy was so excited coz he loves to colour
insist on not using his present set of colouring pencils

For those who have children suffering from food allergies, good news!

There is no a support group for our children!

For more information, pls find out online :

www.foodallergysingapore.org

There is a monthly support meeting and now, they are having a session for our kids with food allergy, too! Well done!

Hi sandwich, I'm so sorry not to have responded earlier to your question. I have somehow missed out on the messages from this thread!

For carrot juice, just go for raw carrot and juice them! I still find that they are the best source of suppleness for my eczema child.

BTW, Elomet is a TCI (topical calcineurin inhibitor) and is prescribed by doctors who move from steroid to TCI (in my experience with Dr. Thirumoorthy from Skin Specialist).

TCI requires a longer term use and can have a stinging effect at times, especially in a flare.

It is good for parents to really know and understand the cream that they are using with the child and I completely agree that we have to know what works best for our children, especially in terms of moisturizers.

BTW, sometimes the eczema can have an underlying issue, for example, food allergy. Going for blood tests of prick tests can help us to properly diagnose the underlying causes (apart from genetic which we can do nothing about) and prevent leakages.

I'm looking forward to a wonderful support network for eczema patients, young or old and exchanging information with all parents alike to help our children.

dzaemin,
Mine from Dr. Thiru too!

Recently, I found a QV Flare Up Bath Oil! Two thumbs up. You can get Guardian to order for you. A small bottle costing $13+. It is used to soak yr kiddo in bathtub, not advisable for infant below 6th mths old.

I saw certain area of his skin flaring up, so I soak him for 10-15mins... eventually the bath oil might have stablized the flare up.

Recently patronise Dr Wong Su Ni in Paragon. She intro a cream Protopic which is non steriod. This cream works much much much better than Elidel which I think has no effect at all.

hi dzaemin (dzaemin) , may i ask you , you mean the raw carrot and the normal one got what different???

wanna try it out asap...hehe

finally..., i have found someone who agrees with me with the raw carrot juice thing

been trying to share with moms in different threads found in smh forum, but seems like pple might be sceptical about it.
when it comes to healthy living, carrots do wonders!
yes, and thanks to the expat mom who started the foodallergy support group here.
her story was featured in Mind Your Body newspaper issue of last week, if i am correct

Hi miracle bebe -carrot juice - thank u, gonna try it.
Hi dzaemin, thank u for the link - have bkmarked it.
It's a battle with ezcema and sometimes it really gets me down. plus dh also has ezcema. A colleague told me that although the skin looks ok, no flare-up, but it's actually very dry, and a scratch may cause inflamnation - so no matter how tired, i must keep up with the nightly moisturize routine. Don't give up mummies!

Hi akhim,
if you can buy organic carrots, will be better. but they are too X for our budget, so i just stick to the normal ones

I have never had an ezcema problem in my life. Suddenly about 3-4yrs back, a part of my neck started breaking out in red scaly patches, n that was becoz my hand itchy went to scratch. The itch is terrible on hot sticky days. I did go see Dr Ang at that time, n didn't know anything about raw veg juices yet.
Last year, the fold of my right arm and right aarmpit (towards shoulder breast area) also kena same thing. Infact, am itching now....
Am also taking veg juice, but the healing process for me take some time, coz am very lazy.. haven't been moisturising my arms too.
I dun take care of self, but make sure that my ds is well moisturised each n everyday. He dislike carrot juice, but i tell him carrot makes his skin smooth like a bb and strong like webpower
So i add an orange to the carrot

Hi missylan, thanks for the recommendation on the QV oil. I might give it a try.

My daughter needs a bath everyday in the tub and it really takes away her furnace like heat in her skin. I find that Balenum or Oilatum emollient is good but I once ran out and used f lavender oil from The Bodyshop and they work as well and smell totally gorgeous! I have tried Aderma bath product and it doesn't work for her.

And zekevon, I mean raw carrots as in carrots that are not cooked. I was recommended to boil carrots with apples before and I find that has an effect, too, but not as fast. But I felt it was safely to give it to my child then who was about 1. However, by now, I'd be full force into carrot juice (apart from the last week till now due to the juicer).

I see the merit of carrots with apple and I stick to it. I'm sure we can add others but I guess I have found the best combination that works and want it to do its work till my daughter's skin is back to before (when we were in UK) before I'd add other stuff.

And miracle_bebe, I agree with you on the organic carrots. I used organic carrots in UK and I find the effects better, too! I think there is a shop selling organic carrots for about $5plus a kg instead of the normal $7plus a kg and might want to try it soon. It is really expensive, I agree, but having used organic carrots before and the fact that my daughter is going to have it everyday, I think it is prudent to give her the organic ones.

Oh, I forgot to mention about the carrot juice. I think there is a concern that carrot juice might cause yellowing of the skin. I did give my daughter everyday once till the extend that she did have some yellowing on the side of her face and I stopped the juice for a while till the yellowing went off.

I consulted doctors on it before and was told that it will not cause jaundice (my daughter is already three by then) and yes, yellowing of the skin can/may occur but it has no effects on health.

So, in my experience, because I know that the carrot juice can really help my daughter, I made the decision to give it everyday. I'm not sure if I will give it at such quantity (2 carrots plus an apple) if she is below 2 but as parents, I think we have to make informed choices, follow our instinct and be really observant.

Therefore, if you are not sure about it, go slow but steady and see how it works for you.

Oh one more thing, the juicer is also important! I have burnt one juicer and just going to discard another one.

I realise that if you go for a juicer than doesn't give juice properly, you get some fiber after a while of use with the machine and also, the juice yield is lower! Hence, 2 carrots plus an apple doesn't give as much juice!

I'm now going for the Philips HR1861 Juicer. I have been looking around and comparing and learning about the differences. From personal experience with carrot juicing (it is a very hard veg to juice), you really should invest in a good one. My experience with 2 sub-standard juicers in one yr has taught me what to go for. After some use and the juice just gets more fiber and becomes harder to drink and as it is, some children already have problems accepting carrot juice.

It is retailing at Best Denki for $232 but I managed to get mine for $205 which I think should be the best investment so far for carrot juicing. Furthermore, this juicer will help saves time as there is no need to chop up the carrots or apples!

So, if you are thinking about carrot juicing, remember to specify to the sales staff what you are after.

You can check the link below to have an idea what the Philips juicer is like.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Philips-HR1861-Pro-Aluminium-Juicer/dp/B0007XHGHA

I found out about the food allergy support group from Dr Hugo from NSC(National Skin Care). I was asking him for eczema support group in Singapore and on my 3rd visit, he told me about the food allergy support group!

In fact, I'd recommend him to any parent who has a child suffering from food allergies.

His clinic is at NUH but once a week, every Wed, he visits NSC. Although he initially wanted to see 'quick result' with my daughter and suggested oral steroid which we vehemently rejected, I like him for he spends time having discourses with us with regards to treating the eczema in my daughter. He is open to what we have to say and understand that treating eczema also requires a sustainability aspect to it.

It is also cheaper to do blood and prick tests at NSC than at pte clinics ($60plus for prick tests (8 different pricks) versus $200 plus for blood test at pte clinic).

I'm not sure if you have to be recommended by any of the NSC consultants (we were because my daughter's case was beyond the consultant's ability to help) but she recommended Dr Hugo as he specialises in pediatric allergies and eczema.

Hi cherry_gal,

Eczema is NOT contagious!

As with all baby products, you may want to have the stuff you are adopting sterilized or properly cleaned.

know probiotic is good for fighting and prevent eczema, do you know where i can get probiotic cream to apply on my bb's face?

anyone's pd gave them desowen cream for eczema? just wondering if this desowen or physiogel is better?

Desowen is a mild steroid cream.

Physiogel is just a moisturizer that does not contain steroid and it tries to 'imitate' the skin in building barrier function.

Therefore, you can't really compare them both since one is a steroid cream while the other is purely a moisturizer.

You can use Physiogel for 'long term' without the side effects of steroid, that is the fundamental difference.

Thanks dzaemin! i only recently realised physiogel is only a moisturizer :p

Now using it, hope my boy's face will be better, trying not to use too much cream with steriods.

California Baby Calendula cream works v well for my gal but u have to find out the root of it too sumtlmes it mlght be trigger by food etc etc so do a patch test on ur bb so u know wat type of food to avoid California Baby Calendula cream is able to stop the itch my gal has during the nlte those creams r my tlx to gd nlte zzz

http://www.freewebs.com/thepinkcream/index.htm

California Baby Calendula cream

arrange for a patch test n see wat ur bb is allergy to..if bb on formula u might want to change milk to soy milk or nan HA if u BF v gd plz continue but watch wat u eat coze certain food can b pass down, dun start to introduce soild too early coze body mlght recognize it as sumtlng foreign n react to it

omaga 3 n 6 n zine does helps

some reasons y bb get eczema is b coze of the SKIN immune is not strong n most of the tlme the skin is lack of omaga 3 n 6 n zine .. tls is one reason y doc tells u ur bb will out grow it when he's older frm age 4-7 depending on hls Skin immune system.. sumtlmes it can b trigger by food or body wash, so u have to try coze all bb are different wat works on mine darling mlght not work on urs but u can try ... example sum bb uses QV bb but mine cant i'm using seba bb or u can try oil bath nv apply directly on their skin muz dilute

critic food mlght trigger eczema too

keep bb in a cooling environment
if u use air-con make sure the rm is not dry can place a humidifier nx to bb sleeping area or moist hls skin and wear jump suit or long pants etc etc socks so skin would not dry up fast n can prevent hlm frm scatching...

scratching can make eczema wost or spread or leads it to an out break..

just to share my daughter is free from eczema !!!!
no more on it!
i am so so happy!!!
after trying out one of the mummy,malay's tradition..thanks to her!!!

anyway just to advise, if anyone wanna try out any ezcema cream reli is "important" to use it abit first on the small area..to test it out.
Like my daughter doesnt suitable for gaia and Qv cream ( that is a common brand)...that time my thinking was ... so many babies using that shld be no problem..so i apply on the whole body nv expect wholebody come out red spot ...not mean that so many babies can use that brand of cream mean your baby can use it too!!!

Good luck!!!

yap yap V impt use on small area 1st coze our bb V sensitive everytlng muz try 1st n small area, thus watever u buy, buy small de try try if got sample then tk sample n try apply on small area n leave it on for few hrs juz in case usually if produce not suitable v fast will have outbreak but juz in case leave it on for longer tlme

hi zeke_von_michi,
can share what malay traditional method u used?
my boy is breaking out every now and then...

hi everyone i looking for the link at this website that the lady recommend... that is ezcema subject too
Few mths ago i was saw her post then was eagle to try it out ..
aCtaully from the post i saw, few of the mummies did try out.
One of them ,post also say reli cure... but the rest i ask is they lazy then give up half way liao.. never everyday apply.. you know you must keep on apply 1 no hard work how to cure!
that time i still remember its so hard for us as its so heavy thunder rain..and my hb ride bike only and we both still insist go and pluck!!!i apply for my daughter that time even i go back to hongkong..my huband went into the forest alone on the highway along the in the midnight as if we go in the noon afriad TP officer will saw him as cannot stop at highway.
That time my girl is reli reli worst .. i cry so many times and seek for help ..even go to most expensive doctor they only give cream to prevent!!!and also go back hongkong seek from professor help.
Franky speaking , from what i heard from those experience mum.. western for ezcema is only for maintain not cure

but chinese one then can cure... *not i say one hor.. wait some of the mummies over here out of nth shoot me* haha

i get to know one of the 40's lady..her niece suffered from ezcema since in her 10's she also like us alway go for western doc get cream to apply all that.. after 10 years then someone recommend than she went for chinese doctor .treat for ard 1 year then she get recover from it ever after until now she is in her 30's.. but must take the herb.

I am willing to share my happinese as i am a mummy too...
I know how you all feel.
I was so break down that time..
Blaming myself that i'm the one who cause her and
I keep on search online looking for thousand of way ,asking different mummy, even i dont know 1..
maybe one of you all i also asked.

i understand how you all feel
Dont be sad mummies i also come across like you all .. everything can be cure .. as its not Aids...( just kidding )heheheee
wanna know more about it PM ba. but please forgive if i reply slow as i need to work from 6pm onwards to morning

i felt V V upset too... i felt it's my fault that's y my gal have eczema coze i have too but mine is onli on the face n it's different type of eczema frm my gal i onli had it when i was in sec... then every1 like blaming me say i anyhow eat etc etc etc i nv tk care thats y my gal like that i feel terrible i went to TONS of doc b it western/chinese even Indonesian methods oil/cream , china wash/cream/med tons all, even boil lemon grass water for her to bath anytlng u name it as long as it's within my means thanks goodness i came across tls California Baby Calendula cream it CANNOT cure but it's both my gal n my tlx to a good nlte zzz ... n it's the best i can get for her so far after trying sooo many tlngs

ao far ALL doc i went to told me no cure de it depends on the immune system of my gal since hers it's a frm infant case she should outgrow it when she's older ard 4-7 yrs old...

the Chinese doc say it's a way the body expel "dirty" sustains so muz watch wat we feed

for my gal outbreak are trigger by food n the soup she use... But even if she dun have any outbreak skin v nlc she will still feel itchy... now i'm not working coze expecting no. 2 still can zzz during the day last tlme i work then at nlte look after her she wakes up for not onli milk but also bcoze of her eczema then i need to put her back to bed etc etc V V V tring ... ppl alwayz wanna choose gender wanna boy/gal i will alwayz tell them be it boy/gal most impt is healthy dun have collie/eczema/etc etc

Juz to check - any good skin spec to recommend?
I read that Dr Steven Ang (Redhill) is good?
Does he specialise in kids' skin probs etc?

My boy's nappy rash is getting severe so I wanna bring him to one...

Tks!

Hi, there’s a health talk on the 17th of July, 730pm, Thurs on Skin Nutrition & Eczema. For those who always having problems with your skin and could not find ways to solve your problem, maybe you can attend this FREE talk! It might just give you some solutions to solve your years of troubles!

This topic will be presented by a nutritionist who has graduated from National University of Singapore.

Language: English

Interested parties kindly email me at [email protected] to reserve yourself a seat! Thank you!

My bb boyalso has eczema, does anyone here uses this moisturising cream for ur kids? It's called Topic Cream (from France), seemed like only available in SGH pharmacy.

For those who uses this cream, is it very good for bb with eczema?

just to share. My sister's son has eczema since young till now 4 yrs old.
She will apply physiogel if the eczema is not very serious, just a bit.
If serious, she will apply neoderm.
She got these from a PD. Maybe, if you would like to try can try asking a doc.
Hope it helps.

Juz happen to come into this thread...

My son also has eczema when he was 6 wks old, mostly on his face, i brought him to my PD and he pescribed a cream called Neoderm for us. Only a few times applying (juz thin layer) the eczema went off, and of coz it will come back again and we juz had to continue apply the cream on the affected area. And since then it went off completely. I was so happy!

Anyway, this thing really depend on individual...

Hi Zeke, Can i ask what is the way to cure eczema? Pls provide the cure.... It would be really helpful to know and help myself and my hubby.... Many thanks in advance.

Hi mummies, sorry to interupt..
Juz wan 2 share what i had been thru.
My son got a bad eczema from few days after he was born. The worst period is 3 months old. The 2 whole cheeks is red, dry, patchy and blackheads. I tried doctor's cream even worst and tried on jasmine juice oso no use.
Lucky got i sales girl from kiddy palace advice mi to use hazeline snow cream "xue hua gao" in chinese term. At first i doubt it will cure. But no harm trying since got nothing to apply liao.
Thank God it works. So till now he still use that.

Dear mummies, no harm trying since the cream is cheap n does not contain steroid. (Steroid may cause the colour of the skin become lighter.