DR SF LOH OF KKH

bearyhip

Anyone consulted Dr SF Loh? Need comments on him. Thanks

Hi beary

Dr SF Loh is my doctor. I have had three appointments with him so far (am 9.5 weeks pregnant now). Nice guy and his nurse is very nice too.

His clinic at TPS are suitable for people who might find it difficult to come for appointments during the day. I see him at Clinic D during my lunch time. Have you been to see him?

Hi Cuclainee

Had my first consultation with him on wednesday at TPS. Nice doctor.. very reassuring...

Hi Hui

You can see him as your gynae... just call the appt centre to made an appointment to see him..

hui

Dr Loh does IVF as well but you can also have him as your doctor.

beary

How many weeks are you? Yes, he's very nice and reassuring. Last week I had some questions for him (I had some symptoms after my appointment) and he responded to my email which really comforted me.

Hi cuclainee

Actually I am seeing him for reproductive medicine. Had some problem with my tubes and uterus so seeing him for IVF. Yes, he does repond to email very fast. He even responded to my emails before I actually consulted him which prompted me to see him for reproductive medicine..

Hi Hui

Tried to pm you but you do not accept pm..Pm me your email address and I will email it to you..Dun think its nice to state his email address here...

jus wan to ask, im currently seeing dr shiela loh at kkh but tot of switching to dr sf loh instead. any idea if possible to do tat? cause i find dr shiela loh waiting time way too long. any idea wat is dr sf loh waiting time?

Hi puipui

Are you planning to see Dr SF Loh at Clinic D? If yes, then the waiting time is also long. The waiting time will be shorter if you see him at TPS. As far as I know from the appt centre, if you wish to switch doctors under the same dept, you will need to fill a form which needs to be signed by your current doctor. Check with the appt centre, they will be able to advise you on what to do.. Hope the info helps..

P.S. I saw him at TPS, the waiting is about 20mins...

hi beary,

thks for ur reply and additional info..very useful.

by the way, at tps, is it onli for preggies or can he see infertility issues as well?

Hi puipui80
He see patients at TPS for pregnancy, gynae problems as well as fertility issues. Anything related to women's problems. I see him at TPS for reproductive medicine.

Wanna know what are my chances in IVF..kekeke

hi beary,

oic..cause did my 1st ivf attempt under dr shiela loh at clinic d last year..had triplets but gave birth at 23 weeks due to complications..

my 2nd attempt under dr foong at gleneagles..i jus miscarried at 7 weeks due to no heartbeat..so i tot of swtiching back to kkh to do my transfer as i still have 5 frozen embryos. but still undecided on whether to let dr foong continue or let shiela loh do it..but she always so bz so i tot another good doc can take over..but my case at kkh was rather special so not sure if advisable to switch doc there.

but thks for the info..i will think abt it and ask the nurses at the clinic first.

Hi puipui80
So sorry to hear of your plight. Best Wishes and nay your dreams be fulfilled in year 2006. Dr SF Loh has many successful IVF cases under him and he is also one of the sought after doctor in KKH for assisted reproduction. Take Care..

Hi, what do u mean by TPS?
I am planning to do my 1st IVF in Dec. So, I am looking around for views. Dr SF Loh seems to be good in it. I am currently with Dr Sheila Loh but she is so busy that I am scared that if anything happens, by the time I get to see her, it will be too late. So, looking for new doc to do IVF. Any suggestions?

Which hospital is TPS? I am considering assisted reproduction if still not successful by year end. Been trying for 2 years!!

TPS - The Private Suite is a clinic in KKH for private patients. Its like a one stop clinic where scanning is done by the doctor and medications is collected at the clinic. The difference between TPS and specialist clinics of KKH is that at the specialists clinic, though you are a pte patient, the scanning is not done by the doc but by the radiographer or x-ray dept, medications has to be collected at the pharmacy. At TPS, waiting time is shorter and there is evening session available. The charges are slightly higher...Hope the info helps...

Hi Puipui

I am hoping to catch you on this thread...hopefully u get to c this msg.

As you are one of the few who hv tried KKH n Dr Foong, I hope I am able to get some info from you.

I am now with Dr Foong, used to visit Clinic D at KKH. But i did not do any procedure with KKH. Had a failed IUI with Dr Foong. Just started my D21 jab with suprefac. How would you relate your 2 experiences at both KKH and Dr Foong? Hope that you will not mind abt sharing. Just tt I would like to have more knowledge and information so that I am prepare for what come along, else I am now so confused as Dr Foong did not do the baseline checks. Also, were you told of drugs that is more exp but more effective? Suprefac/lucrin, puregon/gonal-f -- did any docs explain the difference to you? I consulted Dr Sheila Loh but was told KKH IVF has slot only for aug-sep, so we went ahead with Dr Foong instead as my DH is travelling during jul-aug. We were looking at other alternatives, one option is KKH bcos of the lower cost.

Please share any thots or input that you are comfy with. Thanks.

Frankly, I had a nightmare with Dr Sheila Loh 3 yrs back. That time, I was trying for a bb. We went to see her, she didn't scan my uterus, didn't check my hubby. Just ask me to monitor by basal temp, then said I didn't ovulate, so prescribe me with clomid. Everytime I take the clomid, I only go for the blood test to see if I ovulate. For half year I was on clomid, but didn't see her at all, only went to the lab. After the half year, she told us I couldnt conceive and even wrote a letter to us to go for adoption. We spent at KKH for one year. Later on, we were recommended to see Dr Christopher Chen at Gleneagles by one of our friend. During the first visit, he said I've endometrisis and my hubby has the variocele. We went for laproscopy. Then was given clomid one month later. We were so lucky that we conceive on the first trial. My girl is already 3 yrs old now.

Imagine, I wasted one year with Dr Sheila.

hi ladies..

Need ur advise. I am currently seeing this Dr Wong at KKH infertility clinc for my fertiilty problem.. he is nice but seems quite inexperienced.. (or maybe my condition too complicated i dunno..:p)

just wondering..can i request for a change of a more senior gynae (btw..is Dr SF Loh good in infertility issues? heard alot about him) or do I have to stick to him until he refer me to someone more senior..?

Coz from what i understand..if i requested for the switch (ie to DR SF Loh) myself, then I will have to absorb the cost difference , but if i were to wait for him to refer me to a more senior doc, then it will be less costly right..?

Would also like to check with u gals.. what is the average IVF cost per cycle..?

hi, i new here. Just to share with u all what i've been going through. I've been tryin to conceive for past six years,seen one of the famous top dr and had done opt to removed cyst & endometrisis, my hubby also done variocele opt. After the opt, I did twice AI & IVF under this famous doc but failed and all this cause us a big bomb$$$$ After all disappointment, i was recommended by my friend to KKH and i requested under Dr SF Loh. He did one attempt IVF for me and i was now pregnant 4mth with a baby boy. This is really a miracle due to his Golden Hand. And i ve seen one of the nurse informed 5 patients that they're pregnant through the phone while iam waiting for injection,so i think the success rate is veri high. The nurses in IVF centre are very friendly and of course Dr SF Loh is a very good doctor.

Hi Hui,
where is the icsi/ivf cycle buddies forum that you are talking about?
Would like to join as I am doing my icsi/ivf cycle soon once my cycle comes. Need some support... thanks!

I'm also TTC for more than a year but hv nvr gone for any check up. May I know if Dr SF Loh does such check up?

Read a lot abt Dr SF Loh ivf/icsi cycle buddies forum, a no. of ladies there is doing ivf under him...Dr Loh seems quite gd..now I have shortlisted him as my potential ivf/icsi doc...though I am considering Thomson Med ctr at the same time.

However, abit concerned abt kkivf admin...hope it will not be as messy as some govt hospital. If I see Dr Loh at The Private Suite, do I have to wait quite long also? At TPS, will my ultrasound etc be done by him or by a Senographer?...would prefer to be handled by Dr Loh throughout my ivf process. I am abit worried that if I sign up with KKH, I would only get to see him once a while...instead of every consultation.

Regarding the nurses and environment, hope it will be nice also..

Hui & Jeni, hope to join u all very soon in cycle buddies thread.

Dream,

KKIVF admin is not that bad.. but wait to see Dr Loh for normal scanning is very long. but when u at KKIVF u dun have to wait so long. i did my IVF/ICSI with him then successs liao so apoint him as my gynae then the waiting time is so long so in the end change to private gynae.but the charges for icsi/ivf KKH is much cheaper.

Hi Hui,

Very encouraged by your success thru Dr S F Loh, if I finally choose him, hope I can be as lucky as u. The thought of having to endure so many injections is really very scaring...

Previously, do u choose to see him at the clinic or The private suite?...me thought of seeing him at TPS but seems like no much diffence in term of waiting time. Is it very hard to book appoinment to do test or see Dr Loh when u are at KKH? Btw, wat do u mean by "normal ultrasound by doc" cos thought ultrasound in KKH all done by sonographer?

Hi Hui,

Pls ignore my Q reg ultrasound...read wrongly...u are saying normal scanning, not ultrasound.

Dream,
previously i see him in normal clinic n the waiting time is damn ong so i thought TPS better but still the same.. normal scan means Ultrascan once u preggie..actualli injection is not that bad cause is a few second thing to do..very fast.. after my cycle now i take blood test or injection not scared at all coz numb to injection..haa..the most "jia lat" stage is i think ER n 2WW..i think my favourite stage is injection of lurcin n ET...

Hi Hui,

I have finally booked an appt to see Dr S F Loh. I will be seeing him at TPS cos the earliest appt at normal clinic is ard mid Feb.

Thks for yr assurance on injection. Actually I even more scared of drawing blood...hope wun need to draw blood too many times ah.

Hi dream
Saw that you have booked an appt for Dr SF Loh, just want to check what is the earliest appt if you book appt at TPS? By the way TPS only have after-office hours and weekend?

Hi Fond,

Sorrie for my late reply..

When I called ard 15 jan, they got an earlier appt slot at 24 Jan evening for TPS but I did not take that slot.

If I choose to see him at the normal clinic instead of TPS, the earliest slot is mid feb if i remember correctly . I find that the appt at TPS earlier to book... Think TPS has wed evening appt and sat appt.

Thanks Hui...i will Jia You!

hi mummys, my cousin is going to visit dr shelia loh this april re fertiilty problem. any comment about her skill? thanks..

Hi jaesl,
her waiting time is super long.
Your cousin must be prepared to wait long long...
As I can't stand it anymore,
I switched to Dr Loh and he is good!

hi jeni, thanks for ur infor i think i will tell her b4 hand cos she hate to wait... by the way is her skill good?

If she is going to do IVF,
ask her to visit another thread under IVF cycle buddies. She can get more infor.
Dr Shiela is good but her queue is really long. I was with her b4 but now I switched to Dr SF Loh and did my IVF with him last Nov/Dec. Now, I am 9 weeks pregnant

Btw, how old is your cousin?

hi, she is 30 this yr n married for 9 yrs... i heard dr sheila is gonig over to raffles hopstial?

Hi, just popped by this thread coz' I was under Sheila Loh and at my last consultation she told me she's switching to raffles. So, jaesl, what you said is right. But since I'm gonna deliver sometime in April, she doesn't recommend that I follow her coz' she's not familiar with the new hospital yet. So, I requested to switch to SF Loh after hearing a lot of good things about him in another thread here, so hopefully it'll be ok.

I personally really like Sheila Loh. She helped me conceive on my first IVF attempt, but its true about the legendary wait. The longest I waited was 3 and a half hours. I think SF Loh's wait is never this long right? But despite the long wait, I continued to see her because she is very detailed and makes the effort to explain everything to me no matter how much backlog she has or how long OT she has to do. So, thought the wait was worth it .... unfortunately, her timing for transfer just happened to coincide with my delivery ... sigh....

hi 2 all of u..after all d discussion i think i will make appt 2 c dr loh instead of dr shelia..me oso gg ivf soon..sad 2 say i very worried now..

Hi Mika,
you can go to another thread on IVF - cycle buddies. The sisters there are all involved in ivf. They will be able to support you and if you have any questions, they cna help you.